• USD ($)
  • English
As the host for the world’s largest beer festival, Oktoberfest, Munich has long been a Mecca for beer lovers, and you can’t visit the Bavarian capital without stopping at one of its legendary beer halls. It’s not only the beer that scores fans, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 200 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great way to learn the history of German beer and to lift a few! Beer and food were excellent and Kathleen our tour guide is very knowledgeable. Would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

What our Iain didn't know about German beer, wasn't worth knowing. Fantastic tour and highly recommended!

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Ian was charismatic, knowledgeable and a great tour guide. Made everyone feel welcome and was happy to share his knowledge! This was an easy and inexpensive way to experience the bavarian food, beer and the bars/beer halls. Thoroughly recommended.

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Great time!
Kicked off the tour with a beer in the tour office!
The tour of the Beer Museum was informative and enjoyable and the beer tastings were nice. Hans our guide kept things moving along and provided much history, he clearly has tons of Munich beer knowledge.
The cold meat and cheese dinner at the Hofbraukeller was our favorite part - fantastic sampling of sausages, cheeses and vegetables that paired perfectly with the beer.
Used both the regional train and local buses during this tour, but easy since all we had to do was follow the guide.

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Keith showed us how to get around and explained many of the sights really well. The beer.....AWESOME!!! We had a great time. Recommend this one for sure

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had arrived in Munich, for our first visit, that afternoon and this tour was an excellent introduction to the city and its beer drinking culture. The guide was first class, friendly and informative, and an enthusiast about his subject. Good value and highly enjoyable. Martin Clay

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

EXCELLENT. Our tour guide Ian, knows so much about beer and it's history. He was fabulous and the beer was amazing and I don't even like beer much! I highly recommend if you have a free night in Munich and want to learn some history and how beer has played such a major role in the economics and culture of this country. Very fun group of people too! I was traveling alone and met so many nice people. Thank you!!

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I would highly recommend this tour to others looking for a unique Bavarian experience while learning a great deal of history and culture. The trip took us to several places in Munich, some of which required hopping on public transportation. Notable stops on the tour included the Bier and Oktoberfest museum as well as the original HB brewery. Our tour guide ensured a great atmosphere that was both fun and educational. The tour culminates at the world famous Hofbrau House at which point you walk inside and put to use all you have learned. Be advised, this is not a bar crawl tour. Our tour included several beers as well a great dinner spread, but those looking for mass consumption of beer in Munich should look elsewhere.

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

What an amazing start to our trip to Munich! Our tour guide, Annette was simply outstanding. We got off to a late start which was more due to other passengers than our guide or driver. When we finally left Annette started the tour off with some jokes and a very informative tour of the city on the way to the Hofbrauhaus.
Based on other reviews my friend and I knew it would be difficult to get extra beer there so when we sat we set about trying to get our server's attention and he was extremely helpful. The Hofbauhaus was really something to see, despite its dark history, it was warm and fun and the singing and dancing were really fun to watch.
The Olympic tower offered really beautiful views of the city, and there was a great little gift shop on the main floor.
The last stop had live music and a nice ambience. The drinks were ridiculously over priced! Stick with the one that is included in the tour.
As other reviewers said, we got back late. This did put my friend and I in a tricky situation as we missed the last bus to our hotel and couldn't get a cab (we were staying just outside of Munich) and we were very lucky to have security offer us a ride.

Doing what: Munich by Night and Dinner at Hofbrauhaus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Well worth the money and effort. We met great people and the beer, food, and commentary from our guide Roland, was superb. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Iain, our tour guide was great.
We met at the train station, had a beer while awaiting some other guest, had another while Iain explained what our night would consist of, then a small number of us had another beer to really enjoy the bavarian spirit!
We hopped on the S train, to get to destination #1, BEER MUSEUM..... was very different than expected (we had just from Amsterdam, and the Heinekin Experience ). Here, we learned about the history of Bavarian beer. The 4 ingredient, only 4! The ice lined kellers ( cellars)! And the chestnut trees above the kellers.
We sampled 3 different beers. A dark Lager, a light Lager, and a horrible wheat beer. The wheat beer was one of only two beers on our whole vacation I could drink. The other one was also a wheat beer, I guess I've learned something! Along with the beer samples were pretzels. MMMMMMmmmmmm, they were goooood!
Off to the HofbrauKeller. Where the beer was stored. Here we chatted a little more about a lot of things and enjoyed a large plate of mixed meats, veggies, cheeses.....and pretzels!
After we gourged and some HofBrau Summer Special Lager, we were loaded into the S train again back MarienPlatz, where we walked a short distance to THE Hofbrauhaus.
BUMMER, it was soooo full that my wife and couldn't find a seat. we retired to the hotel, it had been a long day. But not before walking upstairs to see where Hitler gave his first public speech!
This is a great way to experience the Bavarian way of life, try it!

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Irish Keith, our tour guide was so fun and knowledgable. The pace of the your was perfect, not spending too long on one thing. The beer and pretzel tasting at the Oktoberfest museum was fun! Definitely a must while you're in Munich.

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

An entertaining guide, good food and stops at some of the "must do" beer locations make this tour worthwhile. I arrived in Munich only hours before and this tour gave a great taste (pun intended) of the local culture.

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

It was fantastic. Really enjoyed it. Loved going to the beer gardens and the Octoberfest museum was great. Food was also great. Loved it all.

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

You really get the taste of beer and bavarian food...I'm not much of a beer drinking but their beer is really good!

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message