Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Romantic Road

Germany's 'Romantic Road' offers the most spectacular views of the Bavarian landscape and its magnificent castles. A trade route in the middle ages, the road winds through picturesque countryside, walled towns, and charming villages. It is home ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 65 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sandra S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was definitely a great way to spend the day, traveling down the Romantic Road while hearing about the sights we saw along the way. Our tour guide Debbie was very informative, entertaining and very enthusiastic. The historical Harburg castle was well worth the visit - amazing to see something so old. And of course Rothenburg ob der Tauber was quite charming. I felt like this tour gave us plenty of time in each location, and while I enjoyed the tour of the castle it was nice to have time on our own in the town. There is so much to explore and cute stores for shopping. I would definitely recommend this tour as this area of Germany is very quaint and worth seeing.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

Diana H

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Rothenburg was lovely and I would recommend to all. However, I would probably just go by train on my own if I were to do this again. While it wouldn't go on the Romantic Road, it is a bit quicker travel time and not waiting for a large group. Our guide was very friendly and informative, though

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

MRS D G W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was a great day out. The tour was well organised. It was a lovely drive north from Munich along the Romantic Road, through picturesque villages with architecture dating back many centuries. Our stop at Harburg to view the Palace/Fortress built to protect the King from his enemies was ever so interesting, and the history well explained. The highlight for me was the beautiful Rothenburg. It was magical and belonged on a Christmas card. It was a 10.5 hour trip but well worth it. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

br_juanda

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

this trip is decent, rothenburg is a small and pretty medieval town, but the harburg castle is really underwhelming and i really dont find anything romantic about the road we are taking in this trip.
so overall a so so experience and still worth doing.
but if you missed it, you really dont lose much.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

NICOLE C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Day 1: Salzburg and Lake District

This was an absolute delight! The beautiful Austrian towns and trinkets make the trip well worth it.

Day 2: Romantic Road and Rothenburg

The trip to Rothenburg is worth the entire trip. The visit to the Harburg castle was underwhelming. They can pick a different castle or take it out altogether. But, the city of Rothenburg was spectacular! The only complaint I have is how cold it was on the bus. Despite being asked several times to adjust the heat, it was never done. I had to travel in headgear, a scarf, sweater, pea coat, gloves and a BLANKET in attempt to be warm on the bus. Unacceptable.

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: Salzburg and Lake District Day Trip plus Romantic Road and Rothenburg Day Trip

Craig

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

This tour is a lot of driving and the romantic road may be a little over sold. The castle is good, Rothenburg is beautiful, make sure you leave the main street. I would do this again, but would not put it high on the list. The guide was pretty good.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

Rons

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

It was a wonderful tour. Really romantic as it says.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

cally h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Salzburg was a lot of fun! I really enjoyed the boat ride at the end of the day. It was a final touch to an already wonderful day. The romantic road tour was also a good experience. I really enjoyed the castle on the way to Rothenburg.

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: Salzburg and Lake District Day Trip plus Romantic Road and Rothenburg Day Trip

mdolsen

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed the Salzburg and Lake District and Romantic Road and Rothenburg Day trips. Our guide for the Salzburg trip was a very fast walker and with the amount of other people on tours and visiting Salzburg we ended up losing her. Luckily she did tell us before we left the bus what time we needed to be back on the bus if you aren't there they will leave you behind. I do have one recommendation for tour guide or tour company - the guide should have a stick with the name of the tour and the tour company on it so we can follow the tour and not get left behind.

The Romantic Road and Rothenburg trip was well worth the money. Such beautiful country and Rothenburg is a great medial town. Our tour guide was wonderful. She was always smiling and joking with us. This is a must do trip.

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: Salzburg and Lake District Day Trip plus Romantic Road and Rothenburg Day Trip

lwilliams

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

The Romantic Road tour is another recommended tour. Although the Romantic Road is not romantic by any definition it was worth the effort and long day in order to visit Rothenburg. Most of the day seemed to be spent on the bus but the time spent in the quaint, but congested town of Rothenburg is memorable and a must when visiting Munich.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

prasad s

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Hi,
On July 19th 2015, as part of the 3-day Munich to
Frankfurt Romantic Road tour, we took the bus operated by Touring
Tours and Travel from Munich and this was supposed to cover
both Linderhof and Neuschwanstein castles. However the tour guide said that
Neuschwanstein was very crowded and said that given guided tour slots
available, he will first go to Neuschwanstien and then to Linderhof
castle. We told him that we have accommodation booked at Hotel
Muller but that didn't matter.

At Neuschwantien, the guide hurried us up so much to keep
the tour slot 12:20pm for 20 people and 12:45pm for the
remaining that he made us skip going to the St. Mary's
bridge for a view of the castle. This was very disappointing.


After checking in at Hotel Muller, we enquired on bus facilities
and taxi options if we went to Linderhof but given that
it was a Sunday, these options were limited and the taxi
charges were exorbitant. The people at Hotel Muller were very helpful
in this regard. In the end we chose to skip going
to Linderhof castle as the bus left for Linderhof at around
3pm and there was no easy way of returning to Hotel
Muller that day. We are extremely disappointed for not seeing Linderhof
castle and wanted to bring this to your attention.

On the positive side, the rest of the trip from Neuschwanstien
to Frankfurt was excellent and went according to plan. The hotel
at Rothenburg was very nice as well.

thanks
prasad

Doing what: 3-day Munich to Frankfurt Tour - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

Bee Eng A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Tour meeting point was convenient and the bus ride was comfortable even with a toilet!. Tour guide was pretty informative and Harburg castle was quite interesting. Scenery along the Romantic Road was pretty, passing by small towns and such.

The highlight of the day tour - Rothenburg - was most enjoyable, self-sightseeing the well-preserved medieval town. Lots of spots for photographs! There was sufficient time to go through the inner medieval town sights leisurely, have a decent lunch and shop we didn't go via the castle wall route but I'm sure there would have been enough time to cover that too.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

Ronald N D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Fun ride on the bus through the Germany country side, even though it was not romantic. The guide explained how the name came about. The castle we saw was great and the well preserved medieval town was wonderful with enough time to look around, eat and shop

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

Karen E

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

We were disappointed with the Romantic Road part of this tour. We were expecting a more scenic drive. The drive from Munich to Rothenburg was boring with not much to see. The stop in Harburg to visit the castle was OK but several of the rooms were not open and there is construction and updating going on, so it wasn't that great. The town of Rothenburg was a lot of fun, and we wished we could have stayed there longer and not spent so much time in Harburg.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

Melissa M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

A little too expensive for the tour. You did not have a choice of either seeing the church or crimson museum... You had to do the church. Did not travel along the romantic road for very long. Bit if a disappointment.

Doing what: Guided Rothenburg Day Trip from Frankfurt

manakejo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Salzburg and Lake District day trip brought us through stunning views of the alps and the lakes! Our guide was very informative and made the experience a very pleasant one for us.
Our guide on the Romantic Road and Rothenberg day trip was quite elderly and he kept repeating the same information during the journey. However, we had a good time interacting with him when he took some of us to the city walls during the free and easy time. We enjoyed his guided walk to the city walls.

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: Salzburg and Lake District Day Trip plus Romantic Road and Rothenburg Day Trip

Elaine H G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Rothenburg was the most interesting little town I could ever imagine...the quaint shops, the great architecture, the whole atmosphere took us back in time...a whole different world...lots of great food and so many interesting craft shops ---that shoppers could probably spend a few days here! Harburg was fascinating ...but was not so romantic...unless you were part of the family in the castle, I suppose...the buildings were well preserved...even the areas where punishments were given...a great day trip.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

Dorothy G

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I am giving this four stars for only one reason. The bus ride to Rothenburg from Munich was uncomfortable. It was very very warm inside the bus and seemed like very little air was circulating throughout the bus. The bus driver was not very friendly. However, the ride was beautiful and was a great way to see lots of the countryside and the romantic road. Once we arrived in Rothenburg we were totally excited. The Hotel was wonderful and the staff very friendly. The town itself is a must see. Totally incredible. The night watchman tour was superb, don't miss it. The day spent wandering the town was great. Good food, good beer, good shopping, good sightseeing, and very friendly people. On the bus ride to Frankfurt the driver was much more friendly and there was a guide as well. The bus itself was still warm. Maybe that is the standard for busses. I suggest you dress in layers so you can take off clothes to be comfortable. I would absolutely do this tour again

Doing what: Overnight Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

Pio P

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Definitely sleep over at Neuschwanstein area and Rothenburg. Only way imo to really enjoy the area or else it would just be too stressful. The bus ride through romantic road was scenic but not much to really explore or do. Was a bit rushed as well.

Doing what: 3-day Munich to Frankfurt Tour - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

Florence K

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

We loved the tour. Rothenburg was romantic, charming and beautiful. Our tour guide suggested a lunch restaurant which was disappointing. Maybe she got a free or discounted lunch there but the food was expensive and not tasty, although the ambiance was great. The tour guide did very little to ensure that we toured Rothenburg. She just quoted very limited directions of the town layout and then we were on our own for hours. It was not a tour led by a guide but rather driving to a locations, with suggestions on arrival and on your own to figure it out.
Harburg Castle was a surprise as we did not know we would have as extensive and elaborate tour. Yes, the castle was interesting and the castle guide great. Our tour leader was basically directing us how to leave the bus and where to meet up with the tour guide at the castle.
We loved the whole day and the other bus passengers who were fun to talk to.
Our tour guide seemed to lose interest in us. But Rothenburg is a traffic place to visit.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

Sally C

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The bus was modern, clean and comfortable and drinks available on board at good price. The tour stopped at great places and we were able to get off the bus and spend adequate time along the way. Day 1 to Hohenschwangau and Neuswanstein castle was fantastic. Mueller Hotel great location,very comfortable, great restaurant and the town itself is a delight once the day tourist buses leave! Multitudes of tourists mean that you have to rigidly adhere to your time to visit the caste. Day 2 took us ultimately to Rothenburg which was even better than the pictures - definitely worth the stopover. Only complaint was the hotel which was not as good as the "named" hotel in the brochures and definitely further from the centre. Day 3 is a long trip after a late afternoon start from Rothenburg. Day 2 actually takes you back to Munich and then a few hours on the autobahn before heading back into the picturesque romantic road itself. Tour guides a bit hit and miss. Best was a local middle aged man who knew the area intimately and provided real insights. Other tour guides just read the basic information to the onboard travellers and didn't seek to connect. Research your stopovers and you will have a great time.

Doing what: 3-day Munich to Frankfurt Tour - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

Catherine O

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Not bad! Rothenburg is quite beautiful and loved the free time. We drove through quite a bit of the romantic road. The tour guide was lovely but there was a restaurant recommendation that was not so fantastic. The snow balls are popular but certainly not the tastiest :)

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

Bryan M

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

A wonderful overview of the beauty of Bavaria. The historic towns and tours were fascinating. We had to make a change in itinerary to end in Munich instead of Frankfurt - it was easy to do by phone, so the support was great. The bus drivers on the Romantic Road buses were generally helpful but it varied by day.

The combination of reserved transportation and hotels, plus lots of free time to wander the cities, was just right for us. We really enjoyed those days more than the first tour day of two castles and a tourist town! It was too rushed with little time for exploration, questions, etc. The slower pace of the next three days was much more pleasant.

The start was confusing. We didn't realize we were to take the bus tour from Munich to Neuschwanstein and the drivers/tour guides weren't sure what to do with us either. Once we got going we realized how it worked. But more information at the beginning would have been very helpful.

Our overall impression was very positive, again, once we figured out how it worked. Thanks for a wonderful introduction to the history of the region. We want to come back again soon.

Doing what: 4-Day Tour from Munich to Frankfurt: Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Augsburg, Neuschwanstein Castle

Robert H

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Salzburg was crowded and the guide was so so....Wolfgangsee was beautiful.... the romantic road day was incredible and we really enjoyed it. The guide was very good and knowledgeable. Would highly recommend this trip to others.....

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: Salzburg and Lake District Day Trip plus Romantic Road and Rothenburg Day Trip

Casey

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The Harburg castle tour was awesome!

Rothenburg was ok, there were lots of neat Christmas shops, places to eat, and plenty of time to walk around, however the description of "The oldest preserved medieval town in Europe" seemed a stretch. There were too many tourists to really feel like you were transported back in time.

Romantic Road is only a highway that the bus drives on to get to Rothenburg. It was a pretty drive but nothing special.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message