Germany's 'Romantic Road' offers the most spectacular views of the Bavarian landscape and its magnificent castles. A trade route in the middle ages, the road winds through picturesque countryside, walled towns, and charming villages. It is home ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 70 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Salzburg and Lake District day trip brought us through stunning views of the alps and the lakes! Our guide was very informative and made the experience a very pleasant one for us.
Our guide on the Romantic Road and Rothenberg day trip was quite elderly and he kept repeating the same information during the journey. However, we had a good time interacting with him when he took some of us to the city walls during the free and easy time. We enjoyed his guided walk to the city walls.

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: Salzburg and Lake District Day Trip plus Romantic Road and Rothenburg Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Rothenburg was the most interesting little town I could ever imagine...the quaint shops, the great architecture, the whole atmosphere took us back in time...a whole different world...lots of great food and so many interesting craft shops ---that shoppers could probably spend a few days here! Harburg was fascinating ...but was not so romantic...unless you were part of the family in the castle, I suppose...the buildings were well preserved...even the areas where punishments were given...a great day trip.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I am giving this four stars for only one reason. The bus ride to Rothenburg from Munich was uncomfortable. It was very very warm inside the bus and seemed like very little air was circulating throughout the bus. The bus driver was not very friendly. However, the ride was beautiful and was a great way to see lots of the countryside and the romantic road. Once we arrived in Rothenburg we were totally excited. The Hotel was wonderful and the staff very friendly. The town itself is a must see. Totally incredible. The night watchman tour was superb, don't miss it. The day spent wandering the town was great. Good food, good beer, good shopping, good sightseeing, and very friendly people. On the bus ride to Frankfurt the driver was much more friendly and there was a guide as well. The bus itself was still warm. Maybe that is the standard for busses. I suggest you dress in layers so you can take off clothes to be comfortable. I would absolutely do this tour again

Doing what: Overnight Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Definitely sleep over at Neuschwanstein area and Rothenburg. Only way imo to really enjoy the area or else it would just be too stressful. The bus ride through romantic road was scenic but not much to really explore or do. Was a bit rushed as well.

Doing what: 3-day Munich to Frankfurt Tour - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Most of the tour was great and highly recommend it to anyone wanting see the Romantic Road. Rothenburg and Neuschanstein castle portions were the highlights. Augsburg's self guided tour was only a one star - one of the hand held devices didn't work and we need up having to share. The directions given on the hand held devices was not always clear and it became frustrating as we weren't quite sure where we were supposed to be. Augsburg should be toured just not a self guided tour.

Doing what: 4-Day Tour from Frankfurt to Munich: Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Augsburg, Neuschwanstein Castle

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Most of the tour was great and highly recommend it to anyone wanting see the Romantic Road. Rothenburg and Neuschanstein castle portions were the highlights. Augsburg's self guided tour was only a one star - one of the hand held devices didn't work and we need up having to share. The directions given on the hand held devices was not always clear and it became frustrating as we weren't quite sure where we were supposed to be. Augsburg should be toured just not a self guided tour.

Doing what: 4-Day Tour from Frankfurt to Munich: Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Augsburg, Neuschwanstein Castle

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

The Hotels and Towns cities and scenary was excellent.

Your bus and pick up service was very poor, the lady in the tour office was shouting
and had no manners so it took a log time to find the bus.

In Fossen we were nearly left behind, the instructions were wrong and the
bus was nearly fully booked.
You should do some thing about this as it could have ruined the rest of the tour
that was excellent.

I would do the romantic road again but n0t booked through Viator

Your pick up service was indeed very poor indeed for what ever extrwe paid you for
this was not worth it .

Doing what: Three Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Wonderful tour along the romantic roads, loved our stay in Rothenburg, lovely hotel stay @ hotel goldene rose, did the night watchmen tour was definatly worth it, tour guide was very informative and funny. The highlight was Neuchwanstein castle which was amazing and beautiful the hotel Muller was a gorgeous hotel only wish we could have arrived earlier as we had to check out quite early in morning so didn't have much time in our lovely room, but no complaints, except Deutche touring did stuff up our dates but promptly rectified.

Doing what: Three Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

We loved the tour. Rothenburg was romantic, charming and beautiful. Our tour guide suggested a lunch restaurant which was disappointing. Maybe she got a free or discounted lunch there but the food was expensive and not tasty, although the ambiance was great. The tour guide did very little to ensure that we toured Rothenburg. She just quoted very limited directions of the town layout and then we were on our own for hours. It was not a tour led by a guide but rather driving to a locations, with suggestions on arrival and on your own to figure it out.
Harburg Castle was a surprise as we did not know we would have as extensive and elaborate tour. Yes, the castle was interesting and the castle guide great. Our tour leader was basically directing us how to leave the bus and where to meet up with the tour guide at the castle.
We loved the whole day and the other bus passengers who were fun to talk to.
Our tour guide seemed to lose interest in us. But Rothenburg is a traffic place to visit.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

I think it's a great way to see the romantic road! You stop at major cities (however, it would be nice if the stops were longer...20 minutes is a bit short!).

Hotels we stayed at were in good locations and quant.

Our guide Mi was friendly and informative.

Doing what: Three Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The bus was modern, clean and comfortable and drinks available on board at good price. The tour stopped at great places and we were able to get off the bus and spend adequate time along the way. Day 1 to Hohenschwangau and Neuswanstein castle was fantastic. Mueller Hotel great location,very comfortable, great restaurant and the town itself is a delight once the day tourist buses leave! Multitudes of tourists mean that you have to rigidly adhere to your time to visit the caste. Day 2 took us ultimately to Rothenburg which was even better than the pictures - definitely worth the stopover. Only complaint was the hotel which was not as good as the "named" hotel in the brochures and definitely further from the centre. Day 3 is a long trip after a late afternoon start from Rothenburg. Day 2 actually takes you back to Munich and then a few hours on the autobahn before heading back into the picturesque romantic road itself. Tour guides a bit hit and miss. Best was a local middle aged man who knew the area intimately and provided real insights. Other tour guides just read the basic information to the onboard travellers and didn't seek to connect. Research your stopovers and you will have a great time.

Doing what: 3-day Munich to Frankfurt Tour - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Not bad! Rothenburg is quite beautiful and loved the free time. We drove through quite a bit of the romantic road. The tour guide was lovely but there was a restaurant recommendation that was not so fantastic. The snow balls are popular but certainly not the tastiest :)

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour for us was magic. The hotel in Rothenburg was very comfortable, and the "old town" simply amazing. So much wonderful history, not only here, but along the whole route. Weikersheim was very special. As we proceeded down the Romantic Road we saw the increasing richness of the countryside. Wonderful rich, rich farmlands surrounding beautiful centuries old towns. It was a great way to go, from north to south. To finish in Hohenschwangau, and stay the night at the magnificent Hotel Muller was a terrific surprise, with a view of the "Fairy Tale Castle" from our hotel room window. Many thanks to all those involved, who made this tour so wonderful. The tour leaders, the drivers and the hotel employees who looked after us so well. It went like clockwork.

Doing what: Three Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

A wonderful overview of the beauty of Bavaria. The historic towns and tours were fascinating. We had to make a change in itinerary to end in Munich instead of Frankfurt - it was easy to do by phone, so the support was great. The bus drivers on the Romantic Road buses were generally helpful but it varied by day.

The combination of reserved transportation and hotels, plus lots of free time to wander the cities, was just right for us. We really enjoyed those days more than the first tour day of two castles and a tourist town! It was too rushed with little time for exploration, questions, etc. The slower pace of the next three days was much more pleasant.

The start was confusing. We didn't realize we were to take the bus tour from Munich to Neuschwanstein and the drivers/tour guides weren't sure what to do with us either. Once we got going we realized how it worked. But more information at the beginning would have been very helpful.

Our overall impression was very positive, again, once we figured out how it worked. Thanks for a wonderful introduction to the history of the region. We want to come back again soon.

Doing what: 4-Day Tour from Munich to Frankfurt: Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Augsburg, Neuschwanstein Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Salzburg was crowded and the guide was so so....Wolfgangsee was beautiful.... the romantic road day was incredible and we really enjoyed it. The guide was very good and knowledgeable. Would highly recommend this trip to others.....

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: Salzburg and Lake District Day Trip plus Romantic Road and Rothenburg Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message