Often standing in the shadows of Napa, Sonoma provides a more laid-back, small town vibe than its more popular neighbor. Anchoring the Sonoma Valley, the town makes a good jumping-off point for exploring nearby wineries, including the few dozen ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2668 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had a spectacular time on this tour. Our tour guide, Roman, was very funny, informative, and entertaining. Roman made the bus ride fun!
Muir Woods is breathtaking. We greatly enjoyed sampling wines at the Mayo and Cline wineries.

Doing what: Best San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We enjoyed every minute of this tour. Our tour guide, Kenny, was funny and very entertaining.

Doing what: Napa and Sonoma Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a great tour! Anthony was so charming and friendly with his British accent. He was very knowledgeable about wine and took us to some great wineries. Muir Woods provided a great start to our day trip, and I learned so much about wine and the wine-making process. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Best San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

First the bad - bus was late picking us up and seating was oversold and could not sit with my wife for the first leg of the trip someone moved later to help out. The good part was everything else. The tour guide was excellent, provided solid tips on where to eat and provided time to see everything. We got to see and do more than was advertised and had an awesome day!

Doing what: Best San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very nice guided tour guide was very informative of the region and kept us entertained. The trip to Muir Woods was the right amount of time to be there. Next was Mayo winery, which was really nice and had some great tasting wine and accommodating hosts. Next was the highlight of the trip for me, lunch at the Sonoma Plaza... I recommend Swiss Hotel and their pizza although there are many great options and everyone is very friendly. Next we went to two places in Napa: Madonna Estates meh and Clines, which was a beautiful property. Guide pointed out San Quentin prison and Sonoma Race Course on the way back to town, where we stopped at the park overlooking the GG Bridge and got a great photo opportunity. Just the right amount of time at each stop. Highly recommend this tour if you want to see a lot without having to work hard to do so.

Doing what: Best San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

this venue exceeded my expectations. It was a fantastic experience. I did not spend the night, however. But the people I know who have spent the night there raved about it. I've already told several people I know they have to come here and experience it. Our guide was exceptional and was not only knowledgeable but she had a great sense of humor too.

Doing what: Safari West Sonoma Admission and Jeep Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our trip began earlier than most of the others and we had a chance to walk around MUIR WOODS without crowds..made a big difference.....
Being from europe the wines tasted a bit odd but the whole experience was fantastic and our guide was great too....

Doing what: Best San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was very well do Everything! Highlight was Muir Wods, no competition with creation. Our guide Paul was well informed and made the trip relaxed and fun. Enjoyed the banter and felt like he put thought into the itinerary and stops. Would definitely recommend!

Doing what: Best San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Well worth the time and money. Good stops except for last one. Could skip that one.

Doing what: Napa and Sonoma Wine Country Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

A very enjoyable day. Tour was well planned and very informative. Beautiful country!

Doing what: Napa and Sonoma Wine Country Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Good tour , well organised and a very knowledgable driver . Thank you .

Doing what: Napa and Sonoma Wine Country Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Fun to cover so much area in so little time! Our bus was hot despite the AC - but I am usually more on the warm side. If you get car sick, this may not be your ideal trip as the roads are windy. It doesn't last a very long time, but I'd recommend sitting at the front of the bus. The lunch stop is great because it's right in the middle of Sonoma and there are tons of different restaurants so you can get away from the group if you wish. For the most part, you could try any wine you wanted at all 3 vineyards. We didn't feel pressured to buy anything.

Doing what: Best San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

Unfortunately we went on a Sunday. The mini bus was full with 37 passengers, resulting in a dash for decent seating after each winery visit. Pick ups at the various hotels were very time consuming, putting the tour in a time crunch immediately. The driver was too laid back, who didn't emphasize length of visits - the bus was quite late in departing from Muir Woods as a result of tardy passengers. At the second winery, it was basically a gulp and go because scheduling was quite behind. Two of the three wineries visited had private distribution, meaning their products weren't available retail unless you bought there or joined their wine club. None of the wineries provided any means to cleanse the palate between samples - all samples were from the same glass - its tough to savor a pinot noir from a glass where you've just drank chardonnay from! With such a broad selection of wineries to choose from, the ones selected were in aggregate mundane. On the return trip, the driver stopped at a elevated lookout in Golden Gate Recreation Park for a great view from the northwest of San Francisco Bay and the Golden Gate, which was a nice touch. However, for the price paid, expectations were not met.

Doing what: Best San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was great. The tour guide, Lars, was very nice and ran things well. He showed a ton of genuine interest in our having a good time. We visited a good mix of wineries. I highly recommend.

Doing what: Best San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Drivers are friendly and ensures everyone was having a great time. I would recommend to other travelers. The buses are clean . I would definitely do it again

Doing what: Best San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The Muir Woods and Wine Country tour was great. I was visiting San Francisco by myself on a work trip and wanted to explore without the hassle of renting a car. The woods were beautiful. I loved stopping in Sonoma Square for lunch. Driving through the vineyards was pretty. I just wish we had some more time to spend at each winery.

Doing what: Best San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Trip was fantastic. the crew were very professional and fun.Everything was well organized. Best money I've ever spent.

Doing what: Sonoma Valley Hot Air Balloon Ride with Gourmet Champagne Brunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

gordo did a fantastic job, bus was real nice and comfortable

Doing what: Napa and Sonoma Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We loved the tour. Muir woods was beautiful. The silence was incredible. Now I know what they mean when they say, You could hear a pin drop. We then went to three wineries. The first winery was fabulous. The second, not so much. The third was the best, although the first one was right up there. Our tour guide Anthony was a riot. He also stopped for us to take pictures with the Golden Gate Bridge in the background. Only drawback, it was a very warm time in the area and the bus' AC was not the best. Still, I would highly recommend.

Doing what: Best San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This trip was great! Phil was a very knowledgeable and personable driver. He was able to get us into Stag's Leap which was the winery we most wanted to visit! Other members of our tour were also able to get some of their requests met. Overall everyone was happy!
The stop at the Golden Gate Bridge on our way back was breathtaking and we got some amazing pictures.

A must-do for visiting wine-country!

Doing what: Best Small-Group Wine Country Tour from San Francisco

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Wonderful day! We were picked up timely, and the driver was informative, funny, and kept the tour moving. This was our first trip to the wine country, and he made us want to book again. Give this tour a try, you won't be disappointed.
Bruce and Emily G.

Doing what: Best San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I joined this tour on 8/4/2015. I had a great day and I recommend you to take this tour because it takes you to three different wineries and have lunch at a beautiful town, Yountville. Also the driver is great and has a great sense of humor.

Doing what: Napa and Sonoma Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was one of the best tours we have taken. Our tour guide, Tommy Thompson, tailored the tour around our tastes. He also knew many of the wine tasting hosts/hostesses which made the tasting more intimate and personalized. In between stops he was very knowledgeable about the wines and the history of the area. This tour was definitely a day and money well spent.

Doing what: Hidden Wineries Tour of Napa and Sonoma

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Trip was excellent. Anthony was fantastic. Brilliant day.

Doing what: Best San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message