• USD ($)
  • English
From the southern German city of Munich the Austrian border is just one and a half hours away through lilting Bavarian countryside. And once on the other side, you find yourself in the beautiful Baroque city of Salzburg, nuzzling the alpine ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 76 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Awesome!!! Salzburg is gorgeous and I honestly wish we would've just stayed there the whole time. Our tour guide did a great job. Beautiful city. Definitely the highlight of our trip to Munich.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Wonderful excursion from Munich. Tour guide was outstanding. The City of Salzburg is a jewel.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was one of the best experiences on our vacation. Booking was easy and our tour group met at the central train station where we all mingled and became travel buddies for the day. Our guide for this trip was Lucia, who usually does Spanish speaking tours but she was filling in for someone that day and we told her we're glad she was filling in because she was an excellent guide and provided a unique perspective. She educated us on the city and sights during our train ride and the walking tour of the city was exciting. I went on other tours on my vacation with other companies that seemed very rushed but this tour had a nice relaxing pace and allowed us to wander the city on our own for 3 hours before meeting up again for our return trip to Munich. My fiance and I went up to the fortress, which has some amazing views of the city and we went through Mozart's birthplace as well. Salzburg is a really expensive city, so bring lots of spending cash! :)

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We've been to Munich a couple of times to visit our cousin. Never would we have thought that Salzburg was a train ride away. Everything was convenient from the train ride to the bus ride as well as the tour. The guide was very knowledgable and spoke English well. The 3 hour free and easy was great!

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

The train was on time but there was some rail construction that delayed the arriving time. Our guide was excellent. She gave us valuable information about Munich, Salzburg, what we were going to see and how we can get around the city, what to buy and where to buy. I would liked to have more time in Salzburg but what we saw was enough to have a good idea of the past and present of that beautiful city. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

A must do if visiting Munich for a few days. Salzburg is a quant little town in which time has stood still; you'll feel like you've step right into the Sound of Music scenes. There's nothing that you won't love about this trip; a definite must do that will be a definite highlight of any trip.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Our tour guide was Jeff. On the train ride from Munich to Salzburg he shared things to look for and experience. He shared plenty of experiences and where/what to eat. We enjoyed the three hour "free time" in the city. The walking tour took us to many of the sites to see in Salzburg. The train ride is about 2 hours each way, so for four of the ten hours of this trip, you're on a train ride getting to/from Salzburg. The countryside is beautiful. My family (myself, wife and teen-aged son) enjoyed the tour and recommend it for a short "orientation" tour of Salzburg. Be aware that we DO walk quite a bit in the city.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

One of the best tours I have gone for during my trip to Europe! I'm truly wowed by the beauty of Salzburg and the little pretty town: St Wolfgang which is just 2 hours away from Munich. The tour guide is very knowledgeable and nice too.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Salzburg was nice, and we had a fair of time to walk around, do some shopping, and get some lunch. The Lake District and boat trip on this tour really made the trip though! The boat ride did cost extra (our tour guide collected the money on the bus), but it was absolutely worth it!
Our tour guide (we didn't catch his name unfortunately) was probably the best tour guide we've ever had. He was knowledgeable and genuinely wanted each person to enjoy the day. He even came around the bus on the way back to Munich to answer any questions anyone had. He went above and beyond.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Jeannine
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

The day trip to Salzburg was definitely one of the highlights of my trip to Munich. I was very impressed with the way the trip was organised and our guide, Alun, was very entertaining and really went out of his way to make sure all the people in the group were catered for and looked after. I also feel that the cost of the day trip was also extremely reasonable as all our travelling costs were covered and we were allowed a lot of freedom in the afternoon to do our own exploring. Lunch was not included in the cost, however this gave you the chance to go to a restaurant of your choice for lunch instead of having to go to a designated lunch spot. All in all, a very enjoyable excursion and I would definitely recommend it!

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Our guide, Jeff, was a delight. He had great knowledge of the history of Salzburg and was very entertaining throughout the day. It was a great day trip from Munich, and so beautiful. I would highly recommend stopping by the Stiegl brewery and riding the train up to the Fortress.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Patty44
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2012

Very enjoyable. Iain was great tour guide and we had Bernie (Bjorn) Iain's dog to round us all up. Pleasant train journey then a walking tour round Salzburg to learn some of the history. After that free time to do what we liked. - particulary enjoyed the Castle from which there are some great views. Iain was very helpful, not just about Salzburg but also helped with information on what to see and do in Munich. Would definitely recommend..

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

Great trip from Munich to Salzburg. Train was excellent. Tour guide Nicola was very good. Lovely sunny warm day. Other passengers ok. Some thought it was more suitable to go off and buy numerous coffees at the station rather than listening to Nicola's instructions. When she head counted, some people not there.. buying more coffee, not listening, expected off children, not full grown adults much older than myself and my friend. Overall would recommend this trip definitely.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

A very good tour: (longer) drive to Salzburg, get there a little after 10:30 AM. A walk in the city and across the river up to Mozart’s house – free time from 11:15 AM to 1:30 PM. Mozart’s house is EUR 10 if you want to visit it, the old city is superb (no time to visit the fortress though).
At 1:30 PM walk together back to the bus and drive to St. Wolfgang – almost 3 PM, quick visit here and at 3:30 PM take a private boat to the other end of the lake (EUR 9 per person, cash only – one could stay on the bus I presume) and after 4 PM head back to Munich.
No idea why/what is this: [On Lake Wolfgangsee, there is the possibility of a boat ride to the famous White Horse Inn overlooking the lake, and a visit to the pilgrim church.]
Great guide – Fred: a little stern but knowledgeable, efficient, great English.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2012

This was a brilliant day out. We travelled on 2nd September 2012 and although the rest of the family were dreading the thought of a long day, as we were to meet at 9.15 and we wouldn't return until 7pm. Lucia was a brilliant and organised guide who looked after us from start to finish. She ensured the group (11 of us) were seated together on the train, which was clean and efficient. Lucia provided us with a tour around Salzburg showing us some of the film locations from the film Sound of Music and recommended good viewing points, cafe's, shops, chocolates and cakes! We were then we were left to our own devices for 3 hours, although some group members did go off on their own earlier. There was so much to see and do that the whole day just went so quickly. Even other members of the family who weren't keen on going enjoyed the whole day, which was one of the highlights of the holiday. We were incredibly lucky to have been greeted by sunshine is Salzberg. I would recommend that you go to the loo on the train before you get off at Salzburg so that you get the most of the tour guide before going off on your own. We were only in Munich for 3 days and I was so glad that we used up one of those days to visit Salzburg - I recommend this trip to anyone.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message