Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Neuschwanstein Castle

Neuschwanstein Castle was commissioned as the private refuge for Ludwig II of Bavaria, but opened to the public immediately after his death in 1886. Now recognizable as the inspiration for Disney's Sleeping Beauty Castle, Neuschwanstein is one ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 649 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great experience, must do when u are in Munich. Was worried initially that Linderhoff was not worth the time visiting, but am now glad i was wrong. Both castles have totally different style and didn't feel bored at all. Take the shuttle to Neuschwanstein castle from the lunch place or you won't have enough 'extra' time to enjoy the castle.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Best value and time well spent to enjoy beautiful Bavaria. Tour was well organized and guide gave plenty of good insights along the way. Guide inside Neuschwanstein Castle was a bit odd it felt like he memorized every word, including times he exclaimed pretty good, isn't it?... not sure if it's just a language thing, or the guide's personality, or both, and the trek up to the castle was quite tiring, so make sure you mentally prepare yourself for the hike. Overall, it was an enjoyable tour and would recommend it.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent time touring Neuschwanstein, Oberammergau, and Linderhof. Christine was a fabulous tour guide and the luxury coach was well worth it.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great trip with an interesting and humorous guide. The walk to Neuschwanstein was quite long and difficult, even if one opted to take the bus especially in the sweltering heat there were also lots and lots of steps and most of the tour was spent scaling enclosed spiral staircases. The tours themselves both castles were rather regimented no more than 30 minutes in each place on a guided tour in poor English. One also couldn't take photo's, which is completely ridiculous, particularly as there was so little time to consider the decor and ambiance. This however, was the fault of the venues, not the tour operator. Visitor numbers were huge and I guess this is one way of managing them, however I am still grumpy about the quality of information and lack of photos...

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Michael M
United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tour was fantastic and the guide was great. She told us all about the history of the two castles and King Ludwig ll. When I booked the tour I thought ten hours was a long time on a bus but you needed every minute. The bus was very comfortable and with the small group you could ask a lot of questions. When you visit Neuschwanstein take the tram up to the castle. It's a long walk up and the tour of the castle has a lot of steps. On the bus the guide treated us like we were guests in her home. Offering coffee, tea, cold waters and even beer. I would take the tour again just to see the Bavarian alps its was beautiful. But what really made the trip unforgettable was the tour guide and I can't forget the bus driver. She made the trip so smooth and comfortable. Thanks so much.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The tours of the royal castles of Neuschwanstein was very good and our tour guide Joseph was excellent. He told us about the history of the castle, where his favorite ice cream shop was and he even sang to us. The only complaint that I have is about the weather which none of us have control over. During our stay in Munich the temperature was 95-98 degrees F or about 36-39 degrees C and our hotel had no AC. I felt like the first day whenever we would get into a city, it was always the hottest and then the day we were leaving it would cool down. A helpful hint, when you are booking a hotel in Munich if it has four stars or more, then it will have AC.

Scott and Linlin Barron July 6th, 2015

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My family really liked this tour. Our guide was informative and funny. Neuschwanstein is absolutely worth the trip out of Munich to see. When you get to Neuschwanstein, I would suggest you take the bus uphill and not try to walk up. The castle is so grand! And as my son calls it tiny baby Linderhof Castle is also beautiful. Overall, a day well spent.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome little day trip. Linderhof and Neuschwanstein are awesome places to visit. Interesting history and beautiful landscape around the castle grounds. Our guide was funny and knowledgeable. No regrets!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

PLEASE NOTE: The cost of the entrance tickets is NOT included in the cost you pay on Viator. We needed to pay the ticket price of 23 euros per adult when the bus was already enroute. The tour was wonderful despite our surprise. It was a 2 hour bus ride from Munich but the view was worth it. When we got to Linderhof castle, the tour was quick and not much time to explore the grounds but we did get a chance to see the gardens and take pictures. There are timed entrances to Neuschwanstein so we had lunch where the guide recommended. We also made a much too quick stop in Oberamergau for shopping. I do wish more time was allowed for that because there were many beautiful wood items made by the people of the Black Forest but we needed to make spot decisions on some expensive items and I regret we didn't get more time to decide.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour, excellent tour guide. Austin from Dallas, TX was knowledgeable, entertaining, and great at getting us where we needed to be at exactly the right time to avoid lines and crowds! The tour makes it very effortless to see Neuschwanstein! No arranging transport from Munich to Fussen or from the train in Fussen to the castle. The castle tour is well worth the entrance fee! Thank you, Austin,for a great day!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Had a great tour to the castles of Ludwig II including Lindenhof and Neuschwanstein. Our tour guide, Geuder, was excellent - full of great information and witty banter which was most appreciated. The tour is well organised, and it pays to keep on time! Tour stops are enjoyable and provide ample time to soak up the atmosphere as well enjoy the castle tours themselves.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We were a little concerned at first because this tour had somehow become overbooked, and we were asked if we could change our prepaid tickets to a different day when we checked in which we were not able to do. The staff was asking everyone and must have found someone able to change his or her booking. That was the only blemish on an otherwise PERFECT tour. Because of the size of the group it was not small, Viator hired an air-conditioned motorcoach to take us to and from the castle's village where we then boarded the local tram/bus to Neuschwanstein castle for those of us who did not want to walk up the hill from the village to the castle. While we were prepared to take the regional train to the town, the motorcoach was extremely comfortable, and we could all hear the great information that our tour guide told us during the drive. Our tour guide, Anya, was knowledgeable and very nice. She also did a great job in making sure she knew where every member of her group was during the castle visit which was not an easy task, as well as directing us to a lunch place that was reasonably-priced and fast. My daughter, husband, and I were all happy with this tour experience. It was money well-spent.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Austin was awesome! There is a good bit of travel just getting from Munich to Neuschwanstein and back. It gives you lots of time to spend with your guide. Our guide was not only knowledgeable, he was entertaining and nice. Austin provided helpful with hints for enjoying Munich and our time at the castle. We learned a great deal about the King, his construction projects, his life and his death. ASK for AUSTIN!!!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Bavarian country side was such a beauty to behold. Winding roads, lush green fields, tall trees, massive mountains everything added to the charm of this place. Our first stop was palace Linderhof, which had stunning landscapes. Second stop was the charming old town of Oberammergau with its painted houses and famous wood works. Via the Romantic road, we reached our final destination The Neuschwanstein Castle, such a secluded and stunning piece of work. Our tour guide was so very informative not just about the tour but Munich in general. The coach was very comfortable with push-back seats, toilet, refreshments, TV, luggage stowing and an upper deck for better views. Very much recommended and worth the money.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour. The castles were fun to see especially from the outside. Inside was OK.

Stopping in and walking around the 2 Bavarian villages was great fun. Seeing the beauty of the villages and the Bavarian Mountains was awesome.

The bus driver was excellent and safe. The tour guide failed to tell us that there was a bus that could take us up the last 2400 feet to Neuschwanstein Castle and he did not tell us where to find the line for the carriage ride up so this part of the trip ought to be repaired. The elderly, people with health issues, and young children probably are not able to walk uphill for the last 2400 feet.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Our guide Marcus, was excellent. We were a bus of 70, we were either the best tourists ever or Marcus knows how to handle people, I think it is the latter. Very professional team, both driver and guide.
My opinion of the castles are: pay to tour Linderhof, but found the actual inside tour of Neuschwanstein wanting, felt a bit like a tourist trap thing. Walking and Viewing the castle from the outside At different angles, including being on Mary's bridge is spectacular. Know that this opinion does not reflect on the tour company or any guide of the tour company in anyway, as the tour company guide's are not the same guides you have when you are taken through the the castles. Most likely the tour company has no input to the actual tour as I think they are operated by the state.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Both Neuschwanstein and Linderhof are 30 minute guided tours at set times. We did not have enough time to look around all of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof. I suggest the tour for those who do not what to plan everything themselves. Next time I will go without a tour, but I am glad I went on the tour and recommend it. Our bus was late but we got free drinks on board. Tour guide was knowledgeable. Be sure to show up on time or you will be left behind!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Loved this your! Our guide Marcus was great. We first stopped at Linderhof which was about 1h 40 minutes from Munich. It was beautiful and we got a short guided tour. After that we drove to Oberammergau which is a great village- one of my favourite in Germany. Next up was Neuschwanstein which is my favourite place I have ever travelled too. It was a great trip, but my only reason for not rating it 5 stars is that we felt really rushed to fit this all in to one day. I would have loved to have lunch in Oberammergau and take time to enjoy it rather then a pit stop for coffee and comfort break.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Neuschwanstein Castel is worth the trip even though it is completely overrun by tourists. Our tour was in early July and it was not sooo bad especially if you expect it to be crowded. But in August and September they even close the Marien bridgefrom where you have great views onto the castle, and also a small waterfall and grotto beneath because of too many people.
I recommend the guided tour because you get advanced access, and don't have to wait in long, long lines to buy your tickets. We even got to go up to the carriage ride starting point without having to wait in line too long. They organize the whole trip for you incl. train tickets, bus from Fuessen to the town of Neuschwanstein, and the tickets for the tour of the castle.
Unfortunately, our train from Munich was 30 minutes delayed into Fuessen - from where a shuttle bus brought us in the town of Neuschwanstein -which cut our time to make it up the hill short since we had to be at the castle at a certain time for our tour. But our tour guides Roland and Patrick were very helpful guiding us up the castle just in time. Inside the castle we had a tour guide from the castle who let us through the 1/3 of finished rooms inside the castle. You have to climb up quite a few stairs - and down again but since those were the king stairs I did not mind. Plus there is elevator access for people that can't climb stairs. Also, in between the stairs you explore two different floors which also gives you a break. At the end of the tour you are still up pretty high and can get out to a balcony where you have great views onto the mountains and the lake, as well as Hohenschwangau, the old castle in town.
After the tour in the castle ends you still get to see the kitchen, and have the opportunity to go to two different gift shops. There is also a small café inside the castle.
Back outside you have the option to go to the Marienbruecke for incredible views, or head back on foot, bus or horse carriage to town.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The tour was well executed and timing was great which enabled us to get in and out of the castles in good time. The rooms in the castles were crowded, however I felt that I got a good look at all of the important things that were identified by the guide. Yes, it was quick and it would have been nice to have more time but with so many people wanting to get through...very glad we had the tickets arranged by the tour group. The walk up to Neuschwanstein is not for the faint hearted- it really is a hard slog especially as the temperature was over 35 degress. Very hot. Recommend the horse carrage which we took back, very cheap and a lovely alternative to trying to get back down the steep road! The castles were beautiful and really worth seeing. The guide was very good, although we thought the singlet and thongs let down the professional appearance of a tour guide.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

This tour was given by Radius Tour, office found in Central Munich train station. First, forget the small group and the mini-van transport at Füssen inscribed on Viator excursion Radius Tour does not shell this tour with these mentions, only Viator. We started the tour at 28 persons not a small group, but we were finally 19 during the day because Radius Tour started a spanish-speaking group and some of our group changed in the train. You will have to pay the castle entrance fees at Radius Tour office, before leavine in train.
From Munich, you will take train to Füssen with your group. The guide thanks, Jeff will tell some stories about the castle and the king. At Füssen, the group took a public special bus for a 15-20 min ride to the castle's parking. Here, you will have a just the time to eat fast food, no time to loose before going up the hill to the castle. You will have a reserved entrance time to respect and if you arrive earlier, the guide will show you the places around the castle the bridge with is beautiful view, particulary. The visit of the castle is done by the castle guide for all persons who have a ticket for this hour around 30-40 persons. 30 min and some beatiful rooms. After that, free time before return to the bus and the train for the train, no specific sitting places and if you have to take a small train, you could not have a seat. The guide is there to guide you, but has no control on the places available. Recommanded tour if you want to see Neuschwanstein castle without plannification problems.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Fantastic Day- Great tour and we were also able to visit Omeragamu too. One suggestion would be to be a little clearer as to where the buses and shuttles that go to close to the Neuschwanstein castle and marian bridge especially for those who are less mobile. Its a steep climb.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Linderhof is a small castle but nice to see. For older people Neuschwanstein Castle will be a difficult climb, even if you take the shuttle bus up to the castle, it is a long, steep, uphill climb--so be prepared!! I didn't get to go into the castle because I could not find the tour guide to get my ticket, she showed us a restaurant to eat at and left to buy the tickets. However, I could not find her in the crowd to obtain the entrance ticket to the Neushwanstein Castle.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Enjoyable excursion to both castles with an interesting short stop at Oberammergau. Was a very busy day at Neuschwanstein so not quite as enjoyable having to deal with the crowds.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Full day tour from Munich. Neuschwanstein the highlight with a nice stop for lunch, brief stop in Obergammmerau, and Linderhof castle.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message