Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Neuschwanstein Castle

Neuschwanstein Castle was commissioned as the private refuge for Ludwig II of Bavaria, but opened to the public immediately after his death in 1886. Now recognizable as the inspiration for Disney's Sleeping Beauty Castle, Neuschwanstein is one ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 505 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent one day trip to see the Bavarian Alps, Linderhof Castle, Oberammergau and tour Neuschwanstein Castle!! We packed a lot of activity into one day and enjoyed everything. Our guide was excellent and informative. It is very difficult to try to replicate this tour on your own with a car or public transportation. It is well worth the money and day to enjoy this beautiful part of Germany!!! My only disappoint was the lack of time in Oberammergau! Our stop was too short to even walk down the street. An additional half hour added to this stop would increase the value to allow for viewing the town and grabbing a coffee or a quick shopping stop. Also, the lunch in Neuschwanstein recommended was excellent and quick, necessary fuel for hiking to Neuschwanstein.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantatic day even though it was a little bit rainy, However, the skies cleared when we went to the Neuschwanstein castle. Our guide was very informative and we also stopped at a great place for lunch. Three really nice places to visit. Time management of the tour was good

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide was Jeff who was very good, in fact we had met him on another Munich based walking tour some years ago so a real pro! this was my fourth visit to the castle over a number of years so I didn't learn anything new and you can easily read up on the Mad King from numerous guide books.
Yes you could do this yourself, but avoiding the booking office queue and the transfers to and from Fussen is worth the cost. Neuschwanstein is iconic and a must to visit but in my view it is the setting that makes this the # 1 attraction and I much prefer Linderhoff. Be warned, this attraction is very popular and the tour itself is run to a time slot leaving little time to really appreciate the interior.
Unless you are fit, take the bus up the track!
Yes there are other tours offering more as part of the trip but my advice would be to avoid as there is simply not enough time to fit everything in.

If you are in southern Germany you must do this trip at least once and if based in Munich this is the best way of doing it.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I would highly recommend this tour. I found learning about the history of the castle and the surrounding area to be very interesting. This is an excellent day trip and should not be a sight to miss on if you are in the area of Munich. I had an excellent tour guide, Austin. Austin is a teacher from Texas. I enjoyed this area so much that instead of taking the train back to Munich, I booked a couple of nights at a hotel down the road from Neuschwanstein castle. Austin was an excellent tour guide and went above and beyond to make sure everyone was enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Loved the tour! The guide kept excusing himself for Linderhof not being a big enough castle, but we actually loved it more than Neuschwanstein. Linderhof is small but extremely charming and beautiful, Neuschwanstein is big and impressive, but much more impersonal.
The walk up to the Neuschwanstein (which we eventually chose over the carriage or the bus, due to the long waiting lines) was easier than expected, despite me not being fit at all. The estimate was around 40 minutes, I walked it in about 25 (it was tiring, but nevertheless). It's about 1km of walking, and it's not really steep. The views up there alone are worth the trip.
Don't miss out on going to the Marienbridge as well (there's some extra walking after you reach the castle), the view of the castle is beautiful.
A downside to the castle is that, despite having audio guides, the whole group you enter with has to wait for the audio guide section to finish in order to pass to the next room. We tend to visit places at a faster pace, so the long waiting in every room was excruciating.
We liked the guide, but we disliked that he hinted (not subtly at all even) that we should tip him. I don't mind tipping, but not when it's being suggested to me.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was wonderful to have someone walk us through how to get to Neuschwanstein from Munich - took a lot of the stress away! Our guide was an American who had moved to Germany, so his English was perfect. We got a lot more of the history with this tour then if we had just done the castle tour on our own. It was also nice not to have to wait in line. Apparently, some people wait in line all day and don't actually get into the castle! I highly recommend this if you are planning to go to Neuschwanstein!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour! We did not go inside any of the castles as we usually prefer them on the outside. At Linderhof this gave us time to look around the amazingly beautiful gardens. We made a short stop in Oberammagau which was a beautiful place. However we did not have that much time to look around. The highlight of the day was the view from Marienbrücke where you have the most amazing view over Neuschwanstein! We did not bother waiting in line for the buses and the walk up to Marienbrücke only took about 25 minutes. The walk through the forest was very pleasant.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A great piece of history to take in for anyone in munich. Plenty of time in linderhof and neuschwanstein to take in the sights and castle tours. Informative guide, comfortable coach. Be prepared to pay a little extra for the castle entrance but its worth it!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This has been the coolest part of my trip to Europe this time and my first trip 10 years ago. The bus company is subcontracted to haul people on the tour to Neuschwanstein. There was a slight miscommunication I believe with our original bus guide and it looked like the trip was going to be a bust. Once we figured out what the official agenda was and that we were on the right tour it completely 180'd. When we got to Neuschwanstein and realized that we had to check into the Muller Hotel the trip became highly recommended. The castles were amazing. Neuschwanstein is a must see if you stay there or not. I recommend going inside the castles at least once. Neuschwanstein looks like a Disney castle and is good for people of all ages. The Muller hotel was as good and hospitable hotel as I have stayed at. The staff deserves the highest rating. The double room also very cozy with the old German feel. We had enough time to check out the other castle the following day (Hohenschwangau) and take in the sights. The night we stayed we took a cab ride to Fussen which is a local smaller town with enough to do. I would stay at the Fussen again and could spend several days there. Everyone around town was also very accommodating. For the most part everyone speaks English and if you know the basics in German you should have no problem. The tour guide that took us back to Munich after the night stay was also very knowledgeable and had all of her ducks in a row. I think the poor experience with getting to Neuschwanstein was a complete fluke and do not expect repeat trouble for anyone else. I highly recommend this tour and would consider doing it when I make it back to Munich.

Doing what: Overnight Royal Castles Tour - Linderhof, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This has been the coolest part of my trip to Europe this time and my first trip 10 years ago. The bus company is subcontracted to haul people on the tour to Neuschwanstein. There was a slight miscommunication I believe with our original bus guide and it looked like the trip was going to be a bust. Once we figured out what the official agenda was and that we were on the right tour it completely 180'd. When we got to Neuschwanstein and realized that we had to check into the Muller Hotel the trip became highly recommended. The castles were amazing. Neuschwanstein is a must see if you stay there or not. I recommend going inside the castles at least once. Neuschwanstein looks like a Disney castle and is good for people of all ages. The Muller hotel was as good and hospitable hotel as I have stayed at. The staff deserves the highest rating. The double room also very cozy with the old German feel. We had enough time to check out the other castle the following day (Hohenschwangau) and take in the sights. The night we stayed we took a cab ride to Fussen which is a local smaller town with enough to do. I would stay at the Fussen again and could spend several days there. Everyone around town was also very accommodating. For the most part everyone speaks English and if you know the basics in German you should have no problem. The tour guide that took us back to Munich after the night stay was also very knowledgeable and had all of her ducks in a row. I think the poor experience with getting to Neuschwanstein was a complete fluke and do not expect repeat trouble for anyone else. I highly recommend this tour and would consider doing it when I make it back to Munich.

Doing what: Overnight Royal Castles Tour - Linderhof, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castles have always been a treat to visit; the guide was excllent, well-informed, and extremely pleasant. The only draw back was the inability of time to permit a tour of the underground cave at the Linderhof Castle. I strongly suggest time to carved to permit the cave visit.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was my favorite tour, the stop in the small town was almost unnecessary as I would have liked more time at Linderhof. The order of the trip was switched around and our tour at Neuschwanstein was so late we had no time after to go to the gift shop or we would miss the last Linderhof tour .

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Neuschwanstein was spectacular, in spite of the on and off rain.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

It was a long day but we'll worth it. Neuschwanstein was incredible, I wish we had more time there.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

A wonderful overview of the beauty of Bavaria. The historic towns and tours were fascinating. We had to make a change in itinerary to end in Munich instead of Frankfurt - it was easy to do by phone, so the support was great. The bus drivers on the Romantic Road buses were generally helpful but it varied by day.

The combination of reserved transportation and hotels, plus lots of free time to wander the cities, was just right for us. We really enjoyed those days more than the first tour day of two castles and a tourist town! It was too rushed with little time for exploration, questions, etc. The slower pace of the next three days was much more pleasant.

The start was confusing. We didn't realize we were to take the bus tour from Munich to Neuschwanstein and the drivers/tour guides weren't sure what to do with us either. Once we got going we realized how it worked. But more information at the beginning would have been very helpful.

Our overall impression was very positive, again, once we figured out how it worked. Thanks for a wonderful introduction to the history of the region. We want to come back again soon.

Doing what: 4-Day Tour from Munich to Frankfurt: Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Augsburg, Neuschwanstein Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message