• USD ($)
  • English

Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Neuschwanstein Castle

Neuschwanstein Castle was commissioned as the private refuge for Ludwig II of Bavaria, but opened to the public immediately after his death in 1886. Now recognizable as the inspiration for Disney's Sleeping Beauty Castle, Neuschwanstein is one ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 478 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

What a great day with a really excellent guide. Linderhof was fascinating...taken through with a friendly and knowledgeable local guide. Neuschwanstein Castle truly magnificent...no wonder Walt Disney used it as the idea for his Sleeping Beauty Castle in Disneyland. Like our previous Viator experiences, very good value for money. We will continue to use Viator for these type of outings on any future trips...ease of booking online, reliability, content, quality etc.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide was exceptional, and was so well versed in the history and the geography of everything we saw. The scenery to and from Munich is spectacular. We would be remiss if we did not mention that the walk up to Neuschwanstein from the village should not be taken if one has health problems. The bus and carriage to the castle would be better options.
We have used Viatour on 4 previous tours in Germany and Poland, and we heartily recommend Viatour as we have not been disappointed.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It rained most of the day but didn't spoilt the trip whatsoever! Our tour guide franschesca was very knowledgable and enthusiastic. It was a little bit rushed at linderhof and oberammagou, but I'm glad we got to see a little bit of both and had plenty of time at neuschwanstein. Thanks for the great day!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It's worth the time of travel to see these castles from where ever you are in the region. Wonderful sites, and I enjoyed the medieval feel of the Neuschwanstein castle even over the other very rich and opulent palaces throughout Europe. It was a nice coach ride, and the tour guide helped explain things about the area as we went.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was a great tour. Linderhof, Oberamengau and Neuschwanstein are magnificent places. Everyone in my family enjoyed this tour. Lucia the guide was very knowledgeable, clear and concise, we really learned a lot from her. A+++

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

great tour of germany's country side including the magnificent Neuschwanstein. I would definitely recommend this tour for anyone visiting Munich.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Really enjoyed the trip.. Neuschwanstein Castle was def special, but really enjoyed the trip to Oberammeragau village. The pace and flow of the trip was good. Didn't feel any hurry in covering all the attractions nor there was unnecessary delay.. Nice trip :)

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

I would totally recommend this tour. We were staying in Munich and just coming off a tour that did not include these castles/palaces. I have always wanted to go here and figured we were so close why not do this...it was only a little less than 2 scenic hours away. We boarded a luxury coach and off we went. Our guide was very nice and helpful. We stopped at Obergammerau for a few minutes to shop and see the area where they perform The Passion of Christ. I bought a Black Forest Cuckoo Clock here, which was cheaper than in Munich. The castles and palaces were awesome!! I love Neuschwanstein Castle. It's quite a walk up to it if you choose but it was great...otherwise there is horse drawn carraige or bus. There is time for a lunch stop in town. I would definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This trip was very good. The bus, the tour guide, the drive and schedule were all super. The visits and stops: Linderhof, Oberammergau, and Newschwanstein were all very well telegraphed and carried out. The tour guide was very professional and provided just the right amount of information: informative without being boring or intrusive. The bus itself was very comfortable. The driving was smooth and without incident - just the way it should be. I'd strongly recommend for those traveling for the first time or have limited mobility. For families or 3 or more and able to walk you can do this trip on your own in your car. One word of caution: Neuschwanstein has its own weather pattern. We left sunny Munich but caught some rain in the Fuessen area in southern Bavaria. There is a cable car ride in the vicinity that I caught a glimpse of but it is not part of this tour.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Ian, our tour leader did a fantastic job of keeping our group together and involved in the Neuschwanstein experience. His description of Ludwig II was outstanding, short and not boring, but complete. His assistance in retrieving our granddaughter's camera and phone left as we departed on the train to Munich was way beyond all expectations.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This tour is a great way to see two of Bavaria's most impressive palaces. Both Linderhof and Neuschwanstein are well worth the trip, and you should definitely not miss out on either of the interior tours. Oberammergau is a very picturesque village with some good souvenir shopping. The guides did a great job of keeping everyone reasonably on time, and provided lots of interesting information along the way. The driving through the countryside is absolutely beautiful, especially on a clear day. While the time at Neuschwanstein seems like a lot, you won't have too much time to wander. I would recommend bringing a lunch and immediately heading uphill to the bridge to get some good pictures, then eating your lunch before heading back to the palace for the tour. Overall, a very enjoyable tour that is worth the price!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Outstanding, absolutely outstanding. I switched to the 1st class tour. If you do this do it 1st class. Tickets covered, free wifi, water and snack, a live tour guide, and not too crowded. The bus stopped just below Neuschwanstein to take pictures. I used the wifi to Skype live back home what I was seeing. I would take this tour again in a second.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was fabulous. We took the train from Munich and enjoyed all the beautiful country side attractions leading up to the castles. The guide was absolutely brilliant when depicting the history of Neuschwanstein. I would recommend this tour to anyone looking to fill a day with excitement.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

.The tour guide (Brigitte) was very friendly and spoke excellent English.... She lived in colorado for a number of years. The double decker bus was clean and very comfortable and had a bathroom onboard. You are allowed to eat on the bus as long as it's nothing messy, no ice cream, and drinks are allowed and even are sold on the bus for €1.5 . I advise that you bring snacks since it's a long day.
The tour departed on schedule and we were promptly made aware of the days itinerary and the expected departure times from each location . Linderhof is small but very ornate on the interior and height decadent as it is modeled on the palace of Versailles ( no photography allowed inside). At this stop there are a couple reasonable gift shops and clean restrooms. It is a short walk from the bus parking area to the, it is a beautiful stroll but know that it is a gentle uphill climb. Oberammergau was a nice stop for about 50 mins - the shops there are generally reasonable and the town is absolutely adorable. Very quaint and picturesque Bavarian village. The shops boast many carved wooden objects of beauty. We could've spent more time there but were aware that the main attraction was the next stop,
Neuschwanstein. There The tour had made a reservation at hotel restaurant for lunch called Hotel Muller in Hohenschwangau, located right by the trails that lead up to the castles. We ordered from the express menu and our food arrived hot and tasty in less than 60 seconds!
This allowed us plenty of time to line up to catch the bus up the hill to Neuschwanstein . When you get off the bus you go on a short but steep walk up to Mary's bridge (Marienbrucke) ...Which affords an absolutely not to be missed view of the castle but is a very high pedestrian bridge that is scary for anyone who does not like heights! from there it is a short downhill walk to the castle. Be on time for your tour! FYI, There are 200 steps inside but not to be missed for all who are able.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a terrific tour. We loved our tour guide Elizabeth - she was extremely friendly and helpful. We went to Linderhof first and we were more impressed with the interior than we expected to be. Then we stopped in a small town that was fairy-tale like for about an hour and made our way to Neuschwanstein. The views from the bridge here are incredible and WELL worth the walk over to it. We didn't have clear weather and still think this to be a can't miss! We had a great experience!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message