Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Neuschwanstein Castle

Neuschwanstein Castle was commissioned as the private refuge for Ludwig II of Bavaria, but opened to the public immediately after his death in 1886. Now recognizable as the inspiration for Disney's Sleeping Beauty Castle, Neuschwanstein is one ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 626 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Both Neuschwanstein and Linderhof are 30 minute guided tours at set times. We did not have enough time to look around all of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof. I suggest the tour for those who do not what to plan everything themselves. Next time I will go without a tour, but I am glad I went on the tour and recommend it. Our bus was late but we got free drinks on board. Tour guide was knowledgeable. Be sure to show up on time or you will be left behind!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Loved this your! Our guide Marcus was great. We first stopped at Linderhof which was about 1h 40 minutes from Munich. It was beautiful and we got a short guided tour. After that we drove to Oberammergau which is a great village- one of my favourite in Germany. Next up was Neuschwanstein which is my favourite place I have ever travelled too. It was a great trip, but my only reason for not rating it 5 stars is that we felt really rushed to fit this all in to one day. I would have loved to have lunch in Oberammergau and take time to enjoy it rather then a pit stop for coffee and comfort break.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A fantastic tour. The coach trip was very comfortable and our guide was knowledgeable and very approachable. As it was a warm sunny day it made the area and the castles even more breathtaking. Stunning scenery and beautiful castles made it a perfect day. The only thing I would advise future tourists about, especially as it will become extra busy now summer is coming, is to take lunch with you or buy something at Oberamagau. The few places at Neuschwanstein selling sandwiches sold out very quickly and we didn't want to sit down and dine so had to make do with cakes etc. Apart from that a brilliant day out and well worth the money.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We enjoyed our tour of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof! Everyone was polite and helpful, the bus was very nice indeed! A relaxing day tour....and we normally do not go for the organized tours. Recommended!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour ,guide and driver though unfortunately the weather was bad all day. Still, Sophie made it fun and everything ran smoothly and on time. Castles are amazing. Only difficulty was the extremely strenuous climb to Neuschwanstein castle. They definitely need a better way to get there.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour, great tour guide, very comfortable bus. Well worth the money, if you want to see Linderhof and Neuschwanstein this is the way to do it,

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was an amazing tour! I was hesitant that it would be too time-crunched and touristy, but the operators did an amazing job of spacing everything out and making sure you have the chance to take everything in at least on a topical level. Picked up a lot of great information about Munich and the area's history along the way, and really enjoyed the time wandering around in Hohenschwangau before the climb up to Neuschwanstein. Just a word of warning, the climb uphill is a pretty intensive 40-minute, all-uphill walk and there are a bunch of stairs to climb within the castle. Totally manageable for most, but some within the group were struggling with the continuous uphill part. All in all would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide, Elizabeth was great. Very knowledgeable. We had plenty of time at all the sites, especially Neuschwanstein castle.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Had the most enjoyable tour in a long time! Austin, our American guide was highly entertaining and informative, friendly and funny, captivating all of us with his interesting and lively story/history-telling. His knowledge of history and the Neuschwanstein castle, along with King Ludwig's story is amazing.

Booking this tour was absolutely the right choice because we got to skip the long bus and ticket queues up to the castle! Even during off-peak seasons, the queues can be really really long.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Good and comfortable. Living in Munich I was not sure if I should take up the trip on my own or buy this. Turned out to be a better decision, given the crowds, train strikes and erratic weather.
Could have suggested a more suitable place for Lunch, on the way, to save time and avoid the rush at Neuschwanstein. Overall a must recommend for all English speaking and foreign tourists. The water and drinks service in the bus was good. Elizabeth, our tour guide, was really nice, knowledgable and ensured we were comfortable.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I believe the tour guide's name was Christine. She was excellent. Linderhof is amazing and the landscaped grounds awesome. Oberammergau stop was way to short. However, Neuschwanstein was stunningly beautiful! Make sure you go to Mary's Bridge for the incredible view.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour guide! Saw a lot of places in a short time but was worth it. Wished they gave more time to linderhof and less to neuschwanstein, but still great overall

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Well organized. Perfect timing. Skipping the ticket line at Neuschwanstein Castle alone makes it worth the price. Our guide, Elizabeth, was happy, informative, entertaining and kept everything moving at the right pace. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour. Time well used. Nice mix of enjoying the outdoors and the history of Neuschwanstein. Friendly and informative tour guides.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Day Trip from Munich with Optional Hohenschwangau Castle Visit or Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Love the castles! I have been wanting to see Neuschwanstein for years, so was surprised when I toured Linderhof as it became my favorite inside and out!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed the day trip especially to Neuschwanstein Castle! The tour guide is friendly and experienced to share the path to go to the castle. For me, Neuschwanstein Castle is not to be missed when you are in Munich! Marvellous!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly, and she stayed with us throughout the day aside from when we were touring the castles. She warned us ahead of time about the long walk to Neuschwanstein and informed us about the other means of travel available. If the line is short I recommend the bus so you can ride up to the top, above the castle and two minutes from the bridge. Otherwise you have to walk up to the castle, then walk uphill further to the bridge worth it for the view. The only complaint I had was that we were unable to see Linderhof, but this is because of the G7 summit and not because of the tour. Instead we viewed Hohenschwangau which was still very nice.

Overall, great tour, though be warned the price you are paying here only covers the trip with the tour guide. It does not cover entry to the castles. We were asked to pay 22 euro for entry to both.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

While we didn't actually get to tour Linderhof due to the G7 conference that was occurring in Germany at the time, this tour was nevertheless excellent. Linderhof was replaced with Hohenschwangau castle which was very impressive. Neuschwanstein itself is spectacular. Entertaining guide also.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Both castles were absolutely amazing! Our tour guide was very nice and helpful. I also recommend walking up to Neuschwanstein castle and the bridge instead of taking the horse-drawn carriage or the bus. The walk was not hard. Slope was gentle, and it took me 18 minutes only to the castle. I enjoyed the walk as much as the castle itself.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very cool castles and grounds and a very good tour guide. They booked lunch at a hotel's restaurant by Neuschwanstein but you didn't have to eat there. We did and thought the lunch was very good. If you want to walk to Neuschwanstein, it's a bit of an uphill hike, so it wouldn't be for people with mobility issues, but we enjoyed it, especially after spending so much time on the bus.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Both castles were beautiful in their own way. Neuschwanstein is amazing but the walk up to the castle and the bridge aren't easy but so well worth the effort!!! Views are amazing!!! Our guide Elizabeth was very nice and made the trip more interesting.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We had a beautiful day to tour the castles. There was plenty of time to walk around the Neuschwanstein Castle area. We chose to walk up to the castle on the roadway which was great excercise - others chose to ride up on a bus or, horse drawn wagon which they enjoyed too. Tour guide inside the castle was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

If the trip falls on sunday best to omit the obera.. Since the shops dont open.toys allows more time to neuschwanstein.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Linderhof was great. Neuschwanstein was a problem because the buses weren't running - I wish that info had been included in the tour info when I booked. As a result my friend and I could not tour the interior of the castle, as she could not walk up the mountain and by the time we got to the head of the horse wagon line it was too late. Our local guide Maria was very good and helpful.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Linderhof small castle infact big house is better than neuschwanstein huge castle...

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message