Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Neuschwanstein Castle

Neuschwanstein Castle was commissioned as the private refuge for Ludwig II of Bavaria, but opened to the public immediately after his death in 1886. Now recognizable as the inspiration for Disney's Sleeping Beauty Castle, Neuschwanstein is one ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 576 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic day trip! The tour guide was excellent. My family really enjoyed listening to the history of Bavaria and the castles during the bus ride. She also spoke perfect English so it was easy for everyone to understand. The countryside is incredibly beautiful. We found some great souvenirs during our short stop in the village of Oberammergau. Neuschwanstein is built upon a ridge which gives it the most spectacular views of the Alps I've ever seem. The only downside was the 1 mile walk uphill from the bus stop to the castle. However, my family made it up the hill easily in 30 minutes at a very slow walking pace. It was also nice that they sold drinks on the bus ride. I recommend bringing some snacks. Overall it was a great value. I would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

An excellent trip to Linderhof and Neuschwanstein. The tour started at 8.30am from outside of the Karstadt department store opposite the Hauptbahnhof. Ursula our guide was very friendly and knowledgeable and provided us with lots of information. An excellent, very enjoyable day out and would thoroughly recommend!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This trip was amazing. I really enjoyed the trip. The history of this castle, Schloss Neuschwanstein was interesting. People here in Bavaria really do worship him, King Ludwig. Thank you for a wonderful trip. The price was great.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Completely helped with traveling from Munich to Neuschwanstein Castle. The tour guide was friendly and helpful. Would recommend anytime.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I really enjoyed this day out. I think Linderhof was better than Neuschwanstein, but both castles are absolutely beautiful. It's a real pity that King Ludwig didn't get a chance to finish Neuschwanstein. The guide was excellent and the day went off beautifully. Well worth it.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Great tour but be prepared for a lot of walking. Wear very comfortable shoes. The walk to Neuschwanstein was a mile uphill. Several stairs to climb inside. Mary's bridge next to castle was worth the climb. Well organized tour.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Beautiful Bavarian landscapes and fairy tale like castles on this tour, especially the Neuschwanstein castle. If you are going to walk up to this castle I suggest that you get an early start/quick lunch as it takes additional time to get to the second view point at the bridge which is a must see!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was great! The tour guide was interesting and the bus driver was awesome also, smooth ride, great trip.It was definitely interesting to view the insides of the castles and know more about the history!! It was a little pity that the bridge was closed during winter, if not it will be awesome to take the picture of Neuschwanstein from a bird eye view .

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Loved this tour. Linden how was stunningly beautiful with amazing craftsmanship. Neuschwanstein was beautifully set in the perfect location. Definitely worth a visit.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour, out tour guide Keith was very personable and I left the trip very conent. The castle was an amazing and Keith made that experience possible. I would have felt very lost trying to plan the Neuschwanstein trip individually and going with a guide made the experience so much easier.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was very well informed and a good full day. Neuschwanstein is an amazing castle and the walk to the top is steep, but if you fell you can't manage it there are horse and carts. We walked and had lunch at the restaurant near the top which was really good and a good place to rest. The tour itself was very interesting and the guide on the coach was very helpful. Got some great photos and loved seeing 2 castles of the swan king.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour of Schloss Linderhof and Schloss Neuschwanstein! A truly memorable experience and worth recommending if you are spending some time in Munich or Bavaria. Our tour guide, Margit, was very friendly and highly knowledgeable. The bus was very comfortable and our driver did a great job getting us from one city to the next.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was great. We had lots of snow on the mountains. The tour guides were great, very organised and funny as well. Timing was good, we had plenty of time to look around everywhere. I even had time to hop 2 fences to go to Maria bridge even though it was very slippery and snowy. I would definitely recommend it. Out of my 5 week trip around Europe, Neuschwanstein was my favourite trip. It is definitely worth going on this. You could go yourself by public transport, which is slightly cheaper, but you don't get to see all the sights and don't get any of the explanations that our tourguide provided.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We loved this tour. First, we went to Linderhof, where our guide, Elisabeth, arranged getting the tickets for the preguided tour into the castle. We had plenty of time to take pictures around the grounds. Then, we stopped at Oberammergau, a cute little town, for about a half hour. We were there on Sunday, so unfortunately, most of the shops were closed, but we had ice cream and walked around. The last event of the day was Neuschwanstein. Again, we had plenty of time, and our tickets were arranged by Elisabeth. Make sure you bring cash to give to your guide for the tickets. The bus ride is a great inexperience in itself because of the scenic views, and our guide provided us some history/background on the bus ride there.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Although the trip was undertook in heavy snow and poor visibility we still had a lovely day. Both castles and village are well worth visiting. It was just a shame the weather was so bad which impacted on the length of time we had a each stop. Neuschwanstein is lovely, seeing the castle as you walk up mountain path towards it is breathtaking (took around 20-25 minutes in the snow). Linderhof was also nice and interesting but was quite tricky to walk to in the snow. The village was stunning but our length of time there was extremely short. We would have liked more time here to look around the shops.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message