Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Linderhof Castle

Ludwig II had a habit of designing palaces after his idols. In the case of Linderhof Palace, the inspiration was the Sun-King Louis XIV and Versailles as he built up the "King's Cottage". Sun decor, hall of mirrors, and a smaller scale ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 356 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I had such a lovely time on this tour and would absolutely recommend it for anyone looking to visit Linderhof and Neuschwanstein. Elizabeth was wonderful and very knowledgable and the bus was extremely comfortable!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour- guide was really knowledgeable and time allotted to each site was the perfect amount. The only thing I could recommend the tour company is cut out the hour rest stop at Oberammergau after Linderhof. It just felt like an useless random stop in the middle of nowhere. Everyone was anxious to see the highlight of the tour- Neuschwanstein!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour but visiting Neuschwanstein castle is a pretty steep walk of around 30 minutes. The fountain at Linderhof is worth the trip on it's own. Good guide and on time thanks to the obliging couch passengers.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This tour was really good, however we felt a bit rushed at each stop. Linderhof was beautiful and we had a great guide.

Neuschwanstein Castle is also beautiful, but Ludwig II died before it was completed so it was never finished. Also there is a very steep walk about a mile long just to get to the castle, although they do have horse and carriage rides that take you almost to the top, those are approximately 6 euro per person per way, and there was a very long line. So make sure you wear good walking shoes on this trip!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

An excellent trip to Linderhof and Neuschwanstein. The tour started at 8.30am from outside of the Karstadt department store opposite the Hauptbahnhof. Ursula our guide was very friendly and knowledgeable and provided us with lots of information. An excellent, very enjoyable day out and would thoroughly recommend!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I really enjoyed this day out. I think Linderhof was better than Neuschwanstein, but both castles are absolutely beautiful. It's a real pity that King Ludwig didn't get a chance to finish Neuschwanstein. The guide was excellent and the day went off beautifully. Well worth it.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The tour was very good. If they could shorten the Linderhof visit by 30 mins and use it for Neuschwanstein, it would be perfect! Tour guide was good and friendly.

Recommend this tour not only for its value for money, but also for the tour-guide-booked tickets especially at Neuschwanstein, looong queue otherwise.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

A great day to spend on the outskirts of Munich. Too bad it was so rainy, but that wasn't Viators fault at all. Very good value. Disappointed that neither Linderhof nor Neuschwanstein allowed photography even non flash inside the castle/palace. I want to say that it would be helpful if Viator would add on it's booking online for this tour that the 23 Euro entry fee would be paid in euros on the bus. I thought we would each pay independently at the sites, and was planning to use a credit card. Paying in cash made me short of Euros for the rest of the day. Also, the tour guide kind of left us in the lurch when she got off the bus to get the tour tickets. She didn't say where we should wait for her, or if we should stay by the bus or follow her to get the entry tickets. A better explanation would have been helpful. Still recommend this tour. Danke shoen

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The Linderhof Castle was good and lived up to expectation.
The Neuschwanstein castle was a bit ordinary especially when you have already seen the Versailles Palace which was supposed to be the inspiration. Also it is a big walk up to the castle as the road is damaged and so the shuttle service is not running. It is good if you are fit and young but not when you have some walking issues.
The guide however was very good and very nice.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour of Schloss Linderhof and Schloss Neuschwanstein! A truly memorable experience and worth recommending if you are spending some time in Munich or Bavaria. Our tour guide, Margit, was very friendly and highly knowledgeable. The bus was very comfortable and our driver did a great job getting us from one city to the next.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We loved this tour. First, we went to Linderhof, where our guide, Elisabeth, arranged getting the tickets for the preguided tour into the castle. We had plenty of time to take pictures around the grounds. Then, we stopped at Oberammergau, a cute little town, for about a half hour. We were there on Sunday, so unfortunately, most of the shops were closed, but we had ice cream and walked around. The last event of the day was Neuschwanstein. Again, we had plenty of time, and our tickets were arranged by Elisabeth. Make sure you bring cash to give to your guide for the tickets. The bus ride is a great inexperience in itself because of the scenic views, and our guide provided us some history/background on the bus ride there.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Although the trip was undertook in heavy snow and poor visibility we still had a lovely day. Both castles and village are well worth visiting. It was just a shame the weather was so bad which impacted on the length of time we had a each stop. Neuschwanstein is lovely, seeing the castle as you walk up mountain path towards it is breathtaking (took around 20-25 minutes in the snow). Linderhof was also nice and interesting but was quite tricky to walk to in the snow. The village was stunning but our length of time there was extremely short. We would have liked more time here to look around the shops.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

A great tour to take on a Sunday, when all of Germany is closed.

A well-informed guide and a comfortable bus take you to these two palaces. In the winter, Linderhof boxes up all the exterior statues, so there's not much to see outside. During the summer, it's stunning.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Beautiful views although it was cloudy. The scenery was very romantic! I liked the guide in Linderhof. She was very interesting. However I expected a guide in the Schloss Neuschwanstein instead of the audio guide. I felt we were like all acting like robots...

Overall a nice day!

Thank you!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

We truly enjoyed our trip. The bus was comfortable and our travel guide, Elisabeth, was very knowledgeable and pleasant. The visit to Linderhof was stunning, my favorite. However the stop over in Oberamargau I found to be a wast of time, given that the bus parks far from the famous window painted houses and I am not interested in buying kitsch in their stores. Once in Neuschwanstein we had time to eat lunch and walk up to the castle to be there in time for our tour. Because of the time crunch we could not go to the Marien Bruecke, where is the only place you can see the castle with that stunning background. That was disappointing. The stop in Oberamargau is to blame in my opinion.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Even the poor weather didn't diminish what a wonderful day I enjoyed. Linderhof castle tour in particular was a standout.i would recommend this day tour anyone. First cass.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The pure splendor of these castles cannot be described in words. Mesmerising views especially atop the hills of Neuschwanstein. Although it was a pity that during my visit in winter, the outdoor statues at Linderhof was covered for protection.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Very organized and professional. Linderhof castle is breath taking!!! A real nice unexpected surprise! One of the most beautiful castles i ever visited (talking abt the inside decoration not the castle architecture) It is as beautiful, if not more, than Versaille. This tour is a MUST do in Munich

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Both are spectacular castles to see. Neuschwanstein is like a fairytale castle without the glam inside and Linderhof the total opposite being decorated with so much gold and beautiful original furniture. Take the horse carriage if your not too fit to walk up the hill to Neuschwanstein and then walk back down later.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Neuschwanstein is breathtaking! While Linderhof is beautiful and comfortable. Tour guide and coach are comfortable, it's a very enjoyable trip!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!! Depending on your activity level, there was a lot of walking involved. Ana was an amazing tour guide! I cannot stress that enough! She was so knowledgable and informative about any questions you could think up, even if the question didn't even relate to the tour. The castles were breathtaking and the weather was thankfully perfect. We had plenty of time to do everything, though if we went in the summer when the gardens were in bloom I think we might have felt a little rushed at Linderhof. All of the gardens and fountains were being covered for the winter, so we had plenty of time at each location.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A dream come true... the woman on the bus was so knowledgeable about the castles and the countryside of Germany. Do wish we had more time at Linderhof but that was the only thing that could have been better.
Neuschwanstein was awesome... I was like a little child visiting Disneyworld for the first time, definitely woudl go back.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

What a fantastic trip! Both castles are absolutely beautiful. Linderhof is small and exquisite. Neuschwanstein the ultimate fairytale castle. We loved the short stop at Oberamagau - just wished we had a little longer. Again the houses are fairytale like and like nothing else we have experienced anywhere else. The scenery along the way is stunningly beautiful. Thoroughly recommended as a day trip outside Munich.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was just as it was explained in the booking process. To be clear, Viator books the tour, but the tour is run by a tour company so you are on with others not having booked with Viator. Likewise, the guide is from the tour company. This was not obvious to me from booking and /or reviews. So then, our guide Franciska (sp?) was wonderful. Very good information on the bus both there and back, with time, especially on the return, for resting. She was nmot our guide for either of the castles.
Linderhof was very special and our castle guide was great. Jaw dropping rooms and further interesting info about King Ludwig II. Oberammergau was a delightful stop. A little short, but so much to fit into one day. Neuschwanstein was amazing, but to me more for the exteriors than the interiors--after seeing Linderhof.
Be forewarned, there is considerable walking for Neuschwanstein, no matter how you approach it. My sister, 80, opted not to do that part, but the small visiting area below the castle provided entertainment whileI visited the castle--a very nice museum. So it worked out for us.
All staff were very accommodating and attentive to our concerns.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour was brilliant. First to Linderhof to show St Ludwig 2nds villa then Oberammergau for a little pit stop and finally Neuschwanstein. Be warned the tour guidd recommended eating at muller, which is packed, but further down there is a lake with a restaurant called Alpenrose Am See.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message