California wine country may be the perfect spot for elegant vineyard parties, boozy bachelorette brunches and terrace samplings of dozens of world-class vintages, but it turns out there’s also plenty of buzz-free entertainment if you happen to have ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 23 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Pat B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great guide. Lots of fun.

Doing what: Safari West Sonoma Admission and Jeep Tour

Kimberly C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Excellent! Organized, started on time, beautiful grounds and a very knowledgeable and friendly guide Richard. Would love to go back and spend the night one of the tents.

Doing what: Safari West Sonoma Admission and Jeep Tour

Linda L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a great family trip. My grandchildren thoroughly enjoyed it and wants to go back and stay overnight this time. I give them 5 stars.

Doing what: Safari West Sonoma Admission and Jeep Tour

Darrin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

What a great experience. Everything that I had hoped for and more. Knowledgeable staff and happy to educate. Great way to spend part of your vacation in California!

Doing what: Safari West Sonoma Admission and Jeep Tour

Debra F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Absolutely loved Safari West in Santa Rosa! Our tour guide Travis was wonderful, knowledgeable and made our tour extra special! Can't wait to go back and spend the night next time in their beautiful tents!

Doing what: Safari West Sonoma Admission and Jeep Tour

Laurie G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Safari West is a unique and wonderful experience. A guided walk through the aviaries and a two-hour drive around the 400 acres of animals roaming freely. Our guide, Tonya, was extremely knowledgable about the biology of each species, as well as the personal background of the Individual animals.

Doing what: Safari West Sonoma Admission and Jeep Tour

Lydia F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We really enjoyed ourselves. Our tour guide Danna was the BEST! She was very informative and addressed all our questions. We highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Safari West Sonoma Admission and Jeep Tour

Betty H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

It was excellent. Thank you!

Doing what: Safari West Sonoma Admission and Jeep Tour

John C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We have been to several africa themed parks and we both think this is the best. We were amazed when we discovered they also have breakfast, lunch, and dinner available by reservation and also have cottages for rent. Other visitors who stayed at a cottage say it was their best nights sleep because the mattresses were that good.

Doing what: Safari West Sonoma Admission and Jeep Tour

RUTH Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

this venue exceeded my expectations. It was a fantastic experience. I did not spend the night, however. But the people I know who have spent the night there raved about it. I've already told several people I know they have to come here and experience it. Our guide was exceptional and was not only knowledgeable but she had a great sense of humor too.

Doing what: Safari West Sonoma Admission and Jeep Tour

David C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Friendly staff and great experience for our family of 4!

Doing what: Russian River Canoe Trip from Healdsburg

David E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great time, especially for kids. Very professional guides and overall operation.

Doing what: Safari West Sonoma Admission and Jeep Tour

Susan S H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

GREAT!!!! GRANDKIDS 4 AND 6 HAD A WONDERFUL TIME. GUIDE WAS EXCELLENT AND WELL VERSED ON INFORMATIONS.

Doing what: Safari West Sonoma Admission and Jeep Tour

Ginjabread USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Always a fun option with a bunch of friends. We bought sandwiches and beer and floated for a few hours on the half-day option. would totally do again!

Doing what: Russian River Canoe Trip from Healdsburg

Holly A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Really easy trip. We were able to have one adult and two kids per boat, which was great for me and my friend. We were doing it to celebrate summer with our recent graduates (from 2nd, 3rd, and 5th grades.) The staff was very helpful and the trip had tiny fast parts to make us feel triumphant!

Doing what: Russian River Canoe Trip from Healdsburg

Cecilia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had a great time, our guide was fabulous! The day was clear and warm, the Russian River is so picturesque in the fall. I will definitely come back. Thank you, well worth the price.

Doing what: Guided Kayak Tour: Russian River or Jenner Coast

Casey USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This canoe trip from Healdsburg was so much fun!

From the moment you park there are people ready and willing to help you with your bags and point out where to check in, all with a smile and some jokes (helpful on an early morning trip). The canoes are great, though at times a bit tiring to paddle, and have plenty of room for several bags and a cooler - the cooler is a must.

We had a blast switching off between paddling, drinking wine, and hanging out with our fellow canoers. The weather was overcast at first, but when the sun broke through we ditched our sweaters for bathing suits and took plenty of breaks to just float and soak up some sun.

Would definitely recommend this canoe trip!

Doing what: Russian River Canoe Trip from Healdsburg

Melissa H USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

I had so much fun! I'm not an outdoorsy-type but it was a blast. Calm water with tiny pockets of faster currents to keep it interesting. The instructor gave good tips on the best way to navigate the river, how to steer, paddle etc. He also gave tips on good places to go ashore and climb out for some swimming--so bring a swimsuit. The water is refreshing; I wish I had thought to wear one.

You don't have to be an Olympic rower to enjoy this tour. I'm was a miserable but enthusiastic captain and while our boat did donuts in the water and ran aground into bushes and rocks, we were having fun and constantly laughing. There's a little shop before you set out in case you forgot your sunscreen or hat (so recommended). Also, wear your flip-flops for sloshing around in the water.

This was a great tour for this beginner/city girl and fun way to explore wine country without the wine. :)

Doing what: Russian River Canoe Trip from Healdsburg

Bandit USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Great time coasting down the Russian River. It wasn't difficult to navigate (so don't be afraid if you've never done something like this before!) and the canoes were very sturdy. The instructor was professional and explained everything in detail before we took to the water. The good thing is that you aren't at a set pace; you can take a cooler with drinks and food, stop to swim or paddle as fast as you like!

Doing what: Russian River Canoe Trip from Healdsburg

taylor

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Amazing day out on Russian River! I did the half day trip and it was a really nice experience. Check-in was super easy and the briefing before we set off was informative. The stretch of the Russian River that we canoed down was beautiful - no buildings really, just great scenery, and super easy for paddling. There was plenty of space in the canoe for a cooler and lots of great spots to stop at along the way. Great for people of all ages!

Doing what: Russian River Canoe Trip from Healdsburg

Katiemo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

Fun day on the Russian River! The canoes were easy to maneuver and the views were beautiful. Before the trip, the guide gave us an overview of some basic canoe information so that was nice to learn before heading out on the water. I would highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Russian River Canoe Trip from Healdsburg

Christopher S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

The tour was great! Our tour guide was awsome and very informative. We really enjoyed it!

Doing what: Guided Kayak Tour: Russian River or Jenner Coast

Janis M

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

I thought the tour was wonderful and our guide extremely knowledgable. However, the lunch after was not good -- and a waste of money.

Doing what: Safari West Sonoma Admission and Jeep Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message