Naples ATTRACTIONS See all

Castel Nuovo (New Castle)

Castel Nuovo, better known locally as Maschio Angioino, looks the way a castle should look - fierce stone, towers and turrets. Built as the new royal residence between 1279 and 1282 by Charles I of Anjou, it is rightfully one of Naples' most ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 70 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Scott F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great walking tour- great time for Scott and I!
Our tour guide, Anna, showed us so much of Naples. Great pace and really informative. Anna was a great resource for information about Naples. Anna was on time and gave us her full attention for the hours we toured. The coffee at the end was a welcome finish.
This walking tour was a real win!

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Scott F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Anna was a terrific tour guide. She arrived on time and gave us a great tour of Naples.
Thanks, Anna!

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

John D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

The guide was lovely but her English is not great so she could not answer questions comfortably. We had already been in Naples for 2 days so were eager to see the area we hadn't explored -- the historical section of town. Thanks to poor time management on her part, we ended up spending 90 of our time on the promenade and in Castle dell Ova, which we had already seen. Overall very disappointing.

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Wendy G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

A disaster. The guide never showed up. We will never use Viator again!!!

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Lucian N United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We were lucky to get a very knowledgeable guide

Doing what: Small Group Naples City Sightseeing Tour

Howard m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Our guide was Fabrizio. He was very knowledgeable, engaging and really knew the city inside out. We got a lot of insights about the city and life in Naples - both today and in various bygone periods. The tour was nominally 2.5 hours but Fabrizio added another hour to make sure we did all of the key visitor attractions justice. Excellent!

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

dmelendez United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very good guide!

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Pamela C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A very friendly and knowledgeable guide who really gave us a marvellous introduction to Naples. We didn't have a lot of time in Naples so this showed us a great deal of the city.

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

David L

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Sonia's tour was very extensive. We certainly covered a lot of territory as the tour extended well beyond the scheduled 2.5 hours. I think we may have enjoyed it more if we just spent more time exploring the UNESCO listed historical centre of Naples. The city has so much history and this was certainly the most interesting part. There was also some confusion at the end in the café when she left us to sort out the coffee and cakes.

Naples generally has a unenviable reputation. Ignore it - it's a great place to visit! The views over the Bay are stunning and the back streets are brimming with dolci vita.

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

matthew d

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Very personal only me and husband and fabrizio was charming and knowledgeable. Make sure you are wearing comfortable walking shoes as it's a fair walk.

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

John B

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

This tour was so bad it doesn't deserve a rating, but I can't submit a review without providing one. We have had good experiences in the past using Viator, but this tour undid all the goodwill you had built up with us previously.

Firstly, the tour was advertised as lasting two hours, but it ended after 90 minutes - apparently because you kept us sitting in the bus for over 30 minutes at the Cruise Terminal while you waited for passengers from a ship. Secondly, the tour was largely conducted in Spanish, although we and a number of passengers from the ship had booked a tour in English. It was clear that the guide - Andrea - was not comfortable speaking English - indeed, it was barely understandable.

One particularly annoying aspect was that he used every opportunity to voice his cynical opinions on religion, politics and a number of other issues. We would have preferred information. He is of course entitled to his views, but not when we are paying for a guided tour.

Finally, the itinerary was minimalist - we had already covered most of it on foot previously. It did not go to many of the main tourist spots - even though these are visited by the Hop-on Hop-off busses. These cost less, and we would have been better advised to use them.

Doing what: Small Group Naples City Sightseeing Tour

NIcholas G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Naples is a fascinating city steeped in history. Our guide showed a great knowledge of this history and was able to explain how the city, its castles and churches fitted into this history.there were only 2 of us on our tour which meant that we got first rate service.

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Jackie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great way to see Naples.

Doing what: Naples Segway Tour

Robert L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Was a very good choice to book this trip. We had a very nice, friendly and experienced tour guy called Fabrizio!
Other couple who booked this trip hasn't turned up so we had our private tour with Fabrizio. He loves his job he really explained us everything we have to know about Naples. We were very surprised about the history of this beautiful city! Highly recommended tour and if you lucky you might get Fabrizio as a tour guy!
Thanks Fabrizio!!xxx

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Gurprit T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guide was brilliant and very informative. Overall thumbs up!

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Mrs JR T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Really enjoyed this - the guide was 30 mins late, which was not a good start, but she was excellent, and gave us lots of ideas of what to do for the rest of our visit. The tour started at Cafe Gambrinus, where we had our best pizza in Italy, and finished 5 minutes from our hotel as well which was an added bonus!

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Aare K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

All was fine! Thanks! The guide was very well prepared

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

diane

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I spent a fabulous couple of hours in the company of Fabrizio, my guide for this tour. The other customer did not turn up so it was essentially a private tour -
We walked and talked for hours and covered a huge area of Naples. I felt very informed by the end of the tour and was even deposited in an amazing restaurant where I had the most delicious lunch. His wealth of knowledge was impressive and I would have no hesitation in recommending this tour, if you enjoy walking...

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Ruth M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour is perfect to have a first impression of the city upon landing. My tour guide was polite and knew his history. H

Doing what: Naples by Night Tour Including Pizza Dinner

Loren M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour guide, Alberta was outstanding. She helped explain how the city was set-up and showed us major sites. Told us about the different kinds of churches and they destroyed in WW II. Thanks

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Lucy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide Anna was extremely personable and knowledgeable. Our walking tour of Naples was comprehensive and interesting. The tour gave us such a good overview that we were able to go back ourselves and explore more in depth the places that Anna had introduced us to.

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Chauntel G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our tour guide was great!!! Very personable and friendly, and knew a great deal about the area and the history! Would definitely recommend to anyone coming to visit Naples. I wish we were here long enough to go on his Almafi Coast tour but we still had a great time. Thank you so much!!

Doing what: Naples by Night Tour Including Pizza Dinner

Carla K Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Anna was a wonderful guide. She is very knowledgeable and proud of her cut - Napoli. We were impressed that she shared the wonderful things about Napoli - she also shared some of the challenges shared by all cities of the world. She was also able to assist with wine recommendations.

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Andrea S

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

We only had an afternoon free in Naples and this was excellent to familiarize ourselves with this gritty, dirty city but full of wonderful areas and we loved where we stayed in the Historic Area. Loved the walk around some of Naples great historic attractions and around the waterfront.

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message