From the southern German city of Munich the Austrian border is just one and a half hours away through lilting Bavarian countryside. And once on the other side, you find yourself in the beautiful Baroque city of Salzburg, nuzzling the alpine ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 93 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

A good way to get to Salzburg from Munich. Maxine, the guide was very friendly and informed us at the beginning of the rail journey about Salzburg and what we would be seeing. The walking part was very good - the only drawback being the crowds of people in the city.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had an excellent time on our day trip to Salzburg and back. Our tour guide Alun was friendly and informative and gave us all the practical details (where to eat, how long we should take at every place of interest etc) which was very helpful. Salzburg is only a 2 hour journey from Munich and as such is a small-ish city, so although we were there only for a day we did get a good sense about the layout of the city and it's history. It was a beautiful day to visit, and we had a lovely time. Thanks Alun!

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Salzburg was amazing! The town is beautiful and the trip from munich was very easy on the train. Our tour guide was lovely, Yolanda. And she was very knowledgeable! I would have liked more time in the city because the day flew by. I would have enjoyed more sound of music connections.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was also very well organised and enjoyable, leaving Munich by rail around 7.30 am to allow ample time for us to explore the beautiful city of Salzburg in detail. Our guide was both informative and entertaining, the price competitive and we can also recommend this tour to others without hesitation.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour with Alun (Welsh). I think that is how you spell it. He was English and stayed in Munich for the past 10 years. He was concise and had a clear voice and let everyone know what was going to happen at the right times. Getting on the train and getting on the bus was made simple because of his instructions.
It was a really hot day and the journey by train took 2 hours from Munich and then the short 10 mins bus ride in to Salzburg from the station. We were given a map and how the walking tour would proceed. If you wanted to go your own way that was fine once you knew where the rendezvous was for return.
there was visits to churches, the castle, Mozart's two homes in Salzburg and key places where the Sound of Music was filmed. The special cake shop which you could buy authentic cake unique to the city is a must. The tour went well and Alun was the perfect tour guide. We have no hesitation on recommending this tour for cost and experience. A very pleasant time was spent by the four in our party.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was the best day of our 16 day vacation. We had the best time, and Iain is the very best tour guide we've ever had. His breadth of knowledge was outstanding. He was fun, interesting, and insightful. He truly made this experience a 5-star one. He gave us such a deep and detailed background of Salzburg during our train ride from Munich. My best advice....don't take this tour UNLESS Iain is your tour guide. GOOD MORNING!!!

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Terrific tour led by Alun Evans with the tour operators. He pointed out all of the sights of importance on our initial tour of Salzburg and gave great recommendations on things to see during free time. Would highly recommend for those looking for a day trip from Munich.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Wonderful day in Salzburg! Our guide, Alun, had a great personality and was very knowledgeable. Even when our train broke down on the way back to Munich, he was still in a good mood and worked to solve the problem.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Really great and easy day trip from Munich. Salzburg was beautiful and historic, and we learned a lot of interesting information from our guide, Franz. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Despite a very rainy day, the tour was wonderful, and Jeff was a true professional ... Very knowledgable, informative, and personable. He also had a great sense of humor and made the train trip to and from Munich very enjoyable. We had lunch at the oldest restaurant with a lovely family from Atlanta. All in all, a great day in Salzburg.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

FANTASTIC! It started off with a wonderful train ride from Munich to Salzburg. Our guide, Ian (and his mate, Bernard the dog) were super knowledgeable. Ian gave us about a one hour history lesson on Salzburg (and threw in a little Germany history too) leaving us with more free time in this beautiful city. We toured the famous "Sound of Music sites" , as well as the Old Town of Salzburg. We toured castles, sweet shops,as well as the old market square. Ian recommended places to eat, places to drink and the history of where these delicacies come from. We were very happy with all our tours we booked through Viator, but this was one of the best , hands down. Thank you Ian!

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent day trip from Munich to Salzburg. Tour guide provided great information on the history, culture, sites, local food favorites.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Awesome!!! Salzburg is gorgeous and I honestly wish we would've just stayed there the whole time. Our tour guide did a great job. Beautiful city. Definitely the highlight of our trip to Munich.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Wonderful excursion from Munich. Tour guide was outstanding. The City of Salzburg is a jewel.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was one of the best experiences on our vacation. Booking was easy and our tour group met at the central train station where we all mingled and became travel buddies for the day. Our guide for this trip was Lucia, who usually does Spanish speaking tours but she was filling in for someone that day and we told her we're glad she was filling in because she was an excellent guide and provided a unique perspective. She educated us on the city and sights during our train ride and the walking tour of the city was exciting. I went on other tours on my vacation with other companies that seemed very rushed but this tour had a nice relaxing pace and allowed us to wander the city on our own for 3 hours before meeting up again for our return trip to Munich. My fiance and I went up to the fortress, which has some amazing views of the city and we went through Mozart's birthplace as well. Salzburg is a really expensive city, so bring lots of spending cash! :)

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message