Towering a dizzying 291 meters over the surrounding Olympic Park, Munich’s Olympic Tower is one of the city’s tallest buildings and boasts its highest observation deck at 190 meters. Take the high-speed elevator to the top floor, from where the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 43 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

What can I say---you must do this place---went went on this tour on our first night---right before Oktoberfest...a pre-warm up night! People dancing on tables with strangers...conga lines ...all with huge glasses of beer [that were more like pitchers...the band was terrific and the singing of "ein prosit" became the mantra of our Oktoberfest week! The band was authentic German....and this place is always packed with people...lots of fun! We went up in the Olympic Tower at night---and we could see the lights of the Wei sen festival tents and rides....so big and amazing! A great way to start Oktoberfest and meet a lot of interesting people :-)

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Coming into this tour, I wasn’t sure what to expect – we’d seen both positive and negative reviews, but assumed those reviews were based on expectations (for instance, negative reviews for the Olympic Tower portion b/c it was too foggy – not something Viator or the tour guide could control… Or the ‘night club’ portion where there wasn’t enough seating, it was too loud, etc.). So we tried to go into this tour with an open mind and were pleasantly surprised with the outcome. Reiner, our tour guide, was very knowledgeable and passionate about the history and culture of the city. He was more than happy to answer all of our questions and more than tolerable with our group when we took part in the bier consumption at the Hofbrauhaus dinner. The Hofbrauhaus was an absolute blast – we had a table along the perimeter of the room, so we had a perfect vantage point for taking it all in.

One caveat to our tour, they altered the order of the tour b/c it was Oktoberfest – we went to the night club after Hofbrauhaus, but before the Olympic Tower, so although we had a private room and it was a very pleasant atmosphere in the night club, the club/dancing portion hadn’t technically opened yet – we got there around 9 and it didn’t open until 10 for afterhours/live music – there were people eating dinner, but not the typical night club atmosphere you think of – at least from an ‘American’ perspective.

After the night club, we were bused to the Olympic Tower for an afterhours tour – we had a clear night, so it was very neat to see the city at night from that perspective. The Oktoberfest grounds were the highlight, with the Ferris wheel and roller coasters, all lit up off in the distance – very cool experience overall.

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Definitely worth doing. The Hofbrauhaus was fun as was the trip to Olympic Park and the ride to the top of the tower for a beautiful view of Munich at night. A nightcap at a famous hotel was a plus. Good time, good food

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

As with all hop-on-hop-off tours, it is a great way to get around the city. We were only able to take advantage of this in the afternoon, so we used it to head directly to the BMW Museum and Olympic Park. The ride back from Olympic Park was great....sit on the top deck to get a taste of the neighborhoods.

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We had 1 day in Munich, so this was a wonderful way to get to see the highlights of the city. We toured the Nymphenburg Castle, BMW Museum, and Olympic Park which are all stops on the Grand Tour route. We finished the Hop-on Hop-off tour back at the main train station, and we walked into the pedestrian area of the city for dinner, walking after dinner, then making our way into one of the popular beer halls. Great experience and would recommend to everyone!

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

What an amazing start to our trip to Munich! Our tour guide, Annette was simply outstanding. We got off to a late start which was more due to other passengers than our guide or driver. When we finally left Annette started the tour off with some jokes and a very informative tour of the city on the way to the Hofbrauhaus.
Based on other reviews my friend and I knew it would be difficult to get extra beer there so when we sat we set about trying to get our server's attention and he was extremely helpful. The Hofbauhaus was really something to see, despite its dark history, it was warm and fun and the singing and dancing were really fun to watch.
The Olympic tower offered really beautiful views of the city, and there was a great little gift shop on the main floor.
The last stop had live music and a nice ambience. The drinks were ridiculously over priced! Stick with the one that is included in the tour.
As other reviewers said, we got back late. This did put my friend and I in a tricky situation as we missed the last bus to our hotel and couldn't get a cab (we were staying just outside of Munich) and we were very lucky to have security offer us a ride.

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

Ian M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

An excellent way to see Munich, with a short and a long trip available. The longer route takes you to the Nymphenberg Palace, a gorgeous extravagance, where the Wittelsbachs would retire from the pressures of marriage arrangements, and becoming Holy Roman Emperor. It then takes you to the Olympic Park, where there is a tower, and the HQ of BMW. The short trip is a really good introduction to what to see in the old town.

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Excellent well worth doing we really enjoyed the stops at BMW and Olympic Park.

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

What a fabulous evening. The Hofbrauhaus served great food and was very entertaining. The trip to the Olympic tour was also very interesting. I really enjoyed the drink at the bar at the end of the evening in a beautiful bar. My only complaint is that we didn't return to 1:15 am instead of midnight. I wish we could have been on time because we had an early wakeup call the next morning and it was difficult. Our guide was excellent! Not only was he informative, but he was very social with the group.

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This is a great way to get around the town and see what places you want to explore more. We got off at the Royal Gardens, Olympic park and Marienplatz. The Royal Gardens were absolutely beautiful and worth exploring.

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

We did the Grand Tour so we had both routes. The guides were very helpful and friendly! The outer tour was better for transportation between sites (BMW museum, Olympic Park, etc.) but the inner tour of the city center was so informative! It was also a great alternative to renting a car since you can hop off at any of the locations around town.

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Sandra R
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

This was a great tour, had front row table at the show, though needs to start earlier due to rushing dinner to get to the olympic tower before it closed...the bar was excellent we stayed until 2.30am it had an excellent American Soul Band...would recommend this tour!

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

The extended tour is great value for money and includes the Olympic precinct and some other parts of the the outskirts of the city.

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

This tour was awesome and would do it again. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. The Hofbrauhaus and the top of the Olympic Tower to see Munich at night was amazing. This tour is a must do. I only gave it 4 stars because they could have skipped the night club.

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Tour lasted until almost midnight. We had to leave before going up the Olympic Tower and the night club because we had a very early flight the next morning. The Hofbrauhaus food was very good, and of course, the beer. Wish we could have stayed to go up the tower at night.

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message