From the southern German city of Munich the Austrian border is just one and a half hours away through lilting Bavarian countryside. And once on the other side, you find yourself in the beautiful Baroque city of Salzburg, nuzzling the alpine ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 117 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Elizabeth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had a lovely trip to Salzburg from Munich ... Every thing was on time and went according to the program ... A very beautiful city steeped in history , something of interest around every corner... Lovely Christmas markets .... Would recommend!!

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Linda D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Our tour guide, Jeff, was personable and knowledgeable of the city of Salzburg. He was very good at getting the large group of people to the train, bus, then walking through Salzburg and back again. He counted noses occasionally, which was good, as there were many tour groups in Salzburg on that Saturday on December. Seeing the town of Salzburg was a good day trip from Munich and worth the time and effort it took to do it. It was a memorable trip and I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Alfian P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Lovely trip, good introductory to the city of Salzburg, and definitely creating the urge to revisit back this city in the future.

Susan was our tour guide for that day, and she was great! informative, entertaining, and genuinely cares for the tour. We asked points of interest that's probably out of the trip coverage, and she told us what's worth doing and a lot more. We had some hick-ups returning to Munich that day due to refugee problems, but Susan reassured the group, and guided us back smoothly.

Overall, I would recommend this trip to anyone who's interested to take part in the tour, if you are curious about Salzburg, or if you simply love Sound of Music/Mozarts.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Deborah S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had an amazing time on the tour to Salzburg. The fun started on the train ride. Our guide, Lucia, was wonderful. She began giving us history while on the train and didn't stop until we were back to Munich. She had so much to tell and was so knowledgeable. We would recommend this tour to anyone. Be sure to have coffee and cake at the Sachor Hotel. It's worth it!

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Christopher S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour! Salzburg is a very nice little city, recommend having lunch at the top of the Fortress. Not a lot of time to see everything, but that is expected on short day trips like this. The highlight of the whole trip though is definitely the Lake District! Lake Wolfgangsee is absolutely beautiful! The guide was very knowledgeable providing information on both the Munich area and Austria.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

rizziero o

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Don't miss the opportunity to do Salzburg for a day if your in Munich. We had a very helpful tour guide, Luthia, who was organized and answered questions but didn't drag out the touring too long. It was actually perfect for my family since we enjoy doing things at our own pace. Luthia gave the group 3 hours to go explore the city, even encouraging us to try to get lost... that it was impossible... but to get the most out of it. She was right, the city is small and manageable enough to navigate with or without the maps she provided us. We enjoyed it so much that we plan to book a stay in Salzburg next time we're in Europe. A must if you've got a day to venture out of Munich in with a highly energetic, fun, organized guide like Luthia.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Allison B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Tour worked very well, meeting at station in Munich, train to Salzburg all in good time and not rushed. Our guide Lucia was excellent, she had a wealth of experience and gave us Top Tips on what to do in the 3 hours freetime we had. It did go very quickly so her advice to keep moving and where to go was very welcome. she also knew all her Sound of Music and Mozart sights and information which was brilliant. For a day trip it was excellent and I would thoroughly recommend it if you only have the one day.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

mail2bkrishna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was amazing. Our tour guide nancy was very knowledgeable about the place and took us through the places of interest. Early start from munich and little more free time in salzburg would have made it much more pleasant ex.addition of cable car ride in salzburg. Otherwise I enjoyed this trip and recommend it to others as a must to do..

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Evie J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was the best tour I took on my entire trip. Our tour guide, Ian, was absolutely hysterical and friendly, as well as very knowledgeable and informative. He made the journey very fun, and I learned a lot about Salzburg and its history. Salzburg is one incredible city, and I felt we had plenty of time to walk around on our own, even after the hour tour given by Ian. You do have the option to leave the group as soon as you arrive if you'd like an extra hour of free time. If you're in Munich and have time for this tour, you won't be disappointed! It was perfect!

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Stephen Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great day out in Salzburg. Our guide Jeff was excellent. The train journey from Munich to Salzburg was very picturesque with some great views of the Alps.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Kathleen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I travel for work and am lucky to be spending a lot of time overseas. I take tours in most cities I visit, and I have to say this was by far my favorite tour thus far. I absolutely LOVED Salzburg. What a beautiful city. Well worth the day trip from Munich. We got to tour several of the highlights from the Sound of Music, as well as see a lot of the history of the city. By far one of my favorite European cities! Highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Jeffrey P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This trip is a great value. Just the right amount of time needed to see the city. The train ride is thru some of the most scenic country side in europe. If you are visiting Munich for a few days, spend one of your days in Salzburg and come back at night to a great dinner in a Munich Restuarant..

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Robin F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

A good way to get to Salzburg from Munich. Maxine, the guide was very friendly and informed us at the beginning of the rail journey about Salzburg and what we would be seeing. The walking part was very good - the only drawback being the crowds of people in the city.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

R n D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had an excellent time on our day trip to Salzburg and back. Our tour guide Alun was friendly and informative and gave us all the practical details (where to eat, how long we should take at every place of interest etc) which was very helpful. Salzburg is only a 2 hour journey from Munich and as such is a small-ish city, so although we were there only for a day we did get a good sense about the layout of the city and it's history. It was a beautiful day to visit, and we had a lovely time. Thanks Alun!

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

mary s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Salzburg was amazing! The town is beautiful and the trip from munich was very easy on the train. Our tour guide was lovely, Yolanda. And she was very knowledgeable! I would have liked more time in the city because the day flew by. I would have enjoyed more sound of music connections.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Gary B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was also very well organised and enjoyable, leaving Munich by rail around 7.30 am to allow ample time for us to explore the beautiful city of Salzburg in detail. Our guide was both informative and entertaining, the price competitive and we can also recommend this tour to others without hesitation.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Ann D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour with Alun (Welsh). I think that is how you spell it. He was English and stayed in Munich for the past 10 years. He was concise and had a clear voice and let everyone know what was going to happen at the right times. Getting on the train and getting on the bus was made simple because of his instructions.
It was a really hot day and the journey by train took 2 hours from Munich and then the short 10 mins bus ride in to Salzburg from the station. We were given a map and how the walking tour would proceed. If you wanted to go your own way that was fine once you knew where the rendezvous was for return.
there was visits to churches, the castle, Mozart's two homes in Salzburg and key places where the Sound of Music was filmed. The special cake shop which you could buy authentic cake unique to the city is a must. The tour went well and Alun was the perfect tour guide. We have no hesitation on recommending this tour for cost and experience. A very pleasant time was spent by the four in our party.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

rick.rosenthal13

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was the best day of our 16 day vacation. We had the best time, and Iain is the very best tour guide we've ever had. His breadth of knowledge was outstanding. He was fun, interesting, and insightful. He truly made this experience a 5-star one. He gave us such a deep and detailed background of Salzburg during our train ride from Munich. My best advice....don't take this tour UNLESS Iain is your tour guide. GOOD MORNING!!!

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Karen S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Terrific tour led by Alun Evans with the tour operators. He pointed out all of the sights of importance on our initial tour of Salzburg and gave great recommendations on things to see during free time. Would highly recommend for those looking for a day trip from Munich.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Jessica E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Wonderful day in Salzburg! Our guide, Alun, had a great personality and was very knowledgeable. Even when our train broke down on the way back to Munich, he was still in a good mood and worked to solve the problem.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

khegyi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Really great and easy day trip from Munich. Salzburg was beautiful and historic, and we learned a lot of interesting information from our guide, Franz. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

John B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Despite a very rainy day, the tour was wonderful, and Jeff was a true professional ... Very knowledgable, informative, and personable. He also had a great sense of humor and made the train trip to and from Munich very enjoyable. We had lunch at the oldest restaurant with a lovely family from Atlanta. All in all, a great day in Salzburg.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Traci V USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

FANTASTIC! It started off with a wonderful train ride from Munich to Salzburg. Our guide, Ian (and his mate, Bernard the dog) were super knowledgeable. Ian gave us about a one hour history lesson on Salzburg (and threw in a little Germany history too) leaving us with more free time in this beautiful city. We toured the famous "Sound of Music sites" , as well as the Old Town of Salzburg. We toured castles, sweet shops,as well as the old market square. Ian recommended places to eat, places to drink and the history of where these delicacies come from. We were very happy with all our tours we booked through Viator, but this was one of the best , hands down. Thank you Ian!

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Philip A S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent day trip from Munich to Salzburg. Tour guide provided great information on the history, culture, sites, local food favorites.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

jbr012710

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Awesome!!! Salzburg is gorgeous and I honestly wish we would've just stayed there the whole time. Our tour guide did a great job. Beautiful city. Definitely the highlight of our trip to Munich.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message