Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Neuschwanstein Castle

Neuschwanstein Castle was commissioned as the private refuge for Ludwig II of Bavaria, but opened to the public immediately after his death in 1886. Now recognizable as the inspiration for Disney's Sleeping Beauty Castle, Neuschwanstein is one ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 570 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Beautiful Bavarian landscapes and fairy tale like castles on this tour, especially the Neuschwanstein castle. If you are going to walk up to this castle I suggest that you get an early start/quick lunch as it takes additional time to get to the second view point at the bridge which is a must see!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was great! The tour guide was interesting and the bus driver was awesome also, smooth ride, great trip.It was definitely interesting to view the insides of the castles and know more about the history!! It was a little pity that the bridge was closed during winter, if not it will be awesome to take the picture of Neuschwanstein from a bird eye view .

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Loved this tour. Linden how was stunningly beautiful with amazing craftsmanship. Neuschwanstein was beautifully set in the perfect location. Definitely worth a visit.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great tour, out tour guide Keith was very personable and I left the trip very conent. The castle was an amazing and Keith made that experience possible. I would have felt very lost trying to plan the Neuschwanstein trip individually and going with a guide made the experience so much easier.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

It was very well informed and a good full day. Neuschwanstein is an amazing castle and the walk to the top is steep, but if you fell you can't manage it there are horse and carts. We walked and had lunch at the restaurant near the top which was really good and a good place to rest. The tour itself was very interesting and the guide on the coach was very helpful. Got some great photos and loved seeing 2 castles of the swan king.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour of Schloss Linderhof and Schloss Neuschwanstein! A truly memorable experience and worth recommending if you are spending some time in Munich or Bavaria. Our tour guide, Margit, was very friendly and highly knowledgeable. The bus was very comfortable and our driver did a great job getting us from one city to the next.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was great. We had lots of snow on the mountains. The tour guides were great, very organised and funny as well. Timing was good, we had plenty of time to look around everywhere. I even had time to hop 2 fences to go to Maria bridge even though it was very slippery and snowy. I would definitely recommend it. Out of my 5 week trip around Europe, Neuschwanstein was my favourite trip. It is definitely worth going on this. You could go yourself by public transport, which is slightly cheaper, but you don't get to see all the sights and don't get any of the explanations that our tourguide provided.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

We loved this tour. First, we went to Linderhof, where our guide, Elisabeth, arranged getting the tickets for the preguided tour into the castle. We had plenty of time to take pictures around the grounds. Then, we stopped at Oberammergau, a cute little town, for about a half hour. We were there on Sunday, so unfortunately, most of the shops were closed, but we had ice cream and walked around. The last event of the day was Neuschwanstein. Again, we had plenty of time, and our tickets were arranged by Elisabeth. Make sure you bring cash to give to your guide for the tickets. The bus ride is a great inexperience in itself because of the scenic views, and our guide provided us some history/background on the bus ride there.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Although the trip was undertook in heavy snow and poor visibility we still had a lovely day. Both castles and village are well worth visiting. It was just a shame the weather was so bad which impacted on the length of time we had a each stop. Neuschwanstein is lovely, seeing the castle as you walk up mountain path towards it is breathtaking (took around 20-25 minutes in the snow). Linderhof was also nice and interesting but was quite tricky to walk to in the snow. The village was stunning but our length of time there was extremely short. We would have liked more time here to look around the shops.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Lydia and George
United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Great tour and experience of a life time! Due the the castle being busy we had to go in the opposite direction and start with Neuschwanstein first. The tour bus was comfortable and drove really well even in the heavy snowfall. Beautiful castles and very well organized. We did feel a bit rushed, but i think it was due to the snow storm that slowed us down while traveling. Also, i wish the tour guide could have been more informational along the drive. But, other than that - it was perfect. Thanks!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

Beautiful views although it was cloudy. The scenery was very romantic! I liked the guide in Linderhof. She was very interesting. However I expected a guide in the Schloss Neuschwanstein instead of the audio guide. I felt we were like all acting like robots...

Overall a nice day!

Thank you!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

We truly enjoyed our trip. The bus was comfortable and our travel guide, Elisabeth, was very knowledgeable and pleasant. The visit to Linderhof was stunning, my favorite. However the stop over in Oberamargau I found to be a wast of time, given that the bus parks far from the famous window painted houses and I am not interested in buying kitsch in their stores. Once in Neuschwanstein we had time to eat lunch and walk up to the castle to be there in time for our tour. Because of the time crunch we could not go to the Marien Bruecke, where is the only place you can see the castle with that stunning background. That was disappointing. The stop in Oberamargau is to blame in my opinion.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Wonderful trip into Bavaria to visit the castles. Very well organised tour and an extremely knowledgable tour guide. I wonder whether it would be worth cutting out the stop in Oberammergau. It's a lovely little place but that time would probably be better spent at Neuschwanstein. Beautiful memories!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Was such a great day, had the loveliest tour guide who gave us advice on our dirndls during the trip as well as many fun facts about Munich, the festival and Neuschwanstein. Arrived at the bridge just as the sun came out and got some beautiful photos of the castle, was truly a magical experience, I can see why Disney liked it. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The pure splendor of these castles cannot be described in words. Mesmerising views especially atop the hills of Neuschwanstein. Although it was a pity that during my visit in winter, the outdoor statues at Linderhof was covered for protection.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message