Aside from the annual extravaganza of Oktoberfest, summer is Munich’s busiest time of year and there are plenty of fun ways to enjoy the sun. Here are a few ideas for things to do in Munich in summer. 1. Relax in a beer garden Munich’s beer ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 58 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Chas
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great way to see three sites, Linderhoff, Oberammergau, and Neuschwantstein. The tour guide Francizka (sp?) was very good and knowlegable with a pleasant, and easy to understand accent and voice quality. The time of year was a double edged sword...the cold weather meant many of the beautiful figures/statues, fountains and plants were covered with structures to protect them from the snow and ice, and the late fall seems to be the time for rennovations after the busy summer, with work trucks, tractors and other temporarty barriers. The colder weather made for quicker tours, although they were still packed with 50 or so per group, possibly more at Neuschwanstein. Speaking of colder weather, the Neuschwantstein schloss was blanketed in fog and drizzle, and was not visible until you were within a few hundred meters from the castle, where it was a dark shape rising out of the fog, totally indistinct...more appropriate for Halloween.
As for separate sections of the tour, there was never enough time, especially in Oberammergau, but enough to give you a flavor and want to come back.

Tours of Linderhof and Neuschwantstein were in English, and very understandable. One caveat. Our tour was separated into two sections, an English guided tour, and multi language guided audio tour. We were disappointed to be put into the audio tour where we picked up an English language device which was keyed on as you moved from room to room. It turns out this was a blessing in disguise. At least we could hear clearly what was being said. The majority of our tour that was placed on the English language guided tour said that with 50-80 people in the group, the tour guide was often not able to be heard, and was hard to keep up with. We travelled in early Dec, and this apparently meant wait times were quite short. In the summer, often there wre 1.5 hour waits, according to the guide, instead of the 20 minutes. Beware the walk up the hill to Neuschwanstein is strenuous for many.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!! Depending on your activity level, there was a lot of walking involved. Ana was an amazing tour guide! I cannot stress that enough! She was so knowledgable and informative about any questions you could think up, even if the question didn't even relate to the tour. The castles were breathtaking and the weather was thankfully perfect. We had plenty of time to do everything, though if we went in the summer when the gardens were in bloom I think we might have felt a little rushed at Linderhof. All of the gardens and fountains were being covered for the winter, so we had plenty of time at each location.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

loved this tour, loved our guide Ana, I'll highly recommend her, she had so much info for us, this is the perfect way to spend a hot summer day

Doing what: Romantic Road, Rothenburg and Harburg Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour may not be for everybody. But for people with a genuine interest in WW2 history, German history, or just fascinating history in general will appreciate this tour. Jeff was our guide, and was very affable and accommodating. He's been doing this for many years and he knows his stuff. The walk was not strenuous for anyone with a modicum of mobility. My only advice would be to bring a bottle of water if your going in summer as it can get pretty toasty outside.

Doing what: Hitler and the Third Reich Munich Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

breathtaking views. Such a beautiful and quaint town. Wished had more time to explore but when you are on a tour your time is limited. However, for first timers is the way to go. bring comfy shoes and in summer bring a big hot it can get really hot.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Salzburg was a surprise because it has a relatively small Old Town area where the film Sound of Music was filmed. The film sites are all very close together in the town. It was lovely to have a few hours on our own to navigate the town and have lunch (city map provided by the tour guide). Salzburg is very hilly and touristy, but in early April, there were very few crowds and lovely weather. The crowds in summer must be overwhelming. We ate at a lovely restaurant at the top of the fortress (the only one up there) with a gorgeous view. Buying a ticket for the cable car to the fortress is about 10 Euros per person, but it includes entry fee to the fortress museum itself which is worthwhile. Restaurants abound in the city below as well. The tour guide, Ian, and his pup Bernard, accompanied us and gave most of the history lecture on the two hour train ride into Salzburg. He gave us about another hour's worth of info in town hitting the main film and city sites before turning us loose. Be prepared to walk a lot, but you will be looking in every direction to capture the quaintness all around.

Doing what: Salzburg Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a great tour of two castles that aren't easily accessible by public transportation. The drive through the alps and the hike up to Neuschwanstein and Marien Brücke (Mary's Bridge) were really highlights for me. They surrounding grounds were more impressive than the inside of the castle.

I had never heard of Linderhof, but it was a pleasant stopover that I probably would have never scheduled as part of my trip if I were doing the tour on my own. The grounds must be amazing in the Spring and Summer. I was there in the winter and the property was still impressive.

I enjoyed the stopover in Oberammergau. I loved the shopping there, and the traditional craft stores, but we only had 45 minutes to explore the town. I would have loved to have lunch there instead of at the base of Neuschwanstein.

I also wish the tour also included a stop at Hohenschwangau Castle. It was beautiful on the outside and what I read in my travel guide, it is interesting from a historic perspective.

Bridget, our guide, was enthusiastic and friendly. She kept the group on schedule, which I imagine, when it comes to tourists, is like herding cats. She did a great job.

Pickup and drop-off is conveniently located across from the main train station. I would recommend this tour to others.

Neuschwanstein was on my bucket list and I was very happy that this tour enabled me to get there.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The tour guide is very knowledgeable and explanations on every attractions are very clear and concise.

We were a little disappointed with the visit to Neuschwanstein castle as the route to Mary's bridge was closed due to ice and we were forced to compete for pictures with other tourists from the only decent viewpoint of the castle. We will definitely go back to visit but probably in summer to avoid the route being closed again.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Wonderful tour and Austin, our tour guide, was fabulous. In addition, our tour happened to arrive in town just as the parade/celebration of bringing the cows from the higher summer meadows to the lower winter meadows was starting. This was great fun as well!

Doing what: Neuschwanstein Castle Small Group Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Iain, our tour guide was great.
We met at the train station, had a beer while awaiting some other guest, had another while Iain explained what our night would consist of, then a small number of us had another beer to really enjoy the bavarian spirit!
We hopped on the S train, to get to destination #1, BEER MUSEUM..... was very different than expected (we had just from Amsterdam, and the Heinekin Experience ). Here, we learned about the history of Bavarian beer. The 4 ingredient, only 4! The ice lined kellers ( cellars)! And the chestnut trees above the kellers.
We sampled 3 different beers. A dark Lager, a light Lager, and a horrible wheat beer. The wheat beer was one of only two beers on our whole vacation I could drink. The other one was also a wheat beer, I guess I've learned something! Along with the beer samples were pretzels. MMMMMMmmmmmm, they were goooood!
Off to the HofbrauKeller. Where the beer was stored. Here we chatted a little more about a lot of things and enjoyed a large plate of mixed meats, veggies, cheeses.....and pretzels!
After we gourged and some HofBrau Summer Special Lager, we were loaded into the S train again back MarienPlatz, where we walked a short distance to THE Hofbrauhaus.
BUMMER, it was soooo full that my wife and couldn't find a seat. we retired to the hotel, it had been a long day. But not before walking upstairs to see where Hitler gave his first public speech!
This is a great way to experience the Bavarian way of life, try it!

Doing what: Bavarian Beer and Food Evening Tour in Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Our tour guide of Munich was just the best. His middle name is FLEXIBLE. We had some sights we had not seen on a previous tour and he cover everything on our list. We enjoyed our BMW tour, the Olympic Village with trip to the top of the TV tower to see all of Munich and surrounding area. We had a beer at the Chinese Beer Garden of the English Garden. We saw Hitlers HQ and parade grounds. He even pointed out where a good place to eat would be as he took us back to our hotel. Again I hope I have the opportunity to include a picture of him. He was great at taking pictures of us. He waited for us when we took a tour of the Summer Palace. It was 5 star all the way.

Doing what: Private Tour: Munich Sightseeing Including Andechs Monastery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

I joined the tour near the end of May. Initially I was slightly worried that the view of the castle may be affected by the renovation in summer but it has no adverse effect. I enjoy the tour of the castles very much. The tour guide is also very good and gave a lot of interesting information. During the trip, there is some walking up the hill to the castle but this is manageable if you walk with a pair of comfortable shoes. The scenery along the way from Munich to the Newuschwanstein and Linderhof is also very pretty. I strongly recommend.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Very fortunate that the weather was brilliant when I booked this in advance of my trip. There was no real need to book in advance because there are hundreds of bikes, but it was only May, so the Summer could be different. Anyway, this was my first time on a bike in years, no helmet, but the system was fantastic with the cyclelines, go in same direction as traffic and you can't go wrong. Munich is so flat, hardly had to change a gear and it was the best way to see heaps of the city that was too spread out.
I was little worried about leaving bike chained up as they do take a credit card number incase of damage or lose, but it would appear that less stuff is stolen in Munich, though they supply a bike lock. Kept it for the full 24 hours as my apartment had a place to secure it. Munich is the city to cycle round, have fun.

Doing what: Munich Bike Rental

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

The tour was amazing, the guide spoke perfect German and English and was able to keep up with both versions of the tour in time with everything that we were passing. I would of liked it if the tour had someone who could go with you to the Hofbrauhaus enlightened you on the different beers, food, etc. Other than that though I will definitely be going on this tour again, I ended up getting a quick look at the summer palace and then left only to find my way back by walking, which was accompanied by the many beautiful scenes that Munich had to offer. Five stars!

Doing what: Munich City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

This tour in a long day but I highly recommend it. The weather in March was great with bright sun on the snowy countryside. The hike to the castle is challenging and the road was slushy. Our guide recommended a wonderful Bavarian restaurant and the shopping was great. Linderhof was great (bring food for the swans) but the highlight was Neushwanstein. Loved the small crowds in the off season but would love to return in summer.

Doing what: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and Linderhof Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message