Germany's 'Romantic Road' offers the most spectacular views of the Bavarian landscape and its magnificent castles. A trade route in the middle ages, the road winds through picturesque countryside, walled towns, and charming villages. It is home ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 59 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

We loved the tour. Rothenburg was romantic, charming and beautiful. Our tour guide suggested a lunch restaurant which was disappointing. Maybe she got a free or discounted lunch there but the food was expensive and not tasty, although the ambiance was great. The tour guide did very little to ensure that we toured Rothenburg. She just quoted very limited directions of the town layout and then we were on our own for hours. It was not a tour led by a guide but rather driving to a locations, with suggestions on arrival and on your own to figure it out.
Harburg Castle was a surprise as we did not know we would have as extensive and elaborate tour. Yes, the castle was interesting and the castle guide great. Our tour leader was basically directing us how to leave the bus and where to meet up with the tour guide at the castle.
We loved the whole day and the other bus passengers who were fun to talk to.
Our tour guide seemed to lose interest in us. But Rothenburg is a traffic place to visit.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour for us was magic. The hotel in Rothenburg was very comfortable, and the "old town" simply amazing. So much wonderful history, not only here, but along the whole route. Weikersheim was very special. As we proceeded down the Romantic Road we saw the increasing richness of the countryside. Wonderful rich, rich farmlands surrounding beautiful centuries old towns. It was a great way to go, from north to south. To finish in Hohenschwangau, and stay the night at the magnificent Hotel Muller was a terrific surprise, with a view of the "Fairy Tale Castle" from our hotel room window. Many thanks to all those involved, who made this tour so wonderful. The tour leaders, the drivers and the hotel employees who looked after us so well. It went like clockwork.

Doing what: Three Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

A wonderful overview of the beauty of Bavaria. The historic towns and tours were fascinating. We had to make a change in itinerary to end in Munich instead of Frankfurt - it was easy to do by phone, so the support was great. The bus drivers on the Romantic Road buses were generally helpful but it varied by day.

The combination of reserved transportation and hotels, plus lots of free time to wander the cities, was just right for us. We really enjoyed those days more than the first tour day of two castles and a tourist town! It was too rushed with little time for exploration, questions, etc. The slower pace of the next three days was much more pleasant.

The start was confusing. We didn't realize we were to take the bus tour from Munich to Neuschwanstein and the drivers/tour guides weren't sure what to do with us either. Once we got going we realized how it worked. But more information at the beginning would have been very helpful.

Our overall impression was very positive, again, once we figured out how it worked. Thanks for a wonderful introduction to the history of the region. We want to come back again soon.

Doing what: 4-Day Tour from Munich to Frankfurt: Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Augsburg, Neuschwanstein Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Salzburg was crowded and the guide was so so....Wolfgangsee was beautiful.... the romantic road day was incredible and we really enjoyed it. The guide was very good and knowledgeable. Would highly recommend this trip to others.....

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: Salzburg and Lake District Day Trip plus Romantic Road and Rothenburg Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The Harburg castle tour was awesome!

Rothenburg was ok, there were lots of neat Christmas shops, places to eat, and plenty of time to walk around, however the description of "The oldest preserved medieval town in Europe" seemed a stretch. There were too many tourists to really feel like you were transported back in time.

Romantic Road is only a highway that the bus drives on to get to Rothenburg. It was a pretty drive but nothing special.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2014

I was extremely disappointed with the organisation of this trip. I knew I could organise this trip for a lot less than the cost that I was charged and it would have been easier and less problems. However I thought having this part of my trip organised for me would have been worth the extra cost. However, I the wrong vouchers were faxed to my hotel, then I went to the pick up point for my vouchers, there was nothing there for me. I could not get in touch with the company to enquire and then was put through to America's help desk where I was told that everything would be fine with my voucher that I had which after some every expensive phonecalls, did not get any answers. The only way I got my vouchers was through the help of a lovely lady who worked at one of the hotels I stayed at. The lady at the hotel also said that the next couple that were coming were having the same problem. I would not book this trip again. It is much easier and cheaper to complete this tour on your own. I did do another tour with this company which was fabolous but while I was waiting for the tour a group came in and there was no communication between them and the tour and the tour was cancelled for them. I suspect there can be problems when booking through this company. I did however have a perfect tour while completing the Wachau Wine Tour but was very disappointed in the organisation and the help that I was given through this company while doing this 3 day Romantic Road Trip. This is very sad to say, as Rothenburg was spectacular as with Hohenschavangau.

Doing what: Three Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

No doubt it is a very romantic. Well arranged connections at Rotherburg. Mainly doing your own tour. Neverthless, every passing town is interesting.

Doing what: Overnight Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Salzburg was a long bus ride, but the town is just so cute, I highly recommend this tour. However, you're really just paying for transportation, you're left to your own devices once you arrive. You'll want to decide in advance which sights are priority because there isn't enough time to see everything. We took the elevator up to get some fantastic photos overlooking the city and fortress, so definitely don't miss that, but get lunch elsewhere. The restaurant just above the lookout is a little overpriced and if you sit outside, the bees will swarm you. The old cemetary below the cliff is quiet and very beautiful and the main pedestrian street is really something else. Our favorite part of this day was the boat trip on the lake, but don't forget extra euros, its not included in the tour price. It was a sunny beautiful day and very relaxing after so much walking.

The Romantic Road / Rothenburg trip was probably the highlight of our vacation for me. You make a short stop first at Harburg Castle and take a short, interesting tour of the fort. Then on to Rothenburg which is the epitome of what you'd think Old Bavaria should look like. I don't care if people say its touristy, if you're on vacation then you're a tourist, get over yourself and enjoy it for what it is... a cute, quaint, fun, beautiful little village with a bunch of other tourists. If you have the time and money, I recommend staying here for a night or two because an afternoon will just leave you wanting more. You're left to your own devices upon arrival, so don't expect a guided tour, but its more fun exploring on your own anyway. Don't miss a walk along the defensive wall and try a Schneeballen, they're not super sweet and they come in all kinds. If you're looking for a great souvenir, this is the place to get it. The Anneliese Friese Cuckoo Clock store is THE BEST hands down! Best service, best prices and its all German-made, not from China. Go here first!

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: Salzburg and Lake District Day Trip plus Romantic Road and Rothenburg Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The countryside along the Romantic Road was very scenic and beautiful. The village of Rothenburg seems to be frozen in time, and allows a historical glimpse of the past. We enjoyed the entire day.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

Overall the romantic tour brought us some really beautiful places in Germany, and we enjoyed the tour very much. However, I think the tour package is slightly overpriced for the quality of the hotels we got. Hotel muller in neuschwanstein was good but the boutique hotel golden rose in rothenburg was not up to our expectations. We were given a room isolated in a guest house a short distance away from the main building and in the middle of the night, I had a spooky encounter. This was indeed terrible and my very first experience. I suggest that viator reviews the hotel rooms provided to their guests as it is indeed sad to associate such a pleasant place with spooky memories.

Doing what: 3-day Munich to Frankfurt Tour - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

Great overview of the Romantic Road. Long day and lots of driving but great guide. Free time in Rothenberg was great.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

Our drive on the 2nd day of our trip went off the Romantic Road all the way to Munich to drop 1 person off and got us to our destination late! We missed half of the romantic road!!!! We were driving and driving. It was awful! There wasnt a tour guide at all. Just a bus trip.

Doing what: Three Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Salzburg was great our guide Tina did an excellent job. She had some problem with people not following the rules and we had to wait and look for people who did not show up at the bus on time. The Romantic road was even better the castle was fantastic and easy to walk through. Roethenburg was very interesting and I would love to back there again.

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: Salzburg and Lake District Day Trip plus Romantic Road and Rothenburg Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

We took three different tours from Gray line Munich. One of which was Salzburg and the Lake district. Our tour guide was Lucy(if I remember correctly). My journey date was 3rd of August. We were told that the journey to Salzburg will take +/- 2 and half hours depending on the traffic. Unfortunately, it took five long hours to reach Salzburg. We were not happy,as this means you have to cut short your tour time. As anticipated, the time was cut short for the city visit and were given less than 2 hrs( from getting off the bus to reporting on the specific said time). One woman was not happy, and she was answered by the guide that it is a small town, nothing much to see. I don't know from where she came up with this idea. We found it as a very interesting historical place. However, we all were running,it was too hot and made things harder for us. I don't expect to go into roots of a city in hours visit,but at the same time you feel cheated when the specific tour time was cut short.Five stars was for sure if they have adjusted the delay with one more hour. As I have already read reviews,so didn't expect any details from our tour guide in Austria, but to my surprise, she explained fairly about the attractions. Bus was very comfortable . AC worked well. Cruise in Lake Wolfgansee was breathtaking. She gave us time for photo stop at St. Gilgen, when she went for buying tickets.

Overall, I like the tour ,but wish we should not have deprived of our tour time. However after this Salzburg experience I will still recommend their tour because when you choose travel agencies then you are in a planned schedule that is set by keeping in mind the need of tourists from all over the world. So, if you like to spend more time at specific places, then it is always to do it individually. I did the castles' tour and Zugspitze on my own. Enough time to explore on my own, which you don't get while traveling with tour companies. My tour to Innsbruck with Margit and Romantic road- Debbi

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: Salzburg and Lake District Day Trip plus Romantic Road and Rothenburg Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

This is a great way to see a lot of the German countryside without driving. It is an independent tour where you are with one large bus group going to the castles on the first day, another bus to Rothenburg on day 2, another group when departing Rothernburg, and another group when going to Hiedelberg. The only reason I did not give the trip 5 stars was an issue on the first day. When departing Munich, I showed my voucher to the tour guide and mentioned I was staying overnight in Hohenschwangau. However, while the bus was driving, the guide explained there were 4 buses going to the castles, so we were going to start in Hohenschwangau and finish in Linderhof. When I reminded the tour guide that I was supposed to be staying in Hohenschwangau, he was helpful, along with the staff at the Hotel Mueller in Hohenschwangau where we stopped first instead of last on the tour. The result was that all 66 people on this bus were rushed through Linderhof with no time to visit the grounds so that I could be dropped off in Oberamerggau to wait alone and catch the last public bus to Hohenschwangau while the tour bus returned to Munich. Despite this issue, the tour was amazing. The castles are a must-see, and it would be hard to see Neuschwanstein and Linderhof without driving yourself. The Romantic Road bus made multiple stops (which was a pleasant surprise) with 15 minutes in some stops and 45 minutes in others. The bus arrived in Rothenburg around 4:30 PM where a taxi took me to the hotel within the medieval walls of the city. There was plenty of time to spend in Rothenburg before being picked up the next day and getting back on the Romantic Road bus to Frankfurt. All of the hotels were nice. Overall a great trip – just make sure when you start in Munich that the tour guide knows you are not coming back to Munich with the rest of the bus, that the last stop is Hohenschwangau, and that the day 1 tour is not being done in reverse.

Doing what: Four Day Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Linderhof, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message