The start of Advent season brings the traditional Christmas markets to the squares and streets of Munich. The most well-known market is Christkindlmarkt, located in Marienplatz. The twinkling holiday lights against the backdrop of Munich's oldest ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 29 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

BARRY C

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Excellent tour, the tour guide was great

Doing what: Munich Christmas Markets Tour

Dan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very nice tour including some lesser known markets.

Doing what: Munich Christmas Markets Tour

William A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was a great way to see all of the Christkindl markets downtown. Highly recommend!!!

Doing what: Munich Christmas Markets Tour

Linda D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We took this christmas markets tour on our first full day in Munich so it helped us to get a sense of the lay our of the city. The tour guide took us to a variety of the many Christmas markets and described distinctions of each. Our guide was knowledgeable of the markets, as well as of Munich, and showed us historical buildings along the way I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Munich Christmas Markets Tour

Ray United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was my third trip to Munich. I had never visited the Christmas Markets before. This tour was excellent, my tour guide was Anushka, and she was fantastic. She was very knowledgeable about the area and she was lively and very entertaining. The two hour tour went quickly but there was plenty of time to sightsee and experience what Munich had to offer. I would recommend this tour to everyone. Thank you Anushka for being pleasant, personable and very helpful.

Doing what: Munich Christmas Markets Tour

Emma M

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

This tour was good enjoyed seeing all the different markets

Doing what: Munich Christmas Markets Tour

Mark D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Munich Christmas Markets Tour

lucysasha

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Munich Christmas Markets Tour

tger68

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

LOTS of walking but it was great. This is the way to see the markets...after so many they all look the same, but you learn this while visiting the 5 markets and then can return on your own to actually shop at the ones you enjoyed. Would recommend as a great value.

Doing what: Munich Christmas Markets Tour

Dennis S

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

A great way to see the local area.

Doing what: Munich Christmas Markets Tour

Doreen S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2014

I am not sure the tour was worth the money. I only really booked the tour to be shown the main markets as I had heard they were a little tricky to find.
The tour guide was nice and entertaining but the two hours were spent walking in a very small district therefore more markets could be covered. We saw 4 with the guide and visited St Michael's, The town hall, the restaurant underneath the town hall. The last 15 minutes of the tour was spent with the guide talking to her friends.

I am sure others could find the tour of great interest but personally, it wasn't for me.

Doing what: Munich Christmas Markets Tour

Jennifer S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Outstanding! I learned quite a bit on this interesting tour. Yolanda was a fun, excellent guide. Gave us a tour of the Christmas Markets as well as some famous landmarks in the area. Good times!

Doing what: Munich Christmas Markets Tour

Jami S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour with guide Adam was very enjoyable. He was knowledgeable and passionate about the culture and history of the markets. As we walked through the city and to the different markets, he gave us the information in such a way that we could hear, see, smell and participate in what he was telling us. Even after the tour at other markets, I could see and notice all the similarities and differences that I would not have known and appreciated without this tour.

Doing what: Munich Christmas Markets Tour

Jeffrey C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Kathleen really gave us a great overview of the markets and it was a huge help in getting us oriented to the city. We recommend you take this tour the first day or two of your visit! Really helpful and Kathleen was great!!!

Doing what: Munich Christmas Markets Tour

Terence J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The guide was excellent despite the poor weather. He kept us interested for the whole tour and was good at answering questions and talking to each tour member individually.
Well done and thanks

Doing what: Munich Christmas Markets Tour

Amelia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Lots of people little hard to see things need to go back explore self

Doing what: Munich Christmas Markets Tour

boose

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

What a wonderful tour. Adam is a wonderful, delightful guide. Personality plus! He filled the afternoon with historical facts and a wonderful sense of humor! Definitely recommend.

Doing what: Munich Christmas Markets Tour

omarhabib

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

great tour thanks to Adam.... well organized...

Doing what: Munich Christmas Markets Tour

Rita M

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The tour was great, knowledgeable guide providing insights to the five Christmas markets we visited. We were lucky enough to run into the Krampus parade (misbehaving children are chased by these Orc like creatures with switches instead of getting coal in their stockings).

Doing what: Munich Christmas Markets Tour

John W D Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The tour was very good although we had light rain, but this did not deter from the Christmas festive feeling. Our guide informed us of the history behind the markets that we visited and was also informative on all other aspects.

Doing what: Munich Christmas Markets Tour

NickK

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2014

To say this was a walking tour would not be correct, more like a run. Not a professional tour.

Tour guide walked too quickly, did not wait for people to arrive before speaking so we missed a lot of what was said. There were no headsets provide so we could not hear the tour guide clearly with all of the background noise in the market areas.

Too much said / focus about beer drinking, sizes of beers and beer prices, which seemed irrelevant to the tour topic. Walking into a Church and straight back out again with no explanation seemed pointless and off topic. Walking into a grocery shop and straight back out again with no time to look or purchase anything also seemed off topic and pointless.

Would have appreciated if the tour guide spent more time talking about the Christmas markets, the history and traditions and the products being sold. This tour seemed like a boot camp exercise routine to run through various Christmas markets around Munich. Would have been better if we saw less markets and spent more time listening to an explanation about markets and products being sold.

Would not recommend this tour.

Doing what: Munich Christmas Markets Tour

David G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our theatrical and entertaining guide, Adam, couldn't have been more enthusiastic and keen to show us the magical Munich Christmas markets. Thoroughly enjoyed the tour and his 'insider' tips and recommendations. Oh - make sure you try a Wild Boar Sandwich at the Medieval Christmas Market - FANTASTIC!!

Doing what: Munich Christmas Markets Tour

Lynn S

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2013

I was not aware that the tour would end in the Christmas Market and that we would not be returning to our starting place. I was left stranded at night, in downtown Munich, totally lost. As a single woman, it was frightening. Had a terrible time finding my way back to my hotel as it was Sunday night and the shops were closed. It was a very uncomfortable situation as I had just arrived in Munich that day and was not familiar with the area. I wish that the guide would have gotten me back to a bus stop or underground station.

Doing what: Munich Christmas Markets Tour

Lidiia K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2013

The tour was delightful, the guide was good, the weather - not! Was raining all day....

Doing what: Munich Christmas Markets Tour

Cathal G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Myself and my wife enjoyed a fantastic day touring the Christmas markets with our guide Adam. Without the tour we would probably have experienced less than half of what Munich and the markets has to offer. This tour is a must is you are visiting the markets. P.S. ask for Adam the tour guide!

Doing what: Munich Christmas Markets Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message