• USD ($)
  • English
From its cutting-edge Islamic architecture to the traditional seafront souks, Oman’s sprawling capital is a lively blend of the old and new, and with beaches and mountains right on its doorstep, there’s plenty to keep visitors busy. Here are some ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 17 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I loved this tour - I enjoyed the freedom of planning my own day and sitting atop the bus with a warm breeze in my face and my eyes fixed on the sights and sounds of a Monday morning in Muscat. The guides were very helpful and advised me when and where to join the buses. They were punctual and comfortable and the commentary was informative. I joined at Jawharat al shatti. (stop 3) - a good place to catch a coffee and watch the early morning beach activity before heading off. I did the round trip listening to the commentary, without getting off and returned to stop 3 for lunch; then i re-joined the bus and really enjoyed the second run without commentary and just took it all in. This time I got off in time to join the 3pm walking tour in the Al Alam Palace district - this was very interesting (albeit quite hot at that time of day) and the guide really knew his stuff and did a good job. Highly recommend the freedom of this tour.

Doing what: Muscat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I could not have asked for more on this tour. As I was on my own for the tour I was a bit anxious about it, but when we got going there were two lovely couples and me, and we all got on well. The guide was really lovely and knowledgable man. He had lived in Muscat and really knew and loved his city, so that the trip was full of interesting stories and information. We went to numerous locations including the Sultan Qaboos Grand Mosque, which is beautiful. However we never felt rushed and his personal touch really made it an excellent tour. Wonderful value for money!

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent tour and a "must do" while in Muscat. The drive alone to Nizwa is outstanding; huge mountains and hidden villages. Our guide/driver accommodated our requests to stop at some locations for photos. Guide was very knowledgable and answered all our questions easily. Jabrin Castle (the last stop) is outstanding!!! My only caution: our guide ate lunch with us, and we were tricked into paying for his lunch. If you want to avoid this situation, don't ask the guide to take you to a local restaurant -- go on your own.

Doing what: Muscat Shore Excursion: Private Nizwa Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent tour and the guide was very informative. The vehicle was very comfortable and clean. We saw all the sights of Muscat: The mosque, corniche, fish market, Sultans Palace, and many more! Great trip.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Absolutely the best way to see all of Muscat. Very clean buses and very clear descriptions of all of Muscat.

Doing what: Muscat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

This is a great introduction to Muscat, the itinerary of this tour gives you a good insight to parts of Omani culture and also Muscat. We were the only ones on the tour and our guide Munil was friendly and well informed, he gave us a great insight to Oman and we especially enjoyed the Grand Mosque, a stunningly beautiful building. We got there early and as we were leaving the tourist buses were arriving. The drive to the Old Town was interesting and we enjoyed the walk through the Souk where there is a very good jewellery shop where you can get Oman necklaces made.
We booked this tour online and had difficulty confirming a pickup time as the office number was not answered and we ended up calling Orient Tours in Dubai who gave us a mobile number of Raju. I would recommend the mobile number is on their website and also included in the Viator contacts for this tour.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

It was really, really good. The sights in Muscat are quite dispersed but the bus journey takes you directly to the best bits. The walking tour around the old town was excellent and the general recorded guide was informative and very interesting. Loved it, will consider going on other Big Bus tours in other parts of the region. Just one point, it's worth booking a hotel near the drop-off points as there is only bus per hour.

Doing what: Muscat Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

Our sightseeing tour was provided by Orient tours. Our guide Abdul aziz met us at a prearranged hotel promptly at 8 a.m and we were pleasantly surprised to find we were the only people booked on the trip. Abdul immediately drove us to the Grand Mosque where he was able to give us a detailed tour despite his rather faltering english. The reason for the early start became obvious after taking two hours to see the mosque - as we left we were met by about 24 coachloads of tourists coming in the opposite direction to see the mosque. We avoided seeing the fish market and then went to look around the Souk. Abdul showed us what was good value and after a coffee and bite to eat we were then taken to Muscat museum at Bait al Zubair which gave us an insight into Omani culture and history, the story of the boat 'Jewel of Muscat' and a worthwhile picture exhibition by various local and international artists as part of the Festival. Abdul was courteous and very helpful and it was a pity that we had arranged transport from the hotel back to our daughter's house at 13:30 as he would have taken us to see the royal palaces and any other sight we requested, but we ran out of time and even local Muscat people seem to get lost in the bewildering street and district system. We would thoroughly recommend this tour- very good value for money but opt for an early start to avoid the heat of the day.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

I was in Muscat for 4 days and three of them i was working, finally i got the chance to take the tour because i did not have to much time and to much money.
Rashid was our guide and he was quite open to answer all of our questions.
The city tour was amazing but the highlight of it was the Grand Mosque.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

A very good tour for the first time vistor to Muscat. We saw most of the main sites and really gained a feel for the layout of the city and confidence to go around later by ourselves. We booked a group tour but there was just us and our really excellent guide Rashid.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2011

An excellent tour and good value for money. The driver/guide, Rashid, was punctual, polite, informative and good company. The tour was comfortable and extremely interesting taking in the Grand Mosque, Muttrah markets and souq and Muscat including the royal palace and museum of Omani life. There was plenty of time to view it all.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

friendly and professional driver. mosque was fantastic,we could also visit the inside.this tour is a must in muscat.

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2010

We enjoyed a wonderful morning in Muscat - Rashid looked after myself and my family extremely well. As we were only visiting for the day because we were on a cruise in the region, this tour was a perfect introduction to the city. Rashid was very informative and made us welcome. We will definitely visit again. Thank you.

Doing what: Private Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2009

I was very pleased with the Muscat Private Transfer!

Doing what: Muscat Private Arrival Airport Transfer

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Knowledgeable guide showing the highlights of Muscat and very willing to tailor the excursion to suit the participants interests

Doing what: Muscat City Sightseeing Tour - A Fascinating Capital

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message