From its cutting-edge Islamic architecture to the traditional seafront souks, Oman’s sprawling capital is a lively blend of the old and new, and with beaches and mountains right on its doorstep, there’s plenty to keep visitors busy. Here are some ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 27 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a fantástico tour with a great guide. The car was air-conditioned and the driver/guide had a very good level of English, he was opened and willing to explain everything with great knowledge about Muscat, Oman and Islam in general. Worth every penny!

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour gives you a great overview of Muscat. This is helpful for planning activities and decide where you want to spend more time.

Doing what: Big Bus Muscat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was excellent. The guide was friendly and helpful. It was a great sightseeing tour to all the major attractions in muscat.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Had a great time on this 2 hour sunset cruise. Pick-up from the hotel was on time and after a 20 minute drive we were boarding a beautiful old dhow to take a cruise along Muscats coast line. Staff were very friendly: sweets, drinks, including Omani coffee were served. Perfect opportunities for photos were had by all. Great evening out in Muscat.

Doing what: Sunset Dhow Cruise from Muscat

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was simply a fantastic night tour by a great guide. Muhammad although a much older gentlemen, brought unique knowledge from living in Muscat for the better part of fifty years. The sights we went to were not only interesting but beautiful and it was topped off by a very welcoming and filling meal at the end.

Doing what: Private Tour: Muscat by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A little worried at first as our driver was a little late but. This soon faded as he did his very best to accommodate all the group and the various requests made - even allowing us extra time at the cultural centre in the Muscat Mosque. All in all a fantastic trip, we'll organised and offering great value for money would have no hesitation in recommending this trip - ran by local tour oriental tours, only pity is we don't have time to take further trips around Oman with the company on this visit perhaps next time we would have no problem using them once again to go further afield.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Zsolt J
Hungary

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent guide, great car, superb guiding MUSCAT is BEAUTUFIL, this is the best tour to know it better!

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Excellent tour of the wadi and dunes, our driver was very polite, drove safely and full of knowledge. Would recommend highly it is worth the price, not much to do in Muscat so great idea to book this

Doing what: Private 4x4 Desert and Wadi Safari - Wahiba and Wadi Bani Khalid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I loved this tour - I enjoyed the freedom of planning my own day and sitting atop the bus with a warm breeze in my face and my eyes fixed on the sights and sounds of a Monday morning in Muscat. The guides were very helpful and advised me when and where to join the buses. They were punctual and comfortable and the commentary was informative. I joined at Jawharat al shatti. (stop 3) - a good place to catch a coffee and watch the early morning beach activity before heading off. I did the round trip listening to the commentary, without getting off and returned to stop 3 for lunch; then i re-joined the bus and really enjoyed the second run without commentary and just took it all in. This time I got off in time to join the 3pm walking tour in the Al Alam Palace district - this was very interesting (albeit quite hot at that time of day) and the guide really knew his stuff and did a good job. Highly recommend the freedom of this tour.

Doing what: Big Bus Muscat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I could not have asked for more on this tour. As I was on my own for the tour I was a bit anxious about it, but when we got going there were two lovely couples and me, and we all got on well. The guide was really lovely and knowledgable man. He had lived in Muscat and really knew and loved his city, so that the trip was full of interesting stories and information. We went to numerous locations including the Sultan Qaboos Grand Mosque, which is beautiful. However we never felt rushed and his personal touch really made it an excellent tour. Wonderful value for money!

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent tour and the guide was very informative. The vehicle was very comfortable and clean. We saw all the sights of Muscat: The mosque, corniche, fish market, Sultans Palace, and many more! Great trip.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Absolutely the best way to see all of Muscat. Very clean buses and very clear descriptions of all of Muscat.

Doing what: Big Bus Muscat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This is a great introduction to Muscat, the itinerary of this tour gives you a good insight to parts of Omani culture and also Muscat. We were the only ones on the tour and our guide Munil was friendly and well informed, he gave us a great insight to Oman and we especially enjoyed the Grand Mosque, a stunningly beautiful building. We got there early and as we were leaving the tourist buses were arriving. The drive to the Old Town was interesting and we enjoyed the walk through the Souk where there is a very good jewellery shop where you can get Oman necklaces made.
We booked this tour online and had difficulty confirming a pickup time as the office number was not answered and we ended up calling Orient Tours in Dubai who gave us a mobile number of Raju. I would recommend the mobile number is on their website and also included in the Viator contacts for this tour.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

It was really, really good. The sights in Muscat are quite dispersed but the bus journey takes you directly to the best bits. The walking tour around the old town was excellent and the general recorded guide was informative and very interesting. Loved it, will consider going on other Big Bus tours in other parts of the region. Just one point, it's worth booking a hotel near the drop-off points as there is only bus per hour.

Doing what: Big Bus Muscat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Our sightseeing tour was provided by Orient tours. Our guide Abdul aziz met us at a prearranged hotel promptly at 8 a.m and we were pleasantly surprised to find we were the only people booked on the trip. Abdul immediately drove us to the Grand Mosque where he was able to give us a detailed tour despite his rather faltering english. The reason for the early start became obvious after taking two hours to see the mosque - as we left we were met by about 24 coachloads of tourists coming in the opposite direction to see the mosque. We avoided seeing the fish market and then went to look around the Souk. Abdul showed us what was good value and after a coffee and bite to eat we were then taken to Muscat museum at Bait al Zubair which gave us an insight into Omani culture and history, the story of the boat 'Jewel of Muscat' and a worthwhile picture exhibition by various local and international artists as part of the Festival. Abdul was courteous and very helpful and it was a pity that we had arranged transport from the hotel back to our daughter's house at 13:30 as he would have taken us to see the royal palaces and any other sight we requested, but we ran out of time and even local Muscat people seem to get lost in the bewildering street and district system. We would thoroughly recommend this tour- very good value for money but opt for an early start to avoid the heat of the day.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

I was in Muscat for 4 days and three of them i was working, finally i got the chance to take the tour because i did not have to much time and to much money.
Rashid was our guide and he was quite open to answer all of our questions.
The city tour was amazing but the highlight of it was the Grand Mosque.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

A very good tour for the first time vistor to Muscat. We saw most of the main sites and really gained a feel for the layout of the city and confidence to go around later by ourselves. We booked a group tour but there was just us and our really excellent guide Rashid.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

An excellent tour and good value for money. The driver/guide, Rashid, was punctual, polite, informative and good company. The tour was comfortable and extremely interesting taking in the Grand Mosque, Muttrah markets and souq and Muscat including the royal palace and museum of Omani life. There was plenty of time to view it all.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

friendly and professional driver. mosque was fantastic,we could also visit the inside.this tour is a must in muscat.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

We enjoyed a wonderful morning in Muscat - Rashid looked after myself and my family extremely well. As we were only visiting for the day because we were on a cruise in the region, this tour was a perfect introduction to the city. Rashid was very informative and made us welcome. We will definitely visit again. Thank you.

Doing what: Private Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

booked through Viator since it is cheaper than booking directly. we went on a low season, height of summer, so we were the only ones in the bus. we didn't hop off anymore as it was too hot and the next bus would come around after 2 hours. i think this is the only way to see Muscat in a day with the commentary as a guide. overall, i would say at this time, there are no tour companies offering much so this is the way to go. i have researched with several companies and it seems all they offer are private tours. the assistance in the bus was impeccable with the Filipino agents being so friendly. water is given for free.

Doing what: Big Bus Muscat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

This tour makes for an interesting introduction to the historic city of Muscat. Our guide, Rasheed, was very affable and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The tour was at a great pace and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Although I would have preferred the guide (Mr, Rashid) to give us more info on the sites we visited (Sultan Qaboos Mosque, Bait al Zubair, Al Alam Palace, Muttrah Souk, Fish Market, etc.). The tour is a good introduction to the City of Muscat.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Knowledgeable guide showing the highlights of Muscat and very willing to tailor the excursion to suit the participants interests

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Tania T
United Kingdom

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2011

I had a lovely tour guide who took me around Muscat. The capital is tiny and only takes few hours to view, but the tour covers all the most popular sights.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message