Often standing in the shadows of Napa, Sonoma provides a more laid-back, small town vibe than its more popular neighbor. Anchoring the Sonoma Valley, the town makes a good jumping-off point for exploring nearby wineries, including the few dozen ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2185 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Muir woods were stunning. we got several perfect pictures of the Golden Gate Bridge. Wine Country was terrific. The tour guide was excellent.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great little tour, great tour guide, very informative.

Good choice of Estate wineries.

Doing what: Napa and Sonoma Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Tour was great value for money. Taken to 4 picturesque wineries and included tastings. An absolute must is to go to the Bouchon Bakery when you stop off for lunch and try the macaroons - soooo tasty!!! Oh and the wine is pretty special too x

Doing what: Napa and Sonoma Wine Country Tour

Bill McFarland
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Interesting tour and good way to spend a day. The driver who was also the guide did a good job presenting the information as he drove. We went to three wineries. It's not the drink fest which I had always heard about. When they say wine tasting they mean tasting. About 6 tablespoons of wine at each site. Sutter homes did the best.

Doing what: Napa and Sonoma Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our tour guide was brilliant. Definitely recommend this trip.

Doing what: Napa and Sonoma Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Amazing wines in a gorgeous setting! We tasted out on the lawn and it was absolutely perfect. A must visit!

Doing what: Dry Creek Vineyard Wine-Tasting Experience

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was a really good wine tasting experience and our host Bob was very knowledgeable, friendly and funny. Dry Creek is a beautiful winery and the wines were delicious. Highly recommend a visit.

Doing what: Dry Creek Vineyard Wine-Tasting Experience

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

We asked to be picked up in our hotel, the bus arrived 30minutes later. The tour was good, but when we arrived San Francisco the bus diver wasn´t clear when we had to leave the bus, and was pretty rude and we don't accept that treat, that was a very bad issue in the tour.

Doing what: Napa and Sonoma Wine Country Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Overall, my boyfriend and I enjoyed this tour and felt that we received a good value for what we paid. We liked the 3 wineries that we went to, and had a chance to sample some delicious wine in a beautiful setting! Our favorite winery was the first that we went to (Nicholson Ranch) as we had some free time there to wander through the gorgeous vineyards and relax. Winery #2 (Madonna Estate) was great because they gave us a lot of wine to sample and they were willing to open a number of different bottles for us, instead of just a set list of wines. However, the majority of our visit was spent learning about the wines and the region, and thus the tasting portion felt really rushed. Lunch in Yountville was enjoyable - it is a pretty little town to wander around for a little while, and it definitely has some good restaurants. The last winery (Sutter Home) felt almost tacked on at the end - the tasting was short and then we were released into the gift shop. Nicholson Ranch was definitely the least commercial and in the prettiest setting.

The only other minor quibble was our bus driver - he talked the entire way from San Francisco to the first stop (over an hour). This would not have been a bad thing if he had been easy to understand, as from what I could tell, he was passing along interesting tidbits and history. However, I found him VERY difficult to understand. I can't explain it, but it was almost like he was an auctioneer reading off a list rapid-fire with no intonation or pauses to clearly indicate the end of one thought and the start of another (and he jumped from one topic to another with absolutely no connection or warning, which made it even more difficult). It was too exhausting trying to decode his speech so I eventually tuned him out altogether. He was very nice though...

Doing what: Napa and Sonoma Wine Country Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

I'd give this a higher rating if the vineyards were different. For instance, Sutter Homes was really just a store - there were no grapes grown on the property we visited. Which was ok for a tasting, but not the ideal experience.

Doing what: Napa and Sonoma Wine Country Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Your was okay. The bus had a row with 2 seats on 1 side and 1 seat on the other and so my wife and I were unable to sit by each other. It's not out fault we were last on either. Our hotel pick up was scheduled for 8:15 and arrived and 8:40.

One wine room as awesome. One ok. And one lame house wine.

Doing what: Napa and Sonoma Wine Country Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Good price and good wine.
be careful for the pickup. It will not be at the lobby.

Doing what: Napa and Sonoma Wine Country Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

I was disappointed in this tour Only one of the wineries was in a scenic location We did not visit the town of Napa

Doing what: Napa and Sonoma Wine Country Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2015

Main problem was the driver. He affected a weird "fresh of the boat" pseudo-Italian accent, even though he assured us he is born and bred in San Francisco. He actually shushed the whole bus and told us not to talk while he was talking...which he did, the...whole...tour. Hours of him rambling about not particularly interesting stuff. (Did you know that a good Chardonnay and a Costco hot dog make a great pairing? Well, now I do.)

It felt like a school bus field trip, with the teacher telling everyone not to talk. Bear in mind people were talking in normal hushed voices, not being obnoxious or disruptive, but he was having none of it.

He lacked charisma and was not informative, along with being extremely sexist in a cringe-inducing way. For example -- "and soon you girls on the right side of the bus will be able to take photos", "when we get back the guys can wait in the lobby and I'll escort the girls up to your beds" (WTF?!) He made the latter joke twice, obviously feeling he didn't get the expected laugh the first time he told it, and instead receiving an embarrassed silence from the bus.

The winery tours were just about okay, but even the driver basically pointed out that these are the "cheap" wineries that don't charge for wine tasting. Sutter Home? Really?

By the end of the tour we were frazzled and all but ready to offer the driver money to please PLEASE shut up and stop rambling on in that infuriating, fake accent, and just let us sit back and enjoy the ride. But no, he liked to hear himself far too much for that.

Doing what: Napa and Sonoma Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Most relaxing day of our trip to San Fran!

Really excellent day out - great winery's and you spend a good amount of time in each. Great value for money - winery's all very generous and the stop for lunch was very nice.

Great tour guide and gets you back to the city late afternoon to enjoy your evening

Doing what: Napa and Sonoma Wine Country Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message