• USD ($)
  • English
The inspiration for Sleeping Beauty's castle at Disneyland, Neuschwanstein was built by King Ludwig II in the 19th century. Capture the grandeur of this architecture and picturesque mountain scenery on a visit to these extraordinary castles, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 83 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

What can you say about a mix of fairyland and historic reality. Fascinating Castle and the story that goes with it. Visiting in winter may have made it harder for the perfect photos, but the wonder of the scenery with the snow was glorious. We had lunch at (as it turned out the only restaurant open, Winter again) feastedon some lovely German Fare beautiful.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

WHAT A GREAT TRIP TO THE CASTLES AND GERMAN VILLAGE. EXCELLENT GUIDE WHO WAS VERY HELPFUL. DO YOURSELVES A FAVOUR AND GO ON THE TRIP.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I highly recommend this tour! Do not miss these two castles if you are in Germany. Monika was one of the best tour guides we had after 3 weeks in Europe. She spoke very good english and gave us just enough information about the castles! It was a great day!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Victor B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent tour of two grand castles of Germany and a short stint along the romantic road to get to them.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

You can't come to Germany and not do this tour! The sites were beautiful and it was definitely worth going to the Linderhof Castle before Neuschwanstein. It's a long trek up, so take the bus up and walk back down. Your time is limited so you'll want to spend more time at the castle and then enjoy the view on the way back.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Oh my goodness...rising out of the side of the mountain is the Castle! Given the elevation, I'm SO glad we had the option of taking a bus up to the castle..and SHOULD have taken it round-trip! Mike, our guide, was a blast on the bus and a font of knowledge...Definitely glad we booked this tour, especially given our limited time in Germany...Mary's Bridge is a great experience and I really enjoyed the artist and the hurdy-gurdy man that "entertain" there...felt like walking back in time...

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Both Linderhof and Neuschwanstein Castles were amazing to tour! Definitely a different feel than the other castles we visited while visiting Germany. They were luxurious! We took the shuttle bus up the hill and got off above the castle. Make sure you get to the shuttle meeting spot early before your scheduled tour time because there tends to be a long waiting time, but well worth the ride up. When you get off the shuttle, you can walk up hill for a few minutes to the bridge to see the wonderful view of the castle. Bridge was very crowded, but after a few moments you can find a spot to take pictures. After your visit to the bridge it's an easy walk down to the castle. Our tour guide was very informative about the history of the castle. After the tour it was a downhill walk to the town. We felt we had plenty of time in the town.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed this wonderful tour.Despite the rainy gray day, our guide Ursula took us on a wonderful and heaped in interesting historical facts tour that is not to be missed.Her obvious love of the architecture and Bavarian pride gave us a terrific glimpse into Ludwig11 and the undertakings of the Linderhof castle and the Neushwanstein.This is the most visited site in Germany and for good reason as it is too grand for words.it would be nice to spend a bit more time in the castle but understandably they are processing so many visitors.so we moved quite quickly.despite this short time there are beautiful grounds and sites and shopping to fulfill anyones needs.It is a quality and expertly run, organized tour.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Loved seeing the castles. This is a long day, but is nice for someone else to do the driving! The "walk" us to Neuschwanstien is steep and a great way to burn the German pastries off the body!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Markus, our guide was superb! We had great weather for our travels,. The boat trips on the Chiemsee were wonderful. because of the sunshine and warm temps. Markus did a fantastic job of communicating in German and English..switching back and forth every few words so that everyone was always informed. We loved the whole experience; of course, the castle was magnificent, as were the grounds. The tour went smoothly. Would not have liked it if there had been rain, as there was so much outside activity in addition to the inside castle viewing.

Doing what: Royal Castle of Herrenchiemsee and Fraueninsel Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

How amazing are the castle and palace.The walk from the parking area to Neuschwanstein was a hike so if your unfit be prepared and take the shuttle bus or horses! But give yourself plenty of time to get back to the bus, we didn't as we were trying to get to the bridge at the back for a great pic and were going to take a shortcut down the hill but when we got there the track was closed so had to run back up the stairs and then down the hill to the bus! But definitely worth it, even if they were resorting some and it was covered by scaffholding.
The little towns we stopped in before the castle for the wood carvings were very nice, if you plan of getting a German cuckoo clock get them here and have them shipped home, the prices are better than in Munich

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

It was a fantastic day trip, be mindful of other reviews because it's true, there is no time to look around in Linderhof, which is a shame. And I feel I could have done with another half hour or even hour to look around Oberammergau, they have great gift shops and friendly people with yummy food that we didn't have enough time to sample. You stop at the bottom of Neuschwanstein castle for 1hr 1/2 or so, they suggest a restaurant, but I suggest you find another one on your own. We walked up and down, it was tiring but worth it, more enjoyable too. The tour guide was German, so it was hard to understand her at times and she repeated herself a lot. Overall definitely recommended.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2012

Great tour! Guide Rolanda was awesome. On the way and throughout the tour we got a Great history lesson. If you are in OK physical shape be sure to walk up and down to the castle, the scenery is amazing. The tour is a all-day, so eat well before you go or eat a Brat at the rest stop before heading to castle. This is a must do tour in Germany!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Our guide was a first-class tour guide. He was extremely knowledgable about the history of the castle and indeed was very knowledgable about German history. We thoroughly enjoyed the tour and found our guide both willing and capable of giving as much information as you demanded. He even recommended books for further reading. We didn't take the inside tour of the castle, having read other reviews of it. The people in our group that did said they thought we had done the right thing and gone off for a walk. Doing that we saw the lake which we wouldn't have been able to do had we taken the inside tour. The views are beautiful. A word of warning, even though it may not be cold in Munich, you are heading into the mountains, there was a small amount of snow and slush, not a problem for us as we went suitably clothed but some in our group were not at all dressed for the cold conditions and ended up with wet feet. We went in April. Go on the trip - it is well worth it! Take your camera. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

I found the tour to be as advertised. Our guide was knowledgeable and friendly. He was sensitive to the needs of the group and was free to give us advice on going various routes, etc. I am sorry I don't remember his name but he was from Minnesota and had been in Germany about 8 years. While my wife and I had been there before, anyone who had not might not realize how long the climb is to get to the castle, so I recommend you somehow let them know up front. Great tour.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message