Munich ATTRACTIONS See all

Victuals Market (Viktualienmarkt)

Where can you find the best gourmet Bavarian delights? Munich's Victuals Market, Viktualienmarkt in German, is the place to find exotic fruits, fresh vegetables, artisan cheeses, delicious hams, honey, and truffles. Many of the market stalls in ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

When I inquired about adding 2 friends to our private tour the very nice woman on the phone told me I should not have been booked on a Sunday because everything is closed on Sundays. However, it was Munich's birthday and the Old Town City Center should have enough for us to do. Our friends met us at the tour office the day of the tour and another woman asked if we were sure our tour was today, because everything was closed. We met our tour guide, Patrick, who again told us that the usual stores would be closed because it was Sunday, but he was sure he would find something. Our friends and we traveled by underground to our destination. It was festive and packed with people. Patrick was very good. The tour was ok. We didn't really get what we had expected because his usual stops where closed, as was the big outside food market. Although we had fun, and we enjoyed the day, I can't help but wonder what would have happened if we had been given what we paid for??? We each had a beer, we shared 2 sausages and some spread and a meat we had never had before, and a large pretzel. Except for the meat we had never tasted and the spread, everything else was pretty common and we did not need a guided tour to accomplish this. We would have booked another day to avoid the tour stops being closed, but we were unaware of that fact. Why would they allow a booking if the stores were closed?

Doing what: Private Munich Bavarian Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

What a great tour. Yolanda, our guide, was delightful. We walked around the markets, had delightful food and ended up at a lovely café for a wonderful dessert. It felt like we were going out with a good friend. I highly recommend this tour if you have a couple of hours. Yolanda was able to offer us lots of suggestions as to where to go.

Doing what: Munich Bavarian Food Walking Tour

starboy
Indonesia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

the program of bavarian food walking tour seemed to fit to us. It was not similar as picture shown. It was only food testing. we were escorted to munich market place. It was only about 2 hours tours including eating time. I think it would be better to have a better place for food testing plus drinks.

Doing what: Munich Bavarian Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

On our first day in Munchen, we decided to take the food tour b/c there was supposed to be 70% chance of rain and we didn't want to Segway through the water. WOW! Was I glad we changed plans and met Levi Homan (our tour guide). We were naïve Americans who didn't have a clue what to expect. BUT, that didn't last long. We learned about the city history, the market place, what makes a beer garden a true beer garden, AND the food. Oh, the delicious food...then .topped off with our first German beer. Who could ask for more? Plus, the day turned out to be sunny, so the Viktualienmarkt beer garden was bustling with patrons. We got a true taste of Munchen and LOVED IT! Thank you Levi...from your fans in Florida

Doing what: Munich Bavarian Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic food tour! Group tour turned out to be a private tour for 3. Don't eat before you go, plenty of food! We enjoyed a special Baverian drink, the freshest, largest pretzel I ever ate with a cheese spread, white sausage, assorted other sausages and a Bavarian donut. We walked through the markets and special food markets that we would never have found on our own. Wish we could have taken the tour at the beginning of our stay instead of the end so we could have gone back on our own for more.

Doing what: Munich Bavarian Food Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We took this tour on our second day in Munich. We easily found our tour meeting place at the train station. Craig our tour liaison was very friendly and welcoming. His English was perfect since his hometown is in the United Kingdom. Took a quick U-Bahn trip into Central Munich and walked though several shops while Craig pointed out key points of Bavarian lifestyle and culture. Our group consisted of six persons. A couple from Australia, a couple from the Bronx, and my wife and I so we found the tour very personal. We ended up sitting on the picnic tables at the open air market at Viktualienmarkt. We drank mass quantities of the best tasting beer in the world while Craig brought a wide variety of the best food in Munich. He brought us large pretzels, sauerkraut, more kinds of sausage and knockwurst that my mind could comprehend, radishes, and several Bavarian deserts. Start the tour hungry, you'll be given a ton of food to enjoy. Thoroughly enjoyed this experience and would recommend it to anyone!

Doing what: Munich Bavarian Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour is freaking awesome. You learn tons of history and taste delicious food, sausages, salads, struedels...it's just plain awesome. The explanation of the history of the area is fantastic. The markets are incredible. We might have gotten a little spoiled on this tour since there were just 4 of us so it was more of a private tour. Our tour guide was friendly and knowledgeable. It was the right amount of time and we were engaged the entire time.

Doing what: Munich Bavarian Food Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2012

We enjoyed the trip found out a lot about Munich which we would of not known and telling us were the xmas markets.

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

This was a great afternoon trip and our guide was very knowledgeable. Would recommend taking this tour at the beginning of a stay in Munich as it will help acquaint you with the popular square area at Marienplatz. As we'd been in Munich for three days already we had already been in the Marienplatz area twice before. Regardless, our guide offered interesting historic and cultural tidbits throughout the trip, and introduced us to the very popular Viktualmarkt with a private cheese and wine tasting. Would recommend to friends looking for a useful way to spend an afternoon in Munich.

Doing what: Munich Bavarian Food Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2012

This is definitely worth doing, but do 2 days unless you only want to sit thru the bus tour. If you want to get off, you need to get the 2-day pass. The palace alone is a couple hours because of the size of the place, and the fact that the bus only stops there hourly. shopping DT is amazing, check out the open market. It's the best and the shops are great. We actually did Schwabing a little with friends the night prior so we didn't even want to bother during the tour, but that's the Munich SoHo area, very cool. We stayed near the Olympic Park area so we did a walk-thru (not the hilltop) in about an hour. Book a BMW plant tour ahead of time, or the museum tour (if you are a real BMW fan), otherwise you can't do that. So all in all - book the 2-day pass to really enjoy the city!

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message