Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Neuschwanstein Castle

Neuschwanstein Castle was commissioned as the private refuge for Ludwig II of Bavaria, but opened to the public immediately after his death in 1886. Now recognizable as the inspiration for Disney's Sleeping Beauty Castle, Neuschwanstein is one ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 495 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent one day trip to see the Bavarian Alps, Linderhof Castle, Oberammergau and tour Neuschwanstein Castle!! We packed a lot of activity into one day and enjoyed everything. Our guide was excellent and informative. It is very difficult to try to replicate this tour on your own with a car or public transportation. It is well worth the money and day to enjoy this beautiful part of Germany!!! My only disappoint was the lack of time in Oberammergau! Our stop was too short to even walk down the street. An additional half hour added to this stop would increase the value to allow for viewing the town and grabbing a coffee or a quick shopping stop. Also, the lunch in Neuschwanstein recommended was excellent and quick, necessary fuel for hiking to Neuschwanstein.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantatic day even though it was a little bit rainy, However, the skies cleared when we went to the Neuschwanstein castle. Our guide was very informative and we also stopped at a great place for lunch. Three really nice places to visit. Time management of the tour was good

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide was Jeff who was very good, in fact we had met him on another Munich based walking tour some years ago so a real pro! this was my fourth visit to the castle over a number of years so I didn't learn anything new and you can easily read up on the Mad King from numerous guide books.
Yes you could do this yourself, but avoiding the booking office queue and the transfers to and from Fussen is worth the cost. Neuschwanstein is iconic and a must to visit but in my view it is the setting that makes this the # 1 attraction and I much prefer Linderhoff. Be warned, this attraction is very popular and the tour itself is run to a time slot leaving little time to really appreciate the interior.
Unless you are fit, take the bus up the track!
Yes there are other tours offering more as part of the trip but my advice would be to avoid as there is simply not enough time to fit everything in.

If you are in southern Germany you must do this trip at least once and if based in Munich this is the best way of doing it.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I would highly recommend this tour. I found learning about the history of the castle and the surrounding area to be very interesting. This is an excellent day trip and should not be a sight to miss on if you are in the area of Munich. I had an excellent tour guide, Austin. Austin is a teacher from Texas. I enjoyed this area so much that instead of taking the train back to Munich, I booked a couple of nights at a hotel down the road from Neuschwanstein castle. Austin was an excellent tour guide and went above and beyond to make sure everyone was enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was wonderful to have someone walk us through how to get to Neuschwanstein from Munich - took a lot of the stress away! Our guide was an American who had moved to Germany, so his English was perfect. We got a lot more of the history with this tour then if we had just done the castle tour on our own. It was also nice not to have to wait in line. Apparently, some people wait in line all day and don't actually get into the castle! I highly recommend this if you are planning to go to Neuschwanstein!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A great piece of history to take in for anyone in munich. Plenty of time in linderhof and neuschwanstein to take in the sights and castle tours. Informative guide, comfortable coach. Be prepared to pay a little extra for the castle entrance but its worth it!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Neuschwanstein was spectacular, in spite of the on and off rain.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It was a long day but we'll worth it. Neuschwanstein was incredible, I wish we had more time there.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Linderhof Palace was nice. We really needed more time at Neuschwanstein Castle. The 25 minute climb up and down can be quite rigorous for the unprepared. Less time at the town souvenir shop would be better as there is already such a shop at the castle. Overall very nice

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Our trip to Neuschwanstein castle was very pleasant. We had a good guide and the train ride was pleasant. Unfortunately, the weather was not all that cooperative although it did stop raining in time to walk up to the castle. We were given enough time to visit the community, have lunch and shop for souvenirs. Our guide, Jeff, was very knowledgeable and entertaining.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

2 different castles both worth seeing. Long hard walk to Neuschwanstein.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

What a great day with a really excellent guide. Linderhof was fascinating...taken through with a friendly and knowledgeable local guide. Neuschwanstein Castle truly magnificent...no wonder Walt Disney used it as the idea for his Sleeping Beauty Castle in Disneyland. Like our previous Viator experiences, very good value for money. We will continue to use Viator for these type of outings on any future trips...ease of booking online, reliability, content, quality etc.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide was exceptional, and was so well versed in the history and the geography of everything we saw. The scenery to and from Munich is spectacular. We would be remiss if we did not mention that the walk up to Neuschwanstein from the village should not be taken if one has health problems. The bus and carriage to the castle would be better options.
We have used Viatour on 4 previous tours in Germany and Poland, and we heartily recommend Viatour as we have not been disappointed.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It rained most of the day but didn't spoilt the trip whatsoever! Our tour guide franschesca was very knowledgable and enthusiastic. It was a little bit rushed at linderhof and oberammagou, but I'm glad we got to see a little bit of both and had plenty of time at neuschwanstein. Thanks for the great day!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It's worth the time of travel to see these castles from where ever you are in the region. Wonderful sites, and I enjoyed the medieval feel of the Neuschwanstein castle even over the other very rich and opulent palaces throughout Europe. It was a nice coach ride, and the tour guide helped explain things about the area as we went.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message