Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Linderhof Castle

Ludwig II had a habit of designing palaces after his idols. In the case of Linderhof Palace, the inspiration was the Sun-King Louis XIV and Versailles as he built up the "King's Cottage". Sun decor, hall of mirrors, and a smaller scale ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 354 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!! Depending on your activity level, there was a lot of walking involved. Ana was an amazing tour guide! I cannot stress that enough! She was so knowledgable and informative about any questions you could think up, even if the question didn't even relate to the tour. The castles were breathtaking and the weather was thankfully perfect. We had plenty of time to do everything, though if we went in the summer when the gardens were in bloom I think we might have felt a little rushed at Linderhof. All of the gardens and fountains were being covered for the winter, so we had plenty of time at each location.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A dream come true... the woman on the bus was so knowledgeable about the castles and the countryside of Germany. Do wish we had more time at Linderhof but that was the only thing that could have been better.
Neuschwanstein was awesome... I was like a little child visiting Disneyworld for the first time, definitely woudl go back.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

What a fantastic trip! Both castles are absolutely beautiful. Linderhof is small and exquisite. Neuschwanstein the ultimate fairytale castle. We loved the short stop at Oberamagau - just wished we had a little longer. Again the houses are fairytale like and like nothing else we have experienced anywhere else. The scenery along the way is stunningly beautiful. Thoroughly recommended as a day trip outside Munich.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was just as it was explained in the booking process. To be clear, Viator books the tour, but the tour is run by a tour company so you are on with others not having booked with Viator. Likewise, the guide is from the tour company. This was not obvious to me from booking and /or reviews. So then, our guide Franciska (sp?) was wonderful. Very good information on the bus both there and back, with time, especially on the return, for resting. She was nmot our guide for either of the castles.
Linderhof was very special and our castle guide was great. Jaw dropping rooms and further interesting info about King Ludwig II. Oberammergau was a delightful stop. A little short, but so much to fit into one day. Neuschwanstein was amazing, but to me more for the exteriors than the interiors--after seeing Linderhof.
Be forewarned, there is considerable walking for Neuschwanstein, no matter how you approach it. My sister, 80, opted not to do that part, but the small visiting area below the castle provided entertainment whileI visited the castle--a very nice museum. So it worked out for us.
All staff were very accommodating and attentive to our concerns.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was brilliant. First to Linderhof to show St Ludwig 2nds villa then Oberammergau for a little pit stop and finally Neuschwanstein. Be warned the tour guidd recommended eating at muller, which is packed, but further down there is a lake with a restaurant called Alpenrose Am See.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was by far the best tour I have been on yet. I did 5 other viator tours and this was just outstanding. It was the highlight of my month long trip to Europe.
First, they take you to the Linderhof Palace, where they hand you over to another guide that actually works there. You can't take pictures of the interior (which is beautiful!), but you can try. Our Viator guide encouraged us to try, though they seem pretty strict about not doing it. Anyways, you have a bit of time before and after the tour to take pictures outside the palace before heading back to the bus. By the way, you are somewhat in the mountains, and the view is just wonderful.
Then they take you to a little village, which was my favorite part. It was breathtaking. We stopped for about 45 minutes, which was just enough time to get some ice cream (only 1 euro!) and shop for souvenirs (which were really great!).
Afterwards, you go to the Neuschwanstein castle, where they let you go free for about 3-4 hours. The guide does not guide you, and many people were confused. He hands you a ticket with your entry time to the castle, points you in the direction to go, and tells you what time to meet back at and where. There are different trails you can take, or a horse carriage if you like, he gives you a map so you know where to go. Still, a ton of people were confused. Just listen to what he is saying carefully and you shouldn't be confused. Many people weren't listening on the bus when he was telling us all the info. (snoozing, talking to their kids, etc.) The 3-4 hours gives you time to eat, shop, and go to the castle. Make sure you stop at the bridge to take pics!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was a well organised and enjoyable tour. It may seem a bit rushed to some, and not really recommended if you have mobility issues, but we felt we got enough time at both Linderhof and Neuschwanstein and would definitely recommend it for a great day tour to see the castles, everything is arranged, they recommend a place to eat, so it's made easy. Bus was comfortable and our guide was lovely.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Chas
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great way to see three sites, Linderhoff, Oberammergau, and Neuschwantstein. The tour guide Francizka (sp?) was very good and knowlegable with a pleasant, and easy to understand accent and voice quality. The time of year was a double edged sword...the cold weather meant many of the beautiful figures/statues, fountains and plants were covered with structures to protect them from the snow and ice, and the late fall seems to be the time for rennovations after the busy summer, with work trucks, tractors and other temporarty barriers. The colder weather made for quicker tours, although they were still packed with 50 or so per group, possibly more at Neuschwanstein. Speaking of colder weather, the Neuschwantstein schloss was blanketed in fog and drizzle, and was not visible until you were within a few hundred meters from the castle, where it was a dark shape rising out of the fog, totally indistinct...more appropriate for Halloween.
As for separate sections of the tour, there was never enough time, especially in Oberammergau, but enough to give you a flavor and want to come back.

Tours of Linderhof and Neuschwantstein were in English, and very understandable. One caveat. Our tour was separated into two sections, an English guided tour, and multi language guided audio tour. We were disappointed to be put into the audio tour where we picked up an English language device which was keyed on as you moved from room to room. It turns out this was a blessing in disguise. At least we could hear clearly what was being said. The majority of our tour that was placed on the English language guided tour said that with 50-80 people in the group, the tour guide was often not able to be heard, and was hard to keep up with. We travelled in early Dec, and this apparently meant wait times were quite short. In the summer, often there wre 1.5 hour waits, according to the guide, instead of the 20 minutes. Beware the walk up the hill to Neuschwanstein is strenuous for many.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The ease of finding the bus and leaving was great. The tour was exactly what we expected. We were a little disappointed that they were doing renovations at Linderhof so we feel as though we missed something. It was a typical late November foggy day at Neuschwanstein so it was surrounded by clouds. That did not dull the beauty. A lot of walking and stairs so if you have any mobility issues, please let your guide know as the castle has a elevator for such needs. Our bus guide was lovely. Can't remember her name - small blonde. She was terrific and sweet. Highly recommend this tour. Oh yeah - and definitely take the horse drawn carriage up and down - so fun (note: the bus and carriage up and down stop by 3:30 - so plan accordingly or it is a long walk down).

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Stunningly gorgeous. Neuschwanstein is simply amazing, a must see for anyone in the area. Seeing the castle as you walk up to mountain towards it is breathtaking. When you finally get to the top (a 15 minute walk), you can then choose to go yet further up. This is also a must do, you can climb up to a bridge that overlooks the castle. This is where the beautiful photos really come from, as you can get a bird's eye few of the castle, and the land falling away behind it. Linderhof was more of an interesting place, than it was gorgeous. The castle is full of eccentricities, that make it interesting but also far out of touch with todays tastes. That being said, the trip into the alps, and simply being in that mountain range around Linderhof is worth the trip. Unbelievable area, gorgeous landscape, fresh air! The trip to that area alone, made the trip to Linderhof worth it.

All told, this trip really makes for a fairy-tale day, with the mountain ranges, fantastic castles and quaint little villages.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Tour pickup was very close to hotel. Comfortable coach. Excellent driver. Saw the first snow fall in Bavaria for 2014. Tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly. Not a sunny day but seeing the Neuschwanstein Castle from the Marienbrucke as the fog lifted was very impressive. Linderhof was also nice, but outside monuments were covered for the winter. Timing of breaks for restrooms, snacks, and souvenir shopping was just enough.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

I enjoyed this well organized tour. However, Linderhof was a disappointment due to the fact that it was winter and the statues had to be covered to protect them from frost. In addition, the famous grotto was not open for the same reason. Travelers going in winter should take note of this! Otherwise, the trip was well run and the guide was helpful and gave good commentary.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

This tour is a great way to see Mad King Ludwig’s Fairy Tale Castles without the hassle of renting a car. We recommend sitting in the top of the bus for lovely views of Bavaria while in route to the castles. As other reviewers have noted, the tours are a bit rushed. There isn’t enough time at Linderhof to see the Grotto and we had to grab lunch on the go in order to make it to the top of the hill for our guided tour of Neuschwanstein. Our tour stopped in the little village Oberammergau for 45 min which wasn’t long enough to enjoy the town or even get an adequate lunch. We would rather have had that 45 minutes to either tour the LInderhof Grotto or get lunch in Hohenschwangau. This tour involves a lot walking and requires a fast pace so it probably isn’t the best option for people with mobility issues. Our tour guide was Christine and she did a nice job of telling us about the history of the areas we were touring. Overall, we are glad we went on the tour because it allowed us to see areas of the Bavarian Alps and the amazing castles.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Imprescindible si visitas Munich, primero llegamos a Linderhof, luego hacemos una parada en una ciudad intermedia muy "cute", y proseguimos a Neuschwanstein. Teniamos dudas con respecto a entrar o no entrar a los castillos (el costo es aparte, no esta incluido en el tour, 22 euros por persona entre ambos) finalmente decidimos hacerlo y sin duda valió la pena. EXCELENTE TOUR, nuestra guia Elizabeth fabulosa, nos explicó cada detalle y nos atendió de maravilla. Realmente te sientes en un "cuento de hadas".

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is WELL WORTH the few extra dollars (or Euro) for an intimate, smaller-group tour. Francesca was amazing, knew her subject matter quite well (and then some), and allowed for quiet time on the trip back to Munich. She arranged for a private shuttle at Neuschwanstein to arrive at Mary's Bridge quicker and with fewer hills to hike up! She gave each tourist a "goodie bag" and drinks and even took pictures of us with our cameras so that both/all can be in the photo. She was a fantastic guide, and our driver was quite capable as well.
The day was planned out perfectly, and the order that we did everything in was the best way to avoid the crowds. The extra side-trip to Oberammergau was a nice time for shopping and getting gelato, or more traditional Bavarian treats! The guide at Linderhof was especially good - the overall impression I get is that they take great pride in the history and artwork in these gorgeous castles, and convey that message accordingly.
I would recommend this tour to everyone and even take it again myself.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message