• USD ($)
  • English
One of Oman’s most impressive fort cities, Nizwa sprawls across a plain in the Northern Hajar mountains and makes a popular day trip from Muscat, under two and a half hours away. Nizwa’s landmark fort is doubtless its most remarkable attraction, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 12 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was an affordable informative day tour of forts located in the interior of Oman. The guide picked us up in a comfortable van in the morning and dropped us off at Nizwa and Jabrin Forts as well as the ruins of an old village. Additionally, we walked through the Nizwa old city and tasted local food. The guide who took us around was very friendly and described life in modern Oman. We stopped to look at a few other historic and scenic sites along the way. An Audio guide was very informative at Jabrin fort. The scenery was a desert landscape spotted with date trees and black mountains. This tour gave me a vivid mental image of what arabian desert life was like 400 years ago.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent tour and a "must do" while in Muscat. The drive alone to Nizwa is outstanding; huge mountains and hidden villages. Our guide/driver accommodated our requests to stop at some locations for photos. Guide was very knowledgable and answered all our questions easily. Jabrin Castle (the last stop) is outstanding!!! My only caution: our guide ate lunch with us, and we were tricked into paying for his lunch. If you want to avoid this situation, don't ask the guide to take you to a local restaurant -- go on your own.

Doing what: Muscat Shore Excursion: Private Nizwa Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was an excellent day tour. The service from Orient Tours was very good and although I was being picked up from the car park of a large shopping mall, they rang me and we found each other. The tour was interesting and the guide was informed and happy to vary things at the request of the group. I thought it was very well done and was happy with my choice. An easy and relaxed way to see some of the sights outside Muscat. My only disappointment was the short time we had at Nizwa Fort. Another 30 minutes would have allowed more time to explore but this is just a small preference for an otherwise great day.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

It was a long and perfect day. Our driver, Rasheed from Orient tours, was very polite, extremely knowledgeable and interesting, and a good driver. We thoroughly enjoyed the drive to Nizwah, past beautiful mountains with interesting geology dotted with numerous watch towers from bygone times. Nizwah was fascinating with all the markets, souks and the fort, which was not only imposing but provided a terrific view from the tower of the surrounding city covered with palm trees. We really enjoyed driving though the interior, with great vistas all around. The stop at the Jabreen Castle was also fascinating, very worthwhile. We could take only one day tour from Muscat and we picked the right one. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

I just returned from the full day Nizwa and forts tour.
The guide Rasheed was very accommodating and knowledgable as well as speaking very good English.
I would strongly recommend this tour for anyone who wants to know the coutnry a bit deeper! Id do it again!
Steven Thoresdale
Prague, Czech Republic

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2011

Excellent day! Kind, easy tour guide made our full day of exploring the castle-forts of the Nizwa region an enjoyable experience. The best bargain out there!

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

Nizwa is well worth the trek from Muscat. Recommended.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2008

Our stay in Muscat was short, so we opted for a day trip, the private 4x4 Mountain of the Sun tour. This took in the town of Nizwa (Oman's former capital) and Jebel Shams ? Oman's very own Grand Canyon. This was definitely our best day in Oman. Ramadan restrictions obviously affected us, but the upside was that the roads and sights were very quiet. It gave us a real taste for the country, and a tiny indication of how much more there is to see. There's no getting away from the fact that any travelling in Oman involves a lot of time spent on the road. A comfortable vehicle definitely made all the difference to us, as did our extremely friendly and knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Private 4x4 Safari - The Mountain of the Sun

Note from Viator: This review is by Louise Heal, who recently published a complete Oman tour report over on the Viator blog.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Very nice tour, we made quite a number of photo stops and saw the forts at Nizwa, Bahla and Jabreen. It was a clear day and from Jabreen Fort we could see the peak of Jebel Shams, highest mountain in Oman. Guide and driver were very good, although lunchtime was a little long, 1 hour, and then toilet stops as well, so I think a bit of time was wasted. But I enjoyed it very much and thought it was good value for money.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

Nice tour, interesting sights like the old town of Nizwa, the Jabreen Fort and some old villages with their typical irrigation system. We've been only 2 persons on our group tour and have been transported in a comfortable, normal car. The driver was a nice elderly Omani who explained a lot about his country. He was not a guide though, so we had to experience some sights on our own - but they are well explained or with (exeptionally good!) AudioGuides. The tour is really worth the money.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2013

Rachid was a very friendly and informative guide who made sure we got the best out of the day. We saw Nizwa and Bahla forts and Jabrin Castle as well as a Wadi and two interesting ruined settlements and had time to wander round the main sights at our leisure.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Nice day out, to see the sights around Nizwa. Jabreen Castle was the highlight of the tour. Also stopped by a couple of abandoned villages which were also nice. Scenery of the mountains was nice and felt like it saved on doing another trip. The stop for lunch was poor however, very cheap and you got what you paid for could have been better. Nothing groundbreaking in the trip but well worth it especially when compared to the 'sights' on offer in Muscat itself which was very disappointing.

Doing what: Day Tour to the Enchanting Forts of Nizwa

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message