Mount Kinabalu towers over the eastern Malaysian state of Sabah. At 13,435ft (4,095m) above sea level, Mount Kinabalu is the 4th tallest mountain in the Malay Archipelago, drawing travelers the world over to climb its slopes in search of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 347 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!! Depending on your activity level, there was a lot of walking involved. Ana was an amazing tour guide! I cannot stress that enough! She was so knowledgable and informative about any questions you could think up, even if the question didn't even relate to the tour. The castles were breathtaking and the weather was thankfully perfect. We had plenty of time to do everything, though if we went in the summer when the gardens were in bloom I think we might have felt a little rushed at Linderhof. All of the gardens and fountains were being covered for the winter, so we had plenty of time at each location.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A dream come true... the woman on the bus was so knowledgeable about the castles and the countryside of Germany. Do wish we had more time at Linderhof but that was the only thing that could have been better.
Neuschwanstein was awesome... I was like a little child visiting Disneyworld for the first time, definitely woudl go back.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

What a fantastic trip! Both castles are absolutely beautiful. Linderhof is small and exquisite. Neuschwanstein the ultimate fairytale castle. We loved the short stop at Oberamagau - just wished we had a little longer. Again the houses are fairytale like and like nothing else we have experienced anywhere else. The scenery along the way is stunningly beautiful. Thoroughly recommended as a day trip outside Munich.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was just as it was explained in the booking process. To be clear, Viator books the tour, but the tour is run by a tour company so you are on with others not having booked with Viator. Likewise, the guide is from the tour company. This was not obvious to me from booking and /or reviews. So then, our guide Franciska (sp?) was wonderful. Very good information on the bus both there and back, with time, especially on the return, for resting. She was nmot our guide for either of the castles.
Linderhof was very special and our castle guide was great. Jaw dropping rooms and further interesting info about King Ludwig II. Oberammergau was a delightful stop. A little short, but so much to fit into one day. Neuschwanstein was amazing, but to me more for the exteriors than the interiors--after seeing Linderhof.
Be forewarned, there is considerable walking for Neuschwanstein, no matter how you approach it. My sister, 80, opted not to do that part, but the small visiting area below the castle provided entertainment whileI visited the castle--a very nice museum. So it worked out for us.
All staff were very accommodating and attentive to our concerns.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Tour pickup was very close to hotel. Comfortable coach. Excellent driver. Saw the first snow fall in Bavaria for 2014. Tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly. Not a sunny day but seeing the Neuschwanstein Castle from the Marienbrucke as the fog lifted was very impressive. Linderhof was also nice, but outside monuments were covered for the winter. Timing of breaks for restrooms, snacks, and souvenir shopping was just enough.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

This tour is a great way to see Mad King Ludwig’s Fairy Tale Castles without the hassle of renting a car. We recommend sitting in the top of the bus for lovely views of Bavaria while in route to the castles. As other reviewers have noted, the tours are a bit rushed. There isn’t enough time at Linderhof to see the Grotto and we had to grab lunch on the go in order to make it to the top of the hill for our guided tour of Neuschwanstein. Our tour stopped in the little village Oberammergau for 45 min which wasn’t long enough to enjoy the town or even get an adequate lunch. We would rather have had that 45 minutes to either tour the LInderhof Grotto or get lunch in Hohenschwangau. This tour involves a lot walking and requires a fast pace so it probably isn’t the best option for people with mobility issues. Our tour guide was Christine and she did a nice job of telling us about the history of the areas we were touring. Overall, we are glad we went on the tour because it allowed us to see areas of the Bavarian Alps and the amazing castles.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Imprescindible si visitas Munich, primero llegamos a Linderhof, luego hacemos una parada en una ciudad intermedia muy "cute", y proseguimos a Neuschwanstein. Teniamos dudas con respecto a entrar o no entrar a los castillos (el costo es aparte, no esta incluido en el tour, 22 euros por persona entre ambos) finalmente decidimos hacerlo y sin duda valió la pena. EXCELENTE TOUR, nuestra guia Elizabeth fabulosa, nos explicó cada detalle y nos atendió de maravilla. Realmente te sientes en un "cuento de hadas".

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is WELL WORTH the few extra dollars (or Euro) for an intimate, smaller-group tour. Francesca was amazing, knew her subject matter quite well (and then some), and allowed for quiet time on the trip back to Munich. She arranged for a private shuttle at Neuschwanstein to arrive at Mary's Bridge quicker and with fewer hills to hike up! She gave each tourist a "goodie bag" and drinks and even took pictures of us with our cameras so that both/all can be in the photo. She was a fantastic guide, and our driver was quite capable as well.
The day was planned out perfectly, and the order that we did everything in was the best way to avoid the crowds. The extra side-trip to Oberammergau was a nice time for shopping and getting gelato, or more traditional Bavarian treats! The guide at Linderhof was especially good - the overall impression I get is that they take great pride in the history and artwork in these gorgeous castles, and convey that message accordingly.
I would recommend this tour to everyone and even take it again myself.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Maria was our very sweet and informative tour guide who offered an abundance of information during our trip to Neuschwanstein and Linderhof. The drive out to the castles was one of the loveliest we experienced on our two week trip. Maria recommended a charming restaurant in town and let us know that credit cards were accepted there, which we appreciated since our former tour guide failed to mention this. Linderhof was dazzling and Neuschwanstein was equally amazing but had a different type of style. This tour allowed enough time to eat, tour the castle, and do a little shopping. Definitely one of our favorite tours!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

this trip was great. Make sure you have good walking shoes. the castles are amazing! we went to linderhof castle first and then made our way up to neushchwanstein castle. it worked perfect for us because it gave us enough time to take pictures and make to or 3:15pm tour. the only thing is that we didn't get too much time for shopping when we made it back down to the bus. you will be walking a lot.the tour guide lady was fantastic, don't remember her name but she blonde and funny with a really soft voice. it was a great tour. if you can, take your own snacks. unless you plan on sitting down and having lunch in a restaurant. there's a little deli shop on the bottom you can just grab and go.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was raining in Munich (October 17, 2014) when we caught the bus in front of Karstadt's. We were feeling a little sorry for ourselves, but things improved along the way! There ended up being three couples on our tour including us. The ride from Town to Neuschwanstein, even in the rain, was lovely with commentary by the guide as we rode along. I said to my wife: "You, know the ride alone with the commentary is worth the price of the tour." When we arrived, the rain had stopped. Our guide was excellent. She told us step by step what would happen. We stood in only one line all day and that was for only 10 minutes. Our group going through the castle was about 30 people, 24 of whom were with one tour group. We 6 let them go ahead of us and they would leave each room and we had the room to ourselves. Our guide arranged for a van to shuttle us up to Castle for only 2 Euros each, a good deal. Then she explained how we could catch the horse drawn carriage on the way down, 3 Euros each, still a good deal After Neuschwanstein the guide asked us if we wanted to see The Church in the Meadows, a UNESCO sight. We said yes. Wow, what a treat. When I saw the large Church in the Meadow (seriously) I thought it was nice. When I stepped through the doors and saw the alter, it literally took my breath away! You have to see to believe. Then we went to Oberammergau the home of the Passion Play done by the townspeople every 10 years (not this year). But the little town was a simple fun stop to look at the shops and see the theatre that seats 4,800 and the town is only 5,000. Finally, we got to Linderhoff Castle for our tour. Wonderful. No line. Even though they were closing (DLS time change that was unexpected--Germany doesn't all change on the same day.) our guide called ahead and made arrangements. On the way back to Munich we saw two videos about Ludwig II. The tour was expensive but we knew we were only going once in our lives. Money well spent.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The bus was comfortable (although I thought they had advertised that there was a toilet on the bus, but there was none). Our guide, Monica, was very knowledgeable of the area and attractions on the tour. Linderhof Palace gardens were beautiful and the interior was amazing - wished we'd had a little more time in Oberammergau. The exterior of Neuschwanstein Castle is spectacular, if not magical - opted not to do the interior castle tour due to the physical requirements to just get to the castle. Took the bus up the mountain, then a very strenuous 10-15 minute walk to the Marienbridge and a nearly 30 minute walk, steeply downhill and then uphill, to get to the castle gate. Took the horse and cart back down to Schwangau versus a 30 minute steep walk downhill! I do think Viator should include the physical requirements to visit the castle in their advertisement of the tour (there are signs at the bus stop "warning" tourists of the exertion required to visit the castle). On the whole, the tour was well organized and we enjoyed it very much!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The Castles are spectacular and are definitely worth the trip. The only reason I gave this tour 4 stars and not 5 is that timing was really bad: we didn't have enough time in Linderhof - only 1 hour, which didn't allow us to see much besides palace itself, while there are lots of other interesting things there. In Neuschwanstein the timing was all wrong: we had too much time before the tour in the castle, and only 30 minutes to get back to our bus. The guide told us it would take only 20 min to go down from the castle, but later I read in the guide book it should take at least 40 min! And indeed my 80-year old parents and I had to run down the hill to get in time to the bus, as the guide warned us she would leave without waiting for anyone. We happened to be on time, but we were out of breath, and the people who came after us were also red in face and sweating profusely. That definitely spoiled the pleasure of seeing Neuschwanstein castle.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

We really enjoyed the tour of the castles. It was an entire day, but a comfortable bus ride with a very knowledgeable guide who was there to tell us about scenery and what we were seeing. The bus was easy to find in the morning, right across from the main train station in Munich. We stopped in some great little towns, they gave us time to do sightseeing and purchase souvenirs, and there was plenty of time on your own to get up to the Neuschwanstein Castle and also tour the Linderhof Palace. We really enjoyed this tour and would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very excellent tour. The guide was professional and helpful. The small palace of Linderhof definitely worth visiting.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message