There’s more to Munich than Oktoberfest – whether it’s beer halls, history, arts, or sport, Germany's second largest city has plenty to keep visitors occupied. It's located within some of the world's most beautiful scenery: alps, lakes, and truly ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 274 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour is a great way to get some great history of Munich, as well as enjoy plenty of traditional German beer and snacks. Our tour guide Keith was absolutely excellent. We highly recommend this tour to others planning on traveling to Munich!

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour and our guide was terrific. The extra paid for the small group tour was well worth it as we were able to pass by some of the longer lines because our guide was awesome. Quite a lot of time in the bus going to and from Munich, but it didn't feel that way and far better than doing on our own. Both castles are must see's.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We enjoyed our bike tour a lot. The girl we had spoke excellent English (she was from the US). She was very knowledgeable and showed us a lot around Munich. I would definitely recommend this tour for everyone.

Doing what: Munich Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our Scottish guide Keith (?) guided us around Munich for 2-1/2 hours to highlight important Nazi sites. He was very thorough and had a good sense of humor. 85% of Munich was destroyed during WWII, but many Nazi sites were left intact. So much of what we saw was re-built including Marienplatz where the tour started after travelling from the Munich Bahnhof. Munich was starting to get crazy because they were getting ready for Octoberfest and a lot of the activities had already started. We arranged the tour through Viator. Two of the many interesting sites were the Hofbrauhaus and Feldherrnhalle/Dodger’s Ally. The first floor of the Hofbrauhaus where Hitler started his rise to power and gave many speeches was not damaged. On the ceiling you can still see the swastikas blended into the painting and not painted over after the war. The Feldherrnhalle is where the Nazis made a memorial to the failed 1923 overthrow of the government and dodger’s ally where many Germans tried to avoid passing by the memorial which required them to salute it or be punished. Many were punished by not saluting as they passed and by trying to avoid the memorial. Felderrnhalle and Odeonplatz is the site of many Nazi party speeches and gatherings. This tour fills in a lot of information about the beginnings of the Nazi party.

Doing what: Hitler and the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Keith was an AWESOME tour guide. Took us to many great Munich historic sites, parks, beer garden, as well as being very informative about the area.

We had a BLAST - thank you Keith! Very good tour and well worth the cost!

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: Bike Tour plus Bavarian Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is WELL WORTH the few extra dollars (or Euro) for an intimate, smaller-group tour. Francesca was amazing, knew her subject matter quite well (and then some), and allowed for quiet time on the trip back to Munich. She arranged for a private shuttle at Neuschwanstein to arrive at Mary's Bridge quicker and with fewer hills to hike up! She gave each tourist a "goodie bag" and drinks and even took pictures of us with our cameras so that both/all can be in the photo. She was a fantastic guide, and our driver was quite capable as well.
The day was planned out perfectly, and the order that we did everything in was the best way to avoid the crowds. The extra side-trip to Oberammergau was a nice time for shopping and getting gelato, or more traditional Bavarian treats! The guide at Linderhof was especially good - the overall impression I get is that they take great pride in the history and artwork in these gorgeous castles, and convey that message accordingly.
I would recommend this tour to everyone and even take it again myself.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We really enjoyed this tour and the guide Matt was full of interesting history on the buildings and events that took place over centuries in Munich. None of the group of five had ridden Segways before but we were well prepped beforehand and really had fun on them but in a safe, controlled manner. We would thoroughly recommend this tour to others interested in getting around the city and learning as you go.

Doing what: Munich Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great and fun tour. Levi, our guide was wonderful and knowledgeable about the food and history of the area. I have been to Munich many times, however, I truly enjoyed this tour. The length of time was just perfect. The food tasting was outstanding!

Doing what: Munich Bavarian Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

What a fun tour! Not only did we get to taste some great food - some of which I would never have tried on my own - but the tour was filled with all sorts of interesting facts about Munich and the surrounding area. Levi was our tour guide, and he was GREAT! I would recommend this tour to anyone visiting Munich.

Doing what: Munich Bavarian Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My wife and I were somewhat apprehensive about taking a beer-related group bus tour in Munich. We were worried that it may be a little too "touristy" and that we would not get anything out of it. We only took the tour because of a dead spot in our schedule and it had good reviews on Viator. It turned out to be one of our best experiences in Munich. To our surprise, the overwhelming majority of the participants were German so the bus ride alone was an immersion into German culture. The guide on the bus tour was very knowledgeable of Munich and the history of beer.

Once we arrived at Paulaner brewery, we immediately started with beer and pretzels. For the first 45 minutes at the brewery, the whole group just drank beer and socialized. When it was time for the tour to start, the German group left roughly 10 minutes ahead of the English speaking group. This was great because I am sure that neither group wanted to sit through hearing the same presentation twice. The English speaking group was small (just 6 of us) and we were able to ask a lot of questions about the brewery and get a personal experience with our guide.

At the end of the tour the bus loaded up with a happier and more talkative group than it started what it started with. I would definitely recommend this tour for anyone interested in the history of beer in Munich.

Doing what: Behind-the-Scenes Paulaner Brewery and Beer Tour in Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Definitely worth doing. The Hofbrauhaus was fun as was the trip to Olympic Park and the ride to the top of the tower for a beautiful view of Munich at night. A nightcap at a famous hotel was a plus. Good time, good food

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Really had a fun evening! We hopped around Munich from beer tastings at the beer museum to a German restaurant for food tastings to end up at the Hofbrau House! Looked inside but didn't stay! We had already had enough beer for one evening, but went back another day on our own!

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very interesting! Our guide was so knowledgeable about Hitler and his rise to power. Walking through Munich made it all come alive.

Doing what: Hitler and the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

What fun!!! Our tour guide was wonderful and so knowledgeable. That day they had a German-speaking tour going with 30 people as well as our English-speaking tour which we were the only ones plus the guide! We lucked into a private tour! We loved riding through Munich, and because it was so close to Octoberfest, she took us by to see the tents being built, too. We try to do a bike tour on every vacation we take!

Doing what: Munich Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The tour guide Ian was amazing. This was great we went to a few spots, had pretzels and snacks and the beer was awesome. He also took us later to a local bar so we really got a feel of local untouristy Munich.

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message