Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Neuschwanstein Castle

Neuschwanstein Castle was commissioned as the private refuge for Ludwig II of Bavaria, but opened to the public immediately after his death in 1886. Now recognizable as the inspiration for Disney's Sleeping Beauty Castle, Neuschwanstein is one ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 560 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Was such a great day, had the loveliest tour guide who gave us advice on our dirndls during the trip as well as many fun facts about Munich, the festival and Neuschwanstein. Arrived at the bridge just as the sun came out and got some beautiful photos of the castle, was truly a magical experience, I can see why Disney liked it. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The pure splendor of these castles cannot be described in words. Mesmerising views especially atop the hills of Neuschwanstein. Although it was a pity that during my visit in winter, the outdoor statues at Linderhof was covered for protection.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Both are spectacular castles to see. Neuschwanstein is like a fairytale castle without the glam inside and Linderhof the total opposite being decorated with so much gold and beautiful original furniture. Take the horse carriage if your not too fit to walk up the hill to Neuschwanstein and then walk back down later.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Neuschwanstein is breathtaking! While Linderhof is beautiful and comfortable. Tour guide and coach are comfortable, it's a very enjoyable trip!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Bruce N
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A wonderful day, with lots of snow, the visit toLinderhop and Neschanstein was lovely. Just be aware of the long and steep climb to Neuschwanstein Castle. While there were horse drawn carriages the queue was very long and our young daughter struggled with the climb.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

The tour was amazing, our guide was both knowledgeable and entertaining. The only slight negative was that we weren't aware of the 30min uphill trek to get to Neuschwanstein Castle. Bit tough with young kids.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We enjoyed the tour very much.Had a helpful and interesting guide, although I suggest you warn travelers of the over 200 stairs to climb in Neuschwanstein. The area is beautiful, and were happy we chose the tour instead of spending the day in Munich.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A dream come true... the woman on the bus was so knowledgeable about the castles and the countryside of Germany. Do wish we had more time at Linderhof but that was the only thing that could have been better.
Neuschwanstein was awesome... I was like a little child visiting Disneyworld for the first time, definitely woudl go back.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Comfortable bus tour of Linnderhof und Neuschwanstein Castles. Our guide was informative and well organized. In my opinion, we spent as much time as needed at each stop. Once at the castles the personnel there take over the tour duties. I've done Viator tours before and have nothing but positive comments to make.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The trip was a complete pleasure, from beginning to end. Our guide joyfully spoke of German history and culture. The bus was new, clean, spacious and comfortable. Linderfof Palace, Obberammergau, and Neuschwanstein Castle were our stops. I highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

What a fantastic trip! Both castles are absolutely beautiful. Linderhof is small and exquisite. Neuschwanstein the ultimate fairytale castle. We loved the short stop at Oberamagau - just wished we had a little longer. Again the houses are fairytale like and like nothing else we have experienced anywhere else. The scenery along the way is stunningly beautiful. Thoroughly recommended as a day trip outside Munich.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was just as it was explained in the booking process. To be clear, Viator books the tour, but the tour is run by a tour company so you are on with others not having booked with Viator. Likewise, the guide is from the tour company. This was not obvious to me from booking and /or reviews. So then, our guide Franciska (sp?) was wonderful. Very good information on the bus both there and back, with time, especially on the return, for resting. She was nmot our guide for either of the castles.
Linderhof was very special and our castle guide was great. Jaw dropping rooms and further interesting info about King Ludwig II. Oberammergau was a delightful stop. A little short, but so much to fit into one day. Neuschwanstein was amazing, but to me more for the exteriors than the interiors--after seeing Linderhof.
Be forewarned, there is considerable walking for Neuschwanstein, no matter how you approach it. My sister, 80, opted not to do that part, but the small visiting area below the castle provided entertainment whileI visited the castle--a very nice museum. So it worked out for us.
All staff were very accommodating and attentive to our concerns.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was fantastic! The tour office in Munich was easy to find. The train ride through the alps was comfortable and beautiful. The castle was very impressive, as was the scenery. Our guide was excellent, very happy to answer any questions and is clearly passionate about this part of the world. He made sure we were all comfortable and had everything that we needed. We learnt a lot on this trip and look forward to returning to Neuschwanstein Castle in the future. A wonderful day all round. Thank you!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Amazing. We had a very unseasonable warm day in October, plus a Sunday - when both places were super packed with people. At Neuschwanstein we had to walk up since the line for the bus and the horse ride was very long. Walking at a fast pace (up hill) took us 45 minutes to get to the bridge - which is a must for picture taking. Interesting enough, the tour inside to castle was okay, although it only cover 1 floors since the other floors were never completed. A must see.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour overall, the only drawback was that 90% of the shops in Oberammergau were closed because it was Sunday. Because of this it would have been better to skip that city and dedicated more time to Neuschwanstein.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message