Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Neuschwanstein Castle

Neuschwanstein Castle was commissioned as the private refuge for Ludwig II of Bavaria, but opened to the public immediately after his death in 1886. Now recognizable as the inspiration for Disney's Sleeping Beauty Castle, Neuschwanstein is one ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 534 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

This tour is a great way to see Mad King Ludwig’s Fairy Tale Castles without the hassle of renting a car. We recommend sitting in the top of the bus for lovely views of Bavaria while in route to the castles. As other reviewers have noted, the tours are a bit rushed. There isn’t enough time at Linderhof to see the Grotto and we had to grab lunch on the go in order to make it to the top of the hill for our guided tour of Neuschwanstein. Our tour stopped in the little village Oberammergau for 45 min which wasn’t long enough to enjoy the town or even get an adequate lunch. We would rather have had that 45 minutes to either tour the LInderhof Grotto or get lunch in Hohenschwangau. This tour involves a lot walking and requires a fast pace so it probably isn’t the best option for people with mobility issues. Our tour guide was Christine and she did a nice job of telling us about the history of the areas we were touring. Overall, we are glad we went on the tour because it allowed us to see areas of the Bavarian Alps and the amazing castles.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Imprescindible si visitas Munich, primero llegamos a Linderhof, luego hacemos una parada en una ciudad intermedia muy "cute", y proseguimos a Neuschwanstein. Teniamos dudas con respecto a entrar o no entrar a los castillos (el costo es aparte, no esta incluido en el tour, 22 euros por persona entre ambos) finalmente decidimos hacerlo y sin duda valió la pena. EXCELENTE TOUR, nuestra guia Elizabeth fabulosa, nos explicó cada detalle y nos atendió de maravilla. Realmente te sientes en un "cuento de hadas".

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Absolutely fabulous! You cannot imagine the beauty of the two castles until you are actually standing inside them. It was a long way to the top to enter Castle Neuschwanstein but taking the horse and cart made it easier. Going down by foot is a must. I was sorry I didn't go to Mary's Bridge where the postcard shots are taken because you are able to see the castle clearly. Some people on our tour did not go inside both castles. They missed out. Do both castles. We did not spend enough time in Oberammerga where the Passion Play is staged every 10 years. Lunch at the hotel in Hohenschwangau was lovely. A very big day but well worth it!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The trip to Neuschwanstein Castle was by far the best day we spent in Germany. Our guide, Austin, was extremely knowledgeable and kept us on schedule throughout the trip. The views were spectacular..would recommend this trip to anyone going to Munich..A don't miss excursion.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is WELL WORTH the few extra dollars (or Euro) for an intimate, smaller-group tour. Francesca was amazing, knew her subject matter quite well (and then some), and allowed for quiet time on the trip back to Munich. She arranged for a private shuttle at Neuschwanstein to arrive at Mary's Bridge quicker and with fewer hills to hike up! She gave each tourist a "goodie bag" and drinks and even took pictures of us with our cameras so that both/all can be in the photo. She was a fantastic guide, and our driver was quite capable as well.
The day was planned out perfectly, and the order that we did everything in was the best way to avoid the crowds. The extra side-trip to Oberammergau was a nice time for shopping and getting gelato, or more traditional Bavarian treats! The guide at Linderhof was especially good - the overall impression I get is that they take great pride in the history and artwork in these gorgeous castles, and convey that message accordingly.
I would recommend this tour to everyone and even take it again myself.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Maria was our very sweet and informative tour guide who offered an abundance of information during our trip to Neuschwanstein and Linderhof. The drive out to the castles was one of the loveliest we experienced on our two week trip. Maria recommended a charming restaurant in town and let us know that credit cards were accepted there, which we appreciated since our former tour guide failed to mention this. Linderhof was dazzling and Neuschwanstein was equally amazing but had a different type of style. This tour allowed enough time to eat, tour the castle, and do a little shopping. Definitely one of our favorite tours!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Neuschwanstein Castle is a must see site in Bavaria. The castle interior and the setting high above the village and lakes are wonderful.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

My friends and I really enjoyed our tour of Neuschwanstein Castle. Though once inside the castle the actual castle tour seemed quick and we were not allowed to take pictures, it was still a good time. Our actual tour guide for before and after inside the castle was amazing and very informative! We would definitely recommend to others.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It has been a memorable experience to have chance to visit this castle, not to say the chance to ride on carriage downhill! Luckily we have booked the tour to save our time in queuing for the ticket and wandering around without guidance. Highly recommended for whoever visit Fussen for Neuschwanstein on their own but without any knowledge on how to visit the castle!

Doing what: Skip-the-Line: Neuschwanstein Castle Tour from Fuessen Including Horse-Drawn Carriage Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great trip to Fussen and Neuschwanstein Castle via train on Sept 29, 2014.. Beautiful scenery on our trip to Fussen and back to Munich. Austin was a great tour guide very funny and gave the history is an interesting way. Beautiful day too, clear blue skies and upper 70's. I would recommend this tour, ask for Austin!!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was raining in Munich (October 17, 2014) when we caught the bus in front of Karstadt's. We were feeling a little sorry for ourselves, but things improved along the way! There ended up being three couples on our tour including us. The ride from Town to Neuschwanstein, even in the rain, was lovely with commentary by the guide as we rode along. I said to my wife: "You, know the ride alone with the commentary is worth the price of the tour." When we arrived, the rain had stopped. Our guide was excellent. She told us step by step what would happen. We stood in only one line all day and that was for only 10 minutes. Our group going through the castle was about 30 people, 24 of whom were with one tour group. We 6 let them go ahead of us and they would leave each room and we had the room to ourselves. Our guide arranged for a van to shuttle us up to Castle for only 2 Euros each, a good deal. Then she explained how we could catch the horse drawn carriage on the way down, 3 Euros each, still a good deal After Neuschwanstein the guide asked us if we wanted to see The Church in the Meadows, a UNESCO sight. We said yes. Wow, what a treat. When I saw the large Church in the Meadow (seriously) I thought it was nice. When I stepped through the doors and saw the alter, it literally took my breath away! You have to see to believe. Then we went to Oberammergau the home of the Passion Play done by the townspeople every 10 years (not this year). But the little town was a simple fun stop to look at the shops and see the theatre that seats 4,800 and the town is only 5,000. Finally, we got to Linderhoff Castle for our tour. Wonderful. No line. Even though they were closing (DLS time change that was unexpected--Germany doesn't all change on the same day.) our guide called ahead and made arrangements. On the way back to Munich we saw two videos about Ludwig II. The tour was expensive but we knew we were only going once in our lives. Money well spent.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour is an absolute must if you have more than 1 day in Munich! My husband and I just got back from a 2 1/2 week trip around Europe, including London, Amsterdam, Paris, Switzerland, and Munich, and this was one of our top highlights. The castles are amazing, but even the views from the Bavarian alps alone are worth it. We saw many castles throughout our trip, and we both agreed, even though Neuschwanstein was never completed, it was one of our favorites. Stunning views! You MUST go to Mary's Bridge for the best view and photos. Great bus ride and a fabulous tour guide. Elizabeth did such a wonderful job and was one of our favorite tour guides of our trip.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

These castles are certainly worth a visit, however be aware of the number of stairs to get in, as well as the long walk involved. As many have said, there is a bus which takes you to the bridge overlooking Neuschwanstein. Whether you walk it or ride there be sure to take this in! Although way overcrowded it is a scene not to be missed! We enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Lisa C
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Great tour, highly recommended.
Just a 2 hour train journey through the countryside then a hike through the forest to visit the amazing Neuschwanstein Castle. Only issue was the weather as it was raining and we had to stand around a wait for our tour group to get into the castle to start the tour but the weather isn't something that can be avoided.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Definitely sleep over at Neuschwanstein area and Rothenburg. Only way imo to really enjoy the area or else it would just be too stressful. The bus ride through romantic road was scenic but not much to really explore or do. Was a bit rushed as well.

Doing what: 3-day Munich to Frankfurt Tour - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message