Mount Vesuvius looms across the bay from Naples, 5.6 mi (9 kms) away from the city. It is the only mainland European volcano to have erupted in the last hundred years although it is currently sleeping. Most famously it erupted in 79 AD, burying ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 98 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Ahh, where to begin...this tour was the highlight of my trip for sure. First, the tour guides, Stephanie and I can't remember the other lady's name were very pleasant and passed the time well with information about the destinations as the picturesque bus ride went along. They did this periodically and it was not excessive so you had time to have conversations with others on the tour or just to relax. The tour of Pompeii was not conducted by the tour guides that were on the bus, but the lady that did this tour was also very nice, funny and knowledgable. Lunch was good, the bus tour guides gave a nice story of the area that tied it nicely together with the menu for lunch and the flavor was pretty good. The Mount Vesuvius hike was surely the high point, pardon the pun, of the tour...the views were just stunning. I will say that they aren't lying when they say that it requires some physical fitness. I was able to make it to the furthest point of the path up the volcano but I wouldn't describe the hike as easy. There are 3 stopping points on the hike and the views from each are equally nice, you don't lose much by not making it all the way to the top, so if you don't make it you certainly have not been cheated. Do yourself a favor and make this tour a priority if you are in the area!!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

tour guide was absolute gold: funny, knowledgeable, and very vigilant on our whereabouts at all times. the tour itself was well organized. the bus picked us up from the hostel at exactly the right time, the time spent at pompeii and vesuvius each was also just right though we could have done with a bit longer at vesuvius, twenty five minutes was not sufficient time to walk up the volcano as the tour guide claimed! but overall we left the tour feeling very satisfied. five out of five, we were very happy customers.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Vesuvius is a HIKE, be prepared, no matter how hard you think it is going to be, it's harder. That being said and we did 5 excursions, this one was by far the best. So cool to see the ruins and the volcano was just intense!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour is a must for visiting Vesuvius and Pompeii. We had Andrea as a tour guide and he was absolutely phenomenal. So funny and entertaining that it made learning about the history fun! The tour include pizza at this local restaurant and included a climb up the volcano! Definitely worth booking!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Pompei was simply AMAZING! It should be a must see for all visitors to Italy. We only had 2 hours here, and saw approx 1/5th of what there was to see, but the guide was brilliant! Georgio really knew his stuff, and made it fun and interesting. Really engaging. I kept saying to him how jealous I was of his job!!

I was a little suprised at the way some of our group were leaning on the 2000 year old walls like they were at home, I really wanted to shout at them for that.

Vesuvius - I didn't realise how steep this would be, but getting up there was worth it. It's a good 1-2k walk uphill. And the views from and into the volcano are amazing. To think just how high it used to be is scary. And seeing how many people live on the mountain is scarier. I was hoping it would be raining on the day we went down so we could do the Pompei museum instead, but next time, I know where I'll visit.

Finally, Anna and Julia, I could listen to Anna all day long. She has an amazing voice for the tour, very passionate about the work and acknowledging! Julia was super friendly and engaging, and we both felt at ease with her. Both of them made the day what it was!! A brilliant, fun, thrilling, entertaining, educational and relaxing tour.

Really happy 5 / 5 - Siobhan and Jamie

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Travelled on 17th April with a group of friends - Maria was our Guide through Pompeii - FANTASTIC! Very knowledgeable and a great sense of humour. It was only 2 hours and we wished it was a little longer.Never the less a great intro to Pompeii - well done and thank you Maria! The lunch between Pompeii and Vesuvius was very basic - basically fuel between venues. The trip to Vesuvius was a 40 min bus ride to a 30min walk up a very steep hill...but in hindsight that is probably what you should expect when you are visiting a volcano! The guide didn't have too much to say but was very friendly, helpful and answered all your questions. It was a great value trip and definitely worthwhile.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Overall a good trip. Mt Vesuvius is a steep walk and a lot of it is a gravel surface. May be difficult for some but great views of the surrounding areas from the top.
Didn't know what to expect from Pompeii. Thought there would of been more volcano remains, so it's hard to identify what is ancient and what is man made now to make it a tourist attraction.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great experience!! Getting to the meeting point was easy due to the detailed instructions. Our tour guide was excellent!! He eas very funny and informative... He knew exactly what he was on about. The lunch was delicious and it much needed after the tour of Pompeii. Climbing mt. Vesuvius was a once in a lifetime, if you think you arent fit enough for it took about 30mins to get up walking, once youre up there its lovely- the views are fantastic and seeing the top of an active volcano is a worthwhile experience. All in all- it was a great day out and would defo reccomend.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2015

A 2-star rating is described as it was ok, but it could have been better which I find to be very accurate. I am actually surprised at all of the 5-star reviews, as I wouldn't recommend it. My wife and I traveled by train from Rome to Naples to then catch the tour - Please note that the train station pickup is actually across the street at a hotel - don't miss the bus! Our tour guide was Maria, and though again just ok she didn't seem to know much more than her prepared speeches, because we got very limited responses when asking questions. Maybe this was partially because she was limited in English. We learned a few facts, but Pompeii is huge and I think we probably only saw a small portion. It did seem quite rushed, but I know the day only allows for so much time there. Also, at the end of the tour we had free time outside of Pompeii among the souvenir stands. I would highly suggest to Viator that you end the tour INSIDE Pompeii so that we could've chosen to spend more time inside on our own, instead of sitting around not wanting to buy souvenirs. I will say - whether authentic or not - the lunch was good in our opinion choice of pizza or pasta and a drink.

After Pompeii we traveled to Vesuvius. Note to travelers - the drive up is quite winding - if you are prone to car sickness - be warned! Once at Vesuvius you are left without a guide and hike up on your own. The listing says this is guided at Pompeii and Vesuvius so I am surprised that we got no information here. The hike up is harder than we anticipated, as it is sandy and if you don't have good shoes on you'll be slipping all over - so make sure you pack some good shoes! The view from here was gorgeous, and you also get to see inside the mouth of the volcano, which was a first for us.

Overall, I am glad we can say we saw these sites, but I would have done it differently if given a do-over. It was our least favorite tour of all of those we took on our 2 weeks in Italy.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

I would not recommend going from Sorrento to Vesuvius without going to Pompeii as well. Katerina was our guide and barely spoke on the bus ride, once we got there the volcanoe was amazing however there were hundreds of tourists and one locked restroom it was awful Katerina kept telling us the restroom was open but it was not. we asked to stop somewhere to use facilities on the way home and were told absolutely no so 4.5 hours with no facilities after a climb/water was not pleasant.
the climb is steep, rocky/dusty and very chilly and windy. while we made it all the way there were a lot of folks not prepared so they should be warned ahead of time about no flip flops/bring a jacket. I would only tell others to do this trip in combination with Pompeiiat least there are services there/lunch etc. I would suggest offering this combination only.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius Tour from Sorrento

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We loved the hike to Vesuvius, this was awesome with plumes of steam coming out the side . was disappointed with Pompeii as we expected to see bodies in situ of the damage from the volcano but there was no sign of the volcano eruption as all have been removed so it was just another set of Roman Ruins, was still good but not what we thought we would see.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Awesome can not begin to describe our tour with the best guides ever! we had two groups split onto one bus. with our guides giving us detailed information during the 3 hour bus ride to Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius, so the ride didnt seem very long at all. Pompeii was everything I had hoped it would be, with just the right amount of time spent when you factor in the crowds and the heat.The pizza was very welcome and very GOOD!! which you burned off by climbing a active volcano!which I must say was a challenge to climb and not for everyone. It has a very steep grade and soil thats like an open bag of dry concrete.But once you reach the top you know you have accomplished something not very many people in the world have had a chance to do.
I have to give our driver Antonio a giant shout out, he made the drive up and down Mt. Vesuvius in a giant tour bus seem easy... What a ROCK STAR!!! Thank you Roberto, Lukka and Antonio for a WONDERFUL tour!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our family really enjoyed our tour of Mt. Vesuvius and Pompeii. It was well-organized and was an excellent value. We were met in front of the train station and escorted to small touring buses. The on-board guide narrated in multiple languages about the area as we drove from Naples to Pompeii. Upon our arrival to the ancient site the groups were divided into language groups. Our second guide was enthusiastic, informative and highly entertaining. He had a way of bringing the city to life, sharing his knowledge in a way that connected with the adults as well as our teen and preteen. After our great tour of Pompeii we were given a bit of time to find souvenirs and use the facilities. Then we went across the street to a wonderful restaurant. While there we had a huge portion of the best pizza we had during our 10-day stay in Italy. After lunch our tour bus took us to Mt. Vesusvius. Our driver impressively navigate the narrow and winding roads with skill. From the parking lot, we enjoyed our 1.2 kilometers hike to the top of the great volcano. It was a steady ascent, but there were several resting stations along the way. Standing atop the volcano's peak was definitely a highlight of our vacation, as was this tour as a whole.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The guides were very knowledgeable and personable. They shared history facts along the way to Pompeii and in regards to the museum and how it came to be. They also presented information on the re-discovery, excavation, and of the extent of the volcano eruption - current land we were traveling where once was the bay, etc. Original tour had mentioned that we may be taken up Mt. Vesuvius to hike to the top. That was not mentioned during tour. I did not ask about it. And in all fairness the top of Mt. Vesuvius was cloud covered and there were rain sprinkles occasionally - so that may have been the reason. Loved the whole experience including the history class explaining the existing portions of the Appian Way.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Long day trip but do it if you have the time. We drove south away from Rome's rainy day to better weather in Naples. We had booked thinking we wouldn't be climbing Vesuvius. However we were lucky as excellent guide Elena phoned in to check, and it was open for the climb. Wonderful experience climbing the gravel paths up to the slightly smoking crater rim and looking down into a deep hole below. View of Naples muted in lifting mists but volcano experience trumped that. Good tour of Pompeii made interesting by guide Enrico. A well organised tour. For older guests it would be best if you have been doing some hilly walks beforehand as the uphill climb is constant for about 25 minutes but on a wide pathway.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

A fantastic day. We were picked up at our hotel exactly on time. Our enthusiastic guide Antonio provided us with many details about Pompeii, and answered all questions knowledgeably. Lunch was a tasty choice of pizza or cannelloni. We continued by bus to Mt.Vesuvius. The 40 minute somewhat steep climb was worth the view, and it was quite exciting to be at the top of a slightly steaming volcano. A good time was had by all!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!!! The guides that we had on the bus were funny, very entertaining and full of information of the surrounding areas that we past on the 3 hour bus ride from Rome to Naples (and return). It was nice to get some "out of the box" details of things that you may have never known about. When we got to the entranceof Pompei we were matched up with the local guide who was very good at his job! He graced us with plenty of information and details on the ancient city. Of all the tours we took during our 3 weeks in Italy, this tour guide was on the ball when it came to the extreme amount of people in Pompei. He was really aware of his surroundings and moved our group though the city in a way that we weren't constantly being pushed by the hoards! Well done and very informative!

The hike up Mt. Vesuvius was neat. Not to worry, the bus take you to the base of the cone and it's only a short haul up hill to get to the first view of the crater. There's two additional stops that you can reach which give you a different view of the Crater. For those that are expecting lava you'll be dispapointed, although it's an active volcano, it's been dormant for 75 years so the crater looks like any open pit (if you familiar with mines). None the less it's really cool to say they we hiked it (our version of our story does not include the bus ride to the top. lol).

While we were there the Micro Climate changed and we couldn't see Naples below, which would have been nice. That's life!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Amazing day trip. Bus took us as high up Mt Vesuvius as it was allowed. It was a 40 minute walk up a 14 degree slope with a number of stops to catch my breath. Able to look down into the crater and still see steam or smoke coming out. Then a 20 minute walk down to where the bus was waiting. A little leery knowing this is still considered an active volcano, although it last erupted in 1944.
The ruins of Pompeii are much bigger then expected. Imagine a city of 20,000 people buried! The stone streets have deep ruts worn in them from many years of wagon wheels. It all came into perspective when we stood in the main city square and saw Mt Vesuvius 7 miles away. Now I can imagine what happened!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

My husband and I took this tour together in early October. I had been to Pompeii previously, but did a self-guided tour back then. It was really great to experience Pompeii with a guide. I learned a lot and got a better understanding of what I was looking at. It poured the second we got to Pompeii, and our tour felt a bit rushed; we would have loved about 30 minutes more time to explore there. Overall, what sold me on going back to Pompeii was the chance to hike Mt. Vesuvius. Even though it was a cloudy day, it was still a cool experience. I'm sure the view is absolutely amazing up there on a clear day. Our travel guides were Roberto and Melanie; they shared awesome knowledge during our bus rides -- everything from volcanology to historic battles to tips on how to find the best gelato. They were entertaining and made the travel time go quickly!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

This tour was nice but also much longer than I expected. There is one bus that comes around to all the pick up points, so if they are 15 mins late you are probably just one of the last pick ups, I didn't know this and was worried. Its quite a drive to get to vesuvius, take your car sick pills, but once there they give you a bathroom break and its only 15 mins to the volcano. Then you board a BIG BUS (not the american 4x4) which drives you to the top. I restate, take your carsick pills! But it is a LOT of fun if you live roller coasters. There is a serious hike to the top, as 26/28 year old newlyweds we had no problems, but some in our group did. There is no tour that can sidestep the hike though. At the top the view is great but the tour is just someone shouting at you with 3 postcards for 3 minutes, skip this and enjoy some extra time to walk around the top. Stop for some wine at the gift shop, then climb back to the bus that takes you down. Lunch wasn't until about 2:30PM, so eat a good breakfast. You sample many things, but the Sorrento farm tour had much better stuff. You try the wine, but we felt rushed through the tasting and food without explanations or proper pairings, when you glass is empty they just pour the next without waiting for the food, or explaining anything about the wine or the years harvest. At the end you get a 5 min explanation about how old the winery is. We did buy a bottle of the rose because it is so unique and tasty though. Then the long ride home. Nice tour, reasonable price, but it is a full day which we wish we had know.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius 4x4 Tour from Sorrento Including Hike, Lunch and Wine Tasting

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

After reading various reviews about the fitness levels required for climbing Vesuvius, I was extremely apprehensive about taking my 65 year old, rather overweight Mother on this trip. However, although it is pretty hard going at times, we made it with no problems and I certainly wouldn't class myself as "fit" either! My only complaint about the trip is that it is so rushed. We were given just 90 minutes to get up the Volcano and back down to the bus. The tour guide was lovely and very funny, but didnt actually tell us anything about the history of Vesuvius and just kept repeating that we needed to be back at the bus by 4.30... If we had longer to do the trek then it would have been amazing. Even just half an hour more would have meant being able to walk up a little slower then have longer to take in the views at the top. But I would still recommend this trip, just dont expect to have very long at the top!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius Half-Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Outstanding. Massimo and Sara were knowledgeable and very entertaining. A great team ably supported by Alberto to whom I raise my hat. There is no way I would drive up to the volcano in that chaos. Pompei guide very good. I would go again if onlY to be so well entertained again. The delights of Pompeii and Vesuvius are an added bonus.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was really convenient. We all met at Piazza del Popolo in Rome and loaded on air conditioned buses. We had a comfort stop half way to the volcano and again on the return trip. We had excellent guides that gave us a lot of history of the region as we traveled to our destinations. They watched over us as we climbed Vesuvius and kept us together at Pompeii. We had a very experienced guide at Pompeii. This tour took all the guess work out of navigating the transportation to Pompeii from Rome. It was a very comfortable tour. I plan to look into the tours they give in other places as I travel.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We originally booked the Pompeii tour with a walk up Mount Vesuvius. The meeting point was clear on the email and was a central point in Rome. The coach we were on was clean and air conditioned with good leg room. We were looked after by the excellent guides Massimo, the Italian Stallion and Sarah, the Irish Brainbox. Both of them worked fantastically hard all day to keep us happy and interested, Massimo with his local knowledge and stylized comedy and Sarah with her vast Ancient History knowledge including humorous stories about the Gods and Saints which we particularly liked. Sadly on the trip we could not climb the volcano because of the weather but luckily our guides had a backup plan of the Museum in Naples which linked in perfectly with the tour of Pompeii. During the actual tour of Pompeii we were shown around be a local guide who was thoughtful enough to take us to a quiet spot, away from the bustling tourists, which was one of the most phenomenal views of the trip. On the way home Massimo and Sarah were just as useful. They recommended us a number of places to visit of the remainder of our trip, each of which we went to, each of which were fantastic. They basically shaped the rest of our holiday and for that I will be truly grateful. I could not recommend booking a tour with Massimo and Sarah enough, they really did make our day!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Sharron H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wow, what a day this was! We almost didn't go for the Pompeii / Vesuvius tour due to the expense, but I have to say, it was well worth every penny. I think this was my favourite day of my holiday!
The tour starts early (7.30am) and finishes quite late (8.00pm), so it's a long day, but we had a bit of sleepy time on the bus in both directions!
Our tour guide Siriana (apologies if I've spelt that wrong!) was absolutely brilliant! I learned so much from her - not just about ancient and more recent Italian history, but also about the country today. She provided oodles of information not only about the country we found ourselves driving through, but also about Italian society, TV, movies, food. She recommended restaurants and cafes, suggested other places to visit, and really gave us a flavour of how much of Italy came to be the way it is today. (Gusto was excellent - best pizza I had on my holiday!)
Despite getting stuck in a traffic jam on the way, I still felt as if I had enough time at Pompeii. It was baking hot, so in some ways I was quite glad to get back on the bus! I still can't quite believe I've seen such an amazing site. The guide at Pompeii, Georgio, was also excellent, imparting a wealth of information in a short amount of time with a great deal of wry humour (especially when dealing with a really rude American tourist trying to jump the line waiting to get into the brothel. Yes there's a 2000 year old brothel in Pompeii!)
Vesuvius was also incredible. Again, I still can't believe I actually walked the last 200 metres to the top! While the first third of the climb is quite challenging (the whole climb should have taken us about 20 minutes and took us 45!), it was well worth it. The views are spectacular, and the steaming crater is really quite intimidating! The clouds came down when we reached the top, which was also really spooky!
I really can't recommend this tour enough. 5 stars also to our driver Faust for getting us up the volcano!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message