From the southern German city of Munich the Austrian border is just one and a half hours away through lilting Bavarian countryside. And once on the other side, you find yourself in the beautiful Baroque city of Salzburg, nuzzling the alpine ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 82 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Wonderful day in Salzburg! Our guide, Alun, had a great personality and was very knowledgeable. Even when our train broke down on the way back to Munich, he was still in a good mood and worked to solve the problem.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Really great and easy day trip from Munich. Salzburg was beautiful and historic, and we learned a lot of interesting information from our guide, Franz. Would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Despite a very rainy day, the tour was wonderful, and Jeff was a true professional ... Very knowledgable, informative, and personable. He also had a great sense of humor and made the train trip to and from Munich very enjoyable. We had lunch at the oldest restaurant with a lovely family from Atlanta. All in all, a great day in Salzburg.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

FANTASTIC! It started off with a wonderful train ride from Munich to Salzburg. Our guide, Ian (and his mate, Bernard the dog) were super knowledgeable. Ian gave us about a one hour history lesson on Salzburg (and threw in a little Germany history too) leaving us with more free time in this beautiful city. We toured the famous "Sound of Music sites" , as well as the Old Town of Salzburg. We toured castles, sweet shops,as well as the old market square. Ian recommended places to eat, places to drink and the history of where these delicacies come from. We were very happy with all our tours we booked through Viator, but this was one of the best , hands down. Thank you Ian!

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Excellent day trip from Munich to Salzburg. Tour guide provided great information on the history, culture, sites, local food favorites.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Awesome!!! Salzburg is gorgeous and I honestly wish we would've just stayed there the whole time. Our tour guide did a great job. Beautiful city. Definitely the highlight of our trip to Munich.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Wonderful excursion from Munich. Tour guide was outstanding. The City of Salzburg is a jewel.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was one of the best experiences on our vacation. Booking was easy and our tour group met at the central train station where we all mingled and became travel buddies for the day. Our guide for this trip was Lucia, who usually does Spanish speaking tours but she was filling in for someone that day and we told her we're glad she was filling in because she was an excellent guide and provided a unique perspective. She educated us on the city and sights during our train ride and the walking tour of the city was exciting. I went on other tours on my vacation with other companies that seemed very rushed but this tour had a nice relaxing pace and allowed us to wander the city on our own for 3 hours before meeting up again for our return trip to Munich. My fiance and I went up to the fortress, which has some amazing views of the city and we went through Mozart's birthplace as well. Salzburg is a really expensive city, so bring lots of spending cash! :)

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We've been to Munich a couple of times to visit our cousin. Never would we have thought that Salzburg was a train ride away. Everything was convenient from the train ride to the bus ride as well as the tour. The guide was very knowledgable and spoke English well. The 3 hour free and easy was great!

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

The train was on time but there was some rail construction that delayed the arriving time. Our guide was excellent. She gave us valuable information about Munich, Salzburg, what we were going to see and how we can get around the city, what to buy and where to buy. I would liked to have more time in Salzburg but what we saw was enough to have a good idea of the past and present of that beautiful city. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

A must do if visiting Munich for a few days. Salzburg is a quant little town in which time has stood still; you'll feel like you've step right into the Sound of Music scenes. There's nothing that you won't love about this trip; a definite must do that will be a definite highlight of any trip.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Our tour guide was Jeff. On the train ride from Munich to Salzburg he shared things to look for and experience. He shared plenty of experiences and where/what to eat. We enjoyed the three hour "free time" in the city. The walking tour took us to many of the sites to see in Salzburg. The train ride is about 2 hours each way, so for four of the ten hours of this trip, you're on a train ride getting to/from Salzburg. The countryside is beautiful. My family (myself, wife and teen-aged son) enjoyed the tour and recommend it for a short "orientation" tour of Salzburg. Be aware that we DO walk quite a bit in the city.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

One of the best tours I have gone for during my trip to Europe! I'm truly wowed by the beauty of Salzburg and the little pretty town: St Wolfgang which is just 2 hours away from Munich. The tour guide is very knowledgeable and nice too.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Salzburg was nice, and we had a fair of time to walk around, do some shopping, and get some lunch. The Lake District and boat trip on this tour really made the trip though! The boat ride did cost extra (our tour guide collected the money on the bus), but it was absolutely worth it!
Our tour guide (we didn't catch his name unfortunately) was probably the best tour guide we've ever had. He was knowledgeable and genuinely wanted each person to enjoy the day. He even came around the bus on the way back to Munich to answer any questions anyone had. He went above and beyond.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Jeannine
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

The day trip to Salzburg was definitely one of the highlights of my trip to Munich. I was very impressed with the way the trip was organised and our guide, Alun, was very entertaining and really went out of his way to make sure all the people in the group were catered for and looked after. I also feel that the cost of the day trip was also extremely reasonable as all our travelling costs were covered and we were allowed a lot of freedom in the afternoon to do our own exploring. Lunch was not included in the cost, however this gave you the chance to go to a restaurant of your choice for lunch instead of having to go to a designated lunch spot. All in all, a very enjoyable excursion and I would definitely recommend it!

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message