• USD ($)
  • English

Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Linderhof Castle

Ludwig II had a habit of designing palaces after his idols. In the case of Linderhof Palace, the inspiration was the Sun-King Louis XIV and Versailles as he built up the "King's Cottage". Sun decor, hall of mirrors, and a smaller scale ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 275 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

It was just like stepping inside the world of fairy tales. And I'm not just talking about the castles but everything in between - the Alps, the green fields, early days of spring where you see white patches of snow coupled with trees starting to look green, the small towns and villages... It was a very wonderful and scenic tour that I would recommend to everyone.

The bus tours not only brings you to the 2 castles - Linderhof and Neuschwanstein, it also will bring you to Oberammergau which is a very lovely village. Although you have to pay for the tours inside the castles themselves, the reservations would already have been made so it's just a matter of paying up and queuing to get inside. Plus, they give you freedom to go around and do some shopping as well.

I would have wanted to get to know more details on the monarchy of Bavaria, and not just with Ludwig II, but over-all, this was a great tour that you would not want to miss.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Me and my husband visited this tour in February! Beautiful places (Linderhof, "fairy-tale" village of Oberammergau and of course Castle of Neuschwanstein). Professional and knowledgeable tour guide Christine gives you a detail overview of the Bavaria region. Highly recommended!!!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a great tour of two castles that aren't easily accessible by public transportation. The drive through the alps and the hike up to Neuschwanstein and Marien Brücke (Mary's Bridge) were really highlights for me. They surrounding grounds were more impressive than the inside of the castle.

I had never heard of Linderhof, but it was a pleasant stopover that I probably would have never scheduled as part of my trip if I were doing the tour on my own. The grounds must be amazing in the Spring and Summer. I was there in the winter and the property was still impressive.

I enjoyed the stopover in Oberammergau. I loved the shopping there, and the traditional craft stores, but we only had 45 minutes to explore the town. I would have loved to have lunch there instead of at the base of Neuschwanstein.

I also wish the tour also included a stop at Hohenschwangau Castle. It was beautiful on the outside and what I read in my travel guide, it is interesting from a historic perspective.

Bridget, our guide, was enthusiastic and friendly. She kept the group on schedule, which I imagine, when it comes to tourists, is like herding cats. She did a great job.

Pickup and drop-off is conveniently located across from the main train station. I would recommend this tour to others.

Neuschwanstein was on my bucket list and I was very happy that this tour enabled me to get there.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Simply unforgettable.
Before visiting Neuschwanstein, I travelled in France to visit the castles of Valée du Loire, which have very beautiful gardens. However, Neuschwanstein is unique. Inside the castle there are lots of stunning paints and artworks, and a reproduction of the cave of Venus. This is worthy of being visited by those who admire Richard Wagner and their operas.
Worthy of note are also the town of Oberammergau and the small castle of Linderhof. At that time it was covered by snow, which added more beauty to it.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Wendy
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We both agreed that this was probably one of the best tours we have been on (and we have been on quite a few). Ana was excellent - she showered us with interesting information throughout the experience and answered all our questions. The tour had interesting stops and was excellent value for money (particularly with the discount!)
We were in the minority and chose not to enter any of the castles. Although I have not been inside and cannot comment on the tours and interiors, I feel this was the right decision for us. Both of the tours are quite short (20mins in Linderhof and 35 in Neuschwanstein) and we were more interested in the scenery. At Linderhof not going in allowed us time to see a bit of the surrounding countryside, and at Neuschwanstein it meant we weren't rushed in getting to the bridge for photos and also had time to visit one of the lakes on our way down (which, I might add, was lovely).
We walked up to Neuschwanstein and it took 25mins at a leisurely pace for two not overly fit individuals. I didn't time the walk to the bridge but it was (or felt after the initial walk!) a good bit steeper than the walk to the castle and I imagine took around 15mins - 20 if you stop to take in the view and grab some photos halfway up.
We really enjoyed this tour. It was well planned and facilitated. The bus was comfrotable and in good condition, and had an on board toilet and wifi (though we didn't use either). Ana was informative and engaging and we thoroughly enjoyed our day!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Tour guide- was ok, limited information given from her and we felt as she hasn't try to connected to us.
The coach driver - He was a every good driver.
At Linderhof castle - no photo allowed, small little castle, the tour guide was quite fierce to our group and we weren't quite enjoy for this tour.
At Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein - Very enjoyed with this tour. The lady who work at the castle and was guide us around she was a very friendly and full of knowledge. The castle interior was amazing dated back to 1860 but the castle exterior was building by the modern bricks and no differ from the Disneyland...fake castle may be.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

I had a great time on this tour! I did not go to the first castle, Linderhof, but I don't think I missed much because it was quite a small castle. When you tour Neuschwanstein, you don't get to see too many rooms -- just the completed ones -- but the limited tour is definitely worth it! The tour guide was very knowledgible, and I enjoyed learning all the history about Ludwig II, the Fairy Tale King. It was also a beautiful drive through Bavaria, and I only wish there was more snow around. Oberammergau was a great village to visit, and I bought some wood carvings for friends, which they loved! I got this tour at a discounted price, and I'm not sure I would have enjoyed it as much if I had to pay the full price especially since you have to pay additional fees to tour the castles.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Pictures inside of either of these castles are not allowed (even without flash), so remember to take plenty of pics from the outside! Our tour started with the Linderhof castle first, and lucky for us, it was lightly snowing. This is one of the smaller castles, although it took about 9 years to finish it. Our tour guide was great and gave us many insights into King Ludwig II and his life/personality. We didn't get to see any of the rooms on the ground floor, but we saw everything on the 2nd floor...very cool! The tour briefly stopped at a small nearby town, Oberammergau, where they are known for their wood carvings. Only 1-2 shops were open since it was a Sunday. From their, we proceeded to Neuschwanstein castle. Again, we didn't have the best weather since it was lightly snowly and quite foggy, so we couldn't see the beautiful picturesque views of the castle from the bridge (we chose not to walk the extra 20 min x 2 to get to the bridge due to the weather). We decided to walk up the hill very fast (which left me breathless) so that we could have lunch at the restaurant before getting to the castle. The service was a little slow, and we actually ended up spending too much time at the restaurant. We then rushed up the hill for another 5 mins to start our official tour of the castle (they are very strict about entry times). I wish we had more time outside of the castle to take pics. The tour was only 30 mins, and I was a little disappointed because it felt like we didn't get to see a lot of the rooms (we saw more at Linderhof, and it was much smaller). Once the tour was over, we only had a few mins to spare in the gift shop since we had to walk back down the hill to our bus which left very promptly. The ride back to Munich was relaxing.

I would recommend this tour, and I think I would like to go back on a sunny day to take beautiful pics!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Pro's:
-Christine, our guide, did a great job. She was organized, knowledgeable, and very pleasant.
-Neuschwanstein Castle is truly a sight to behold and well worth the trip.
-While at Neuschwanstein, if you are fit and able to move quickly, make sure you get to the bridge before your tour of the castle. They view is amazing! Be warned, it is quite a workout and you have to hurry up the hill - don't stop for photos until you get there - as you can get the others on the way down.

Con's:
-Linderhof is just OK. I'd prefer if they shortened that leg of the trip and gave you more time at Neuschwanstein.
--The timeline is very tight when you arrive at Neuschwanstein. The tour guide will steer you to eat at a specific restaurant (the name was Hotel ___ - I can't remember it off the top of my head, they park the bus right next to it) , but the service there was horrible and it took too long - we almost missed our chance to get to the bridge before our castle tour

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great combination tour of two wonderful castles outside of Munich. Linderhof was my most favorite, though it was smaller, the gardens and grounds were gorgeous. Neuschwanstein was incredible in size and construction. The walk up the mountain can be quite strenuous so buy the bus ticket first or rent a carriage if you have difficulties walking. Our guide was very informative and gave great restaurant recommendations. Wonderful day trip away from Munich and one of the highlights of our mini European holiday.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The only way to see Neuschwanstein and Linderhof in one day. Great tour with a great guide and very careful driver. Very relaxed and not rushed at all. We never do these type of tours but this one was great and we would do it again.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

A really good trip. I enjoyed seeing the castle and smaller village. The Linderhof castle is also beautiful. A comfortable bus trip and a well organized tour.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our bus driver and guide were very professional and knowledgeable. The tour departed Munich on time returning at 1830. A dusting of snow the day before made a beautiful backdrop of the areas we visited, the roads were clear. The walk uphill to Neuschwanstein Castle from town is 20 minutes. Linderhof Castle is stunning. Both inside tours began on time with professional guides. Booking early online gave us a terrific price on two tickets. I will look to Viator in the future!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Amanda
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

A really good, hassle free way to see Neuschwanstein and Linderhof. It would have been nice to have more time at Lindershof to fit in the grounds (as well as the palace), but I understand that there are time constraints. The tour of Neuschwanstein was really good, even if there was so much fog it was hard to see the palace from the distance! Our tour guide was very helpful and informative and the departure point was easy to find.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Very nice tour, linderhof castle is amazing from the inside

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message