• USD ($)
  • English
Mount Vesuvius looms across the bay from Naples, 5.6 mi (9 kms) away from the city. It is the only mainland European volcano to have erupted in the last hundred years although it is currently sleeping. Most famously it erupted in 79 AD, burying ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 67 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

POMPEII WAS ONE OF THE HIGHLIGHTS OF OUR TRIP TO ITALY, OUR GUIDE WAS TERRIFIC, (SORRY I FORGOT HIS NAME). HE MADE IT INTERESTING AND ENJOYABLE, HE SPOKE GREAT ENGLISH AND POPEII ITSELF IS A WONDERFUL TIME CAPSULE. IT WAS SOMINTERESTING AS HOW MANY MODERN DAY EXPRESSIONS AND ITEMS WERE INFLUENCED BY A CIVILISATION SO LONG AGO.

VESUVIUS WAS ALSO GOOD BUT OUR GUIDE FOR THIS PART OF THE TRIP WAS USLESS, TOLD US VERY LITTLE ABAOUT THE VOLCANO. THE CRATER WASN'T AS IMPRESSSIVE AS I HAD IMAGINED BUT STILL WORTH THE HIKE.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great tour. We met at 7:30 AM in Piazza de Popolo. There were two groups on the same bus. We were given a little bit of info then the guides Violet and Mara let the group sleep. We stopped for a snack/bathroom break. Following that we were given information about lunch and the tour of Pompeii. We arrived and were met by the local guide. This guy was great. What a sense of humor and more good information about the sight. Lunch then followed. Afterwards off to the volcano Vesuvius. The road going to the midway point was incredibly windy, but the bus had no problems. We were given over an hour to clim to the top and then return to the bus. On the way back to Rome we stopped at the same place as in the morning. Great tour!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour is a must do! Do not miss, The tour of Pompeii was amazing. I was surprised how preserved the site was. To be in Pompeii with Mt. Vesuvius in the background was breath taking. Then to climb up to the creator's edge and see this active volcano releasing steam was humbling. Our guide Mike was was excellent. Mike was extremely informative, witty and attentive to question related (as we'll unrelated) to the tour. Thank you Mike.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Had a wonderful day at Vesuvius and Pompei. Our guide, Violet, was a treasure. She kept a close eye on us, answered all of our questions, and even climbed the volcano with us. Our guide in Pompei, Vicenzo, was also terrific; friendly, informative and very knowledgeable. Although a rest stop was much appreciated, the place in Casino was a blatant tourist trap. We would definitely recommend the trip and these guides.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Joyful
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Great day. Only problem they take you to Pompeii first and you walk around for a few hours. Walked over for lunch. Lunch mainly pizza. Then they take you to Vesuvius and after a tiring morning expect you to climb up the volcano. I had looked forward to seeing and climbing Vesuvius so much but was too tired to make the climb. I am very disappointed.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

If you plan on seeing Pompeii and Herculaneum you should see Vesuvius as well. Amazing views of the region and a chance to see an active (if currently very placid) volcano. Our guide was excellent and very entertaining and the driver was very good as well (believe me you want that). Worth the climb.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius Half-Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Loved this trip, our guide "Andrea (?) " was excellent. He certainly knew his stuff. Pompeii was an incredible experience. Learnt so much and a lot bigger than we were expecting. Highly recommend visiting Pompeii. Mt Vesuvius would have been a brilliant experience had it not been bitterly cold and exceptionally windy !!! My 13 year old daughter had visions of being blown off the side of the volcano !!!! Would definitely visit both again, with the hope of reaching the crater next time.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We enjoyed a full day tour of Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius. The morning was spent at Pompeii with our guide who was very knowledgeable and fun to be around. I am so glad we had a guide on this tour; otherwise there would have been a lot that we would not have understood. After lunch at a nice restaurant, our guide took us to the base of Mt. Vesuvius and we had the option of hiking to the top or just relaxing at the base. There was 4 of us in the group and we all decided to go to the top. We were glad we did as it gave us an appreciation for this incredible volcano. All in all, it was a great day and I would highly recommend the tour with Viator.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was an incredible tour! My wife and I did this for part of our honeymoon and had a great time! The tour was through Dark Rome and we had a great tour guide in Mike. The bus ride isn't too long and along the way the guides give you some great information about ancient Rome and Pompeii. Climbing Mt. Vesuvius and walking along the edge of an active volcano is amazing. Then going into Pompeii and seeing the ancient ruins and hearing about how it was buried was very interesting. If you're going to Italy this is one trip you need to take. Thanks, Dark Rome!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had the best day ever, the whole trip was organised brilliantly, our tour guides Roberto and Luka really made the day, they looked after everyone so well and kept the day on track from beginning to end. The coach was air conditioned and extremely comfortable and the road trip was great! We were a little concerned when we booked that it was such a long journey, however, it was fabulous we had a pit stop at a lovely cafe and we were able to see the beautiful Italian country side. We then went on to Mt Vesuvius which was amazing, looking into the heart of the volcano wow!! We then had a delicious lunch before visiting Pompeii which was absoutely incredible, walking through ancient streets that are still in tact is spectacular. Returning to the coach for a very well earned rest, Roberto and Luka gave us information about the scenery as we past through it, which everyone really enjoyed. My husband and I cannot recommend this trip enough it was absolutely fantastic!!!!!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Was a brilliant day - well worth the money! Our guide Andreas was sooooo helpful, informative and amusing - his non-stop commentary throughout the tour really helped us understand what life was like back in Pompeii before Mt V changed all that forever.

The climb to the top of Mt Vesuvius wasn't as bad as I had expected - unfortunately, the cloud was so low that you couldn't see into the crater when you reached the top but it was very atmospheric and sorta exciting to be walking in the clouds on this infamous volcano.

I also loved that fact that there were only 9 of us in the group - but guess that's just a bonus of going 'out of season'.

And the pizza and vino didn't disappoint either!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The tour was great, dark Rome are a great tour group. We were originally suppose to do Mt Vesuvius in the morning and Pompeii after lunch, this was changed which meant that we ended up climbing the Volcano on a full stomach but both tours were a fantastic experience. Lunch however was ordinary.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

A great tour of ancient Rome in one of the best preserved cities you will see which remained buried under volcanic rock lost from history for nearly 1500 years.

The entire population of around 20,000 people was wiped out buy the enormous eruption of Mount Vesuvius. During excavations hundreds of bodies were found cemented under the volcanic rock.

Plaster casts were made which shows many of the victims in their last agonising seconds frozen in time many of which can be observed at the site.

As well as walking the streets of Pompeii we also went to Mount Vesuvius which was unfortunately a bit of a let down. At the time we arrived, there was a large cloud covering the top of the mountain, this meant that you could not see inside the crater of the volcano due to the dense fog. As the tour in on a tight schedule there is no chance to go back later which was a bit of a let down, only made up for by the great tour of Pompeii. The tour also includes pizza in Naples with drinks.

I would recommend this tour for people of all ages a very intriguing insight into history.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Another WINNER for Viator! This was an unbelievable experience! It was as if we had stepped back in time as we walked through the streets and visited the houses of Pompeii! Our guides were professional and experts in history. We learned (and saw!) a lot of really interesting things. I continue to be amazed at the ingenuity of the Ancient Romans. The hike up Vesuvius is certainly thrilling, and a "must do" on the bucket list, not to mention the views of Naples and the coast line from the summit of the volcano! One of our BEST tours. I don't think there is anyway one can "oversell" this tour...I definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Rome!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Great trip, be prepared for a long day! Nice coach ride to Mount Vesuvius where we trekked up the mountain (its not that difficult). Enjoyed seeing the crate and going up the volcano.
Then to a fab lunch of pizza to re-energise us before the afternoon tour of Pompeii which was very interesting and well worth it as you wouldn't necessary know what to look out for.
All in all a goody, shame it's so far as you do very little and spend a long time on the coach. Sara and Amanda the guides were very good and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message