Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Neuschwanstein Castle

Neuschwanstein Castle was commissioned as the private refuge for Ludwig II of Bavaria, but opened to the public immediately after his death in 1886. Now recognizable as the inspiration for Disney's Sleeping Beauty Castle, Neuschwanstein is one ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 473 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

What a great day with a really excellent guide. Linderhof was fascinating...taken through with a friendly and knowledgeable local guide. Neuschwanstein Castle truly magnificent...no wonder Walt Disney used it as the idea for his Sleeping Beauty Castle in Disneyland. Like our previous Viator experiences, very good value for money. We will continue to use Viator for these type of outings on any future trips...ease of booking online, reliability, content, quality etc.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide was exceptional, and was so well versed in the history and the geography of everything we saw. The scenery to and from Munich is spectacular. We would be remiss if we did not mention that the walk up to Neuschwanstein from the village should not be taken if one has health problems. The bus and carriage to the castle would be better options.
We have used Viatour on 4 previous tours in Germany and Poland, and we heartily recommend Viatour as we have not been disappointed.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It rained most of the day but didn't spoilt the trip whatsoever! Our tour guide franschesca was very knowledgable and enthusiastic. It was a little bit rushed at linderhof and oberammagou, but I'm glad we got to see a little bit of both and had plenty of time at neuschwanstein. Thanks for the great day!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It's worth the time of travel to see these castles from where ever you are in the region. Wonderful sites, and I enjoyed the medieval feel of the Neuschwanstein castle even over the other very rich and opulent palaces throughout Europe. It was a nice coach ride, and the tour guide helped explain things about the area as we went.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

great tour of germany's country side including the magnificent Neuschwanstein. I would definitely recommend this tour for anyone visiting Munich.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This tour is a great way to see two of Bavaria's most impressive palaces. Both Linderhof and Neuschwanstein are well worth the trip, and you should definitely not miss out on either of the interior tours. Oberammergau is a very picturesque village with some good souvenir shopping. The guides did a great job of keeping everyone reasonably on time, and provided lots of interesting information along the way. The driving through the countryside is absolutely beautiful, especially on a clear day. While the time at Neuschwanstein seems like a lot, you won't have too much time to wander. I would recommend bringing a lunch and immediately heading uphill to the bridge to get some good pictures, then eating your lunch before heading back to the palace for the tour. Overall, a very enjoyable tour that is worth the price!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Outstanding, absolutely outstanding. I switched to the 1st class tour. If you do this do it 1st class. Tickets covered, free wifi, water and snack, a live tour guide, and not too crowded. The bus stopped just below Neuschwanstein to take pictures. I used the wifi to Skype live back home what I was seeing. I would take this tour again in a second.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was fabulous. We took the train from Munich and enjoyed all the beautiful country side attractions leading up to the castles. The guide was absolutely brilliant when depicting the history of Neuschwanstein. I would recommend this tour to anyone looking to fill a day with excitement.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

.The tour guide (Brigitte) was very friendly and spoke excellent English.... She lived in colorado for a number of years. The double decker bus was clean and very comfortable and had a bathroom onboard. You are allowed to eat on the bus as long as it's nothing messy, no ice cream, and drinks are allowed and even are sold on the bus for €1.5 . I advise that you bring snacks since it's a long day.
The tour departed on schedule and we were promptly made aware of the days itinerary and the expected departure times from each location . Linderhof is small but very ornate on the interior and height decadent as it is modeled on the palace of Versailles ( no photography allowed inside). At this stop there are a couple reasonable gift shops and clean restrooms. It is a short walk from the bus parking area to the, it is a beautiful stroll but know that it is a gentle uphill climb. Oberammergau was a nice stop for about 50 mins - the shops there are generally reasonable and the town is absolutely adorable. Very quaint and picturesque Bavarian village. The shops boast many carved wooden objects of beauty. We could've spent more time there but were aware that the main attraction was the next stop,
Neuschwanstein. There The tour had made a reservation at hotel restaurant for lunch called Hotel Muller in Hohenschwangau, located right by the trails that lead up to the castles. We ordered from the express menu and our food arrived hot and tasty in less than 60 seconds!
This allowed us plenty of time to line up to catch the bus up the hill to Neuschwanstein . When you get off the bus you go on a short but steep walk up to Mary's bridge (Marienbrucke) ...Which affords an absolutely not to be missed view of the castle but is a very high pedestrian bridge that is scary for anyone who does not like heights! from there it is a short downhill walk to the castle. Be on time for your tour! FYI, There are 200 steps inside but not to be missed for all who are able.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a terrific tour. We loved our tour guide Elizabeth - she was extremely friendly and helpful. We went to Linderhof first and we were more impressed with the interior than we expected to be. Then we stopped in a small town that was fairy-tale like for about an hour and made our way to Neuschwanstein. The views from the bridge here are incredible and WELL worth the walk over to it. We didn't have clear weather and still think this to be a can't miss! We had a great experience!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was fantastic! The Linderhof castle and surrounding grounds were beautiful. The Neuschwanstein Castle had unbelievable scenery. I recommend taking the horse drawn carriage up the hill. It is a steep walk to the castle, the tour does not provide transportation from the parking area to the top of the castle entrance.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We only had a weekend in Munich and were so glad that we chose to do this tour. The beautiful countryside along with a knowledgeable tour guide was very helpful. King Ludwig's personal residence was incredibly ornate with lovely gardens that I wish we had a little more time for, but the next stop is a super cute little town with lots of great souvenir shops. I can remember the town name, but I highly suggest you load up on as many souvenirs there as you can. Munich had many of the same items, but they were far more expensive (several Euros difference). As that was my only regret about this tour. The Neuschwanstein castle is truly magical, but there is definitely some hills to tackle and I watched a lot of out of shape people really struggle. If you're out of shape or fairly old the castle might not be the best option for you as you can't reach the top without some effort. I really think it's worth it, and being able to see so many things that reminded you of Disneyland was kind of cool to see where the inspiration came from. With regards to the tour company and our guide I absolutely recommend them, as I had accidently left my camera in one of the shops and they went out of their way to get it back for me. This is a must do in my book.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a wonderful tour. A must-see for sure! Granted, there is quite a bit of walking for neuschwanstein, but totally worth it. The view is breathtaking. And I wasn't sure about Linderhof, but after visiting it, I recommend it to everyone! The interior of the castle, although small, is beautiful...it is very similar to palace of versailles. The location for both palaces are perfect though...amazing scenery- with the mountains and the farms and small villages-- straight out of a fairytale!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour made visiting Neuschwanstein easy and carefree. The train, bus and tour ran like clockwork. Our guide was kind and very accommodating.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Tour was very well managed - only disappointment was that the "small group" was well over 30 strong.....
Despite this I would recommend doing Neuschwanstein on this tour - no hassle about what train ticket to buy or which train to get on, there was a bus reserved for us at Fusse and no queuing for tickets to the Castle. Our guide, Roland, was excellent, showing us a good place for a quick lunch, then making sure we saw the best views and giving us time to take our photos, as well as filling us in on the story of Ludwig II. Also on this tour you have the opportunity to walk to and from the castle through woods and a gorge (but you need to be wearing good walking shoes and be prepared for a steep uphill climb!!), but do it if you can!! Tour of the Castle is a bit squashed but this is not controlled by Viator - worth doing if you like your castles!! Overall a very good day out. Thanks Roland!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message