Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Linderhof Castle

Ludwig II had a habit of designing palaces after his idols. In the case of Linderhof Palace, the inspiration was the Sun-King Louis XIV and Versailles as he built up the "King's Cottage". Sun decor, hall of mirrors, and a smaller scale ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 329 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent one day trip to see the Bavarian Alps, Linderhof Castle, Oberammergau and tour Neuschwanstein Castle!! We packed a lot of activity into one day and enjoyed everything. Our guide was excellent and informative. It is very difficult to try to replicate this tour on your own with a car or public transportation. It is well worth the money and day to enjoy this beautiful part of Germany!!! My only disappoint was the lack of time in Oberammergau! Our stop was too short to even walk down the street. An additional half hour added to this stop would increase the value to allow for viewing the town and grabbing a coffee or a quick shopping stop. Also, the lunch in Neuschwanstein recommended was excellent and quick, necessary fuel for hiking to Neuschwanstein.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Superb day. Well worth the money. Elisabeth was a wonderful guide and provided much local and historical insight. Janet did a great job getting us around some tight places. Note, this tour does require a lot of walking if you really want to enjoy the full experience. Linderhof and Oberammergau are both added bonuses

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was great and the guide had all the knowledge. The castles are worth visiting, especially the Linderhof. The tour gives you the opportunity to do shopping for the soveniers and enough time to visit the castles on a guided tour.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Loved the tour! The guide kept excusing himself for Linderhof not being a big enough castle, but we actually loved it more than Neuschwanstein. Linderhof is small but extremely charming and beautiful, Neuschwanstein is big and impressive, but much more impersonal.
The walk up to the Neuschwanstein (which we eventually chose over the carriage or the bus, due to the long waiting lines) was easier than expected, despite me not being fit at all. The estimate was around 40 minutes, I walked it in about 25 (it was tiring, but nevertheless). It's about 1km of walking, and it's not really steep. The views up there alone are worth the trip.
Don't miss out on going to the Marienbridge as well (there's some extra walking after you reach the castle), the view of the castle is beautiful.
A downside to the castle is that, despite having audio guides, the whole group you enter with has to wait for the audio guide section to finish in order to pass to the next room. We tend to visit places at a faster pace, so the long waiting in every room was excruciating.
We liked the guide, but we disliked that he hinted (not subtly at all even) that we should tip him. I don't mind tipping, but not when it's being suggested to me.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour! We did not go inside any of the castles as we usually prefer them on the outside. At Linderhof this gave us time to look around the amazingly beautiful gardens. We made a short stop in Oberammagau which was a beautiful place. However we did not have that much time to look around. The highlight of the day was the view from Marienbrücke where you have the most amazing view over Neuschwanstein! We did not bother waiting in line for the buses and the walk up to Marienbrücke only took about 25 minutes. The walk through the forest was very pleasant.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A great piece of history to take in for anyone in munich. Plenty of time in linderhof and neuschwanstein to take in the sights and castle tours. Informative guide, comfortable coach. Be prepared to pay a little extra for the castle entrance but its worth it!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Lots of climbing (more than 200 steps in the castle but well worth the effort. View from the bridge as right out of Disney. Linderhoff was small but the interiors were well worth it. Great guide as well

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castles have always been a treat to visit; the guide was excllent, well-informed, and extremely pleasant. The only draw back was the inability of time to permit a tour of the underground cave at the Linderhof Castle. I strongly suggest time to carved to permit the cave visit.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was my favorite tour, the stop in the small town was almost unnecessary as I would have liked more time at Linderhof. The order of the trip was switched around and our tour at Neuschwanstein was so late we had no time after to go to the gift shop or we would miss the last Linderhof tour .

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Margit and Alex were great. She gave us clear directions, good information and made sure we understood how it worked. My only complaint was the minimal time at both Linderhof and Uberamugau.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Margt, our guide was quite knowledgable and provided a number of helpful insights. We enjoyed the neuschwanstein castle tour and our time in the surrounding town. While the Neuschwanstein castle was certainly impressive in a number of ways, the Linderhof gardens were colorful and meticulously maintained. I can understand why Ludwig II spent half his time there.
The small town we visited between the two castle visits was really charming. I would have enjoyed exploring for at least 90 minutes rather than just 45. In addition, participants should be advised that retailers (other than restaurants and souvenir shops ) will be closed during Sunday tours.
Overall my wife and I were pleased.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Linderhof Palace was nice. We really needed more time at Neuschwanstein Castle. The 25 minute climb up and down can be quite rigorous for the unprepared. Less time at the town souvenir shop would be better as there is already such a shop at the castle. Overall very nice

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

All good except too little time for Linderhof palace which is a shame..

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

What a great day with a really excellent guide. Linderhof was fascinating...taken through with a friendly and knowledgeable local guide. Neuschwanstein Castle truly magnificent...no wonder Walt Disney used it as the idea for his Sleeping Beauty Castle in Disneyland. Like our previous Viator experiences, very good value for money. We will continue to use Viator for these type of outings on any future trips...ease of booking online, reliability, content, quality etc.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It rained most of the day but didn't spoilt the trip whatsoever! Our tour guide franschesca was very knowledgable and enthusiastic. It was a little bit rushed at linderhof and oberammagou, but I'm glad we got to see a little bit of both and had plenty of time at neuschwanstein. Thanks for the great day!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message