• USD ($)
  • English
From its roots as a medieval salt-trading center, through the rule of the mid-19th century ‘Mad King’ King Ludwig II, to the devastation of the World Wars, Munich has a long and colorful history and there are plenty of historic sights to see. While ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 64 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and trip was very moving. It was a step back into history, the story of the camp being woven around me such that I really understood what the prisoners felt. A great historical lesson and enriching experience!

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was one of our highlights to Europe, thanking Maxim for her professional presentation and knowledge of historic facts! Also the way she captured information by pointing out the most important facts. She was great! Thanks Maxim, enjoy your cool weather, from hot South Africa-Heidi

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was a thought provoking tour for those of us old enough to remember the atrocities carried out in camps such as Dachau. The tour leader, Achim, from Radius Tours, was very sensitive to the moment , but was also very knowledgeable and familiar with the topic. This tour helps to explain some of the history surrounding the camp as well as the historic town of Dachau. Travel arrangements were convenient and the duration of the tour was just right. It was a memorable experience which is highly recommended.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Well done.I was not looking forward to this, however our guide was absolutely fantastic. Very knowledgeable and was able to discuss such a tradgy in a historical, knowledgeable way, that I felt when leaving it was good that we did this tour. Oh dear.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

excellent, well worth the visit, guide was very professional and had an good historical knowledge

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Great tour guide. Amazing historical info. Overall excellent tour.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour was led by Chris from Radius Tours. It was the first tour we took in Munich, and gave us a good foundation of how the inner city is laid out. First, a little about Chris's style. We started the tour in the train station, which is a noisy place. He found a quieter hallway for us, so we could hear him better. He did this throughout the tour. He has an excellent voice that he knows how to project, so there was never an issue hearing him. Chris took us to the historical sites where National Socialism and Hitler formed their power base. He had photographs from the time, which allowed us to visualize the crowds in the squares and at the buildings we were visiting. He has tremendous knowledge about the social issues and events leading up to the war, as well as the individuals who played a role in that era. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Hitler and the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Defintely recommend that everyone travelling to Munich does this trip. Our guide was excellent and a very thorough understanding of the history of the rise of the Third Reich and provided the historic context in which Dachau was established,and then what happened there over the years of its operation, till the Allies captured the camp in 1945. He presented it in a professional but personal way, and got everyone to think about the issues - how quickly a civilised people can decend into barabarity, and that it should serve as a warning to all of us, to make sure we stand up against wrong - dont expect others to do it!

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Excellent Tour! Our tour guide was from Britain and his knowledge of the Third Reich and WWII is vast. Even more impressive was his way of weaving personal accounts related to him with historical information. I strongly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

We can't imagine touring Dachu without the guidance, knowledge and perspective of our guide Nicola. Her wealth of historic information and insightful connections portrayed a powerful history lesson for my husband, our 14 years old grandson and myself.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

A great tour to start a Munich stay with. Steve, our tour guide from Radius, brought us around town by foot (and this is NOT a tour for the weak - we walked fast, we walked far) and not only do you get an overview of the city sights - you also some tremendous background on Hitler and the Nazi party's insidious rise. Highly recommend this tour for anyone, and an absolute must-go for historical buffs! Also check out their Dachau tour - it's a must-go as well! Steve will add an absolute wealth of background information that will put everything you're seeing and feeling (I started choking up a few times) while walking through the concentration camp site.

Doing what: Hitler and the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour

Adrian D, Ade
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Very pleasant walk, Our guide was very informative and interesting. This helped to fill in some historical facts for me.

Doing what: Hitler and the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

This small group tour was the best part of holiday in Germany. It was mainly due to the tour guide who possessed excellent knowledge and skills to make this special and very noteworthy. I will definitely let all know this is one tour not to miss. Please pass on very gratitude as this guide made this special and one to remember for a long time. In fact he made the day - balanced views, historical context and important. Better than reading a book!

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

fantastic! it really helped you to see the old buildings for their place in history and the tour guide carried photos of them from their historic moments which was just brilliant.

Doing what: Hitler and the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

The tour was excellent and we really liked our guide, Anushka. She was very knowledgeable and pleasant and was able to answer everyone's questions and gave us a lot of historical perspective. I gained a lot of insight into what Dachau was all about. A very worthwhile tour for the money. I also liked being able to book it in advance online.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message