Germany's 'Romantic Road' offers the most spectacular views of the Bavarian landscape and its magnificent castles. A trade route in the middle ages, the road winds through picturesque countryside, walled towns, and charming villages. It is home ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 50 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Salzburg and Lake District day trip brought us through stunning views of the alps and the lakes! Our guide was very informative and made the experience a very pleasant one for us.
Our guide on the Romantic Road and Rothenberg day trip was quite elderly and he kept repeating the same information during the journey. However, we had a good time interacting with him when he took some of us to the city walls during the free and easy time. We enjoyed his guided walk to the city walls.

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: Salzburg and Lake District Day Trip plus Romantic Road and Rothenburg Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Rothenburg was the most interesting little town I could ever imagine...the quaint shops, the great architecture, the whole atmosphere took us back in time...a whole different world...lots of great food and so many interesting craft shops ---that shoppers could probably spend a few days here! Harburg was fascinating ...but was not so romantic...unless you were part of the family in the castle, I suppose...the buildings were well preserved...even the areas where punishments were given...a great day trip.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

I am giving this four stars for only one reason. The bus ride to Rothenburg from Munich was uncomfortable. It was very very warm inside the bus and seemed like very little air was circulating throughout the bus. The bus driver was not very friendly. However, the ride was beautiful and was a great way to see lots of the countryside and the romantic road. Once we arrived in Rothenburg we were totally excited. The Hotel was wonderful and the staff very friendly. The town itself is a must see. Totally incredible. The night watchman tour was superb, don't miss it. The day spent wandering the town was great. Good food, good beer, good shopping, good sightseeing, and very friendly people. On the bus ride to Frankfurt the driver was much more friendly and there was a guide as well. The bus itself was still warm. Maybe that is the standard for busses. I suggest you dress in layers so you can take off clothes to be comfortable. I would absolutely do this tour again

Doing what: Overnight Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Definitely sleep over at Neuschwanstein area and Rothenburg. Only way imo to really enjoy the area or else it would just be too stressful. The bus ride through romantic road was scenic but not much to really explore or do. Was a bit rushed as well.

Doing what: 3-day Munich to Frankfurt Tour - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

We loved the tour. Rothenburg was romantic, charming and beautiful. Our tour guide suggested a lunch restaurant which was disappointing. Maybe she got a free or discounted lunch there but the food was expensive and not tasty, although the ambiance was great. The tour guide did very little to ensure that we toured Rothenburg. She just quoted very limited directions of the town layout and then we were on our own for hours. It was not a tour led by a guide but rather driving to a locations, with suggestions on arrival and on your own to figure it out.
Harburg Castle was a surprise as we did not know we would have as extensive and elaborate tour. Yes, the castle was interesting and the castle guide great. Our tour leader was basically directing us how to leave the bus and where to meet up with the tour guide at the castle.
We loved the whole day and the other bus passengers who were fun to talk to.
Our tour guide seemed to lose interest in us. But Rothenburg is a traffic place to visit.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The bus was modern, clean and comfortable and drinks available on board at good price. The tour stopped at great places and we were able to get off the bus and spend adequate time along the way. Day 1 to Hohenschwangau and Neuswanstein castle was fantastic. Mueller Hotel great location,very comfortable, great restaurant and the town itself is a delight once the day tourist buses leave! Multitudes of tourists mean that you have to rigidly adhere to your time to visit the caste. Day 2 took us ultimately to Rothenburg which was even better than the pictures - definitely worth the stopover. Only complaint was the hotel which was not as good as the "named" hotel in the brochures and definitely further from the centre. Day 3 is a long trip after a late afternoon start from Rothenburg. Day 2 actually takes you back to Munich and then a few hours on the autobahn before heading back into the picturesque romantic road itself. Tour guides a bit hit and miss. Best was a local middle aged man who knew the area intimately and provided real insights. Other tour guides just read the basic information to the onboard travellers and didn't seek to connect. Research your stopovers and you will have a great time.

Doing what: 3-day Munich to Frankfurt Tour - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Not bad! Rothenburg is quite beautiful and loved the free time. We drove through quite a bit of the romantic road. The tour guide was lovely but there was a restaurant recommendation that was not so fantastic. The snow balls are popular but certainly not the tastiest :)

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

A wonderful overview of the beauty of Bavaria. The historic towns and tours were fascinating. We had to make a change in itinerary to end in Munich instead of Frankfurt - it was easy to do by phone, so the support was great. The bus drivers on the Romantic Road buses were generally helpful but it varied by day.

The combination of reserved transportation and hotels, plus lots of free time to wander the cities, was just right for us. We really enjoyed those days more than the first tour day of two castles and a tourist town! It was too rushed with little time for exploration, questions, etc. The slower pace of the next three days was much more pleasant.

The start was confusing. We didn't realize we were to take the bus tour from Munich to Neuschwanstein and the drivers/tour guides weren't sure what to do with us either. Once we got going we realized how it worked. But more information at the beginning would have been very helpful.

Our overall impression was very positive, again, once we figured out how it worked. Thanks for a wonderful introduction to the history of the region. We want to come back again soon.

Doing what: 4-Day Tour from Munich to Frankfurt: Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Augsburg, Neuschwanstein Castle

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Salzburg was crowded and the guide was so so....Wolfgangsee was beautiful.... the romantic road day was incredible and we really enjoyed it. The guide was very good and knowledgeable. Would highly recommend this trip to others.....

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: Salzburg and Lake District Day Trip plus Romantic Road and Rothenburg Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

The Harburg castle tour was awesome!

Rothenburg was ok, there were lots of neat Christmas shops, places to eat, and plenty of time to walk around, however the description of "The oldest preserved medieval town in Europe" seemed a stretch. There were too many tourists to really feel like you were transported back in time.

Romantic Road is only a highway that the bus drives on to get to Rothenburg. It was a pretty drive but nothing special.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

No doubt it is a very romantic. Well arranged connections at Rotherburg. Mainly doing your own tour. Neverthless, every passing town is interesting.

Doing what: Overnight Munich to Frankfurt - Romantic Road, Rothenburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Salzburg was a long bus ride, but the town is just so cute, I highly recommend this tour. However, you're really just paying for transportation, you're left to your own devices once you arrive. You'll want to decide in advance which sights are priority because there isn't enough time to see everything. We took the elevator up to get some fantastic photos overlooking the city and fortress, so definitely don't miss that, but get lunch elsewhere. The restaurant just above the lookout is a little overpriced and if you sit outside, the bees will swarm you. The old cemetary below the cliff is quiet and very beautiful and the main pedestrian street is really something else. Our favorite part of this day was the boat trip on the lake, but don't forget extra euros, its not included in the tour price. It was a sunny beautiful day and very relaxing after so much walking.

The Romantic Road / Rothenburg trip was probably the highlight of our vacation for me. You make a short stop first at Harburg Castle and take a short, interesting tour of the fort. Then on to Rothenburg which is the epitome of what you'd think Old Bavaria should look like. I don't care if people say its touristy, if you're on vacation then you're a tourist, get over yourself and enjoy it for what it is... a cute, quaint, fun, beautiful little village with a bunch of other tourists. If you have the time and money, I recommend staying here for a night or two because an afternoon will just leave you wanting more. You're left to your own devices upon arrival, so don't expect a guided tour, but its more fun exploring on your own anyway. Don't miss a walk along the defensive wall and try a Schneeballen, they're not super sweet and they come in all kinds. If you're looking for a great souvenir, this is the place to get it. The Anneliese Friese Cuckoo Clock store is THE BEST hands down! Best service, best prices and its all German-made, not from China. Go here first!

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: Salzburg and Lake District Day Trip plus Romantic Road and Rothenburg Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The countryside along the Romantic Road was very scenic and beautiful. The village of Rothenburg seems to be frozen in time, and allows a historical glimpse of the past. We enjoyed the entire day.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

Overall the romantic tour brought us some really beautiful places in Germany, and we enjoyed the tour very much. However, I think the tour package is slightly overpriced for the quality of the hotels we got. Hotel muller in neuschwanstein was good but the boutique hotel golden rose in rothenburg was not up to our expectations. We were given a room isolated in a guest house a short distance away from the main building and in the middle of the night, I had a spooky encounter. This was indeed terrible and my very first experience. I suggest that viator reviews the hotel rooms provided to their guests as it is indeed sad to associate such a pleasant place with spooky memories.

Doing what: 3-day Munich to Frankfurt Tour - Romantic Road, Rothenburg, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2013

Great overview of the Romantic Road. Long day and lots of driving but great guide. Free time in Rothenberg was great.

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message