Mount Vesuvius looms across the bay from Naples, 5.6 mi (9 kms) away from the city. It is the only mainland European volcano to have erupted in the last hundred years although it is currently sleeping. Most famously it erupted in 79 AD, burying ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 84 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

A fantastic day. We were picked up at our hotel exactly on time. Our enthusiastic guide Antonio provided us with many details about Pompeii, and answered all questions knowledgeably. Lunch was a tasty choice of pizza or cannelloni. We continued by bus to Mt.Vesuvius. The 40 minute somewhat steep climb was worth the view, and it was quite exciting to be at the top of a slightly steaming volcano. A good time was had by all!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!!! The guides that we had on the bus were funny, very entertaining and full of information of the surrounding areas that we past on the 3 hour bus ride from Rome to Naples (and return). It was nice to get some "out of the box" details of things that you may have never known about. When we got to the entranceof Pompei we were matched up with the local guide who was very good at his job! He graced us with plenty of information and details on the ancient city. Of all the tours we took during our 3 weeks in Italy, this tour guide was on the ball when it came to the extreme amount of people in Pompei. He was really aware of his surroundings and moved our group though the city in a way that we weren't constantly being pushed by the hoards! Well done and very informative!

The hike up Mt. Vesuvius was neat. Not to worry, the bus take you to the base of the cone and it's only a short haul up hill to get to the first view of the crater. There's two additional stops that you can reach which give you a different view of the Crater. For those that are expecting lava you'll be dispapointed, although it's an active volcano, it's been dormant for 75 years so the crater looks like any open pit (if you familiar with mines). None the less it's really cool to say they we hiked it (our version of our story does not include the bus ride to the top. lol).

While we were there the Micro Climate changed and we couldn't see Naples below, which would have been nice. That's life!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing day trip. Bus took us as high up Mt Vesuvius as it was allowed. It was a 40 minute walk up a 14 degree slope with a number of stops to catch my breath. Able to look down into the crater and still see steam or smoke coming out. Then a 20 minute walk down to where the bus was waiting. A little leery knowing this is still considered an active volcano, although it last erupted in 1944.
The ruins of Pompeii are much bigger then expected. Imagine a city of 20,000 people buried! The stone streets have deep ruts worn in them from many years of wagon wheels. It all came into perspective when we stood in the main city square and saw Mt Vesuvius 7 miles away. Now I can imagine what happened!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

My husband and I took this tour together in early October. I had been to Pompeii previously, but did a self-guided tour back then. It was really great to experience Pompeii with a guide. I learned a lot and got a better understanding of what I was looking at. It poured the second we got to Pompeii, and our tour felt a bit rushed; we would have loved about 30 minutes more time to explore there. Overall, what sold me on going back to Pompeii was the chance to hike Mt. Vesuvius. Even though it was a cloudy day, it was still a cool experience. I'm sure the view is absolutely amazing up there on a clear day. Our travel guides were Roberto and Melanie; they shared awesome knowledge during our bus rides -- everything from volcanology to historic battles to tips on how to find the best gelato. They were entertaining and made the travel time go quickly!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

This tour was nice but also much longer than I expected. There is one bus that comes around to all the pick up points, so if they are 15 mins late you are probably just one of the last pick ups, I didn't know this and was worried. Its quite a drive to get to vesuvius, take your car sick pills, but once there they give you a bathroom break and its only 15 mins to the volcano. Then you board a BIG BUS (not the american 4x4) which drives you to the top. I restate, take your carsick pills! But it is a LOT of fun if you live roller coasters. There is a serious hike to the top, as 26/28 year old newlyweds we had no problems, but some in our group did. There is no tour that can sidestep the hike though. At the top the view is great but the tour is just someone shouting at you with 3 postcards for 3 minutes, skip this and enjoy some extra time to walk around the top. Stop for some wine at the gift shop, then climb back to the bus that takes you down. Lunch wasn't until about 2:30PM, so eat a good breakfast. You sample many things, but the Sorrento farm tour had much better stuff. You try the wine, but we felt rushed through the tasting and food without explanations or proper pairings, when you glass is empty they just pour the next without waiting for the food, or explaining anything about the wine or the years harvest. At the end you get a 5 min explanation about how old the winery is. We did buy a bottle of the rose because it is so unique and tasty though. Then the long ride home. Nice tour, reasonable price, but it is a full day which we wish we had know.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius 4x4 Tour from Sorrento Including Hike, Lunch and Wine Tasting

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

This tour was nice but also much longer than I expected. There is one bus that comes around to all the pick up points, so if they are 15 mins late you are probably just one of the last pick ups, I didn't know this and was worried. Its quite a drive to get to vesuvius, take your car sick pills, but once there they give you a bathroom break and its only 15 mins to the volcano. Then you board a BIG BUS (not the american 4x4) which drives you to the top. I restate, take your carsick pills! But it is a LOT of fun if you live roller coasters. There is a serious hike to the top, as 26/28 year old newlyweds we had no problems, but some in our group did. There is no tour that can sidestep the hike though. At the top the view is great but the tour is just someone shouting at you with 3 postcards for 3 minutes, skip this and enjoy some extra time to walk around the top. Stop for some wine at the gift shop, then climb back to the bus that takes you down. Lunch wasn't until about 2:30PM, so eat a good breakfast. You sample many things, but the Sorrento farm tour had much better stuff. You try the wine, but we felt rushed through the tasting and food without explanations or proper pairings, when you glass is empty they just pour the next without waiting for the food, or explaining anything about the wine or the years harvest. At the end you get a 5 min explanation about how old the winery is. We did buy a bottle of the rose because it is so unique and tasty though. Then the long ride home. Nice tour, reasonable price, but it is a full day which we wish we had know.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius 4x4 Tour from Sorrento Including Hike, Lunch and Wine Tasting

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

After reading various reviews about the fitness levels required for climbing Vesuvius, I was extremely apprehensive about taking my 65 year old, rather overweight Mother on this trip. However, although it is pretty hard going at times, we made it with no problems and I certainly wouldn't class myself as "fit" either! My only complaint about the trip is that it is so rushed. We were given just 90 minutes to get up the Volcano and back down to the bus. The tour guide was lovely and very funny, but didnt actually tell us anything about the history of Vesuvius and just kept repeating that we needed to be back at the bus by 4.30... If we had longer to do the trek then it would have been amazing. Even just half an hour more would have meant being able to walk up a little slower then have longer to take in the views at the top. But I would still recommend this trip, just dont expect to have very long at the top!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius Half-Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Outstanding. Massimo and Sara were knowledgeable and very entertaining. A great team ably supported by Alberto to whom I raise my hat. There is no way I would drive up to the volcano in that chaos. Pompei guide very good. I would go again if onlY to be so well entertained again. The delights of Pompeii and Vesuvius are an added bonus.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was really convenient. We all met at Piazza del Popolo in Rome and loaded on air conditioned buses. We had a comfort stop half way to the volcano and again on the return trip. We had excellent guides that gave us a lot of history of the region as we traveled to our destinations. They watched over us as we climbed Vesuvius and kept us together at Pompeii. We had a very experienced guide at Pompeii. This tour took all the guess work out of navigating the transportation to Pompeii from Rome. It was a very comfortable tour. I plan to look into the tours they give in other places as I travel.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We originally booked the Pompeii tour with a walk up Mount Vesuvius. The meeting point was clear on the email and was a central point in Rome. The coach we were on was clean and air conditioned with good leg room. We were looked after by the excellent guides Massimo, the Italian Stallion and Sarah, the Irish Brainbox. Both of them worked fantastically hard all day to keep us happy and interested, Massimo with his local knowledge and stylized comedy and Sarah with her vast Ancient History knowledge including humorous stories about the Gods and Saints which we particularly liked. Sadly on the trip we could not climb the volcano because of the weather but luckily our guides had a backup plan of the Museum in Naples which linked in perfectly with the tour of Pompeii. During the actual tour of Pompeii we were shown around be a local guide who was thoughtful enough to take us to a quiet spot, away from the bustling tourists, which was one of the most phenomenal views of the trip. On the way home Massimo and Sarah were just as useful. They recommended us a number of places to visit of the remainder of our trip, each of which we went to, each of which were fantastic. They basically shaped the rest of our holiday and for that I will be truly grateful. I could not recommend booking a tour with Massimo and Sarah enough, they really did make our day!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Sharron H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wow, what a day this was! We almost didn't go for the Pompeii / Vesuvius tour due to the expense, but I have to say, it was well worth every penny. I think this was my favourite day of my holiday!
The tour starts early (7.30am) and finishes quite late (8.00pm), so it's a long day, but we had a bit of sleepy time on the bus in both directions!
Our tour guide Siriana (apologies if I've spelt that wrong!) was absolutely brilliant! I learned so much from her - not just about ancient and more recent Italian history, but also about the country today. She provided oodles of information not only about the country we found ourselves driving through, but also about Italian society, TV, movies, food. She recommended restaurants and cafes, suggested other places to visit, and really gave us a flavour of how much of Italy came to be the way it is today. (Gusto was excellent - best pizza I had on my holiday!)
Despite getting stuck in a traffic jam on the way, I still felt as if I had enough time at Pompeii. It was baking hot, so in some ways I was quite glad to get back on the bus! I still can't quite believe I've seen such an amazing site. The guide at Pompeii, Georgio, was also excellent, imparting a wealth of information in a short amount of time with a great deal of wry humour (especially when dealing with a really rude American tourist trying to jump the line waiting to get into the brothel. Yes there's a 2000 year old brothel in Pompeii!)
Vesuvius was also incredible. Again, I still can't believe I actually walked the last 200 metres to the top! While the first third of the climb is quite challenging (the whole climb should have taken us about 20 minutes and took us 45!), it was well worth it. The views are spectacular, and the steaming crater is really quite intimidating! The clouds came down when we reached the top, which was also really spooky!
I really can't recommend this tour enough. 5 stars also to our driver Faust for getting us up the volcano!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We were traveling with our three college age grandsons. My husband and I had been to Pompii before but not Vesuvius. the ride up the very, very narrow mountain road was harrowing but well worth the tension! our kids loved it all!! looking into the crater after the hike to the top was really special, especially for our grandson who was celebrating his 19th birthday, pretty memorable! It's a once in a lifetime experience, especially as Vesuvius IS an active volcano! Sheila troutman

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was absolutely amazing. I was worried it would be a little expensive for what it was. But in the end, 130 euros per person was totally worth it. This included a 3-hour coach air-conditioned bus ride leaving at 730am from Rome (with one pit stop at midpoint) to Pompeii, during which our 2 tour guides fascinated us with constant information about Rome's history in general, and anything we asked. When arriving in Pompeii (which, in itself is an awe-inspiring experience) we met up with a specialized Pompeii tour guide who directed us through the ancient city. It's nice to have someone tell you what things used to be, and guide us so we don't get lost. We then went to Naples for lunch (best pizza!) and they taught us the history of how the pizza originated. We then headed toward Mt Vesuvius, where our tour guides continued to explain to us the tragedy of Pompeii. The hike up the Vesuvius was moderately difficult (an elderly or out-of-shape person might have a little trouble) as it was a constant 30 degree incline and took about 30min, but mostly just sandy (no rocky terrain). On the top the view was spectacular, and the idea of being near an active volcano was pretty cool. We then had the same 3 hour bus ride home with one pitt stop midway, and again the tour guides showered us with more information.

I felt we really got our money's worth: 2x 3-hour bus ride tours of info, 1-hour guided tour of pompeii, lunch included, and ticket to go up the vesuvius. Our tour guides (Roberto and Sarah) were absolutely incredible, I would request them if I could. Go for it!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A great tour with helpful and informative guides. It's an easy way to get to and see Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius all in a day. The weather was kind to us so we had a great view at the top of the Volcano, well worth the 20 min hike. Pompeii was also definitely worth the visit, an amazing site and well preserved, and the local guide helped us understand the history behind it all, also keeping us entertained.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great day! Only disappointment was we could not climb Mount Vesuvius (the main reason we chose this tour) due to heavy rain and the backup (museum) is closed on Tuesdays. Went to a sulphur volcano which was ok. Had a very informative and great guide (Daniel). Pompeii portion was amazing.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message