The Napa Valley Wine Country is the premiere destination for wine enthusiasts in the United States with an unrivaled history of quality wine making. Napa and Sonoma make up California's most famous wine region, home to hundreds of wineries and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2387 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

We really enjoyed our day wine-tasting, much more than we were expecting to. Our coach driver was really knowledgeable as were the guides in the wineries.

Doing what: Napa and Sonoma Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great trip to Napa Valley! The ferry ride to Vallejo was very pleasant and our bus was already there when we got out from the ferry. We soon reached the wine train and boarded. The train is trully amazing! Food is good and after we finished lunch we went to explore the rest of the train, as ghe staff also recommended we do. Unfortunately we missed our stop at Domaine Chandon. There is no announcement, so you don't know when to get off.
The train crew were great. They called the bus and were in constant contact with them, so they arranged to stop the train in another stop (not normally serviced by the Wine Train) and when we got off the shuttle was there to take us to Domaine Chandon. That is true dedication and a great service! So in the end we did have our wine tasting and returned very satisfied. Would definitely recommend the tour!

Doing what: Napa Valley Wine Train from San Francisco: Gourmet Lunch, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Our tour guide Kyle was a good host and very informative, not just about the wineries we visited but about the industry and region in general. The tour was set a relaxed pace and we did not feel rushed at any point. The four wineries we visited were quite different, with the last one offering a tour of the production facility.

Doing what: Napa Valley Wine Trolley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Gordon the driver, top lad always had something to say and very factual, really enjoy this day out and really miss San Fran...

Doing what: Napa and Sonoma Wine Country Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great day trip! Would have liked a little bit longer than 1 hour at Muir Woods. Wine tours and lunch in Sonoma was enjoyable. Ramon, the tour guide, was very knowledgeable and gave us lots of information about the areas we were seeing and was entertaining. He kept us on time. The only negative comment I have was Ramon's reminders (many) of the custom of tipping the tour guide. A couple of less reminders would have gained him a larger tip than he received.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

Clare M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Very slick but charming tour. The Raymond Vineyard (Valley First option) was well worth a trip and the wine was so so good! The food on the train was far better than expected.

Doing what: Napa Valley Wine Train from San Francisco: Gourmet Lunch, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Absolutely wonderful! Our driver, Don,couldn't have been any better! He was so knowledgeable and did everything to show the 8 of us a fabulous day in the wine country! We made suggestion of wineries we wanted to visit and he made it happen! I would highly recommend this tour if you want a a day of tasting great wines!

Doing what: Customizable Wine Country Tour from San Francisco

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Awesome. Nice, friendly tour guide. Relaxing day with beautiful weather. Comfy buses. Worth getting out of San Fran and seeing Napa valley. Reasonable prices at the wineries we visited. Would recommend.

Doing what: Napa and Sonoma Wine Country Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

This tour was a very good value for the money. Keep in mind it's a lot of windshield time - about 3 hrs. So the more wineries on the tour, the shorter the visit for each.

The first stop Nicholson Winery, was my favorite and there were so many interesting things on the land that I wanted to know more about but there wasn't enough time. It was so pretty that I wanted to sit with a bottle of wine there and take it all in but again there wasn't enough time.

The next stops I progressively preferred less and less, however I still enjoyed the tour overall.

This is a adequate tour for people who are still getting their feet wet with winery tours. I know now when I visit wine country again, I can spend all day at one or two truly fantastic wineries and I'd for sure say "no" to the more commercial wineries.

Also, just a note that if you plan to purchase any gifts, do so at the Madonna gift shop. Their prices are great and if you wait for Sutter Home, you'll pay twice as much.

The tour guide did talk a little bit more than necessary as other reviews indicate but he did finally zip it for the last 30 mins or so of the long ride back. It's a long day, people are tired and the incessant yapping doesn't benefit anyone except the chatty ego. I was glad when we got a break and enjoyed the rest of the ride back. Lots of what he said was interesting but about 25% of it was a little TMI.

Doing what: Napa and Sonoma Wine Country Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Very interesting tour for someone like me who knows nothing about American wine.
Visited a number of wineries and the driver was able to arrange last minute visits to a couple of wineries that people expressed an interest in visiting.
Note that lunch and tasting costs are not included.

Doing what: Customizable Wine Country Tour from San Francisco

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

This was a great tour. Would definitely recommend. What would have made it better would be longer time in the Muir Woods (an hour was not long enough), and a tour guide that didn't repeatedly tell us how much to tip him. It was so excessive that I ended up giving him less than I planned on. Wine country was lovely and we had a great lunch at the Swiss Hotel in Sonoma. Really appreciated the stop at the Golden Gate Bridge on the way back to the city. Great views.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

Muir woods was perfect! A wonderful place! The wine tour, however, left somthing to be desired. Presenters at the wineries took too much time and repeated information. This resulted in rushed wine tasting (unappetizing) and very little time to purchase any goods or wine we may have enjoyed.

Doing what: San Francisco Super Saver: Muir Woods and Wine Country Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

Took the train -- got the T-shirt -- wouldn't do it again. The food was OK, but not memorable. Because they do two seatings (one outbound, one on the return trip), the meal is somewhat rushed. We finished our salad course before the train even left the station. You are herded out of the dining car for desert in the observation car. View from the train is the same one you get driving up highway 29. Tour is expensive. I could have better spent the $500 (tour+wine+tips), but my wife wanted to "do" the train -- so we did!!

Doing what: Napa Valley Wine Train with Gourmet Lunch, Wine Tasting and Vineyard Tours

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

Expensive. The salmon was destroyed by the curry used by the chef. The wine flights were expensive. May not be visiting again.

Doing what: Napa Valley Wine Train

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I had a great time on this trip. The driver was quite knowledgeable and shared a lot of information. I would recommend this trip.

Doing what: Napa and Sonoma Wine Country Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message