Fátima, located 88 miles (142 kilometers) north of Lisbon is one of the most important shrines to the Virgin Mary in the world. Here, in 1917, she appeared several times to three shepherd children. The last time, on October 13th 1917, there ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 545 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We enjoyed the tour very much.Had a helpful and interesting guide, although I suggest you warn travelers of the over 200 stairs to climb in Neuschwanstein. The area is beautiful, and were happy we chose the tour instead of spending the day in Munich.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A dream come true... the woman on the bus was so knowledgeable about the castles and the countryside of Germany. Do wish we had more time at Linderhof but that was the only thing that could have been better.
Neuschwanstein was awesome... I was like a little child visiting Disneyworld for the first time, definitely woudl go back.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Comfortable bus tour of Linnderhof und Neuschwanstein Castles. Our guide was informative and well organized. In my opinion, we spent as much time as needed at each stop. Once at the castles the personnel there take over the tour duties. I've done Viator tours before and have nothing but positive comments to make.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The trip was a complete pleasure, from beginning to end. Our guide joyfully spoke of German history and culture. The bus was new, clean, spacious and comfortable. Linderfof Palace, Obberammergau, and Neuschwanstein Castle were our stops. I highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

What a fantastic trip! Both castles are absolutely beautiful. Linderhof is small and exquisite. Neuschwanstein the ultimate fairytale castle. We loved the short stop at Oberamagau - just wished we had a little longer. Again the houses are fairytale like and like nothing else we have experienced anywhere else. The scenery along the way is stunningly beautiful. Thoroughly recommended as a day trip outside Munich.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was just as it was explained in the booking process. To be clear, Viator books the tour, but the tour is run by a tour company so you are on with others not having booked with Viator. Likewise, the guide is from the tour company. This was not obvious to me from booking and /or reviews. So then, our guide Franciska (sp?) was wonderful. Very good information on the bus both there and back, with time, especially on the return, for resting. She was nmot our guide for either of the castles.
Linderhof was very special and our castle guide was great. Jaw dropping rooms and further interesting info about King Ludwig II. Oberammergau was a delightful stop. A little short, but so much to fit into one day. Neuschwanstein was amazing, but to me more for the exteriors than the interiors--after seeing Linderhof.
Be forewarned, there is considerable walking for Neuschwanstein, no matter how you approach it. My sister, 80, opted not to do that part, but the small visiting area below the castle provided entertainment whileI visited the castle--a very nice museum. So it worked out for us.
All staff were very accommodating and attentive to our concerns.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was fantastic! The tour office in Munich was easy to find. The train ride through the alps was comfortable and beautiful. The castle was very impressive, as was the scenery. Our guide was excellent, very happy to answer any questions and is clearly passionate about this part of the world. He made sure we were all comfortable and had everything that we needed. We learnt a lot on this trip and look forward to returning to Neuschwanstein Castle in the future. A wonderful day all round. Thank you!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Amazing. We had a very unseasonable warm day in October, plus a Sunday - when both places were super packed with people. At Neuschwanstein we had to walk up since the line for the bus and the horse ride was very long. Walking at a fast pace (up hill) took us 45 minutes to get to the bridge - which is a must for picture taking. Interesting enough, the tour inside to castle was okay, although it only cover 1 floors since the other floors were never completed. A must see.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour overall, the only drawback was that 90% of the shops in Oberammergau were closed because it was Sunday. Because of this it would have been better to skip that city and dedicated more time to Neuschwanstein.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was our 22 yr dream to go the Neuschwanstein. It did not disappoint, best tour ever. I had the poster of this castle on my wall, it was on my bucket list and when I met my husband 22 yrs ago he had the same castle on his wall. So we promised each other that we would go one day. Thank you Viator Excellent

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Tour pickup was very close to hotel. Comfortable coach. Excellent driver. Saw the first snow fall in Bavaria for 2014. Tour guide was knowledgeable and friendly. Not a sunny day but seeing the Neuschwanstein Castle from the Marienbrucke as the fog lifted was very impressive. Linderhof was also nice, but outside monuments were covered for the winter. Timing of breaks for restrooms, snacks, and souvenir shopping was just enough.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

This tour is a great way to see Mad King Ludwig’s Fairy Tale Castles without the hassle of renting a car. We recommend sitting in the top of the bus for lovely views of Bavaria while in route to the castles. As other reviewers have noted, the tours are a bit rushed. There isn’t enough time at Linderhof to see the Grotto and we had to grab lunch on the go in order to make it to the top of the hill for our guided tour of Neuschwanstein. Our tour stopped in the little village Oberammergau for 45 min which wasn’t long enough to enjoy the town or even get an adequate lunch. We would rather have had that 45 minutes to either tour the LInderhof Grotto or get lunch in Hohenschwangau. This tour involves a lot walking and requires a fast pace so it probably isn’t the best option for people with mobility issues. Our tour guide was Christine and she did a nice job of telling us about the history of the areas we were touring. Overall, we are glad we went on the tour because it allowed us to see areas of the Bavarian Alps and the amazing castles.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Imprescindible si visitas Munich, primero llegamos a Linderhof, luego hacemos una parada en una ciudad intermedia muy "cute", y proseguimos a Neuschwanstein. Teniamos dudas con respecto a entrar o no entrar a los castillos (el costo es aparte, no esta incluido en el tour, 22 euros por persona entre ambos) finalmente decidimos hacerlo y sin duda valió la pena. EXCELENTE TOUR, nuestra guia Elizabeth fabulosa, nos explicó cada detalle y nos atendió de maravilla. Realmente te sientes en un "cuento de hadas".

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Absolutely fabulous! You cannot imagine the beauty of the two castles until you are actually standing inside them. It was a long way to the top to enter Castle Neuschwanstein but taking the horse and cart made it easier. Going down by foot is a must. I was sorry I didn't go to Mary's Bridge where the postcard shots are taken because you are able to see the castle clearly. Some people on our tour did not go inside both castles. They missed out. Do both castles. We did not spend enough time in Oberammerga where the Passion Play is staged every 10 years. Lunch at the hotel in Hohenschwangau was lovely. A very big day but well worth it!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The trip to Neuschwanstein Castle was by far the best day we spent in Germany. Our guide, Austin, was extremely knowledgeable and kept us on schedule throughout the trip. The views were spectacular..would recommend this trip to anyone going to Munich..A don't miss excursion.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message