Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Neuschwanstein Castle

Neuschwanstein Castle was commissioned as the private refuge for Ludwig II of Bavaria, but opened to the public immediately after his death in 1886. Now recognizable as the inspiration for Disney's Sleeping Beauty Castle, Neuschwanstein is one ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 660 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Elizabeth gave a great tour to the castles and kept everything on schedule and was full of information. Linderhof is the small hunting palace of the eccentric King Ludwig II. It was beautiful and the inside tour was short but informative. Very nice walk around the grounds.
Short stop at Oberammergau for cappuccino and apple strudel was fun and a nice break.
Neuschwanstein Castle was beyond imagination. The city where you start was very busy and it is a hike to the castle. We took the bus up to the bridge and then hiked up above Mary's bridge. The bridge will be closed for repair soon.
Alexander did a great job driving thru the small streets.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Margret was a very good tour guide and provided us with detailed information all throughout the bus tour. Both castles were beautiful and Neuschwanstein is a must see for everyone visiting Bavaria. Be aware there is a very steep hill to climb to get to this castle. Recommend taking the shuttle.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a great trip, everything was super punctual and on time. Picked up from the Karsdat department store in Munich and left promptly at 8.30, Lindenhof was first and even though it was a hot day, the air conditioned bus was a nice reprieve. A little ice cream and coffeebreak in Oberammergau, I would suggest getting your touristy German souvenirs here, they were much cheaper than those in Munich and better quality. Especially the beer steins. Also tax free!
Then off to Neuschwanstein. First Lunch, We chose to walk up the hill even though it was blistering hot. Everyone else was in t-shirts and shorts, and here I am as the girl who chose to wear woollen skirts and a corset with a long haired wig prancing around as Sleeping Beauty to visit the sleeping Beauty castle.
Great fun though! Spend the time going up to Mary's Bridge to take photos.
The interior of Linderhof is more impressive than Neuschwanstein, but they both have their charms.
Then ran for the bus so we can get home. Even with traffic we got back at around 7pm in Munich. Great day.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Neuschwanstein is absolutely amazing, this whole tour is brilliant and well worth the day :

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was well organized and Astrid was a knowledgeable and pleasant guide. She took advantage of available services such as the shuttle up to the town at the base of the castle and the shuttle from there to the Castle. She shared quite a bit of interesting information on Ludwig and the castle and got us to our 10:30am tour right on time. We enjoyed the tour very much...so glad we took the time to visit Neuschwanstein. I'm not surprised it is one of Germany's biggest attractions.

Doing what: Best Skip-the-Line: Neuschwanstein Castle Tour from Fuessen Including Horse-Drawn Carriage Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The lines to get tickets are massive and very limited. If you go during high season, you have to take this tour, or one like it. Forget trying to go on your own. The castle itself is impressive, but smaller inside than you will expect due to it never having been completed. I would strongly recommend taking this tour as part of a combination with other Castles, but if you only want to see neuschwanstein, this is a necessary option. If you go off season, just skip this tour. On season, it is a MUST. Or you just can't get in.

Doing what: Best Skip-the-Line: Neuschwanstein Castle Tour from Fuessen Including Horse-Drawn Carriage Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is the way to see the Neuschwanstein Castle! It is a full day out and weather permitting it allows for biking, alpine slides and even a dip in Swan Lake. The castle takes a back seat to the amazing landscape around it. My trip to Munich would not have been complete without this...don't hesitate, just book it.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Day Trip from Munich with Optional Hohenschwangau Castle Visit or Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We liked this tour very much! Our tour guide was great! Very funny and knowledgable. We preferred Linderhof over Neuschwanstein. The trek up to Neuschwanstein was pretty tiring but all in all an amazing fun-filled day.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Enjoyed our trip to Neuschwanstein Castle - great tour, spectacular views. The tour guide - Austin was fun and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The tour made it easy to get from Munich to Neuschwanstein without having a car. Petra was very nice and very knowledgeable. She had more facts available than we had capacity to take in at once. Her English was very good. My nephew thought it was really nice, but that there wasn't that much to actually do. Overall it was definitely worth it and an experience we will treasure forever.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

First off, the bus ride was great. Very comfortable seats with adequate leg room. The pick-up/drop-off could not be more convenient.

First Stop: Linderhof -- I really enjoyed Linderhof, a small palace set in the Bavarian Alps, but I did not have time to explore much of the grounds and the smaller houses/buildings on the grounds due to time restraints.

Second Stop: Oberammergau -- We had 30 minutes to look around this quintessential Bavarian town. It was not enough time. I'd suggest getting rid of this stop altogether and adding time to Linderhof.

Third/Final Stop: Neuschwanstein -- It's amazing. We had to eat in a little bit of a rushed manner street food vs. a sitdown restaurant to make sure we got up to the castle on time, but the sight of that castle was well worth it.

Overall, good trip for the price, but it could be better by extending the day 1-2 hours or by eliminating Oberammergau.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great experience, must do when u are in Munich. Was worried initially that Linderhoff was not worth the time visiting, but am now glad i was wrong. Both castles have totally different style and didn't feel bored at all. Take the shuttle to Neuschwanstein castle from the lunch place or you won't have enough 'extra' time to enjoy the castle.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Best value and time well spent to enjoy beautiful Bavaria. Tour was well organized and guide gave plenty of good insights along the way. Guide inside Neuschwanstein Castle was a bit odd it felt like he memorized every word, including times he exclaimed pretty good, isn't it?... not sure if it's just a language thing, or the guide's personality, or both, and the trek up to the castle was quite tiring, so make sure you mentally prepare yourself for the hike. Overall, it was an enjoyable tour and would recommend it.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent time touring Neuschwanstein, Oberammergau, and Linderhof. Christine was a fabulous tour guide and the luxury coach was well worth it.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great trip with an interesting and humorous guide. The walk to Neuschwanstein was quite long and difficult, even if one opted to take the bus especially in the sweltering heat there were also lots and lots of steps and most of the tour was spent scaling enclosed spiral staircases. The tours themselves both castles were rather regimented no more than 30 minutes in each place on a guided tour in poor English. One also couldn't take photo's, which is completely ridiculous, particularly as there was so little time to consider the decor and ambiance. This however, was the fault of the venues, not the tour operator. Visitor numbers were huge and I guess this is one way of managing them, however I am still grumpy about the quality of information and lack of photos...

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Michael M
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was fantastic and the guide was great. She told us all about the history of the two castles and King Ludwig ll. When I booked the tour I thought ten hours was a long time on a bus but you needed every minute. The bus was very comfortable and with the small group you could ask a lot of questions. When you visit Neuschwanstein take the tram up to the castle. It's a long walk up and the tour of the castle has a lot of steps. On the bus the guide treated us like we were guests in her home. Offering coffee, tea, cold waters and even beer. I would take the tour again just to see the Bavarian alps its was beautiful. But what really made the trip unforgettable was the tour guide and I can't forget the bus driver. She made the trip so smooth and comfortable. Thanks so much.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tours of the royal castles of Neuschwanstein was very good and our tour guide Joseph was excellent. He told us about the history of the castle, where his favorite ice cream shop was and he even sang to us. The only complaint that I have is about the weather which none of us have control over. During our stay in Munich the temperature was 95-98 degrees F or about 36-39 degrees C and our hotel had no AC. I felt like the first day whenever we would get into a city, it was always the hottest and then the day we were leaving it would cool down. A helpful hint, when you are booking a hotel in Munich if it has four stars or more, then it will have AC.

Scott and Linlin Barron July 6th, 2015

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My family really liked this tour. Our guide was informative and funny. Neuschwanstein is absolutely worth the trip out of Munich to see. When you get to Neuschwanstein, I would suggest you take the bus uphill and not try to walk up. The castle is so grand! And as my son calls it tiny baby Linderhof Castle is also beautiful. Overall, a day well spent.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome little day trip. Linderhof and Neuschwanstein are awesome places to visit. Interesting history and beautiful landscape around the castle grounds. Our guide was funny and knowledgeable. No regrets!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

PLEASE NOTE: The cost of the entrance tickets is NOT included in the cost you pay on Viator. We needed to pay the ticket price of 23 euros per adult when the bus was already enroute. The tour was wonderful despite our surprise. It was a 2 hour bus ride from Munich but the view was worth it. When we got to Linderhof castle, the tour was quick and not much time to explore the grounds but we did get a chance to see the gardens and take pictures. There are timed entrances to Neuschwanstein so we had lunch where the guide recommended. We also made a much too quick stop in Oberamergau for shopping. I do wish more time was allowed for that because there were many beautiful wood items made by the people of the Black Forest but we needed to make spot decisions on some expensive items and I regret we didn't get more time to decide.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour, excellent tour guide. Austin from Dallas, TX was knowledgeable, entertaining, and great at getting us where we needed to be at exactly the right time to avoid lines and crowds! The tour makes it very effortless to see Neuschwanstein! No arranging transport from Munich to Fussen or from the train in Fussen to the castle. The castle tour is well worth the entrance fee! Thank you, Austin,for a great day!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Had a great tour to the castles of Ludwig II including Lindenhof and Neuschwanstein. Our tour guide, Geuder, was excellent - full of great information and witty banter which was most appreciated. The tour is well organised, and it pays to keep on time! Tour stops are enjoyable and provide ample time to soak up the atmosphere as well enjoy the castle tours themselves.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We were a little concerned at first because this tour had somehow become overbooked, and we were asked if we could change our prepaid tickets to a different day when we checked in which we were not able to do. The staff was asking everyone and must have found someone able to change his or her booking. That was the only blemish on an otherwise PERFECT tour. Because of the size of the group it was not small, Viator hired an air-conditioned motorcoach to take us to and from the castle's village where we then boarded the local tram/bus to Neuschwanstein castle for those of us who did not want to walk up the hill from the village to the castle. While we were prepared to take the regional train to the town, the motorcoach was extremely comfortable, and we could all hear the great information that our tour guide told us during the drive. Our tour guide, Anya, was knowledgeable and very nice. She also did a great job in making sure she knew where every member of her group was during the castle visit which was not an easy task, as well as directing us to a lunch place that was reasonably-priced and fast. My daughter, husband, and I were all happy with this tour experience. It was money well-spent.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Austin was awesome! There is a good bit of travel just getting from Munich to Neuschwanstein and back. It gives you lots of time to spend with your guide. Our guide was not only knowledgeable, he was entertaining and nice. Austin provided helpful with hints for enjoying Munich and our time at the castle. We learned a great deal about the King, his construction projects, his life and his death. ASK for AUSTIN!!!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Bavarian country side was such a beauty to behold. Winding roads, lush green fields, tall trees, massive mountains everything added to the charm of this place. Our first stop was palace Linderhof, which had stunning landscapes. Second stop was the charming old town of Oberammergau with its painted houses and famous wood works. Via the Romantic road, we reached our final destination The Neuschwanstein Castle, such a secluded and stunning piece of work. Our tour guide was so very informative not just about the tour but Munich in general. The coach was very comfortable with push-back seats, toilet, refreshments, TV, luggage stowing and an upper deck for better views. Very much recommended and worth the money.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message