From its roots as a medieval salt-trading center, through the rule of the mid-19th century 'Mad King' King Ludwig II, to the devastation of the World Wars, Munich has a long and colorful history and there are plenty of historic sights to see. While ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 99 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

patricia.karakashian

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

If I could give five stars to the guide Steve the Brit I would. Well done.... he was a virtual, historical well of knowledge. It was the best of the tours.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

mcandrp

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great historic tour. Sobering but had great guide.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

iswanto

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

First of all, the booking choice and process of 4 consecutive day-trips via Viator was easy and convenient. Having read the previous reviews, all the guides seemed to have a very good knowledge of the history and professional in conducting the tour, so was ours. For such an important historical place, the 5-hr return trip visit seemed to be a bit short, may worth considering a full-day trip if available. Its a definitely chilling reminder of the events that took place there especially on a chilly, foggy day in January, let one's imagination takes over.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Well informed and richly detailed. Guide was a walking encyclopedia of historic facts and brought to live the significant events.

Doing what: Hitler and the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour

bvye

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our young journalist tour guide made our walk through Munich very enjoyable and we all came away with a better understanding of the area and what historical events shaped Munich.

Doing what: Private Munich Old Town and Third Reich Walking Tour

judy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our guide Sophie and driver Alex were excellent. Sophie spoke very well and gave us a lot of historical content
and local information. Alex took some side roads to avoid an accident on the way back and we had the added bonus of driving thru some beautiful Bavarian towns. The Eagle's Nest has long been on our wish list and this tour did not disappoint. We were blessed with a brilliant day and therefore had amazing views of the Alps from the mountain top. The operation was professional and I would recommend it.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

REYNALDO M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was an amazing experience, our guide was a great connoisseur of historical events that happened there . Although a sad place , it is also a place for hope

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Nicki B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Chris, our Aussie guide, was awesome. He knew his history, informed us well. He was enthusiastic and managed to keep the tour very upbeat and fun, despite the seriousness of it. It's worth noting that we saw much of Munich on this tour, including everything on the Top Ten Things To Do In Munich lists found online. This tour covered resistance fighters/sights as well. It is worth noting that the company that runs these bike tours is run very well and efficiently. They were professional yet fun, and punctual! We went on three tours in Paris that were twice the price that didn't compare to this tour. The Third Reich Bike tour is perfect for anyone looking to see historical sights of all kinds while in Munich, and I will absolutely recommend family and friends to take it.

Doing what: Third Reich Bike Tour in Munich

William F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great historic tour. Everyone who goes to Munich should go.

Doing what: Hitler and the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour

Lovely P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My husband and I were glad that we got to experience this tour. The tour guide provided a lot of historical facts occurred in this place. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Michael Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

After a rocky start due to a miscommunication of exactly where to meet, we had the most amazing trip. Thank you to Steve Whitehall and the people at the tour company as well as the sweet hotel clerk at Hotel Schlicker. Steve was amazing as he continued to surprise us with all he knew about the Third Reich's role in the area we are in. We learned so many things and he was a wealth of information as well as being armed with old photographs that made the stories come alive. W ended the trip dining,and drinking with him in a historical pub that was off the beaten path of tourists. Thank you so much for everything!

Doing what: Private Munich Old Town and Third Reich Walking Tour

Gilbert J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The guide met us at the time and place arranged. He was full of information and energy about the subject! He even had a picture album with historical pictures of the sites we visited. He explained in detail the history of the rise of Hitler from his arrival in Munich to his leadership of the Third Reich. His approach to the subject was even handed and informative. This tour is a must to appreciate the surviving WWII historical sites in Munich. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Hitler and the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour

Bruce N Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A really worthwhile tour. The guide Geoff was fantastic and worked through the site including the memorials and historic parts of the site at a good pace and provided ample time and opportunity for questions.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Susan D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very somber tour, but exactly as it should have been. Excellent presentation of history of the camp and the historical circumstances. Diana was great.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Hugh S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

You don't want to miss this sobering historic place. Our guide was very helpful and went over and above our expectations.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Afternoon Tour from Munich

Jennifer D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Brilliant, our tour guide, Steve, was so knowledgeable about this entire historical period. I would highly highly recommend this tour. Even though you can go to Dachau without a tour, I certainly felt that having a tour guide was very beneficial.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Willliam B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was an excellent tour, and Steven provided fantastic historical background. His insights greatly enhanced the tour and made it a very special experience. He was able to treat a sober experience with the respect required, but still present a historical perspective far beyond what is usually covered in history books. I would recommend this tour to anyone who wishes to not just see Dachau, but really experience and learn about Dachau.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Merlin S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is an awesome tour. The weather was perfect, nice and sunny. Our guide was a 5 star guide. He gave us a ton of historic information that was really interesting. Plus he was just a great person.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

Lee H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was the best tour I took during my time in Munich. Our tour guide, Ana, was amazing. Very knowledgeable and her passion for history was obvious. I greatly appreciated that.

The views from the Obersalzberg were breathtaking. Even the intermittent cloud cover could not detract from this once in a lifetime chance to see this historical artifact up close. My only regret is that I wished I would have booked a couple nights stay in Berchtesgaden. It's quite a beautiful town. I'll definitely be back some day.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

Sandra W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Good historical tour. The guide for Dachau was very knowledgeable and was able to present additional information. A little trouble keeping the group together...not his fault. Buses to and from the train station were jam-packed. Walking tour guide was exceptional in his knowledge of this history! He really walked us around the city and presented some good information in a way that had us hanging on every word!

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

Chad D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The trip was a fascinating look at the historical facts of Nazi atrocities. Our guide Kevin, did a great job moving the group through public transportation to each exhibit and back again.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Amber I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Very informative tour. Neat to visit places with such historical significance. Incredible views!

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

Dionisis S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Memorable experience. Excellent guide, awesome historic background. A must do.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Dian L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent guide, Nicola. Very good historical knowledge. Glad we did this tour.

Doing what: Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Small Group Tour from Munich

Elise C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour and the guide was magnificent!! I was not really sure what to expect, but the Dachau presentation was respectful, informative, historical and reverent. We had been through Munich on another historical tour and this one did not even overlap architecture!! The pace was a little quick, but he got a lot of buiIdings in, and I am glad I wore by sturdy shoes!! I would DEFINITELY recommend anyone of any religion to experience the Camp and the Third Reich tour so that we will never forget this horrible part of our past as humans.

Doing what: Munich WWII Combo: Dachau Concentration Camp and Third Reich Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message