Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Linderhof Castle

Ludwig II had a habit of designing palaces after his idols. In the case of Linderhof Palace, the inspiration was the Sun-King Louis XIV and Versailles as he built up the "King's Cottage". Sun decor, hall of mirrors, and a smaller scale ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 393 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great experience, must do when u are in Munich. Was worried initially that Linderhoff was not worth the time visiting, but am now glad i was wrong. Both castles have totally different style and didn't feel bored at all. Take the shuttle to Neuschwanstein castle from the lunch place or you won't have enough 'extra' time to enjoy the castle.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent time touring Neuschwanstein, Oberammergau, and Linderhof. Christine was a fabulous tour guide and the luxury coach was well worth it.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I have left individual reviews of this trip on Tripadvisor and they reflect what was a superb day that was organised faultlessly by the team on the coach. The coach itself was more or less brand new and made the trip very comfortable. The 3 ladies running the show were excellent and the day couldn't have been better. We need to visit Linderhof again to see the Grotto etc but this trip gave us a great overall view of Bavaria.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My family really liked this tour. Our guide was informative and funny. Neuschwanstein is absolutely worth the trip out of Munich to see. When you get to Neuschwanstein, I would suggest you take the bus uphill and not try to walk up. The castle is so grand! And as my son calls it tiny baby Linderhof Castle is also beautiful. Overall, a day well spent.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome little day trip. Linderhof and Neuschwanstein are awesome places to visit. Interesting history and beautiful landscape around the castle grounds. Our guide was funny and knowledgeable. No regrets!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

PLEASE NOTE: The cost of the entrance tickets is NOT included in the cost you pay on Viator. We needed to pay the ticket price of 23 euros per adult when the bus was already enroute. The tour was wonderful despite our surprise. It was a 2 hour bus ride from Munich but the view was worth it. When we got to Linderhof castle, the tour was quick and not much time to explore the grounds but we did get a chance to see the gardens and take pictures. There are timed entrances to Neuschwanstein so we had lunch where the guide recommended. We also made a much too quick stop in Oberamergau for shopping. I do wish more time was allowed for that because there were many beautiful wood items made by the people of the Black Forest but we needed to make spot decisions on some expensive items and I regret we didn't get more time to decide.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Had a great time....LOVED IT! The tour guide was very informative and the driver got us there and back to Munich safely. Wish we could have had 20 more minutes in Linderhof, so we could explore the gardens.
Other than that, everything was fantastic! Thanks.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Bavarian country side was such a beauty to behold. Winding roads, lush green fields, tall trees, massive mountains everything added to the charm of this place. Our first stop was palace Linderhof, which had stunning landscapes. Second stop was the charming old town of Oberammergau with its painted houses and famous wood works. Via the Romantic road, we reached our final destination The Neuschwanstein Castle, such a secluded and stunning piece of work. Our tour guide was so very informative not just about the tour but Munich in general. The coach was very comfortable with push-back seats, toilet, refreshments, TV, luggage stowing and an upper deck for better views. Very much recommended and worth the money.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Our guide Marcus, was excellent. We were a bus of 70, we were either the best tourists ever or Marcus knows how to handle people, I think it is the latter. Very professional team, both driver and guide.
My opinion of the castles are: pay to tour Linderhof, but found the actual inside tour of Neuschwanstein wanting, felt a bit like a tourist trap thing. Walking and Viewing the castle from the outside At different angles, including being on Mary's bridge is spectacular. Know that this opinion does not reflect on the tour company or any guide of the tour company in anyway, as the tour company guide's are not the same guides you have when you are taken through the the castles. Most likely the tour company has no input to the actual tour as I think they are operated by the state.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Both Neuschwanstein and Linderhof are 30 minute guided tours at set times. We did not have enough time to look around all of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof. I suggest the tour for those who do not what to plan everything themselves. Next time I will go without a tour, but I am glad I went on the tour and recommend it. Our bus was late but we got free drinks on board. Tour guide was knowledgeable. Be sure to show up on time or you will be left behind!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Loved this your! Our guide Marcus was great. We first stopped at Linderhof which was about 1h 40 minutes from Munich. It was beautiful and we got a short guided tour. After that we drove to Oberammergau which is a great village- one of my favourite in Germany. Next up was Neuschwanstein which is my favourite place I have ever travelled too. It was a great trip, but my only reason for not rating it 5 stars is that we felt really rushed to fit this all in to one day. I would have loved to have lunch in Oberammergau and take time to enjoy it rather then a pit stop for coffee and comfort break.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Nice tour of both castles, the time at each castle is a bit rushed especially Linderhof and it is pity that an extra stop is made at a small town mainly to shop - would have preferred the extra time at the castles instead.

A tour to Neuschwastein is a must - it is a hard location to get to by yourself. This was the highlight of our tour and we would do the tour again just for the convenience of having the transportation and tickets co-ordinated for you!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Linderhof is a small castle but nice to see. For older people Neuschwanstein Castle will be a difficult climb, even if you take the shuttle bus up to the castle, it is a long, steep, uphill climb--so be prepared!! I didn't get to go into the castle because I could not find the tour guide to get my ticket, she showed us a restaurant to eat at and left to buy the tickets. However, I could not find her in the crowd to obtain the entrance ticket to the Neushwanstein Castle.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Full day tour from Munich. Neuschwanstein the highlight with a nice stop for lunch, brief stop in Obergammmerau, and Linderhof castle.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was fantastic. Well organised, nice guide, beautiful weather. Could not be better. I particular recommend Linderhof castle.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We enjoyed our tour of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof! Everyone was polite and helpful, the bus was very nice indeed! A relaxing day tour....and we normally do not go for the organized tours. Recommended!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour, great tour guide, very comfortable bus. Well worth the money, if you want to see Linderhof and Neuschwanstein this is the way to do it,

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very nice tour. Well worth it. Tour guide gave out very interesting facts and info. 8hrs tour. Back in the city by 630pm. Linderhof castle is small but really amazing.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I believe the tour guide's name was Christine. She was excellent. Linderhof is amazing and the landscaped grounds awesome. Oberammergau stop was way to short. However, Neuschwanstein was stunningly beautiful! Make sure you go to Mary's Bridge for the incredible view.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour guide! Saw a lot of places in a short time but was worth it. Wished they gave more time to linderhof and less to neuschwanstein, but still great overall

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Love the castles! I have been wanting to see Neuschwanstein for years, so was surprised when I toured Linderhof as it became my favorite inside and out!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Well worth the trip. Bring your walking shoes, as there is some hiking to the castles from the bus parking and even from the shuttle bus drop off. Danielle and the driver were superb. Understand that, when Danielle gives a departure time, BE THERE! I almost missed the bus at Linderhof. There are strict time constraints, due to the distances, also resulting in not enough time at any of the sites. Still, well worth it. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly, and she stayed with us throughout the day aside from when we were touring the castles. She warned us ahead of time about the long walk to Neuschwanstein and informed us about the other means of travel available. If the line is short I recommend the bus so you can ride up to the top, above the castle and two minutes from the bridge. Otherwise you have to walk up to the castle, then walk uphill further to the bridge worth it for the view. The only complaint I had was that we were unable to see Linderhof, but this is because of the G7 summit and not because of the tour. Instead we viewed Hohenschwangau which was still very nice.

Overall, great tour, though be warned the price you are paying here only covers the trip with the tour guide. It does not cover entry to the castles. We were asked to pay 22 euro for entry to both.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Brilliant day trip to the castles , informative and witty tour guide Maria.
Comfortable double decker air condition coach.
Excellent driver , cheap cold beer and water on board.
Couldn't have imagined trip to be any better ... Though would have liked longer at Linderhof to look round gardens and also would have preferred to take lunch at Obergmau passion play village!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

While we didn't actually get to tour Linderhof due to the G7 conference that was occurring in Germany at the time, this tour was nevertheless excellent. Linderhof was replaced with Hohenschwangau castle which was very impressive. Neuschwanstein itself is spectacular. Entertaining guide also.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message