Naples ATTRACTIONS See all

Castel Nuovo (New Castle)

Castel Nuovo, better known locally as Maschio Angioino, looks the way a castle should look - fierce stone, towers and turrets. Built as the new royal residence between 1279 and 1282 by Charles I of Anjou, it is rightfully one of Naples' most ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 80 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Margery E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My friend and I had a wonderful walking tour with Anna as our guide. She is friendly, enthusiastic, and knowledgable. Brava!

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Ivan E

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Our guide was very informative on the area, showed us around town, gave tips on places to eat and shop. It was great to get the lay of the land. We were then able to feel comfortable exploring on our own.

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Birthday Boy

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

We booked many tours during our trip to Italy
Unfortunatly this was our least favorite!

Doing what: Small Group Naples City Sightseeing Tour

Eve L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We really enjoyed this informative and enjoyable tour. Our guide was attentive and well informed, his enthusiasm for his native city came across well. The tour opened our eyes to the history all around us and made us want to return to Naples soon.

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Naomi L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tours were fantastic and the staff very helpful

Doing what: Small Group Naples City Sightseeing Tour

Nicky B Switzerland

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We are very lucky yesterday to have an almost private tour as we were just two people with Fabrizio, who was a fabulous guide. Young, knowledgeable and passionate about his city of Naples we had a great overview of the city, it's history and superb cultural heritage. We even visited one of the new metro stations as a contrast to the ancient gems which was an indication of the city moving forward to be a modern thriving city. I would highly recommend this tour and will definitely go back for a more I depth look at Naples. It's a fantastic city!

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Courtney F

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Nice quick overview of the city.

Doing what: Small Group Naples City Sightseeing Tour

Greg T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fabrizio was wonderful.... very knowledgable

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Kieron B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fabrizio was our outstanding tour guide. We were lucky it was just the two of us with him which made it much more of a personal experience as of course, we were never out of sight or hearing. He delivered a fascinating tour with insight, personal anecdotes and with evident and obvious pride in his city. If you only have a limited time in Naples this is an ideal tour of the main highlights, if you have longer then of course you can return to your favourite points to delve deeper. The tour itself lasted around 2 hours and was at a leisurely to purposeful pace, rather than anything approaching breakneck speed so achievable for anybody of average mobility. Please do use Viator if you are at all wary of unprofessional operators, these guys deliver what they say they will, their tour guides are professional and prompt and the tours are very well organised. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Martin G

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Fabrizio was a very knowledgeable guide. He was very passionate about Naples and its long history and culture which is multiple -Greek,Roman ,French and Spanish as well as Italian as well as its football team. He was sensitive to what we wanted to see and do , as well as good at showing to us the highlights of central and historic Naples.Highly recommended!

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Scott F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great walking tour- great time for Scott and I!
Our tour guide, Anna, showed us so much of Naples. Great pace and really informative. Anna was a great resource for information about Naples. Anna was on time and gave us her full attention for the hours we toured. The coffee at the end was a welcome finish.
This walking tour was a real win!

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Scott F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Anna was a terrific tour guide. She arrived on time and gave us a great tour of Naples.
Thanks, Anna!

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

John D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

The guide was lovely but her English is not great so she could not answer questions comfortably. We had already been in Naples for 2 days so were eager to see the area we hadn't explored -- the historical section of town. Thanks to poor time management on her part, we ended up spending 90 of our time on the promenade and in Castle dell Ova, which we had already seen. Overall very disappointing.

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Wendy G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

A disaster. The guide never showed up. We will never use Viator again!!!

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Lucian N United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We were lucky to get a very knowledgeable guide

Doing what: Small Group Naples City Sightseeing Tour

Howard m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide was Fabrizio. He was very knowledgeable, engaging and really knew the city inside out. We got a lot of insights about the city and life in Naples - both today and in various bygone periods. The tour was nominally 2.5 hours but Fabrizio added another hour to make sure we did all of the key visitor attractions justice. Excellent!

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

dmelendez United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very good guide!

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Pamela C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A very friendly and knowledgeable guide who really gave us a marvellous introduction to Naples. We didn't have a lot of time in Naples so this showed us a great deal of the city.

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

David L

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Sonia's tour was very extensive. We certainly covered a lot of territory as the tour extended well beyond the scheduled 2.5 hours. I think we may have enjoyed it more if we just spent more time exploring the UNESCO listed historical centre of Naples. The city has so much history and this was certainly the most interesting part. There was also some confusion at the end in the café when she left us to sort out the coffee and cakes.

Naples generally has a unenviable reputation. Ignore it - it's a great place to visit! The views over the Bay are stunning and the back streets are brimming with dolci vita.

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

matthew d

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Very personal only me and husband and fabrizio was charming and knowledgeable. Make sure you are wearing comfortable walking shoes as it's a fair walk.

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

John B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

This tour was so bad it doesn't deserve a rating, but I can't submit a review without providing one. We have had good experiences in the past using Viator, but this tour undid all the goodwill you had built up with us previously.

Firstly, the tour was advertised as lasting two hours, but it ended after 90 minutes - apparently because you kept us sitting in the bus for over 30 minutes at the Cruise Terminal while you waited for passengers from a ship. Secondly, the tour was largely conducted in Spanish, although we and a number of passengers from the ship had booked a tour in English. It was clear that the guide - Andrea - was not comfortable speaking English - indeed, it was barely understandable.

One particularly annoying aspect was that he used every opportunity to voice his cynical opinions on religion, politics and a number of other issues. We would have preferred information. He is of course entitled to his views, but not when we are paying for a guided tour.

Finally, the itinerary was minimalist - we had already covered most of it on foot previously. It did not go to many of the main tourist spots - even though these are visited by the Hop-on Hop-off busses. These cost less, and we would have been better advised to use them.

Doing what: Small Group Naples City Sightseeing Tour

NIcholas G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Naples is a fascinating city steeped in history. Our guide showed a great knowledge of this history and was able to explain how the city, its castles and churches fitted into this history.there were only 2 of us on our tour which meant that we got first rate service.

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Jackie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great way to see Naples.

Doing what: Naples Segway Tour

Robert L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Was a very good choice to book this trip. We had a very nice, friendly and experienced tour guy called Fabrizio!
Other couple who booked this trip hasn't turned up so we had our private tour with Fabrizio. He loves his job he really explained us everything we have to know about Naples. We were very surprised about the history of this beautiful city! Highly recommended tour and if you lucky you might get Fabrizio as a tour guy!
Thanks Fabrizio!!xxx

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message