Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Neuschwanstein Castle

Neuschwanstein Castle was commissioned as the private refuge for Ludwig II of Bavaria, but opened to the public immediately after his death in 1886. Now recognizable as the inspiration for Disney's Sleeping Beauty Castle, Neuschwanstein is one ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 743 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing! I can highly recomment this tour and the tour leader, Monika! She has an amazing knowledge of the area, the castles and King Ludwig II of Bavaria - and was friendly and helpful.
If you book this tour, try to get her as the guide! The walk to Neuschwanstein is a bit steep for many, but there are buses or horse drawn carts that bring you most of the way. If you go to Munich - this is a must!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Satoshi O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It seemed expensive at first, but it worth every penny! The trip was really comfortable, informative, very convenient, and fun. Trip to the Neuschwanstein castle can be stressful if you go during the busy season, but this trip definitely saves all the headache!

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Leah K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic tour! Bus ride was comfortable, air conditioned but no Wi-Fi. Neuschwanstein and Linderhof were beautiful, Oberammergau very quaint. Great day, highly recommend this tour :

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

KHALED SABRY I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Amazing Tour , every thing went perfect - Schedule was very sharp .
Amazing views at Linderhof castle and Neuschwanstein with a short stop at a beautiful village which we buy some souvenirs.
Tour guide was so helpful and gave us all information about History of those two Castles which we were not aware before.
i recommend this tour to every one coming to Germany.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Shane V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This castle tour was great! Bring your walking shoes because it is a bit of a hike up the hill to Neuschwanstein but there is more than enough time to casually walk up, or you can pay to take a horse drawn carriage up highly recommended. The off season winter months made the tours not as busy and picture taking easier!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Hoang-Anh P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The tour saves your enormous amount of time cuing for the ticket. At the time of my trip, the bridge was close so an overlook of the Neuschwanstein castle was not possible. Otherwise, it was a really great tour. Strongly recommended for foreigners

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

gailseedsman Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour was the best way to see so much in one day. We could never have seen Linderhof Palace, Neuschwanstein Castle and walked around Oberammergau in the time. We avoided long queues for tickets, enjoyed guide's commentary along the way. And we did not feel hurried or pressured at all. We were a group of 6 with 2 children and we all thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Thank you!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

ALEXANDR N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had an amazing tour to Neuschwanstein castle with our guide Ollie. Ollie is very helpful, nice and easy going person. He didn't let without attention any of the group members and told us many interesting facts and helpful information. This tour was a real pleasure for us and we can definitely recommend it for anyone who is looking for an interesting and well organized trip to Neuschwanstein.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Smaller Group Day Tour from Munich

Steven F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the trip and had an excellent guide called Anya who was very informative both knowledgeable about Neuschwanstein Castle and Bavarian history in general. Would definitely recommend!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Smaller Group Day Tour from Munich

Deborah R

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

The good points were that our bus was comfortable, the timing was prompt. I would have appreciated a heads up on the amount of walking involved at Neuschwanstein, or perhaps I failed to notice it. The mile walk straight uphill was capped by the 339 steps in the castle. When we reached the the fifth floor I turned to the older gentleman huffing behind me and asked where do they keep the defibrillators. Admittedly they do offer carriage rides to the top but the queue was filled with young people wanting to go on a horsey ride. Perhaps a separate line for seniors? The only other complaint I had was our tour guide's continual references to Herr Hitler and his contributions to Bavaria. I almost expected her to burst into a song from Mel Brooks The Producers. It got to the point of being uncomfortable at least for the Americans around me.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Cassandra S

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

This is definitely worth the tour and I highly recommend going in the winter when they're in the low season. It's crowded all year long, but there are substantially less tours in winter so you're not fighting your way through the crowd. It's a lot to pack in one day, so taking the guided tour is much better than getting there on your own logistically, and the guide was incredibly knowledgeable so I genuinely learned so much from her tour. Touring inside the castles is debatable- they're beautiful inside, but you're pretty cramped for time at Neuschwanstein, so if you want to walk up to both at that site, you'll be scrambling to get to the tour on time. If you really want to see the beautiful rooms, spend your time inside Linderhof and skip the tour inside Neuschwanstein and relax for a few hours hiking around and exploring the premises which are equally as beautiful.

The tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable and I can't commend her preparation enough as she gave us so much information for the entire two hour drive.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Jim C

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Good tour. Great on-board guide and driver. Wonderful sights and service. The only less-than-great part were the on-site guides at Linderhof and Neuschwanstein, their English wasn't clear enough or articulated well enough to hear well on their interior tours. Not Viator/gray's fault.
Keep up the good work!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Barbara G

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Must see when in Munich. Linderhof and Neuschwanstein are too beautiful for words. We enjoyed this tour a lot. The bus ride was comfortable and it was a double decker. There are lots of walking involved though so wear comfortable shoes.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Michael T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The trip is fully loaded and is totally worth it and with this I mean it starts really early and ends late too.. But the good thing is that you would see so many things. The guided tours inside the Linderhof and Neuschwanstein castles were pretty awesome. Our guide, Nancy likewise fed us with some very interesting information on our way to the castles. Overall, I think this trip is highly recommended!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Frances H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This tour was worth every penny. The bus was very nice--they had snacks and coffee available for everyone on board and our guide was the sweetest woman. She knew so much about the area and had so much knowledge to offer. I was traveling alone and it was a very fun day for me. I wish we had had a little more time in the town of Oberammagau, but there happened to be a lot of traffic the day of our tour so time was limited.
I loved how much time we had to explore the Neuschwanstein Castle on our own. It was the perfect day trip!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Anna F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This bus tour was a great way to see Linderhof Palace and Neuschwanstein. Visiting in January with cold, snowy weather, the bus was a nice alternative to figuring out transportation myself. Our tour guide was informative and helpful, too. It was exactly what I was looking for.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Melissa C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Just gorgeous! Make sure you buy a book of Neuschwanstein though as they don't allow you to take photos inside the castle!

Doing what: Skip-the-line Neuschwanstein Castle Ticket

Nigel C

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

The weather hampered the enjoyment of this tour as it was snowing quite heavily which meant that a lot of the beautiful scenery was hidden behind snow clouds. The castle/palace are great but the beginning of the tour was very rushed no time to look at things properly or to wander around the village of Oberammergau yet we had 3 hours nearly to wait for the tour at Neuschwanstein. I admit that in better weather this probably would have been ok because we could have walked around the grounds etc this was not possible on a very snowy day so we stood around a lot.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Nancy M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Exactly what I wanted - a comfortable bus to get me to Linderhof and Neuschwanstein, with a stop in a pretty village along the way. The bus leaves Munich conveniently across from the main train station. Get there early to get a window seat, or a seat together if you're a group. The guide did a great job communicating with tourists who spoke all different languages and, as you'd expect in Germany, the bus left exactly on time from each attraction. You have a good amount of time at each attraction - although I would have liked more time at the village - and I appreciated the quiet time with no tour guide talking on the return journey.

If you're looking for a small, personal guided excursion, this is not it - it's a double decker bus and the guide provides extremely basic information about Bavaria, the history of King Ludwig, the time period, and the castles. I'd recommend reading up on the history beforehand if you're interested. Also, eat lunch before hiking up the hill to Neuschwanstein there's a restaurant and snack bar up there, but many more options in the little town at the bottom of the hill.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Megan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Overall the day tour was fantastic. The guide was interesting, well spoken and very knowledgeable, which kept the tour group engaged throughout. Neuschwanstein Castle is a must, simply for the exterior photo opportunities. I'd recommend taking the tour in the summer to get the best greenery and access to the viewing bridge and also the grotto, which were all closed due to the time of year.

Well worth dedicating a day to the trip.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Maria F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was incredible and the sites were amazing! I don't know how we would have got to Linderhof had it not been on this tour. We went in the winter and everything was beautiful as it had just snowed a few days before. You spend a minimal amount of time at Linderhof and then make your way to Neuschwanstein. Because it was winter there were only a bistro cafe and the restaurant up the castle hill to eat at, but in the summer our tour guide says more places are opened. The bridge for the viewing point was just down for maintenance but the castle was still amazing. I would 100 recommend this tour and would do it again myself. Do note that the price of the castle to get inside is not included.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

BRUCE R

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Long day tour but very enjoyable. Loved Linderhorf and would stay there longer. Neuschwanstein is worth the visit but it is a challenge for some. Definitely take the minibus trip to the front gate as too hard to walk up especially for older folk. Inside, it is a real eyeopener but there are a number of levels to negotiate. There is a lift for those less mobile.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Ian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Neuschwanstein is a must see trip if visiting Munich. We had a great guide who was friendly and well informed. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Chris M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This is a great tour that I would recommend for those who have never explored the 3 locations that you visit: Linderhof palace, Oberammergau town location of the Passion Play, and of course Neuschwanstein, the dream-medieveal castle built by King Ludwig II that inspired the Disney castle. Linderhof palace is a beautiful retreat home built by Ludwig II set back into the mountains on extensive garden grounds near Oberammergau. Linderhof is done in the style of Versailles and is truly visually magnificient and over the top!. I would recommend taking the long walk up to the castle Neuschwanstein, as the walk is full of sights both up to the castle and down across the valley that it overlooks. Taking the horse buggy or bus does not save you from having to walk, so you might as well enjoy it! Unfortunately, like many multi-site tours, it felt like not much time was given to each location. One only has about an hour for Linderhof and Oberammergau each, with the rest of the trip being dedicated to Neuschwanstein and getting to and from locations. While this is ok for a first-time visit to these locations, anyone looking to really dig deep into each one should set out and explore on their own.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Phyllis H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Had a lovely time on this tour, our tour guide Gerda was brilliant and the whole experience from start to finish was carried out with care and professionalism. Loved the journey through Bavarian countryside and was absolutely blown away by Neuschwanstein castle and the breath-taking scenery also the awesome Linderhof palace which was simply stunning. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message