Often standing in the shadows of Napa, Sonoma provides a more laid-back, small town vibe than its more popular neighbor. Anchoring the Sonoma Valley, the town makes a good jumping-off point for exploring nearby wineries, including the few dozen ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2003 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour, great driver! He shared lots of information.

Doing what: Napa and Sonoma Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Super efficient and timesaving day tour to Muir Woods (early in the morning) and a visit to 3 wineries in the Sonoma/Napa valleys. Nice pickup and dropoff at the hotel.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Ben was a fantastic tour guide. He provided fun facts and described things well. He made us feel like a family. It was nice that the tour was in a small bus as opposed to a big bus as things were able to flow really smooth this way. Muir Woods forest was fantastic...nice that we were there before the crowds! Good selection of wineries too ranging from very small to mid-sized. Lunch in the town of Sonoma was a nice surprise too. Hotel pickup and drop off is a very nice bonus too. Viator is very well organized and I have no complaints.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My husband and I booked several Viator tours, this one was one of the best. Ben was our guide, and he was pleasant, funny and informative. Both Muir Woods and the Sonoma wineries were fantastic. The 2nd winery, Madonna, was our favorite. We learned a great deal and loved tasting the wine. It was an organic farm that is family owned, so we made our purchases and joined their wine club. We had a special stop on the ride home, an unbelievable scenic view of the Golden Gate and San Fran. Well worth it.
Oh, an we were picked up and dropped off at our hotel. Awesome day!

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My daughter and I had a beautiful day on this tour. The people at the wineries were very welcoming. The wines were wonderful. Our tour guide, Gordy, was amazing and very knowledgeable! If you get a chance, have lunch at Bottega in Yountville and stop at Le Bouchon for some macarons.
Elizabeth and Erika

Doing what: Napa and Sonoma Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had already booked this trip prior to the earthquake in this area. We were a little apprehensive about this trip. Everything went well. We truly enjoyed this trip...the wineries, the area, and the education that we received about the various wines. Just a beautiful area to view!

Doing what: Napa and Sonoma Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Totally enjoyed this trip. Our driver, Roman, was an excellent driver and told many fun-filled facts. He was so funny. He made the trip special. Would highly recommend this trip. What a wonderful day.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great visits to three winery's with generous tastings. Driver was knowledgeable and entertaining. A great way to see Napa and sonoma ! Lunch was in a very adorable but expensive area, a great option was their local deli for fresh sandwiches which were delicious and allowed for us to splurge on some pastries at the bouchon bakery.

Doing what: Napa and Sonoma Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

An incredible tour and experience! The wine carriage is fantastic; the horses, Cody and Shayanne make the ride so pleasant.

Doing what: Wine Country Tour by Horse and Carriage

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Bus was on time at our hotel, guide was knowledgeable, plenty of wine was shared at each vinyard.

Doing what: Napa and Sonoma Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I had never experience such a fantastic tour!!

Doing what: Napa and Sonoma Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Always a fun option with a bunch of friends. We bought sandwiches and beer and floated for a few hours on the half-day option. would totally do again!

Doing what: Russian River Canoe Trip from Healdsburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic tour, great tour guide, gave us a lot of additional and interesting information whilst driving to our destinations. Weren't at all rushed at Muir woods even though we were concerned we wouldn't have enough time and the winery's we went to were superb and we didn't feel pressured into making purchases.
We even stopped at a fantastic spot overlooking the Golden Gate Bridge on our way back for arguably some of the best views of the bridge and city.

Thanks Extranomical!

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

We were in Napa on Friday before the earthquake. Muir woods was fantastic. One hour was perfect and our driver Nick was very knowledgeable. The bus seats were a little uncomfortable and bumpy at certain times but it sure beat driving ourselves. We went to Mayo and Madonna - 2 local wineries that don't distribute their wines. We had 3 tastings at each one. Then we had lunch in Sonoma which was also perfect. We ate at Burgers and Vine and it was great. The last winery was Cline which is larger and also had 6+ tastings there. That was definitely our favorite of the 3 even though it's more commercial. On the way back we stopped at the Golden Gate overlook on the Marin side and took pictures. This is a great way to get familiar with the area, see some great sights and drink some great wine before you journey out on your own.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

As this is easily at least a 6-8 hour tour, I was very happy with the bus. It was clean all throughout, including the bathroom. With about a half hour or longer between each winery, the sightseeing and historical facts presented were a plus, plenty of picture or video worthy moments, especially going over the Golden Gate. The tour guide/driver was just okay, wasn't extremely engaging but didn't ignore us, either. The lunch spot was very nice, a little expensive, but this is coming from someone who was just visiting(I'm from the east coast). The first winery, Nicholson, was good but only had 3 tastings. The 2nd, Madonna, was smaller but we got to taste more, and the last was Sutter Home, which, while good, was a bit of a let down as I was expecting estates that were a little more exclusive and couldn't necessarily be found everywhere. In general terms this was a good trip, not excellent, especially since there was a family of 19 who brought about 6 or 7 kids (not sure why that was allowed or even why you'd want your kids to accompany you to something like that , but to each their own , i suppose) It's worth a one time go if you have the funds and are looking for something to do. Family friendly, good for any type of occasion.

Doing what: Napa and Sonoma Wine Country Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message