The inspiration for Sleeping Beauty's castle at Disneyland, Neuschwanstein was built by King Ludwig II in the 19th century. Capture the grandeur of this architecture and picturesque mountain scenery on a visit to these extraordinary castles, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 119 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We both absolutely loved this tour - made extra special by our tour guide Elizabeth. Elizabeth was a treasure trove of information and kept us entertained with information during the ride to and from the castles and Munich. Truly one of the best tour guides and tours. Not only do you visit two castles but you also see the German countryside. Loved every minute of our 8 hours.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a great trip, everything was super punctual and on time. Picked up from the Karsdat department store in Munich and left promptly at 8.30, Lindenhof was first and even though it was a hot day, the air conditioned bus was a nice reprieve. A little ice cream and coffeebreak in Oberammergau, I would suggest getting your touristy German souvenirs here, they were much cheaper than those in Munich and better quality. Especially the beer steins. Also tax free!
Then off to Neuschwanstein. First Lunch, We chose to walk up the hill even though it was blistering hot. Everyone else was in t-shirts and shorts, and here I am as the girl who chose to wear woollen skirts and a corset with a long haired wig prancing around as Sleeping Beauty to visit the sleeping Beauty castle.
Great fun though! Spend the time going up to Mary's Bridge to take photos.
The interior of Linderhof is more impressive than Neuschwanstein, but they both have their charms.
Then ran for the bus so we can get home. Even with traffic we got back at around 7pm in Munich. Great day.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was the best way to see the castles. We loved being in a small-group and the luxury coach was a great way to travel the German country-side. Our guide was very knowledgeable and made for a great day.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

You can travel to the area and get to the castle on your own, but taking this tour made logistics SO much easier! I really appreciated the advance purchase ticket so I was guaranteed a spot in the castle that day. I can see why this is the most popular tourist sight in all of Germany. I'm just glad I was with someone who helped me navigate it so well. Our guide Austin was very charismatic and funny. Don't fuss with going on your own. Book the tour for the interesting historic information and the ease of travel!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

While we didn't actually get to tour Linderhof due to the G7 conference that was occurring in Germany at the time, this tour was nevertheless excellent. Linderhof was replaced with Hohenschwangau castle which was very impressive. Neuschwanstein itself is spectacular. Entertaining guide also.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was excellent. Our tour guide was very knowledgable and she enjoyed what she did. To see these castles in person and stand in this type of history left me speechless.

The german countryside is beautiful. You will see a lot of the countryside from you bus inbetween stops.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was awesome. Our guide, Austin, was an American bloke who has moved across to Germany. He was informative, friendly, funny and really approachable. Also he was really helpful. Not only did he have heaps of knowledge about Neuschwanstein and it's history, he also had good knowledge of Munich's town and his suggestion led to an awesome dinner and evening spent out and about it Munich. If you're going to see this castle, do yourself a favor and book this tour!!!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour guide was very knowledgable and interesting to listen to. The castles are over the top and a must see if you are in the area. The German countryside is beautiful.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a great day trip from Munich! And a MUST see for anyone in this area of Germany. What an incredible day of seeing the countryside of Germany, as well as the Castles and Royal residences. Our tour guide Monica was so knowledgeable about the history of the castles, and everything in between. Couldn't have asked for a better day to explore! Highly recommend for a nice day trip!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A dream come true... the woman on the bus was so knowledgeable about the castles and the countryside of Germany. Do wish we had more time at Linderhof but that was the only thing that could have been better.
Neuschwanstein was awesome... I was like a little child visiting Disneyworld for the first time, definitely woudl go back.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The trip was a complete pleasure, from beginning to end. Our guide joyfully spoke of German history and culture. The bus was new, clean, spacious and comfortable. Linderfof Palace, Obberammergau, and Neuschwanstein Castle were our stops. I highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was raining in Munich (October 17, 2014) when we caught the bus in front of Karstadt's. We were feeling a little sorry for ourselves, but things improved along the way! There ended up being three couples on our tour including us. The ride from Town to Neuschwanstein, even in the rain, was lovely with commentary by the guide as we rode along. I said to my wife: "You, know the ride alone with the commentary is worth the price of the tour." When we arrived, the rain had stopped. Our guide was excellent. She told us step by step what would happen. We stood in only one line all day and that was for only 10 minutes. Our group going through the castle was about 30 people, 24 of whom were with one tour group. We 6 let them go ahead of us and they would leave each room and we had the room to ourselves. Our guide arranged for a van to shuttle us up to Castle for only 2 Euros each, a good deal. Then she explained how we could catch the horse drawn carriage on the way down, 3 Euros each, still a good deal After Neuschwanstein the guide asked us if we wanted to see The Church in the Meadows, a UNESCO sight. We said yes. Wow, what a treat. When I saw the large Church in the Meadow (seriously) I thought it was nice. When I stepped through the doors and saw the alter, it literally took my breath away! You have to see to believe. Then we went to Oberammergau the home of the Passion Play done by the townspeople every 10 years (not this year). But the little town was a simple fun stop to look at the shops and see the theatre that seats 4,800 and the town is only 5,000. Finally, we got to Linderhoff Castle for our tour. Wonderful. No line. Even though they were closing (DLS time change that was unexpected--Germany doesn't all change on the same day.) our guide called ahead and made arrangements. On the way back to Munich we saw two videos about Ludwig II. The tour was expensive but we knew we were only going once in our lives. Money well spent.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide Austin was awesome! Super funny and really engaged our group. The castle was amazing. The sun was shining, the leaves were turning color and we were in an amazing little German town. What is not to love??

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The trip to Neuschwanstein Castle was by far the best day we spent in Germany. Our guide, Austin, was extremely knowledgeable and kept us on schedule throughout the trip. The views were spectacular..would recommend this trip to anyone going to Munich..A don't miss excursion.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our tour and tour guide was AMAZING! She provided the perfect amount of information while on the bus and kept us on schedule. I was very hesitant since I've never used Viator and also, never been to Germany before but after booking the tour I double checked the viator and trip advisor reviews. Definitely check these reviews- there was a longer one that was spot-on so you can be prepared to get everything out of the tour you want. The tour company had obviously checked these reviews and has made minor adjustments that made all the difference for us to maximize our time at all three spots (2 castles and bavarain shopping village).
- arrive early to get good bus seats
- take water and snacks with you
- be ready to move quickly, especially if you have small kids - you have to keep on a fairly regimented schedule to make it to everything so bringing lunch with you (or stop at the quicker vendors along the walk up to Neuschwanstein or at the top) could shave time to be able to shop more and spend more time at the castles.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This has been the coolest part of my trip to Europe this time and my first trip 10 years ago. The bus company is subcontracted to haul people on the tour to Neuschwanstein. There was a slight miscommunication I believe with our original bus guide and it looked like the trip was going to be a bust. Once we figured out what the official agenda was and that we were on the right tour it completely 180'd. When we got to Neuschwanstein and realized that we had to check into the Muller Hotel the trip became highly recommended. The castles were amazing. Neuschwanstein is a must see if you stay there or not. I recommend going inside the castles at least once. Neuschwanstein looks like a Disney castle and is good for people of all ages. The Muller hotel was as good and hospitable hotel as I have stayed at. The staff deserves the highest rating. The double room also very cozy with the old German feel. We had enough time to check out the other castle the following day (Hohenschwangau) and take in the sights. The night we stayed we took a cab ride to Fussen which is a local smaller town with enough to do. I would stay at the Fussen again and could spend several days there. Everyone around town was also very accommodating. For the most part everyone speaks English and if you know the basics in German you should have no problem. The tour guide that took us back to Munich after the night stay was also very knowledgeable and had all of her ducks in a row. I think the poor experience with getting to Neuschwanstein was a complete fluke and do not expect repeat trouble for anyone else. I highly recommend this tour and would consider doing it when I make it back to Munich.

Doing what: Overnight Royal Castles Tour - Linderhof, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This has been the coolest part of my trip to Europe this time and my first trip 10 years ago. The bus company is subcontracted to haul people on the tour to Neuschwanstein. There was a slight miscommunication I believe with our original bus guide and it looked like the trip was going to be a bust. Once we figured out what the official agenda was and that we were on the right tour it completely 180'd. When we got to Neuschwanstein and realized that we had to check into the Muller Hotel the trip became highly recommended. The castles were amazing. Neuschwanstein is a must see if you stay there or not. I recommend going inside the castles at least once. Neuschwanstein looks like a Disney castle and is good for people of all ages. The Muller hotel was as good and hospitable hotel as I have stayed at. The staff deserves the highest rating. The double room also very cozy with the old German feel. We had enough time to check out the other castle the following day (Hohenschwangau) and take in the sights. The night we stayed we took a cab ride to Fussen which is a local smaller town with enough to do. I would stay at the Fussen again and could spend several days there. Everyone around town was also very accommodating. For the most part everyone speaks English and if you know the basics in German you should have no problem. The tour guide that took us back to Munich after the night stay was also very knowledgeable and had all of her ducks in a row. I think the poor experience with getting to Neuschwanstein was a complete fluke and do not expect repeat trouble for anyone else. I highly recommend this tour and would consider doing it when I make it back to Munich.

Doing what: Overnight Royal Castles Tour - Linderhof, Hohenschwangau, Neuschwanstein

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was great! Very accommodating and alots of knowledge! Our tour guide Francesca was amazing! Although there are lots of tourists it's worth it! Not just for the big castle! Great way to see the country side of Germany!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

It was wonderful to have someone walk us through how to get to Neuschwanstein from Munich - took a lot of the stress away! Our guide was an American who had moved to Germany, so his English was perfect. We got a lot more of the history with this tour then if we had just done the castle tour on our own. It was also nice not to have to wait in line. Apparently, some people wait in line all day and don't actually get into the castle! I highly recommend this if you are planning to go to Neuschwanstein!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent one day trip to see the Bavarian Alps, Linderhof Castle, Oberammergau and tour Neuschwanstein Castle!! We packed a lot of activity into one day and enjoyed everything. Our guide was excellent and informative. It is very difficult to try to replicate this tour on your own with a car or public transportation. It is well worth the money and day to enjoy this beautiful part of Germany!!! My only disappoint was the lack of time in Oberammergau! Our stop was too short to even walk down the street. An additional half hour added to this stop would increase the value to allow for viewing the town and grabbing a coffee or a quick shopping stop. Also, the lunch in Neuschwanstein recommended was excellent and quick, necessary fuel for hiking to Neuschwanstein.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our tour guide was Jeff who was very good, in fact we had met him on another Munich based walking tour some years ago so a real pro! this was my fourth visit to the castle over a number of years so I didn't learn anything new and you can easily read up on the Mad King from numerous guide books.
Yes you could do this yourself, but avoiding the booking office queue and the transfers to and from Fussen is worth the cost. Neuschwanstein is iconic and a must to visit but in my view it is the setting that makes this the # 1 attraction and I much prefer Linderhoff. Be warned, this attraction is very popular and the tour itself is run to a time slot leaving little time to really appreciate the interior.
Unless you are fit, take the bus up the track!
Yes there are other tours offering more as part of the trip but my advice would be to avoid as there is simply not enough time to fit everything in.

If you are in southern Germany you must do this trip at least once and if based in Munich this is the best way of doing it.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Out tour of Linderhof and Neuchwanstein with Viator was really great! Our tour guide Elizabeth told our group ton of information, not only about the castles and the history associated with them but also about Bavaria and overall German society. As an American I found it all very interesting and I appreciated her perspective on the many topics she covered. In addition she was very personable and friendly and made every effort to answer questions and assist in any way she could.
The all day tour is about the right length of time and the bus, a modern comfortable motor coach, was a nice ride, and the pickup location next to the train station is very convenient. Both castles are spectacular places with beautiful surroundings in remote locations and I believe this tour is a good value, especially if you are in Munich without a car. If you are in Munich or Bavaria and have the time, you'll be glad you visited Neuschwanstein and Linderhof and I think Viator is the easiest way to do it!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Our guide was exceptional, and was so well versed in the history and the geography of everything we saw. The scenery to and from Munich is spectacular. We would be remiss if we did not mention that the walk up to Neuschwanstein from the village should not be taken if one has health problems. The bus and carriage to the castle would be better options.
We have used Viatour on 4 previous tours in Germany and Poland, and we heartily recommend Viatour as we have not been disappointed.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Wonderful tour! 8 inches of snow fell at the castles the night before our tour and upon arrival to the castles the scenery was like a fairy tale. Bus ride to and from the castles was pleasant. The guide was okay but seemed a bit unorganized in her communication while on the bus. She was friendly and pleasant and there was no issue understanding her pronunciation. This was one of the highlights of our trip to Germany!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

What can you say about a mix of fairyland and historic reality. Fascinating Castle and the story that goes with it. Visiting in winter may have made it harder for the perfect photos, but the wonder of the scenery with the snow was glorious. We had lunch at (as it turned out the only restaurant open, Winter again) feastedon some lovely German Fare beautiful.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message