There’s more to Munich than Oktoberfest – whether it’s beer halls, history, arts, or sport, Germany's second largest city has plenty to keep visitors occupied. It's located within some of the world's most beautiful scenery: alps, lakes, and truly ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 278 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour. Our guide was VERY knowledgeable and personable. Highly recommend this tour. Quite a bit of walking, but at a pace that most folks should be OK with. Great way to get out and see Munich. Made history come alive. Really happy we decided on this tour.

Doing what: Hitler and the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Outstanding tour. A great way to see Munich. Just enough information. Not too much

Doing what: Munich Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was raining in Munich (October 17, 2014) when we caught the bus in front of Karstadt's. We were feeling a little sorry for ourselves, but things improved along the way! There ended up being three couples on our tour including us. The ride from Town to Neuschwanstein, even in the rain, was lovely with commentary by the guide as we rode along. I said to my wife: "You, know the ride alone with the commentary is worth the price of the tour." When we arrived, the rain had stopped. Our guide was excellent. She told us step by step what would happen. We stood in only one line all day and that was for only 10 minutes. Our group going through the castle was about 30 people, 24 of whom were with one tour group. We 6 let them go ahead of us and they would leave each room and we had the room to ourselves. Our guide arranged for a van to shuttle us up to Castle for only 2 Euros each, a good deal. Then she explained how we could catch the horse drawn carriage on the way down, 3 Euros each, still a good deal After Neuschwanstein the guide asked us if we wanted to see The Church in the Meadows, a UNESCO sight. We said yes. Wow, what a treat. When I saw the large Church in the Meadow (seriously) I thought it was nice. When I stepped through the doors and saw the alter, it literally took my breath away! You have to see to believe. Then we went to Oberammergau the home of the Passion Play done by the townspeople every 10 years (not this year). But the little town was a simple fun stop to look at the shops and see the theatre that seats 4,800 and the town is only 5,000. Finally, we got to Linderhoff Castle for our tour. Wonderful. No line. Even though they were closing (DLS time change that was unexpected--Germany doesn't all change on the same day.) our guide called ahead and made arrangements. On the way back to Munich we saw two videos about Ludwig II. The tour was expensive but we knew we were only going once in our lives. Money well spent.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We were very lucky that the weather was very good. At the summit, the visibility was up to 140km.
Everything was good, from the bus ride, to the cable car ride up, to the time spent on the top, and the cog railway down. I took lots and lots of pictures until my camera ran out of battery.
At the summit, there was a short climbing trip holding on to steel cables and bars anchored to the rock. It led you to the cross at the actual summit. It is certainly for those who are more adventurous. It was outside the usual tourist fence, done at your own risk, but certainly added another dimension of fun to the mostly arranged tour.
Because of the good weather, the traffic back to Munich took a little longer. The tour leader was very attentive. Overall it was a very good trip.

Doing what: Ettal Monastery and Zugspitze Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour is a great way to get some great history of Munich, as well as enjoy plenty of traditional German beer and snacks. Our tour guide Keith was absolutely excellent. We highly recommend this tour to others planning on traveling to Munich!

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour and our guide was terrific. The extra paid for the small group tour was well worth it as we were able to pass by some of the longer lines because our guide was awesome. Quite a lot of time in the bus going to and from Munich, but it didn't feel that way and far better than doing on our own. Both castles are must see's.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We enjoyed our bike tour a lot. The girl we had spoke excellent English (she was from the US). She was very knowledgeable and showed us a lot around Munich. I would definitely recommend this tour for everyone.

Doing what: Munich Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our Scottish guide Keith (?) guided us around Munich for 2-1/2 hours to highlight important Nazi sites. He was very thorough and had a good sense of humor. 85% of Munich was destroyed during WWII, but many Nazi sites were left intact. So much of what we saw was re-built including Marienplatz where the tour started after travelling from the Munich Bahnhof. Munich was starting to get crazy because they were getting ready for Octoberfest and a lot of the activities had already started. We arranged the tour through Viator. Two of the many interesting sites were the Hofbrauhaus and Feldherrnhalle/Dodger’s Ally. The first floor of the Hofbrauhaus where Hitler started his rise to power and gave many speeches was not damaged. On the ceiling you can still see the swastikas blended into the painting and not painted over after the war. The Feldherrnhalle is where the Nazis made a memorial to the failed 1923 overthrow of the government and dodger’s ally where many Germans tried to avoid passing by the memorial which required them to salute it or be punished. Many were punished by not saluting as they passed and by trying to avoid the memorial. Felderrnhalle and Odeonplatz is the site of many Nazi party speeches and gatherings. This tour fills in a lot of information about the beginnings of the Nazi party.

Doing what: Hitler and the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Keith was an AWESOME tour guide. Took us to many great Munich historic sites, parks, beer garden, as well as being very informative about the area.

We had a BLAST - thank you Keith! Very good tour and well worth the cost!

Doing what: Munich Super Saver: Bike Tour plus Bavarian Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is WELL WORTH the few extra dollars (or Euro) for an intimate, smaller-group tour. Francesca was amazing, knew her subject matter quite well (and then some), and allowed for quiet time on the trip back to Munich. She arranged for a private shuttle at Neuschwanstein to arrive at Mary's Bridge quicker and with fewer hills to hike up! She gave each tourist a "goodie bag" and drinks and even took pictures of us with our cameras so that both/all can be in the photo. She was a fantastic guide, and our driver was quite capable as well.
The day was planned out perfectly, and the order that we did everything in was the best way to avoid the crowds. The extra side-trip to Oberammergau was a nice time for shopping and getting gelato, or more traditional Bavarian treats! The guide at Linderhof was especially good - the overall impression I get is that they take great pride in the history and artwork in these gorgeous castles, and convey that message accordingly.
I would recommend this tour to everyone and even take it again myself.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We really enjoyed this tour and the guide Matt was full of interesting history on the buildings and events that took place over centuries in Munich. None of the group of five had ridden Segways before but we were well prepped beforehand and really had fun on them but in a safe, controlled manner. We would thoroughly recommend this tour to others interested in getting around the city and learning as you go.

Doing what: Munich Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great and fun tour. Levi, our guide was wonderful and knowledgeable about the food and history of the area. I have been to Munich many times, however, I truly enjoyed this tour. The length of time was just perfect. The food tasting was outstanding!

Doing what: Munich Bavarian Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

What a fun tour! Not only did we get to taste some great food - some of which I would never have tried on my own - but the tour was filled with all sorts of interesting facts about Munich and the surrounding area. Levi was our tour guide, and he was GREAT! I would recommend this tour to anyone visiting Munich.

Doing what: Munich Bavarian Food Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My wife and I were somewhat apprehensive about taking a beer-related group bus tour in Munich. We were worried that it may be a little too "touristy" and that we would not get anything out of it. We only took the tour because of a dead spot in our schedule and it had good reviews on Viator. It turned out to be one of our best experiences in Munich. To our surprise, the overwhelming majority of the participants were German so the bus ride alone was an immersion into German culture. The guide on the bus tour was very knowledgeable of Munich and the history of beer.

Once we arrived at Paulaner brewery, we immediately started with beer and pretzels. For the first 45 minutes at the brewery, the whole group just drank beer and socialized. When it was time for the tour to start, the German group left roughly 10 minutes ahead of the English speaking group. This was great because I am sure that neither group wanted to sit through hearing the same presentation twice. The English speaking group was small (just 6 of us) and we were able to ask a lot of questions about the brewery and get a personal experience with our guide.

At the end of the tour the bus loaded up with a happier and more talkative group than it started what it started with. I would definitely recommend this tour for anyone interested in the history of beer in Munich.

Doing what: Behind-the-Scenes Paulaner Brewery and Beer Tour in Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Definitely worth doing. The Hofbrauhaus was fun as was the trip to Olympic Park and the ride to the top of the tower for a beautiful view of Munich at night. A nightcap at a famous hotel was a plus. Good time, good food

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message