Archaeological buffs and lovers of legends mustn’t miss the trip to the sacred island of Delos. On Delos, the archaeological jewel of the Cyclades, you can see firsthand where the ancients lived and clamber over the ruins they left behind. Held ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 37 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michelle Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent guide, transportation to and from the boat and boat to the island were all on time and very comfortable. Delos is a must see if you are in Mykonos.

Doing what: Delos Day Trip from Mykonos

Joan F

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2015

Once we made it to the boat all went smoothly. Up to that point it was a bit frustrating. First you need to confirm the pickup a day ahead. We never received an email response when we tried to do that. Our hotel receptionist made a call to confirm. The driver who picked us up dropped us at a parking lot with no further explanation of the Delos boat location, departure time or need to redeem tickets with our voucher. Rocky start.

Doing what: Delos Day Trip from Mykonos

Jennifer Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent - one of the highlights of our trip. Our guide Marilou or something like that sorry! was really incredible. Intelligent, passionate and funny - she made the ruins come alive with both history and anecdotes, even weaving in current politics and religion. Her background as an archaeologist really shined. Absolutely loved the tour, especially because of our tour guide. Well worth the half day trip to lean of the incredible history. Delos can be very hot, so be prepared with water and hats and sunscreen. Advise taking the larger ferry if the seas are stormy. The smaller ferry on the way back was akin to Mr. Toad's Wild Ride in very windy and choppy seas - a bit scary at times crossing the channel as the the tiny ship was tossed, and it didn't help that there was only one life preserver on board for the captain???!!. I suppose this must be the Greek way, but it was a little unnerving. Made it back safe, and have a story to tell : Notwithstanding, would still recommend. The guide was excellent.

Doing what: Delos Day Trip from Mykonos

VIctoria p

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The boat ride was super wavy, BUT the tour and site was awesome.

Doing what: Delos Day Trip from Mykonos

dora.poulakis

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Great Trip! but would've been better if a Greek speaking guide could be booked as an alternative - would definitely recommend this day tour. The boat ride is great there and back about a hour trip there and back. If travelling in summer you need a hat and water with you although there is a cafe store there to buy refreshments. Also flat shoes and comfortable clothing is important.

Doing what: Delos Day Trip from Mykonos

geoluci

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

very fascinating but we had to cut it short as we needed to be back on the boat and the longer tour that we had booked would have left it to close to embarkation and we would not have seen anything else on Mykonos.

Doing what: Delos Day Trip from Mykonos

barbaralevin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Splendid tour with a first rate leader.
Aside from presenting well and knowing a great amount, she was tremendously helpful to me.
I have various medical problems including balance, and she kept me up and moving. Her name is something like Marilou and she is first rate. We also enjoyed the museum greatlyl

Doing what: Delos Day Trip from Mykonos

Brandon C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent tour guide, beautiful place. Have to see this when in Mykonos.

Doing what: Delos Day Trip from Mykonos

Evan S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

A good exploration of the island of Delos and the religious significance the island played in early civilization. More of half day tour, however, as we were back in Mykonos by 3, and didn't leave until 10 am. Getting a hold of the representatives for the tour, however, proved difficult over e-mail, as they provided no information about the meeting place it is at the Old Port at a booth near the end of the dock

Doing what: Delos Day Trip from Mykonos

Phyllis W

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Visit interesting trip but the many tour groups crowded together was not ideal.The cafeteria was not well stocked.

Doing what: Delos Day Trip from Mykonos

skwiggyness

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This was a wonderful half day trip. Bad sttuff first: We were picked up at our hotel though the driver was nearly 30mins late picking us up, and dropped off at the port where we then had to find our own way to the proper dock and boat about a 15min walk around the harbour. Good part: Delos was beautiful and it was mindblowing being in the midst of an entire city of ruins. You could almost imagine what it would have been like back in its heyday. I wish we could have had more time to explore the island but the tour guide was very knowledgeable and welcoming and provided us with a lot of good information regarding the historical significance of Delos and what life may have been like back then.

Doing what: Delos Day Trip from Mykonos

Thomas J F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The half-day guided tour to Delos was wonderful.

Doing what: Delos Day Trip from Mykonos

Sharon A

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

The ferry ride to and from Delos was as expected. The tour guide was fabulous. My only critique was with the additional service I purchased hotel pick up and drop off. The bus was prompt at the hotel, but dropped us off very far from the ferry location, and the driver was unable to tell us where to get the ferry and how the process worked checking in at the kiosk, etc. We had a person in our party that has walking challenges, and had we known that the hotel pick up / drop off was as inconvenient was it was, I would not have purchased it for an additional fee.

Doing what: Delos Day Trip from Mykonos

William M

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Easy and informative. Our guide Irine had a rough start but was very good after that. Organization was a bit poor.

Doing what: Delos Day Trip from Mykonos

Courtney F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

I would recommend walking to the port yourself and inquiring about the ferry and guided tour to Delos on your own. The company who this was booked through was difficult to work with when pick- up was late, no tour guide was given until you reached Delos, and there was no one to drop me off back at the hotel.

Doing what: Delos Day Trip from Mykonos

Sundari

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Absolutely fantastic trip, must see, Our tour guide was amazing. She was friendly, caring and considered the different age groups in the tour and paced it appropriately. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: Delos Day Trip from Mykonos

kelly

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

Guide was informative and friendly

Doing what: Delos Day Trip from Mykonos

Jamie A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

The information made available on how to get to the location for the tour was very poor and difficult to acquire.

The tour guide, while knowledgeable, did make some questionable comments that we knew to be wrong about the Greek Mythology. Can only trust that she knew more information on the actual site of Delos.

The pace of the tour was very slow and we missed out on seeing the elements in the higher reaches of the site, as we only made it to the theatre and back down around to the lions.

Overall I think I would have rather have paid for the ferry only and skipped out on the tour.

Doing what: Delos Day Trip from Mykonos

Ruth B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

No representative met us at the dock. Didn't know where we were going. Had to get in a long line to redeem voucher. Voucher said just get on the boat but that was not correct. Once on the island we were hearded into a huge group of at least 50 people. Not what we were expecting.

Doing what: Delos Day Trip from Mykonos

Todd Grund R

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

This tour was okay. The ferri from Mykonos was a nice ride. However our group for the guided tour was MASSIVE. There were probably 60 people in our group, which is way too many to navigate the narrow streets and curves of the ruins and to be able to ask questions of the guide. You could tell the guide was getting frustrated with the size of the group. There was also an issue with a French family being promised a French tour guide but they got put with the English group. Her English also was not great. She did not do a great job of giving much context for the island or about what life was like for people on the island. It was more just a few random facts, explaining a couple of the more interesting ruins/statues and that was it. The tour was rushed and did not include a stop walking over to see the famous lion statues, we had to walk over there ourselves once the tour ended. We had about 10 minutes at the end to go to the museum on the island before we had to catch our ferri back. Fortunately, this is about all the time you need it is only a couple rooms, all that is there are rocks and artifacts from the island with little/no descriptions of things. Delos is an amazing place and I wish I had known there were longer tours available and if I had known this was going to be such a massive group I would have booked a smaller tour. Overall I would absolutely go to Delos but NOT do this tour.

Doing what: Delos Day Trip from Mykonos

Tanicka D

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Outer tour guide was very informative

Doing what: Delos Day Trip from Mykonos

Kendra B

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

There was not enough seating on the boat ride, and it was very bumpy coming back from Delos. Our tour guide did not speak fluent English, and it made the tour very hard to follow. The description of the tour to Delos should include that most of the ruins are replicas.

Doing what: Delos Day Trip from Mykonos

Mohamed R

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Delos island itself was amazing. However, we were confused about how this worked. We were picked up ago the hotel and was dropped off far away from the boat without any explanation of what we should do of go. There were at least 50 people in the group. The guide, MariAnn was rude and talked too muc

Doing what: Delos Day Trip from Mykonos

Mark M

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

Tour company did not show up, we waited for over an hour and no boat arrived. It was a holiday however so the ferries weren't running. One of the people who was waiting called the tour company and they couldn't even tell us if the boat was coming. Terrible service and very disappointing.

Doing what: Delos Day Trip from Mykonos

Chee Wan K

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

The guide was knowledgable and provided good explanation of the island's history. The climb to the top of the island was tiring but the view was great and worth the effort.

Doing what: Delos Day Trip from Mykonos

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message