Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Linderhof Castle

Ludwig II had a habit of designing palaces after his idols. In the case of Linderhof Palace, the inspiration was the Sun-King Louis XIV and Versailles as he built up the "King's Cottage". Sun decor, hall of mirrors, and a smaller scale ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 321 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent one day trip to see the Bavarian Alps, Linderhof Castle, Oberammergau and tour Neuschwanstein Castle!! We packed a lot of activity into one day and enjoyed everything. Our guide was excellent and informative. It is very difficult to try to replicate this tour on your own with a car or public transportation. It is well worth the money and day to enjoy this beautiful part of Germany!!! My only disappoint was the lack of time in Oberammergau! Our stop was too short to even walk down the street. An additional half hour added to this stop would increase the value to allow for viewing the town and grabbing a coffee or a quick shopping stop. Also, the lunch in Neuschwanstein recommended was excellent and quick, necessary fuel for hiking to Neuschwanstein.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Superb day. Well worth the money. Elisabeth was a wonderful guide and provided much local and historical insight. Janet did a great job getting us around some tight places. Note, this tour does require a lot of walking if you really want to enjoy the full experience. Linderhof and Oberammergau are both added bonuses

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A great piece of history to take in for anyone in munich. Plenty of time in linderhof and neuschwanstein to take in the sights and castle tours. Informative guide, comfortable coach. Be prepared to pay a little extra for the castle entrance but its worth it!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Margit and Alex were great. She gave us clear directions, good information and made sure we understood how it worked. My only complaint was the minimal time at both Linderhof and Uberamugau.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Linderhof Palace was nice. We really needed more time at Neuschwanstein Castle. The 25 minute climb up and down can be quite rigorous for the unprepared. Less time at the town souvenir shop would be better as there is already such a shop at the castle. Overall very nice

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

What a great day with a really excellent guide. Linderhof was fascinating...taken through with a friendly and knowledgeable local guide. Neuschwanstein Castle truly magnificent...no wonder Walt Disney used it as the idea for his Sleeping Beauty Castle in Disneyland. Like our previous Viator experiences, very good value for money. We will continue to use Viator for these type of outings on any future trips...ease of booking online, reliability, content, quality etc.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It rained most of the day but didn't spoilt the trip whatsoever! Our tour guide franschesca was very knowledgable and enthusiastic. It was a little bit rushed at linderhof and oberammagou, but I'm glad we got to see a little bit of both and had plenty of time at neuschwanstein. Thanks for the great day!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was a great tour. Linderhof, Oberamengau and Neuschwanstein are magnificent places. Everyone in my family enjoyed this tour. Lucia the guide was very knowledgeable, clear and concise, we really learned a lot from her. A+++

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This trip was very good. The bus, the tour guide, the drive and schedule were all super. The visits and stops: Linderhof, Oberammergau, and Newschwanstein were all very well telegraphed and carried out. The tour guide was very professional and provided just the right amount of information: informative without being boring or intrusive. The bus itself was very comfortable. The driving was smooth and without incident - just the way it should be. I'd strongly recommend for those traveling for the first time or have limited mobility. For families or 3 or more and able to walk you can do this trip on your own in your car. One word of caution: Neuschwanstein has its own weather pattern. We left sunny Munich but caught some rain in the Fuessen area in southern Bavaria. There is a cable car ride in the vicinity that I caught a glimpse of but it is not part of this tour.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Linderhof and Neuschwanstein are both gorgeous. It's great to book the tour and have the tickets instead of waiting in line for the tickets. Wear comfortable shoes!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

the tour is great, even if one hour more at linderhof castle would've been appreciated, the time you have at the castle does not gives you time for photos in the castle garden. I cannot understand way no guide tells you at Neuschwanstein that you can go up by bus for only EUR 1.80. the bus let's you up the hill, one can even go to the bridge in 15 minutes up. also for the way down you can use the horse-drawn carts for only EUR 3.00. for this tour I'll not recommend our guide, Nancy. We had a quiet trip, less info

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Out tour of Linderhof and Neuchwanstein with Viator was really great! Our tour guide Elizabeth told our group ton of information, not only about the castles and the history associated with them but also about Bavaria and overall German society. As an American I found it all very interesting and I appreciated her perspective on the many topics she covered. In addition she was very personable and friendly and made every effort to answer questions and assist in any way she could.
The all day tour is about the right length of time and the bus, a modern comfortable motor coach, was a nice ride, and the pickup location next to the train station is very convenient. Both castles are spectacular places with beautiful surroundings in remote locations and I believe this tour is a good value, especially if you are in Munich without a car. If you are in Munich or Bavaria and have the time, you'll be glad you visited Neuschwanstein and Linderhof and I think Viator is the easiest way to do it!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Lots of walking on this tour especially up to Neuschwanstein, but the castles are beautiful! I just wish we had more time to take photos and explore at Linderhof.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This tour is a great way to see two of Bavaria's most impressive palaces. Both Linderhof and Neuschwanstein are well worth the trip, and you should definitely not miss out on either of the interior tours. Oberammergau is a very picturesque village with some good souvenir shopping. The guides did a great job of keeping everyone reasonably on time, and provided lots of interesting information along the way. The driving through the countryside is absolutely beautiful, especially on a clear day. While the time at Neuschwanstein seems like a lot, you won't have too much time to wander. I would recommend bringing a lunch and immediately heading uphill to the bridge to get some good pictures, then eating your lunch before heading back to the palace for the tour. Overall, a very enjoyable tour that is worth the price!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Tour was very nice, Elizabeth was very good guide, told us interesting historical stories and organised tickets to the castles. We would have liked to have more time at the Linderhof to explore the gardens. Both castles are really worth seeing and scenery is wonderful.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message