The inspiration for Sleeping Beauty's castle at Disneyland, Neuschwanstein was built by King Ludwig II in the 19th century. Capture the grandeur of this architecture and picturesque mountain scenery on a visit to these extraordinary castles, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 100 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The trip to Neuschwanstein Castle was by far the best day we spent in Germany. Our guide, Austin, was extremely knowledgeable and kept us on schedule throughout the trip. The views were spectacular..would recommend this trip to anyone going to Munich..A don't miss excursion.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour and tour guide was AMAZING! She provided the perfect amount of information while on the bus and kept us on schedule. I was very hesitant since I've never used Viator and also, never been to Germany before but after booking the tour I double checked the viator and trip advisor reviews. Definitely check these reviews- there was a longer one that was spot-on so you can be prepared to get everything out of the tour you want. The tour company had obviously checked these reviews and has made minor adjustments that made all the difference for us to maximize our time at all three spots (2 castles and bavarain shopping village).
- arrive early to get good bus seats
- take water and snacks with you
- be ready to move quickly, especially if you have small kids - you have to keep on a fairly regimented schedule to make it to everything so bringing lunch with you (or stop at the quicker vendors along the walk up to Neuschwanstein or at the top) could shave time to be able to shop more and spend more time at the castles.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This has been the coolest part of my trip to Europe this time and my first trip 10 years ago. The bus company is subcontracted to haul people on the tour to Neuschwanstein. There was a slight miscommunication I believe with our original bus guide and it looked like the trip was going to be a bust. Once we figured out what the official agenda was and that we were on the right tour it completely 180'd. When we got to Neuschwanstein and realized that we had to check into the Muller Hotel the trip became highly recommended. The castles were amazing. Neuschwanstein is a must see if you stay there or not. I recommend going inside the castles at least once. Neuschwanstein looks like a Disney castle and is good for people of all ages. The Muller hotel was as good and hospitable hotel as I have stayed at. The staff deserves the highest rating. The double room also very cozy with the old German feel. We had enough time to check out the other castle the following day (Hohenschwangau) and take in the sights. The night we stayed we took a cab ride to Fussen which is a local smaller town with enough to do. I would stay at the Fussen again and could spend several days there. Everyone around town was also very accommodating. For the most part everyone speaks English and if you know the basics in German you should have no problem. The tour guide that took us back to Munich after the night stay was also very knowledgeable and had all of her ducks in a row. I think the poor experience with getting to Neuschwanstein was a complete fluke and do not expect repeat trouble for anyone else. I highly recommend this tour and would consider doing it when I make it back to Munich.

Doing what: Overnight Royal Castles Tour - Linderhof, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This has been the coolest part of my trip to Europe this time and my first trip 10 years ago. The bus company is subcontracted to haul people on the tour to Neuschwanstein. There was a slight miscommunication I believe with our original bus guide and it looked like the trip was going to be a bust. Once we figured out what the official agenda was and that we were on the right tour it completely 180'd. When we got to Neuschwanstein and realized that we had to check into the Muller Hotel the trip became highly recommended. The castles were amazing. Neuschwanstein is a must see if you stay there or not. I recommend going inside the castles at least once. Neuschwanstein looks like a Disney castle and is good for people of all ages. The Muller hotel was as good and hospitable hotel as I have stayed at. The staff deserves the highest rating. The double room also very cozy with the old German feel. We had enough time to check out the other castle the following day (Hohenschwangau) and take in the sights. The night we stayed we took a cab ride to Fussen which is a local smaller town with enough to do. I would stay at the Fussen again and could spend several days there. Everyone around town was also very accommodating. For the most part everyone speaks English and if you know the basics in German you should have no problem. The tour guide that took us back to Munich after the night stay was also very knowledgeable and had all of her ducks in a row. I think the poor experience with getting to Neuschwanstein was a complete fluke and do not expect repeat trouble for anyone else. I highly recommend this tour and would consider doing it when I make it back to Munich.

Doing what: Overnight Royal Castles Tour - Linderhof, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was great! Very accommodating and alots of knowledge! Our tour guide Francesca was amazing! Although there are lots of tourists it's worth it! Not just for the big castle! Great way to see the country side of Germany!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was wonderful to have someone walk us through how to get to Neuschwanstein from Munich - took a lot of the stress away! Our guide was an American who had moved to Germany, so his English was perfect. We got a lot more of the history with this tour then if we had just done the castle tour on our own. It was also nice not to have to wait in line. Apparently, some people wait in line all day and don't actually get into the castle! I highly recommend this if you are planning to go to Neuschwanstein!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent one day trip to see the Bavarian Alps, Linderhof Castle, Oberammergau and tour Neuschwanstein Castle!! We packed a lot of activity into one day and enjoyed everything. Our guide was excellent and informative. It is very difficult to try to replicate this tour on your own with a car or public transportation. It is well worth the money and day to enjoy this beautiful part of Germany!!! My only disappoint was the lack of time in Oberammergau! Our stop was too short to even walk down the street. An additional half hour added to this stop would increase the value to allow for viewing the town and grabbing a coffee or a quick shopping stop. Also, the lunch in Neuschwanstein recommended was excellent and quick, necessary fuel for hiking to Neuschwanstein.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide was Jeff who was very good, in fact we had met him on another Munich based walking tour some years ago so a real pro! this was my fourth visit to the castle over a number of years so I didn't learn anything new and you can easily read up on the Mad King from numerous guide books.
Yes you could do this yourself, but avoiding the booking office queue and the transfers to and from Fussen is worth the cost. Neuschwanstein is iconic and a must to visit but in my view it is the setting that makes this the # 1 attraction and I much prefer Linderhoff. Be warned, this attraction is very popular and the tour itself is run to a time slot leaving little time to really appreciate the interior.
Unless you are fit, take the bus up the track!
Yes there are other tours offering more as part of the trip but my advice would be to avoid as there is simply not enough time to fit everything in.

If you are in southern Germany you must do this trip at least once and if based in Munich this is the best way of doing it.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Out tour of Linderhof and Neuchwanstein with Viator was really great! Our tour guide Elizabeth told our group ton of information, not only about the castles and the history associated with them but also about Bavaria and overall German society. As an American I found it all very interesting and I appreciated her perspective on the many topics she covered. In addition she was very personable and friendly and made every effort to answer questions and assist in any way she could.
The all day tour is about the right length of time and the bus, a modern comfortable motor coach, was a nice ride, and the pickup location next to the train station is very convenient. Both castles are spectacular places with beautiful surroundings in remote locations and I believe this tour is a good value, especially if you are in Munich without a car. If you are in Munich or Bavaria and have the time, you'll be glad you visited Neuschwanstein and Linderhof and I think Viator is the easiest way to do it!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide was exceptional, and was so well versed in the history and the geography of everything we saw. The scenery to and from Munich is spectacular. We would be remiss if we did not mention that the walk up to Neuschwanstein from the village should not be taken if one has health problems. The bus and carriage to the castle would be better options.
We have used Viatour on 4 previous tours in Germany and Poland, and we heartily recommend Viatour as we have not been disappointed.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Wonderful tour! 8 inches of snow fell at the castles the night before our tour and upon arrival to the castles the scenery was like a fairy tale. Bus ride to and from the castles was pleasant. The guide was okay but seemed a bit unorganized in her communication while on the bus. She was friendly and pleasant and there was no issue understanding her pronunciation. This was one of the highlights of our trip to Germany!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

What can you say about a mix of fairyland and historic reality. Fascinating Castle and the story that goes with it. Visiting in winter may have made it harder for the perfect photos, but the wonder of the scenery with the snow was glorious. We had lunch at (as it turned out the only restaurant open, Winter again) feastedon some lovely German Fare beautiful.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

WHAT A GREAT TRIP TO THE CASTLES AND GERMAN VILLAGE. EXCELLENT GUIDE WHO WAS VERY HELPFUL. DO YOURSELVES A FAVOUR AND GO ON THE TRIP.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I highly recommend this tour! Do not miss these two castles if you are in Germany. Monika was one of the best tour guides we had after 3 weeks in Europe. She spoke very good english and gave us just enough information about the castles! It was a great day!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Victor B
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent tour of two grand castles of Germany and a short stint along the romantic road to get to them.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message