Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Neuschwanstein Castle

Neuschwanstein Castle was commissioned as the private refuge for Ludwig II of Bavaria, but opened to the public immediately after his death in 1886. Now recognizable as the inspiration for Disney's Sleeping Beauty Castle, Neuschwanstein is one ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 594 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This is the perfect way to see Linderhof and Neuschwanstein. The coach is comfortable, the tour guide knowledgeable, you get lots of time to sit back and admire the countryside and then just wander around before you see these amazing castles. Great value.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I had such a lovely time on this tour and would absolutely recommend it for anyone looking to visit Linderhof and Neuschwanstein. Elizabeth was wonderful and very knowledgable and the bus was extremely comfortable!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour- guide was really knowledgeable and time allotted to each site was the perfect amount. The only thing I could recommend the tour company is cut out the hour rest stop at Oberammergau after Linderhof. It just felt like an useless random stop in the middle of nowhere. Everyone was anxious to see the highlight of the tour- Neuschwanstein!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We enjoyed this excursion very much. The weather was kind to us which helped and our guide, Ursula was engaging and knowledgable. Be aware that the walk up to Neuschwanstein is hard work and took us about 30 minutes plus another 15 to get to the bridge. Despite all the huffing and puffing, it was well worth it. The castle is stunning and there are some amazing views from the bridge. My only disappointment was the very short stop in Oberammergau. A quick coffee and that was it......not enough time to appreciate the town itself.
All in all, I would thoroughly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was awesome. Our guide, Austin, was an American bloke who has moved across to Germany. He was informative, friendly, funny and really approachable. Also he was really helpful. Not only did he have heaps of knowledge about Neuschwanstein and it's history, he also had good knowledge of Munich's town and his suggestion led to an awesome dinner and evening spent out and about it Munich. If you're going to see this castle, do yourself a favor and book this tour!!!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was great. Linderhorf was a very impressive mansion and Neuschwanstein was a larger than life, fantastical royal castle. I am giving the tour a four star because we were rushed on everything. I realize we need the time to get to see a lot and do a little shopping but five minutes extra at the shopping stop or some extra time for lunch I don't think wouod have made such a big difference.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Words can't describe the royal castles, even in heavy rain they were amazing places to visit. Neuschwanstein is spectacular and is definitely a castle to see. Our guide Josef was fantastic, giving us so much information and history. Highly recommended

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour but visiting Neuschwanstein castle is a pretty steep walk of around 30 minutes. The fountain at Linderhof is worth the trip on it's own. Good guide and on time thanks to the obliging couch passengers.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Simply amazing! Linderhof was such a pleasant surprise! Neuschwanstein was also pretty good! What a view, and the inside was also gorgeous! Our guide was the best one we have ever been with, EVER! Ana was her name! Perfect tour!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

We enjoyed the tour but we wish we had been told that the shuttle bus to Neuschwanstein wasn't running. We had to walk a mile uphill and then did not have time to go to the bridge. This was very disappointing. If we had been told earlier, we would have eaten faster and then might have had time to walk to the bridge. Also, I'm feeling the muscles in my legs still after 3 days! it was quite a strenuous climb to the castle, accompanied with 133 steps once inside the castle. I count this as exercise!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This tour was really good, however we felt a bit rushed at each stop. Linderhof was beautiful and we had a great guide.

Neuschwanstein Castle is also beautiful, but Ludwig II died before it was completed so it was never finished. Also there is a very steep walk about a mile long just to get to the castle, although they do have horse and carriage rides that take you almost to the top, those are approximately 6 euro per person per way, and there was a very long line. So make sure you wear good walking shoes on this trip!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour with a very knowledgeable and friendly tour guide. Older persons might find the walk up to the Neuschwanstein Castle daunting but the view is certainly worth it. The castle tour itself is very busy obviously this outside of the control of tour companies and you are not allowed to take pictures or video, we where told that the Flash could harm the exhibits, when it was suggested that the flash could be turned off we were then told it was a copyright issue! Overall a very good tour!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The castles were really impressive, however it wasn't clearly articulated how long it would take to walk to the top, and then over to Mary's bridge at Neuschwanstein Castle. The english of the tour guide could also have been better, but a good day overall.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Easy to book on viator. The arrangements are great. Beautiful area to visit. Got a discounted price for the trip, so the extra 23 euros you have to pay to visit the castle did not seem a burden. A little disappointed with the guide and the way he explained what to do at Neuschwanstein castle. Missed going to the bridge for a view of the castle because of that. Hotel was near the main train station, so easy to get to the bus starting point. Do make the trip if you have time.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

It was a nice tour and the Royal Castle of Neuschwanstein is gorgeous. But the time for lunch was not enough, and I think we were charged a little more than the group entrance fees for both castles.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic day trip! The tour guide was excellent. My family really enjoyed listening to the history of Bavaria and the castles during the bus ride. She also spoke perfect English so it was easy for everyone to understand. The countryside is incredibly beautiful. We found some great souvenirs during our short stop in the village of Oberammergau. Neuschwanstein is built upon a ridge which gives it the most spectacular views of the Alps I've ever seem. The only downside was the 1 mile walk uphill from the bus stop to the castle. However, my family made it up the hill easily in 30 minutes at a very slow walking pace. It was also nice that they sold drinks on the bus ride. I recommend bringing some snacks. Overall it was a great value. I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

An excellent trip to Linderhof and Neuschwanstein. The tour started at 8.30am from outside of the Karstadt department store opposite the Hauptbahnhof. Ursula our guide was very friendly and knowledgeable and provided us with lots of information. An excellent, very enjoyable day out and would thoroughly recommend!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This trip was amazing. I really enjoyed the trip. The history of this castle, Schloss Neuschwanstein was interesting. People here in Bavaria really do worship him, King Ludwig. Thank you for a wonderful trip. The price was great.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Completely helped with traveling from Munich to Neuschwanstein Castle. The tour guide was friendly and helpful. Would recommend anytime.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I really enjoyed this day out. I think Linderhof was better than Neuschwanstein, but both castles are absolutely beautiful. It's a real pity that King Ludwig didn't get a chance to finish Neuschwanstein. The guide was excellent and the day went off beautifully. Well worth it.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Great tour but be prepared for a lot of walking. Wear very comfortable shoes. The walk to Neuschwanstein was a mile uphill. Several stairs to climb inside. Mary's bridge next to castle was worth the climb. Well organized tour.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The tour was very good. If they could shorten the Linderhof visit by 30 mins and use it for Neuschwanstein, it would be perfect! Tour guide was good and friendly.

Recommend this tour not only for its value for money, but also for the tour-guide-booked tickets especially at Neuschwanstein, looong queue otherwise.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

A great day to spend on the outskirts of Munich. Too bad it was so rainy, but that wasn't Viators fault at all. Very good value. Disappointed that neither Linderhof nor Neuschwanstein allowed photography even non flash inside the castle/palace. I want to say that it would be helpful if Viator would add on it's booking online for this tour that the 23 Euro entry fee would be paid in euros on the bus. I thought we would each pay independently at the sites, and was planning to use a credit card. Paying in cash made me short of Euros for the rest of the day. Also, the tour guide kind of left us in the lurch when she got off the bus to get the tour tickets. She didn't say where we should wait for her, or if we should stay by the bus or follow her to get the entry tickets. A better explanation would have been helpful. Still recommend this tour. Danke shoen

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The Linderhof Castle was good and lived up to expectation.
The Neuschwanstein castle was a bit ordinary especially when you have already seen the Versailles Palace which was supposed to be the inspiration. Also it is a big walk up to the castle as the road is damaged and so the shuttle service is not running. It is good if you are fit and young but not when you have some walking issues.
The guide however was very good and very nice.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Beautiful Bavarian landscapes and fairy tale like castles on this tour, especially the Neuschwanstein castle. If you are going to walk up to this castle I suggest that you get an early start/quick lunch as it takes additional time to get to the second view point at the bridge which is a must see!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message