Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Neuschwanstein Castle

Neuschwanstein Castle was commissioned as the private refuge for Ludwig II of Bavaria, but opened to the public immediately after his death in 1886. Now recognizable as the inspiration for Disney's Sleeping Beauty Castle, Neuschwanstein is one ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 726 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michael T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The trip is fully loaded and is totally worth it and with this I mean it starts really early and ends late too.. But the good thing is that you would see so many things. The guided tours inside the Linderhof and Neuschwanstein castles were pretty awesome. Our guide, Nancy likewise fed us with some very interesting information on our way to the castles. Overall, I think this trip is highly recommended!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Megan F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Overall the day tour was fantastic. The guide was interesting, well spoken and very knowledgeable, which kept the tour group engaged throughout. Neuschwanstein Castle is a must, simply for the exterior photo opportunities. I'd recommend taking the tour in the summer to get the best greenery and access to the viewing bridge and also the grotto, which were all closed due to the time of year.

Well worth dedicating a day to the trip.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Maria F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was incredible and the sites were amazing! I don't know how we would have got to Linderhof had it not been on this tour. We went in the winter and everything was beautiful as it had just snowed a few days before. You spend a minimal amount of time at Linderhof and then make your way to Neuschwanstein. Because it was winter there were only a bistro cafe and the restaurant up the castle hill to eat at, but in the summer our tour guide says more places are opened. The bridge for the viewing point was just down for maintenance but the castle was still amazing. I would 100 recommend this tour and would do it again myself. Do note that the price of the castle to get inside is not included.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

BRUCE R

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Long day tour but very enjoyable. Loved Linderhorf and would stay there longer. Neuschwanstein is worth the visit but it is a challenge for some. Definitely take the minibus trip to the front gate as too hard to walk up especially for older folk. Inside, it is a real eyeopener but there are a number of levels to negotiate. There is a lift for those less mobile.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Ian W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Neuschwanstein is a must see trip if visiting Munich. We had a great guide who was friendly and well informed. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Chris M United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This is a great tour that I would recommend for those who have never explored the 3 locations that you visit: Linderhof palace, Oberammergau town location of the Passion Play, and of course Neuschwanstein, the dream-medieveal castle built by King Ludwig II that inspired the Disney castle. Linderhof palace is a beautiful retreat home built by Ludwig II set back into the mountains on extensive garden grounds near Oberammergau. Linderhof is done in the style of Versailles and is truly visually magnificient and over the top!. I would recommend taking the long walk up to the castle Neuschwanstein, as the walk is full of sights both up to the castle and down across the valley that it overlooks. Taking the horse buggy or bus does not save you from having to walk, so you might as well enjoy it! Unfortunately, like many multi-site tours, it felt like not much time was given to each location. One only has about an hour for Linderhof and Oberammergau each, with the rest of the trip being dedicated to Neuschwanstein and getting to and from locations. While this is ok for a first-time visit to these locations, anyone looking to really dig deep into each one should set out and explore on their own.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Phyllis H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Had a lovely time on this tour, our tour guide Gerda was brilliant and the whole experience from start to finish was carried out with care and professionalism. Loved the journey through Bavarian countryside and was absolutely blown away by Neuschwanstein castle and the breath-taking scenery also the awesome Linderhof palace which was simply stunning. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Alexandra B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Although the walking bridge viewpoint was under construction, our guide went the extra mile to take us to a private viewing spot that gave us a great view of the castle and some wonderful pictures! It was much easier to navigate the options to get to and from the castle with the tour guide's advice, and her commentary on the history of the castle's builder gave some great context to the visit. If you are thinking of visiting Neuschwanstein I definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Mikkel M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Trip was wonderful! Gerta was fantastic. I loved her stories and facts about Munich as we drove through to the countryside to reach the castles. She has a wealth of knowledge!

The tour went to a smaller castle in the morning Linderhof then a really cute Bavarian town where we had a quick 45 minutes to explore then the main attraction, Neuschwanstein. We went during the winter - so Linderhof had a lot less to see on its exterior as all the fountains and such were boarded up to resist frost and the landscape was sparse. But still one of the most beautiful interiors to experience and I've seen a lot of castles in my day!.

I would recommend bringing snacks and maybe even a sandwich for lunch. Though there is certainly time to grab a bite here or there time is limited and I much preferred walking around then spending time in line for a pastry. If you have dietary restrictions definitely bring something as most of the quick options in the town around Neuschwanstein was meat bread of some sort.

Just an FYI - there are a TON of photo opps on the grounds and exteriors but you're not allowed to take photos inside either castle.

Also, the additional price for admission for the castle tours was 23 Euro and I opted for a 6 Euro horse carriage ride up to Neuschwanstein, which was worth it! About 10 people can go per carriage ride so they just fill it up with whoever's in line to go up there.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Cynthia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Although it was a drizzly day, our trip was on time and the guide's cheerful attitude made the whole day worthwhile. This tour visits 3 sites - Linderhof, Oberammergau and Neuschwanstein.
The stop at Oberammergau was a quick on-off -run-shop stop...but it was interesting to hear about the Passion Play and the region.
The tours at Linderhof and Neuschwanstein were very interesting. Just a note that the entrance fees are NOT included in the Viator reservation - I think it was an additional 23 euros.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

jonna.vainio

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

All in all, the day tour was great! We would not have been able to do this on our own. The audio guided tour group in Neuschwanstein was way too big so we found the experience somewhat lacking as we didn't get to see everything because of the crowds in relatively small and dark places. Also the audio guide didn't always work so we missed some of the commentary. Linderhof was a much better experience with a very lively local guide.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

heather C

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Very informative and well organised. Well worth the climb to see the Castle of Neuschwanstein even in the snow.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Suzanne P

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

We really enjoyed our trip to Neuschwanstein. The whole procedure ran very smoothly and the tour was well organised. Our guide was both informative and amusing. We had some time to do out own thing as well as take in the sights. The snow fall on the day was an added bonus.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Arun B

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Great trip and Maria was a fantastic guide. The only disappointment was that due to our timing, the statues were covered and the fountains had been drained at Lindenhof and the bridge at Neuschwanstein was closed.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Steven L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Enjoyable trip to visit the castles at Neuschwanstein and Linderhof with a stop at Oberammergau. Our tour guide was outstanding and we enjoyed all three stops. The castles are amazing, and the highlight of our time in Munich.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Gilly Gibraltar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A must! The highlight of our holiday. It's a fairy tale world waiting for you outside Minuch. The castles were amazing and the scenery jaw dropping. We had a couple of hours in Schwangau before our tour of Neuschwanstein which gave us enough time to walk around the lake and visit the Hohegschwangau Castle. Our guide was fantastic. Very relaxed and friendly.
Well worth every penny!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Mark L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We went on this trip in October - we were lucky to have a sunny day and all the trees were showing their autumn colours - our first stop was at Linderhof Castle - in comparison this was fairly small - I think it was his summer castle - we only saw this quickly and it was in a very pretty setting. Then off through a little town where we stopped and could have a coffee and a wander around - where we saw some gorgeous german painted houses and a shop full of cuckoo clocks. Then off on our way to Neuschwanstein castle which was HUGE and MAGNIFICENT. We went on a tour though the castle and opulence was mind blowing. We found out a fair bit about King Ludwig II and were sad to hear that he only lived in his castle for 172 days before dying suspiciously after being declared mentally insane. It was beautiful, informative and very interesting.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Eryn Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Although the fog was so bad that day we didn't actually see Neuschwanstein, the trip was still one to remember. Our guide was very knowledgeable about the area and gave a lot of really great information on tour. I would highly recommend going in the fall because the colors of the Bavarian countryside were absolutely beautiful. I will be back for another visit in December.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Lisa J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A must to see! Our group kicked off and headed to Linderhof Castle for a scenic tour of this smaller castle, then to Oberammergau for time to touring and end at Neuschwanstein. Francesca was fabulous with suggestions to see or do at locations and full of information! We had a GORGEOUS day of weather and so the views were spectacular from the castles. The only drawback was Marien's Bridge Marienbrucke closed for repairs. Still the views are wonderful and well worth the time to visit!!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Jonathan C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Tour guide v good, castles good, enjoyable day all round. Unfortunately the bridge at Neuschwanstein was under maintenance so the best views of the castle were unavailable until May 2016 I believe.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Elena G

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Great tour overall. Not enough time to spend at each sight though. Had to literally run back from Neuschwanstein tour to catch the bus. The guide was nice. The sights are beautiful. In winter less so than in summer as all the statues are covered with wooden boxes and the fountains are not working.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Daniel Hong Kong

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Overall speaking the arrangement is good. But it's a pity the best spot of taking photo of the Neuschwanstein was blocked. Othewise everything else is perfect.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Ma Belen T

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

I enjoyed the tour of Linderhof and Neuschwanstein castles. It was just unfortunate that this time of the year did not really allow us to see the splendor and colors of the so-called sleeping beauty model castle. I should return summer or spring.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Gerald H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our group was my wife and I, our two sons with fiancé and girlfriend plus my niece currently living in Germany This was a perfect day for all of us to share. Brad and the other guides were well informed and we learned much more about Neuschwanstein than the tour itself offered. The bike ride was fun and my sons took a dip in the Alpine Lake. This day trip was a highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Day Trip from Munich with Optional Hohenschwangau Castle Visit or Bike Tour

Wiiliam B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent. A full day to see two very interesting castles. Good tour guide Nancy and driver. Neuschwanstein is a must see.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message