From its roots as a medieval salt-trading center, through the rule of the mid-19th century 'Mad King' King Ludwig II, to the devastation of the World Wars, Munich has a long and colorful history and there are plenty of historic sights to see. While ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 84 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very somber tour, but exactly as it should have been. Excellent presentation of history of the camp and the historical circumstances. Diana was great.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

You don't want to miss this sobering historic place. Our guide was very helpful and went over and above our expectations.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Afternoon Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Brilliant, our tour guide, Steve, was so knowledgeable about this entire historical period. I would highly highly recommend this tour. Even though you can go to Dachau without a tour, I certainly felt that having a tour guide was very beneficial.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an excellent tour, and Steven provided fantastic historical background. His insights greatly enhanced the tour and made it a very special experience. He was able to treat a sober experience with the respect required, but still present a historical perspective far beyond what is usually covered in history books. I would recommend this tour to anyone who wishes to not just see Dachau, but really experience and learn about Dachau.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is an awesome tour. The weather was perfect, nice and sunny. Our guide was a 5 star guide. He gave us a ton of historic information that was really interesting. Plus he was just a great person.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was the best tour I took during my time in Munich. Our tour guide, Ana, was amazing. Very knowledgeable and her passion for history was obvious. I greatly appreciated that.

The views from the Obersalzberg were breathtaking. Even the intermittent cloud cover could not detract from this once in a lifetime chance to see this historical artifact up close. My only regret is that I wished I would have booked a couple nights stay in Berchtesgaden. It's quite a beautiful town. I'll definitely be back some day.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Good historical tour. The guide for Dachau was very knowledgeable and was able to present additional information. A little trouble keeping the group together...not his fault. Buses to and from the train station were jam-packed. Walking tour guide was exceptional in his knowledge of this history! He really walked us around the city and presented some good information in a way that had us hanging on every word!

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The trip was a fascinating look at the historical facts of Nazi atrocities. Our guide Kevin, did a great job moving the group through public transportation to each exhibit and back again.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very informative tour. Neat to visit places with such historical significance. Incredible views!

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Memorable experience. Excellent guide, awesome historic background. A must do.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent guide, Nicola. Very good historical knowledge. Glad we did this tour.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour and the guide was magnificent!! I was not really sure what to expect, but the Dachau presentation was respectful, informative, historical and reverent. We had been through Munich on another historical tour and this one did not even overlap architecture!! The pace was a little quick, but he got a lot of buiIdings in, and I am glad I wore by sturdy shoes!! I would DEFINITELY recommend anyone of any religion to experience the Camp and the Third Reich tour so that we will never forget this horrible part of our past as humans.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Levi was an outstanding guide and extremely knowledgeable. Very moving and informative. This was my second time to tour Dachau concentration camp but Levi's historical background going back to WWI made everything make much more sense of how Dachau came to be and how this could have happened especially in the 20th century.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and trip was very moving. It was a step back into history, the story of the camp being woven around me such that I really understood what the prisoners felt. A great historical lesson and enriching experience!

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

This was one of our highlights to Europe, thanking Maxim for her professional presentation and knowledge of historic facts! Also the way she captured information by pointing out the most important facts. She was great! Thanks Maxim, enjoy your cool weather, from hot South Africa-Heidi

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message