• USD ($)
  • English

Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Neuschwanstein Castle

Neuschwanstein Castle was commissioned as the private refuge for Ludwig II of Bavaria, but opened to the public immediately after his death in 1886. Now recognizable as the inspiration for Disney's Sleeping Beauty Castle, Neuschwanstein is one ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 443 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The tour was on time, everything went according to the plan, Neuschwanstein was really beautiful. I recommend taking this trip during spring or autumn when there isn't any snow and you can visit Marienbrücke (it was closed when we were there due to the snow) and when the weather is a bit cold because of the hike to the castle. Worth the money.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Our cute little guide was phenomenal! She spoke slowly and clearly. She was super sweet and very thorough and gave very specific instruction throughout the whole tour. The bus ride to and from was very comfortable. I think we all wished there was more time for shopping. The description of the tour made it sound like there was A LOT more time to shop and have more time to explore on our own. But it felt like we were super rushed to get in and out of shops and the castle. The Castle Neuschanstein tour guide was horrible....but I hear that it's hit and miss with the castles guides. She didn't speak clearly enough and too fast for a castle that echo's a lot. The only reason I gave it 4 stars and not 5 was because it felt too rushed during the times that the tour says "You will stop in Hohenschwangau, a small town at the feet of the castle, where you'll have 4 hours at disposal for lunch and to explore the grounds of Neuschwanstein". But I guess you don't have to do the inside tour. Anyway, I want to go back and just stay in the town for a couple days. I was great up there!!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

It was just like stepping inside the world of fairy tales. And I'm not just talking about the castles but everything in between - the Alps, the green fields, early days of spring where you see white patches of snow coupled with trees starting to look green, the small towns and villages... It was a very wonderful and scenic tour that I would recommend to everyone.

The bus tours not only brings you to the 2 castles - Linderhof and Neuschwanstein, it also will bring you to Oberammergau which is a very lovely village. Although you have to pay for the tours inside the castles themselves, the reservations would already have been made so it's just a matter of paying up and queuing to get inside. Plus, they give you freedom to go around and do some shopping as well.

I would have wanted to get to know more details on the monarchy of Bavaria, and not just with Ludwig II, but over-all, this was a great tour that you would not want to miss.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Both sites were lovely. We traveled early April and the weather was beautiful and crowds light. The walk uphill to Neuschwanstein was a bit of a trial for me at 57, female, and in average shape, but I made it in about 30 minutes. The tour guide suggests 40-45 minutes, and if you aren't travelling with others who want to race up the hill, you'll be fine. The interiors of both castles are ornate but show their age. It doesn't look as though they are kept in the best of condition. There are humidifying systems in the rooms, but they could use a good dusting. King Ludwig died before Neuschwanstein was completed so only the top floor of the castle was completed, furnished and livable while he was alive. A film inside also shows how much of the original plan was left unfinished. The bus ride out and back is a couple hours, but through lovely scenery.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Me and my husband visited this tour in February! Beautiful places (Linderhof, "fairy-tale" village of Oberammergau and of course Castle of Neuschwanstein). Professional and knowledgeable tour guide Christine gives you a detail overview of the Bavaria region. Highly recommended!!!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a great tour of two castles that aren't easily accessible by public transportation. The drive through the alps and the hike up to Neuschwanstein and Marien Brücke (Mary's Bridge) were really highlights for me. They surrounding grounds were more impressive than the inside of the castle.

I had never heard of Linderhof, but it was a pleasant stopover that I probably would have never scheduled as part of my trip if I were doing the tour on my own. The grounds must be amazing in the Spring and Summer. I was there in the winter and the property was still impressive.

I enjoyed the stopover in Oberammergau. I loved the shopping there, and the traditional craft stores, but we only had 45 minutes to explore the town. I would have loved to have lunch there instead of at the base of Neuschwanstein.

I also wish the tour also included a stop at Hohenschwangau Castle. It was beautiful on the outside and what I read in my travel guide, it is interesting from a historic perspective.

Bridget, our guide, was enthusiastic and friendly. She kept the group on schedule, which I imagine, when it comes to tourists, is like herding cats. She did a great job.

Pickup and drop-off is conveniently located across from the main train station. I would recommend this tour to others.

Neuschwanstein was on my bucket list and I was very happy that this tour enabled me to get there.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Simply unforgettable.
Before visiting Neuschwanstein, I travelled in France to visit the castles of Valée du Loire, which have very beautiful gardens. However, Neuschwanstein is unique. Inside the castle there are lots of stunning paints and artworks, and a reproduction of the cave of Venus. This is worthy of being visited by those who admire Richard Wagner and their operas.
Worthy of note are also the town of Oberammergau and the small castle of Linderhof. At that time it was covered by snow, which added more beauty to it.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Wendy
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We both agreed that this was probably one of the best tours we have been on (and we have been on quite a few). Ana was excellent - she showered us with interesting information throughout the experience and answered all our questions. The tour had interesting stops and was excellent value for money (particularly with the discount!)
We were in the minority and chose not to enter any of the castles. Although I have not been inside and cannot comment on the tours and interiors, I feel this was the right decision for us. Both of the tours are quite short (20mins in Linderhof and 35 in Neuschwanstein) and we were more interested in the scenery. At Linderhof not going in allowed us time to see a bit of the surrounding countryside, and at Neuschwanstein it meant we weren't rushed in getting to the bridge for photos and also had time to visit one of the lakes on our way down (which, I might add, was lovely).
We walked up to Neuschwanstein and it took 25mins at a leisurely pace for two not overly fit individuals. I didn't time the walk to the bridge but it was (or felt after the initial walk!) a good bit steeper than the walk to the castle and I imagine took around 15mins - 20 if you stop to take in the view and grab some photos halfway up.
We really enjoyed this tour. It was well planned and facilitated. The bus was comfrotable and in good condition, and had an on board toilet and wifi (though we didn't use either). Ana was informative and engaging and we thoroughly enjoyed our day!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our visit to Neuschwanstein Castle was excellent. The small group tour was perfect for us. No big bus of dramas. We caught train to Fussen with tour guide giving us historical info along the way much to the delight of the other passengers.
Castle itself was fascinating. The view from the bridge was breathtaking. After viewing the castle, we were walking back down the hill with hot chocolate in hand, when it began to snow lightly. As we live in a tropical climate, we found it amazing.
Unfortunately, the group missed the usual train back to Munich, but we adjourned to nearby pub, to sample local beer and wait for next train.
Whole tour was fantastic. Delightful day.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Tour guide- was ok, limited information given from her and we felt as she hasn't try to connected to us.
The coach driver - He was a every good driver.
At Linderhof castle - no photo allowed, small little castle, the tour guide was quite fierce to our group and we weren't quite enjoy for this tour.
At Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein - Very enjoyed with this tour. The lady who work at the castle and was guide us around she was a very friendly and full of knowledge. The castle interior was amazing dated back to 1860 but the castle exterior was building by the modern bricks and no differ from the Disneyland...fake castle may be.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The only way to take a tour of Neuschwanstein Castle is by train. Absolutely gorgeous scenery during the two hour train ride. Then a short ride by bus to the Castle. On the downside we were only allowed about 25 minutes for lunch and the Castle tour only lasted about 25/30 minutes. Wear good walking shoes and be prepared for some hiking.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

It was very easy to find the bus and easy to keep up with the pace of the tour. The guide was knowledgeable and fun and had great advice about where to shop/eat without pushing anything on us. I was especially impressed that the bus itself was stocked with soda, water, and beer that could be purchased anytime! It made the long drives between the two castles and the ride back to the city all the better! The castles themselves are well worth the time and effort it takes to see them. Winter was not the best time to go because the gardens were not part of the tour, but there was plenty to see indoors!! I loved seeing Neuschwanstein Castle in person having seen it in exterior photos for years!!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

I had a great time on this tour! I did not go to the first castle, Linderhof, but I don't think I missed much because it was quite a small castle. When you tour Neuschwanstein, you don't get to see too many rooms -- just the completed ones -- but the limited tour is definitely worth it! The tour guide was very knowledgible, and I enjoyed learning all the history about Ludwig II, the Fairy Tale King. It was also a beautiful drive through Bavaria, and I only wish there was more snow around. Oberammergau was a great village to visit, and I bought some wood carvings for friends, which they loved! I got this tour at a discounted price, and I'm not sure I would have enjoyed it as much if I had to pay the full price especially since you have to pay additional fees to tour the castles.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Pictures inside of either of these castles are not allowed (even without flash), so remember to take plenty of pics from the outside! Our tour started with the Linderhof castle first, and lucky for us, it was lightly snowing. This is one of the smaller castles, although it took about 9 years to finish it. Our tour guide was great and gave us many insights into King Ludwig II and his life/personality. We didn't get to see any of the rooms on the ground floor, but we saw everything on the 2nd floor...very cool! The tour briefly stopped at a small nearby town, Oberammergau, where they are known for their wood carvings. Only 1-2 shops were open since it was a Sunday. From their, we proceeded to Neuschwanstein castle. Again, we didn't have the best weather since it was lightly snowly and quite foggy, so we couldn't see the beautiful picturesque views of the castle from the bridge (we chose not to walk the extra 20 min x 2 to get to the bridge due to the weather). We decided to walk up the hill very fast (which left me breathless) so that we could have lunch at the restaurant before getting to the castle. The service was a little slow, and we actually ended up spending too much time at the restaurant. We then rushed up the hill for another 5 mins to start our official tour of the castle (they are very strict about entry times). I wish we had more time outside of the castle to take pics. The tour was only 30 mins, and I was a little disappointed because it felt like we didn't get to see a lot of the rooms (we saw more at Linderhof, and it was much smaller). Once the tour was over, we only had a few mins to spare in the gift shop since we had to walk back down the hill to our bus which left very promptly. The ride back to Munich was relaxing.

I would recommend this tour, and I think I would like to go back on a sunny day to take beautiful pics!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Pro's:
-Christine, our guide, did a great job. She was organized, knowledgeable, and very pleasant.
-Neuschwanstein Castle is truly a sight to behold and well worth the trip.
-While at Neuschwanstein, if you are fit and able to move quickly, make sure you get to the bridge before your tour of the castle. They view is amazing! Be warned, it is quite a workout and you have to hurry up the hill - don't stop for photos until you get there - as you can get the others on the way down.

Con's:
-Linderhof is just OK. I'd prefer if they shortened that leg of the trip and gave you more time at Neuschwanstein.
--The timeline is very tight when you arrive at Neuschwanstein. The tour guide will steer you to eat at a specific restaurant (the name was Hotel ___ - I can't remember it off the top of my head, they park the bus right next to it) , but the service there was horrible and it took too long - we almost missed our chance to get to the bridge before our castle tour

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message