Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Neuschwanstein Castle

Neuschwanstein Castle was commissioned as the private refuge for Ludwig II of Bavaria, but opened to the public immediately after his death in 1886. Now recognizable as the inspiration for Disney's Sleeping Beauty Castle, Neuschwanstein is one ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 770 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Amy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A great day with a great tour guide. The coach really was a luxury coach! The Neuschwanstein castle was great as was Linderholf castle. It was a shame that the bridge near Neuschwanstein castle was closed at the time. Linderholf was lovely but not much time to explore the grounds there.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Jessica T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This trip was worth the money we paid for it - our main guide was very informative and entertaining. The guides at Linderhof and Neuschwanstein were also great. We did the day trip because we didn't want to stress about making our own way to the castles and back to Munich. We were impressed by the amount of free time at each.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Peggy W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We met in front of the Karlstadt Mall great shopping by the way and loaded into a bus where each row was single seating and staggered allowing for each seat to have a foot rest. Christine our guide and Freida our driver were both excellent. Christine did an excellent job with commentary and keeping our group together, getting tickets and suggesting shopping and dining spots.

Frieda gave us the smoothest ride, slow and easy. I would have liked a stop or two to take some scenic pictures, but I understand that it is not possible to stop in the middle of the road.

We were provided a snack box and coffee, water and sodas on the bus. Since Frieda was the only one that knew how to use the coffee machine, you could not have coffee during the ride which really was no big deal.

We had good weather for most of the trip, some rain during our Neuschwanstein Castle tour, umbrellas are not available from the bus, but vendors around the area sell them for 5 Euro. There is a lot of walking and stairs. You can take a horse coach to the castle and back, but there is a bit of walking...all pretty easy through the castle.

It was suggested to have lunch in the town, but we really didn't have time. I know some on the bus did, but I don't see how unless they ran up to the castle and ran back down.

We then traveled to Linderhof, passing through a wonderful woodcarving town of Oberammergau. We had a brief stop to shop, use the restroom and grab a coffee. Then on to Linderhof which was a better experience than Neushwanstein as far as grounds and lines go.

The little extra paid for this tour over a crowded bus with no leg room was well worth the price. We were a small group and a very good time. For us, this is the only way to tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Valerie T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Awesome tour! Could spend more time at Oberammergau and castle neuschwanstein because it felt rushed. But if all you want is to tour castles, it was fantastic!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Amy A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great guide, Christine. The driver was a pleasant woman with a great sense of humor. I didn't feel rushed by them. The tour inside Neuschwanstein did, however feel rushed different guides.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Galen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

To visit Munich is to visit the castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof. The tour was excellent and Gerda our guide was informative and amusing.

The drive to the castles went through spectacular Alpine countryside. Although the trip was marred by grey skies and occasional torrential rain, the vista was still picturesque and dramatic. It was different from the standard sunny, blue skied portraits of the postcards, but nonetheless wonderful.

Tours within the castles were very informative and the guides were willing to answer any questions. You never felt rushed.

Definitely recommend this tour whatever the weather.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Lance F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Awesome. I really enjoyed the convenience of the tour. Our tour guide was outstanding! Very knowledgable w great trivia.

Recommend extending trip to give a little more time at Neuschwanstein.

Also, wanted to tour both Neuschwanstein and hohenschwangen but did not see a tour.

Lance

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Leah R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was the one I was looking forward to the most on our 2 weeks traveling around Europe, and it did not disappoint! The first two stops at Linderhof and Oberammergau seemed a bit rushed, but it was worth it to have so much time in Hohenschwangau and to tour Neuschwanstein. When they drop you off for lunch before your tour, I definitely recommend walking to the lake and eating outside at Alpenrose am See. The food is pricey, but probably the best food we had in Germany and the view is stunning!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Linda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an excellent tour. Small group is the way to go!! We had 13 people on the tour and the bus was amazing. Everyone had their own seat which swiveled to be able to look out the windows. We each got a snack box, which was mostly candy. Our guide was very knowledgeable. The lines to get tickets for Neuschwanstein were long, but we could skip the line and go right to the castle. There was plenty of time to enjoy lunch. Linderhof was not as crowded as Neuschwanstein, and quite different. The one negative would be in Oberammergau--we didn't have enough time to enjoy this charming Alpine town.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Desiree L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a wonderful day touring the Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof! We stopped at a gorgeous Bavarian village, Oberammergauand did some shopping. Our tour guide was very kind, and she was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Michele B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

What a wonderful day. Our Grayline tour guide Maria was very entertaining and had a lot of good information. The castles were very picturesque. Wish we would have spent a little more time in the village, but we were on a schedule. The walk up to Neuschwanstein was quite the walk up hill, pay the money and ride the carriage. Downside, the castle entry fees were separate. I wish the extra 23 euro was included in the ticket price, it is an easily forgotten detail.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Najwa Lebanon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

I would highly recommend this trip. Very comfortable bus. I travel a lot and have taken numerous tours, by far this is the more comfortable buses. Helpful guide and driver. The landscape and Neuschwanstein castle are worth the trip.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Dana H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Had a great time! Linderhof was even better than I expected, so I'm glad I chose a tour that went there too. The outside of Neuschwanstein is incredible, but after Linderhof I wasn't as impressed with the inside of Neuschwanstein. Still worth it though. We also did a stop in Oberammergau. I'm not really sure what the purpose was, except maybe to give us a chance to buy some souvenirs. However, they had amazing ice cream in Oberammergau. 1 euro for a medium size scoop of some of the best ice cream I've ever had.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

John M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

It would be hard to see both places in one day on your own. This tour had the benefit of taking care of the tickets so that there was no standing in line. Only disappointment was that that Marianbrucke at Neuschwanstein was closed not the tour operators fault and would have liked more time at Linderhof.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Shelene Y

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Great tour with spacious seats on the bus. The water, coffee, beer and snacks were a nice touch. Our guide spoke great English and was very informative. A wonderful and stress-free way to explore both castles and see some of Bravaria. We enjoyed the free time we had at Neuschwanstein to explore the town and have lunch. Nice balance between a tour group and independent time.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Courtney M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The tour is great, however it felt quite rushed at times. I traveled alone but even then, found myself barely making the meeting times due to the extremely tight schedule. Our tour guide was fantastic and we all had a pleasant journey. Unfortunately there was a rain downpour at Neuschwanstein, and since you have to do a lot of uphill walking, we all got drenched. Be sure to take an umbrella and poncho just to be safe!!! You've been forewarned.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

CR United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

My husband and I loved this tour. My only complaint was the walk up to Neuschwanstein Castle and all of the stairs inside. It was a bit more than we bargained for but totally worth doing. Just a word of warning for people with more limited mobility - there is no parking near the castle to keep the views unspoiled which means you have to walk from the parking lots up the mountain there are well-maintained paths to the castle which took 20-30 minutes. We saw a few elderly people that were really struggling. Supposedly there were buses but we only saw one go by the whole time we were there. There are also horse carriage rides but they had very long lines. The castles were beautiful so I do recommend the tour.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Stephanie R

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

I was far more interested in the castles than the bike tour. I spent a few hours in Hohenschwangau on my own. It was nice to have the flexibility to do this. The guides were very friendly and accomodating for this. I didn't think we had enough time at Neuschwanstein though and felt very rushed, which was a bit disappointing as that's the reason I went on this trip.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Day Trip from Munich with Optional Hohenschwangau Castle Visit or Bike Tour

Jessie T Malaysia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide, Rolland, was very informative. Despite the bad weather forecast, we had good weather when we got to Neuschwanstein. We took the bus up to the castle and then the horse carriage down to the base which was nice. The castle tour itself was short and brief. Overall the tour was not as rushed as some viewers might have suggested - we still had some time for photo taking outside the castle and a beer while waiting for the castle tour! Would highly recommend taking this tour as it would be too much of a hassle to go on your own as you would have to take 2 train rides and queue to buy tickets for the castle.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small-Group Day Tour from Munich

Nicole H

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Tour guide, Max, was fantastic. Very knowledgeable and knew also when to let us rest or enjoy the views. Whole day was great. The castles were lavish and the guides through both places were also very good. Be prepared for a workout walking to Neuschwanstein castle if you don't take the bus/ horse and carts for an additional charge but it was well worth the effort.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Elizabeth S

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

This was a nice day tour from Munich. The bus was very comfortable, and offered water, soft drinks, and beer for sale very reasonable price on the bus. The guide was helpful and had lots of advice. You had to pay extra for the castle interior tours, but that was stated upfront and the bus guide purchased the tickets so you don't need to wait in lines. The drive was beautiful. The first castle stop, Linderhof, although small, was amazing, truly stunning. The castle guide a real person, was available for questions. There wasn't much time to explore the grounds if you did the interior tour. The stop in the village Oberammergau was a waste of time unless you are a big shopper. I would have preferred more time at Linderhof over this stop. The last stop was Hohenschwangau village where the Neuschwanstein castle is. Views of the 2 castles in the area were nice, but be aware that the main business there is for the tourists who come to see the castle. We had lunch at a small restaurant not the one recommended by the tour guide, usual German food, slightly expensive, but OK. The castle tour was a little disappointing, the castle is nice and the tour could have been so much better. The 30 minute walk up the hill was a good work-out it is truly 30 minutes for those of my age, but there are other options for getting up there. They let you into the castle in groups, and there were just too many of us in each group. Most rooms were so crowded you couldn't see anything, and it was very dark which was compounded by the rainstorm that hit just as we went in for the tour. The guide is audio, and it never seemed to match up with what was in the room we were going through, probably since there were so many people. No one seemed to be there to answer questions or they were hidden behind the groups of people. The entire tour was inside the castle with no opportunity to go to any of the outside areas. Having said all this, it was worth the trip.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Elizabeth C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This trip was worth every penny! The castles were beautiful, the scenery was breathtaking. Bus was comfortable, our tour guide and driver were amazing. Neuschwanstein Linderhof combination is a must. Although Neuschwanstein is the more popular, Linderhof is not to be missed. We felt comfortable and loved booking through Viator! :

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Debbie D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very nice day trip. Great guide that made sure we saw as much as possible in the short time we had. This trip was lots of walking and stairs but very nice.

Neuschwanstein castle was very crowded tour as our group merged with the masses, but I was glad a went anyway.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Nelly United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was a great tour even though we got stuck with rain. Our guide was really sweet, I just don't remember her name. The Neuschwanstein castle was beautiful! Even the drive there was really nice. The Linderhof Castle was small but really interesting to see. I would definitely take the Luxury coach option since seats are more comfortable and it's a smaller group. Loved this tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Sebastiaan B Netherlands

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

We had a very enjoyable trip. The tour guide Arnoud was witty, though still informative about the destinations and Ludwig II. We were lucky in regard to the weather and the tour group was very punctual, which gave us a bit more time to explore subsequent destinations.
The only downside was that the Marienbrucke best view at Neuschwanstein was closed for renovations. Not viator's fault of course, but it also wasn't stated on their website. For up-to-date information, be sure to visit the castle's website.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message