The inspiration for Sleeping Beauty's castle at Disneyland, Neuschwanstein was built by King Ludwig II in the 19th century. Capture the grandeur of this architecture and picturesque mountain scenery on a visit to these extraordinary castles, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 137 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

KHALED SABRY I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Amazing Tour , every thing went perfect - Schedule was very sharp .
Amazing views at Linderhof castle and Neuschwanstein with a short stop at a beautiful village which we buy some souvenirs.
Tour guide was so helpful and gave us all information about History of those two Castles which we were not aware before.
i recommend this tour to every one coming to Germany.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Marc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We ran this tour on Wednesday December 16, 2015. The weather was cloudy, but we enjoyed the trip. The castle is magic and wonderful. Our guide Keith W. was American with a very good knowledge of the history of Germany and of Europe in general. The other participants were very sympathetic. We met people from Las Vegas, Australia, Russia and UK. Just one word : trip to be highly recommended !

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Smaller Group Day Tour from Munich

Michele P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I booked this tour before I left LA and I have to say I highly recommend it!!! It was really enjoyable. First, the bus we took was brand new and lovely-double decker and great view. And our tour guide Anna I believe her name was --was really friendly, professional and gave us a ton of history and information. She was really great and I thoroughly enjoyed the day trip. She was very organized and clear so when we had free time, we knew exactly where to meet up again. I can say this is a great value for loved both castles and the little village we visited too. The shops were interesting. I had arrived from LA the night before and my luggage had been lost, the tour guide Anna even offered to help me if I needed to make calls in German. it all worked out but just that she offered to help really was amazing! Thank you so much!!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Steven B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Excellent tour. The Castle itself was amazing. Th train ride to and from was also very interesting, just to see so much of the German countryside. After a month, I don't recall our guides name, but he was informative and entertaining. Very knowledgeable about the Castle and King Ludwig.
The only disappointment was beyond his control, the Lake Mary bridge was closed so had to settle for a bit lesser views.
I would highly recommend this tour. Just be aware, it's a bit of an uphill hike from where the horse cart drops you and the entrance. Also, lots of stairs inside. But well worth the effort.

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Smaller Group Day Tour from Munich

Mark L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We went on this trip in October - we were lucky to have a sunny day and all the trees were showing their autumn colours - our first stop was at Linderhof Castle - in comparison this was fairly small - I think it was his summer castle - we only saw this quickly and it was in a very pretty setting. Then off through a little town where we stopped and could have a coffee and a wander around - where we saw some gorgeous german painted houses and a shop full of cuckoo clocks. Then off on our way to Neuschwanstein castle which was HUGE and MAGNIFICENT. We went on a tour though the castle and opulence was mind blowing. We found out a fair bit about King Ludwig II and were sad to hear that he only lived in his castle for 172 days before dying suspiciously after being declared mentally insane. It was beautiful, informative and very interesting.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Kathleen K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour was excellent. The Germany countryside traveling to the castles was spectacular and worth the cost if the tour. The castles were everything I hoped for and more.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

EDWARD WEE YANG L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich was a tour not to be forgotten. Enjoyed the day and the tour so much that the memories will always remain with me. The weather was perfect and our tour guide, Arnoud was great. The only sad thing was the bridge was closed for renovation for the whole of 2015 which was unavoidable.

Still a tour to be recommended highly for all those who are visiting Munich or Germany.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

James D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

The small tour bus was the most luxurious bus we have ever been on. 25 large swivel chairs made the 12 hour trip very enjoyable and comfortable

The tour director and bus driver were very knowledgeable of the area of Germany we traveled through.
Neuschwanstein and Schwangau castles is in a beautiful area of the Alps The history behind the castles are very interesting. We had plenty of time to explore the area. The tour guide had tickets for our tour of the Neauschwanstein castle at an appointed time.

There was a nice stop at Oberammergau for lunch, snack or shopping. It is a cute little village in The Alps.
The final stop was at Linderhoff Palace. The palace tour is beautiful from the interior rooms to the exterior statues and fountains.

On the ride back we were treated to wine and beer to enjoy while we drove back to Munich.
If I have the chance to take a small group tour again I will The additional cost is definitely worth it.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

basketball4424

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a great tour! Loved seeing all the castles and getting to go to the little German town to see what a small town is like in Germany. It was a shame the bridge was closed because you couldn't take those lovely postcard photos of Neuschwanstein castle. The coach ride and everything else was great! Easy to find meeting spot. Great tour!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Alisha H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Highly recommend. Was a full day and got to see both castles as well as a little German town as well. The restaurant that they recommend for lunch before the main castle wasn't the best in terms of service or food for that matter. May be better places but it is fairly crowded. Our tour guide was really lovely, very funny and well informed. Overall it was a great day.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Arnaz Minoo M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

My mum and I booked this trip through the Viator website and the trip itself was a local operator . Our tour guide was Anya and she was spectacular! We had a really good time on the tour and on the way to the castle, Anya told us the whole history of the castle and King Ludwig and her English was perfect. She was hilarious, knowledgeable and very approachable if you had any questions about the castle or even Germany. Instead of the train we were sent by bus, which was probably a better idea because there was a huge influx of people into Munich. We walked our way up to the castle which was a bit extreme at the start but becomes gradual after the first 10 minutes. For those who cannot walk up, there is a little shuttle that can take you up for 2 euros Anya organised that for a couple of people in our group. The castle is beautiful, the village below the castle is really cute. You can also see the Hohenschwangau Castle from the same area but would have to pay for a separate entry fee to get into that castle. We paid 12 euros per person to do the Neuschwanstein Castle but the interior castle tour was extremely short maybe 20 25 minutes or less and you were not allowed to take photos. The trip was worth it but taking the additional tour would be dependent on the traveler. The interior was lovely however but maybe 12 euros is heaps for it. When you walk down from the castle, you can follow the road right to the bottom and land up at a beautiful lake which is very picture worthy! Overall we had a really good day and Anya was fantastic! :

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Smaller Group Day Tour from Munich

Scott R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Beautiful country side and small villages.....then you get to the castles. Amazing sites and history of the Bayern state of Germany. Warning to those who may have trouble walking. The road up to Neuschwanstein is about a mile and you either walk or take a small tram or horse drawn cart. Time may be against you if you take either of these because they are on a timed schedule and fill up fast. The walk is worth it if you can do it.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Sarah

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The 2 Castles we saw were amazing! Our guide was very informative and she gave us lots of information about Bavaria and King Ludwig II. I learned a lot about German history and saw some beautiful Bavarian countryside.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Robert M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We both absolutely loved this tour - made extra special by our tour guide Elizabeth. Elizabeth was a treasure trove of information and kept us entertained with information during the ride to and from the castles and Munich. Truly one of the best tour guides and tours. Not only do you visit two castles but you also see the German countryside. Loved every minute of our 8 hours.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Jie Lin L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a great trip, everything was super punctual and on time. Picked up from the Karsdat department store in Munich and left promptly at 8.30, Lindenhof was first and even though it was a hot day, the air conditioned bus was a nice reprieve. A little ice cream and coffeebreak in Oberammergau, I would suggest getting your touristy German souvenirs here, they were much cheaper than those in Munich and better quality. Especially the beer steins. Also tax free!
Then off to Neuschwanstein. First Lunch, We chose to walk up the hill even though it was blistering hot. Everyone else was in t-shirts and shorts, and here I am as the girl who chose to wear woollen skirts and a corset with a long haired wig prancing around as Sleeping Beauty to visit the sleeping Beauty castle.
Great fun though! Spend the time going up to Mary's Bridge to take photos.
The interior of Linderhof is more impressive than Neuschwanstein, but they both have their charms.
Then ran for the bus so we can get home. Even with traffic we got back at around 7pm in Munich. Great day.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

thepates USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was the best way to see the castles. We loved being in a small-group and the luxury coach was a great way to travel the German country-side. Our guide was very knowledgeable and made for a great day.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Melanie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

You can travel to the area and get to the castle on your own, but taking this tour made logistics SO much easier! I really appreciated the advance purchase ticket so I was guaranteed a spot in the castle that day. I can see why this is the most popular tourist sight in all of Germany. I'm just glad I was with someone who helped me navigate it so well. Our guide Austin was very charismatic and funny. Don't fuss with going on your own. Book the tour for the interesting historic information and the ease of travel!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Smaller Group Day Tour from Munich

Sean R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

While we didn't actually get to tour Linderhof due to the G7 conference that was occurring in Germany at the time, this tour was nevertheless excellent. Linderhof was replaced with Hohenschwangau castle which was very impressive. Neuschwanstein itself is spectacular. Entertaining guide also.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Bridgett W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was excellent. Our tour guide was very knowledgable and she enjoyed what she did. To see these castles in person and stand in this type of history left me speechless.

The german countryside is beautiful. You will see a lot of the countryside from you bus inbetween stops.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Jake F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was awesome. Our guide, Austin, was an American bloke who has moved across to Germany. He was informative, friendly, funny and really approachable. Also he was really helpful. Not only did he have heaps of knowledge about Neuschwanstein and it's history, he also had good knowledge of Munich's town and his suggestion led to an awesome dinner and evening spent out and about it Munich. If you're going to see this castle, do yourself a favor and book this tour!!!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Smaller Group Day Tour from Munich

DeeAnn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour guide was very knowledgable and interesting to listen to. The castles are over the top and a must see if you are in the area. The German countryside is beautiful.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Kathleen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was a great day trip from Munich! And a MUST see for anyone in this area of Germany. What an incredible day of seeing the countryside of Germany, as well as the Castles and Royal residences. Our tour guide Monica was so knowledgeable about the history of the castles, and everything in between. Couldn't have asked for a better day to explore! Highly recommend for a nice day trip!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Kathy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A dream come true... the woman on the bus was so knowledgeable about the castles and the countryside of Germany. Do wish we had more time at Linderhof but that was the only thing that could have been better.
Neuschwanstein was awesome... I was like a little child visiting Disneyworld for the first time, definitely woudl go back.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

GINA A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The trip was a complete pleasure, from beginning to end. Our guide joyfully spoke of German history and culture. The bus was new, clean, spacious and comfortable. Linderfof Palace, Obberammergau, and Neuschwanstein Castle were our stops. I highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Robert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

It was raining in Munich (October 17, 2014) when we caught the bus in front of Karstadt's. We were feeling a little sorry for ourselves, but things improved along the way! There ended up being three couples on our tour including us. The ride from Town to Neuschwanstein, even in the rain, was lovely with commentary by the guide as we rode along. I said to my wife: "You, know the ride alone with the commentary is worth the price of the tour." When we arrived, the rain had stopped. Our guide was excellent. She told us step by step what would happen. We stood in only one line all day and that was for only 10 minutes. Our group going through the castle was about 30 people, 24 of whom were with one tour group. We 6 let them go ahead of us and they would leave each room and we had the room to ourselves. Our guide arranged for a van to shuttle us up to Castle for only 2 Euros each, a good deal. Then she explained how we could catch the horse drawn carriage on the way down, 3 Euros each, still a good deal After Neuschwanstein the guide asked us if we wanted to see The Church in the Meadows, a UNESCO sight. We said yes. Wow, what a treat. When I saw the large Church in the Meadow (seriously) I thought it was nice. When I stepped through the doors and saw the alter, it literally took my breath away! You have to see to believe. Then we went to Oberammergau the home of the Passion Play done by the townspeople every 10 years (not this year). But the little town was a simple fun stop to look at the shops and see the theatre that seats 4,800 and the town is only 5,000. Finally, we got to Linderhoff Castle for our tour. Wonderful. No line. Even though they were closing (DLS time change that was unexpected--Germany doesn't all change on the same day.) our guide called ahead and made arrangements. On the way back to Munich we saw two videos about Ludwig II. The tour was expensive but we knew we were only going once in our lives. Money well spent.

Doing what: Small-Group Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Castle Luxury Coach Day Trip from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message