Naples ATTRACTIONS See all

Castel Nuovo (New Castle)

Castel Nuovo, better known locally as Maschio Angioino, looks the way a castle should look - fierce stone, towers and turrets. Built as the new royal residence between 1279 and 1282 by Charles I of Anjou, it is rightfully one of Naples' most ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 58 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Crammed a lot into the time available. Certainly worth going, but could do with longer to include more sights and history.

Doing what: Small Group Naples City Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

It was a good introduction to Naples. On a future trip it would be great to go a little deeper in learning about the city

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2014

Not too much to see, Pizza was OK.

Doing what: Naples by Night Tour Including Pizza Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was a perfect tour and Roberta, our guide, was outstanding! We thoroughly enjoyed it and would definitely recommend this tour to others!! I saw so much and learned a lot!

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Roberta, a very knowledgeable and amiable guide, delivered exactly what we wanted - a concise overview of the major attractions of Naples. We visited some major sites together and she gave us suggestions and ideas for others to visit on our own.

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

the tour was nice but we had to deal several times with the vendor on the pick up location all worked out OK

Doing what: Naples by Night Tour Including Pizza Dinner

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Our guide Anna was lovely, knowledgeable and informative but this tour should be called 'half the city tour'. It is too short to include the major sites in Naples (we didn't even get to the Duomo). I would have preferred to visit this instead of the free cake stop.

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The Viator person found us at the pier and then our little group of 12 or so exited the harbor area. Nice to have a smaller van and smaller group. Driver was very good. I didn't think our guide was. He was disappointing and un-professional in my judgment. He didn't comment on the city or on streets as we drove through. He only shared information when asked specific questions and that was only audible to those by him. He constantly interjected his own personal opinions, e.g. about immigrants coming to Italy. Also in the Cathedral he thoroughly trashed devotional practices, especially surrounding San Gennaro, and Catholicism in general. There was no balance, no context, little historical explanation about how the devotion to San Gennaro arose and grew. I found this not only totally subjective, but unprofessional for a so-called professional guide. He certainly can have his own beliefs and express this, but he should be explaining the site with more balance and sensitivity. Disappointing. But on the whole we still enjoyed the tour since it was the kind of short overview of Naples we wanted. I just wish we had a different guide, one more like those that others raved about online.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion:Small Group Naples City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a fantastic tour that was informative and enjoyable. It gave us a great insight into Naples and really enhanced our stay!

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our Naples City Walking Tour with Roberta!! She was extremely knowledgeable about the artifacts and history of Naples. We were very lucky to have a small tour with just the two of us and Roberta. Naples was beautiful, interesting and we felt very comfortable and safe there! We would highly recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

good all round short trip,guide was on time at the docks was a taste of naples,excellent value

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion:Small Group Naples City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

good all round short trip,guide was on time at the docks was a taste of naples,excellent value

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion:Small Group Naples City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a short 2 hours tour of the highlights or must sees of the city of Naples, my husband and I thought it was a great tour to get an overview of the city that we would then explore on our own. The guide was excellent , very friendly and knowledgeable about Naples and overall Italy. She gave us some suggestions for shopping and eating which were very good. I would recommend this tour as a quick intro to Naples.

Doing what: Small Group Naples City Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Not what we expected - it was ok - gives you a little clue as to where you are and other things to see and do
Get this trip done day 1 if you can as it does show many areas - its not a walking tour few stops and plenty of information

Doing what: Small Group Naples City Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We had Roberta for a guide. It was easy to meet. I appreciated having a walking tour because I was told that Naples was a dangerous city. Roberta walked us around and gave us a history lesson about the beginning of Naples and where to walk. We visited some beautiful churches and she recommended some great places to eat. She told us we could use the subway system with confidence as it was very nice and it gave us a feeling of security based on what she told us. It was our first morning in the city and we found her to be warm and caring. She was proud of her city. After this tour we walked everywhere and within a few days in the city we found all the people we met very hospitable. Naples is a city worth visiting for the culture, the food and the people

Doing what: Naples City Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message