Germany's 'Romantic Road' offers the most spectacular views of the Bavarian landscape and its magnificent castles. A trade route in the middle ages, the road winds through picturesque countryside, walled towns, and charming villages. It is home ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 54 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Salzburg was crowded and the guide was so so....Wolfgangsee was beautiful.... the romantic road day was incredible and we really enjoyed it. The guide was very good and knowledgeable. Would highly recommend this trip to others.....

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: Salzburg and Lake District Day Trip plus Romantic Road and Rothenburg Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

No doubt it is a very romantic. Well arranged connections at Rotherburg. Mainly doing your own tour. Neverthless, every passing town is interesting.

Doing what: Overnight Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Salzburg was a long bus ride, but the town is just so cute, I highly recommend this tour. However, you're really just paying for transportation, you're left to your own devices once you arrive. You'll want to decide in advance which sights are priority because there isn't enough time to see everything. We took the elevator up to get some fantastic photos overlooking the city and fortress, so definitely don't miss that, but get lunch elsewhere. The restaurant just above the lookout is a little overpriced and if you sit outside, the bees will swarm you. The old cemetary below the cliff is quiet and very beautiful and the main pedestrian street is really something else. Our favorite part of this day was the boat trip on the lake, but don't forget extra euros, its not included in the tour price. It was a sunny beautiful day and very relaxing after so much walking.

The Romantic Road / Rothenburg trip was probably the highlight of our vacation for me. You make a short stop first at Harburg Castle and take a short, interesting tour of the fort. Then on to Rothenburg which is the epitome of what you'd think Old Bavaria should look like. I don't care if people say its touristy, if you're on vacation then you're a tourist, get over yourself and enjoy it for what it is... a cute, quaint, fun, beautiful little village with a bunch of other tourists. If you have the time and money, I recommend staying here for a night or two because an afternoon will just leave you wanting more. You're left to your own devices upon arrival, so don't expect a guided tour, but its more fun exploring on your own anyway. Don't miss a walk along the defensive wall and try a Schneeballen, they're not super sweet and they come in all kinds. If you're looking for a great souvenir, this is the place to get it. The Anneliese Friese Cuckoo Clock store is THE BEST hands down! Best service, best prices and its all German-made, not from China. Go here first!

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: Salzburg and Lake District Day Trip plus Romantic Road and Rothenburg Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The countryside along the Romantic Road was very scenic and beautiful. The village of Rothenburg seems to be frozen in time, and allows a historical glimpse of the past. We enjoyed the entire day.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

Overall the romantic tour brought us some really beautiful places in Germany, and we enjoyed the tour very much. However, I think the tour package is slightly overpriced for the quality of the hotels we got. Hotel muller in neuschwanstein was good but the boutique hotel golden rose in rothenburg was not up to our expectations. We were given a room isolated in a guest house a short distance away from the main building and in the middle of the night, I had a spooky encounter. This was indeed terrible and my very first experience. I suggest that viator reviews the hotel rooms provided to their guests as it is indeed sad to associate such a pleasant place with spooky memories.

Doing what: 3-day Munich to Frankfurt Tour - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

Great overview of the Romantic Road. Long day and lots of driving but great guide. Free time in Rothenberg was great.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

Our drive on the 2nd day of our trip went off the Romantic Road all the way to Munich to drop 1 person off and got us to our destination late! We missed half of the romantic road!!!! We were driving and driving. It was awful! There wasnt a tour guide at all. Just a bus trip.

Doing what: Three Day Frankfurt to Munich - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Salzburg was great our guide Tina did an excellent job. She had some problem with people not following the rules and we had to wait and look for people who did not show up at the bus on time. The Romantic road was even better the castle was fantastic and easy to walk through. Roethenburg was very interesting and I would love to back there again.

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: Salzburg and Lake District Day Trip plus Romantic Road and Rothenburg Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

We took three different tours from Gray line Munich. One of which was Salzburg and the Lake district. Our tour guide was Lucy(if I remember correctly). My journey date was 3rd of August. We were told that the journey to Salzburg will take +/- 2 and half hours depending on the traffic. Unfortunately, it took five long hours to reach Salzburg. We were not happy,as this means you have to cut short your tour time. As anticipated, the time was cut short for the city visit and were given less than 2 hrs( from getting off the bus to reporting on the specific said time). One woman was not happy, and she was answered by the guide that it is a small town, nothing much to see. I don't know from where she came up with this idea. We found it as a very interesting historical place. However, we all were running,it was too hot and made things harder for us. I don't expect to go into roots of a city in hours visit,but at the same time you feel cheated when the specific tour time was cut short.Five stars was for sure if they have adjusted the delay with one more hour. As I have already read reviews,so didn't expect any details from our tour guide in Austria, but to my surprise, she explained fairly about the attractions. Bus was very comfortable . AC worked well. Cruise in Lake Wolfgansee was breathtaking. She gave us time for photo stop at St. Gilgen, when she went for buying tickets.

Overall, I like the tour ,but wish we should not have deprived of our tour time. However after this Salzburg experience I will still recommend their tour because when you choose travel agencies then you are in a planned schedule that is set by keeping in mind the need of tourists from all over the world. So, if you like to spend more time at specific places, then it is always to do it individually. I did the castles' tour and Zugspitze on my own. Enough time to explore on my own, which you don't get while traveling with tour companies. My tour to Innsbruck with Margit and Romantic road- Debbi

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: Salzburg and Lake District Day Trip plus Romantic Road and Rothenburg Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

This is a great way to see a lot of the German countryside without driving. It is an independent tour where you are with one large bus group going to the castles on the first day, another bus to Rothenburg on day 2, another group when departing Rothernburg, and another group when going to Hiedelberg. The only reason I did not give the trip 5 stars was an issue on the first day. When departing Munich, I showed my voucher to the tour guide and mentioned I was staying overnight in Hohenschwangau. However, while the bus was driving, the guide explained there were 4 buses going to the castles, so we were going to start in Hohenschwangau and finish in Linderhof. When I reminded the tour guide that I was supposed to be staying in Hohenschwangau, he was helpful, along with the staff at the Hotel Mueller in Hohenschwangau where we stopped first instead of last on the tour. The result was that all 66 people on this bus were rushed through Linderhof with no time to visit the grounds so that I could be dropped off in Oberamerggau to wait alone and catch the last public bus to Hohenschwangau while the tour bus returned to Munich. Despite this issue, the tour was amazing. The castles are a must-see, and it would be hard to see Neuschwanstein and Linderhof without driving yourself. The Romantic Road bus made multiple stops (which was a pleasant surprise) with 15 minutes in some stops and 45 minutes in others. The bus arrived in Rothenburg around 4:30 PM where a taxi took me to the hotel within the medieval walls of the city. There was plenty of time to spend in Rothenburg before being picked up the next day and getting back on the Romantic Road bus to Frankfurt. All of the hotels were nice. Overall a great trip – just make sure when you start in Munich that the tour guide knows you are not coming back to Munich with the rest of the bus, that the last stop is Hohenschwangau, and that the day 1 tour is not being done in reverse.

Doing what: Four Day Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Linderhof, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

the weather was bad, it was raining hard throughout the the trip, we did not get to see much, other than a brief tour of the old castle in Harburg and had a long lunch in Rothenburg. not exciting nor romantic at all.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

I enjoyed very much The Romantic Germany Tour. It was much more than I have expected. The driver Andreas and the guide Dirk were both excelent. The hotels were all good. The only thing I did not like was that we had problems with the bus air conditioning and it was somewhat unconfortable due to the very hot days we had during the tour.

Doing what: Romantic Germany: 7-Day Tour from Frankfurt to Munich, Neuschwanstein Castle and Heidelberg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

What a great trip. We really got our monies worth. At first there was a little confusion with one tickets for two trips but that was taken care of. Fred was our Salzburg/Lake Tour guide and he was fantastic!! Wish we had a little more of the Sound of Music locations but we were told they were all over the place. The lakes and boat ride were so beautiful what a enjoyable tour.
Bridgette was the Romantic Road guide and even though it was a crummy day she made it so fun and knowledgeable. The castle and town was so awesome and romantic. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: Salzburg and Lake District Day Trip plus Romantic Road and Rothenburg Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

Bridget was the tour guide. The group was approx 34 people and you are on a big coach bus. This is a long day! It is a wonderful drive so have your cameras ready. We went on Wed 4/24 and it was a sunny, nice day. We stopped at Harburg Castle which was great. Then we continued to Rothenburg and had 3 hrs of free time. It was wonderful. I wish we could have had an hour or two more of free time. Bridget did an excellent job of giving us the background of the Romantic Road and Rothenburg during the ride there. There was a private tour guide at Harburg Castle who did a wonderful job. I would like to go back to more the towns on the Romantic Road that we didn't stop at. Very good tour for the price and it was nice to just be a passenger and not have to drive. Rothenburg is the cutest town! The only thing we didn't get to do that we wanted to was go to the top of the City Hall in Rothenburg to be able to see the entire town. Great job Bridget! Thanks for the great day:)

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

First trip to Germany. This tour made it so easy to see the Romantic Road area. The vouchers for bus travel, taxi service and hotel rooms worked flawlessly. For a first trip, this was a great way to see the highlights we wanted to see in the time available, without the hassle of renting a car or wondering at which hotel to stay. It does require you to keep up with the details, since there is no tour guide - you are simply given a packet with the complete itinerary and details. The information in the packet was detailed and in order with the itinerary. The hotels, taxi and bus service all knew what the vouchers were and had no problems accepting them. You do need to be on your toes. We discovered that Germans are very punctual, so keep with the schedule and you won't have any problems. A few things were a little confusing, such as where to meet for the walking tour in Augsburg. Some construction in the area made the meeting place not so obvious, and the instructions were a little misleading. Overall, I would recommend this trip to anyone wanting an hassle-free tour of the Romantic Road.

Doing what: 4-Day Tour from Munich to Frankfurt: Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Augsburg, Neuschwanstein Castle

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message