• USD ($)
  • English
Mount Vesuvius looms across the bay from Naples, 5.6 mi (9 kms) away from the city. It is the only mainland European volcano to have erupted in the last hundred years although it is currently sleeping. Most famously it erupted in 79 AD, burying ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 69 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

If you plan on seeing Pompeii and Herculaneum you should see Vesuvius as well. Amazing views of the region and a chance to see an active (if currently very placid) volcano. Our guide was excellent and very entertaining and the driver was very good as well (believe me you want that). Worth the climb.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius Half-Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Loved this trip, our guide "Andrea (?) " was excellent. He certainly knew his stuff. Pompeii was an incredible experience. Learnt so much and a lot bigger than we were expecting. Highly recommend visiting Pompeii. Mt Vesuvius would have been a brilliant experience had it not been bitterly cold and exceptionally windy !!! My 13 year old daughter had visions of being blown off the side of the volcano !!!! Would definitely visit both again, with the hope of reaching the crater next time.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We enjoyed a full day tour of Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius. The morning was spent at Pompeii with our guide who was very knowledgeable and fun to be around. I am so glad we had a guide on this tour; otherwise there would have been a lot that we would not have understood. After lunch at a nice restaurant, our guide took us to the base of Mt. Vesuvius and we had the option of hiking to the top or just relaxing at the base. There was 4 of us in the group and we all decided to go to the top. We were glad we did as it gave us an appreciation for this incredible volcano. All in all, it was a great day and I would highly recommend the tour with Viator.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This was an incredible tour! My wife and I did this for part of our honeymoon and had a great time! The tour was through Dark Rome and we had a great tour guide in Mike. The bus ride isn't too long and along the way the guides give you some great information about ancient Rome and Pompeii. Climbing Mt. Vesuvius and walking along the edge of an active volcano is amazing. Then going into Pompeii and seeing the ancient ruins and hearing about how it was buried was very interesting. If you're going to Italy this is one trip you need to take. Thanks, Dark Rome!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

We had the best day ever, the whole trip was organised brilliantly, our tour guides Roberto and Luka really made the day, they looked after everyone so well and kept the day on track from beginning to end. The coach was air conditioned and extremely comfortable and the road trip was great! We were a little concerned when we booked that it was such a long journey, however, it was fabulous we had a pit stop at a lovely cafe and we were able to see the beautiful Italian country side. We then went on to Mt Vesuvius which was amazing, looking into the heart of the volcano wow!! We then had a delicious lunch before visiting Pompeii which was absoutely incredible, walking through ancient streets that are still in tact is spectacular. Returning to the coach for a very well earned rest, Roberto and Luka gave us information about the scenery as we past through it, which everyone really enjoyed. My husband and I cannot recommend this trip enough it was absolutely fantastic!!!!!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Was a brilliant day - well worth the money! Our guide Andreas was sooooo helpful, informative and amusing - his non-stop commentary throughout the tour really helped us understand what life was like back in Pompeii before Mt V changed all that forever.

The climb to the top of Mt Vesuvius wasn't as bad as I had expected - unfortunately, the cloud was so low that you couldn't see into the crater when you reached the top but it was very atmospheric and sorta exciting to be walking in the clouds on this infamous volcano.

I also loved that fact that there were only 9 of us in the group - but guess that's just a bonus of going 'out of season'.

And the pizza and vino didn't disappoint either!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

The tour was great, dark Rome are a great tour group. We were originally suppose to do Mt Vesuvius in the morning and Pompeii after lunch, this was changed which meant that we ended up climbing the Volcano on a full stomach but both tours were a fantastic experience. Lunch however was ordinary.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

A great tour of ancient Rome in one of the best preserved cities you will see which remained buried under volcanic rock lost from history for nearly 1500 years.

The entire population of around 20,000 people was wiped out buy the enormous eruption of Mount Vesuvius. During excavations hundreds of bodies were found cemented under the volcanic rock.

Plaster casts were made which shows many of the victims in their last agonising seconds frozen in time many of which can be observed at the site.

As well as walking the streets of Pompeii we also went to Mount Vesuvius which was unfortunately a bit of a let down. At the time we arrived, there was a large cloud covering the top of the mountain, this meant that you could not see inside the crater of the volcano due to the dense fog. As the tour in on a tight schedule there is no chance to go back later which was a bit of a let down, only made up for by the great tour of Pompeii. The tour also includes pizza in Naples with drinks.

I would recommend this tour for people of all ages a very intriguing insight into history.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Viator is a great option instead of using the cruise line tours. Pompeii was great and staff were cheerful, prompt and helpful. Mt. Vesuvius is a long ride on the bus curving all the way to the drop off point... This is a physical 30 minute steep walk up gravel to the top. The view is beautiful... The volcano has its history... But I didn't find the volcano itself spectacular. I think they should include a donkey ride up the volcano to make it more memorable. Will use Viator again!

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Another WINNER for Viator! This was an unbelievable experience! It was as if we had stepped back in time as we walked through the streets and visited the houses of Pompeii! Our guides were professional and experts in history. We learned (and saw!) a lot of really interesting things. I continue to be amazed at the ingenuity of the Ancient Romans. The hike up Vesuvius is certainly thrilling, and a "must do" on the bucket list, not to mention the views of Naples and the coast line from the summit of the volcano! One of our BEST tours. I don't think there is anyway one can "oversell" this tour...I definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Rome!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Great trip, be prepared for a long day! Nice coach ride to Mount Vesuvius where we trekked up the mountain (its not that difficult). Enjoyed seeing the crate and going up the volcano.
Then to a fab lunch of pizza to re-energise us before the afternoon tour of Pompeii which was very interesting and well worth it as you wouldn't necessary know what to look out for.
All in all a goody, shame it's so far as you do very little and spend a long time on the coach. Sara and Amanda the guides were very good and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Well informed guide but barely stopped talking the whole way there and back which got a bit tiring really. Enjoyed trip to Pompeii but it seemed a bit rushed and we only saw a fraction of the site. We will probably visit again next year but will stay close to Naples and go independently. The trip to Vesuvius gives the bare minimum time to get up and down the volcano and you really can't afford to take your time. The coach takes you so far and then you walk the rest of the way. The coach then has to leave as it is not permitted to stay in the car park. When the coach returns it only has a short window in which it can wait for passengers so it was essential that we got back on time. We got back with around 5 or 10 minutes to spare, some other members of the group arrived after us. An extra half an hour would have made the difference between having to rush and not. This was made more frustrating by the fact that the trip was actually running ahead of schedule and arrived back in Rome a good hour before we were meant to. On the whole the trip was good as we probably wouldn't have made an independent trip there from Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The tour was great. The guides were very good explaining the history. The volcano climb was hard to start then it became very easy past the first store. I wished they had a tee-shirt that said I climb Mt Vesuvius at last store. I just had a bottle of wine and took in the views from the top.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

The guide met us promptly at the port, with good signage. We took a short small bus run to Pompeii, where we were joined by another couple of groups. The tour of Pompeii was great, but would have enjoyed a slightly smaller group. Our guide was very knowledgeable and provides the walking tour of a huge sight in a well-timed, but not rushed experience. He was very knowledgeable about the life style and daily life of the inhabitants and was able to bring that to light during the tour. After the tour in the hot sun, we enjoyed lunch, in a much cooler surrounding. After lunch, the tour divided up into the small group we enjoy to climb Mt. Vesuvius. Again, a great explanation of the volcano and its history as we winded up the road to near the peak. Due to individual pacing and preferences the walk to the crater's edge was self-paced. He gave of 50 minutes for the 2 miles up and down, in 90+ degree heat and on a very slippery trail. He was great about what to look for, steam plumes etc. It was amazing to see where the edges of the last eruption totally wiped everything out to the sea have been slowly reclaimed. Great tour, and the two guides the one who delivered us to Pompeii and our Mt. Vesuvius guide were excellent and very knowledgeable. Would recommend, it is very uneven walking and the hike was not a given in 50 minutes with the heat.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

The weather finally warmed up just in time for our 3-day excursion. Pompeii is an incredible place to visit. The sheer size of the sight, the missing top of the volcano of Vesuvius makes it comprehensible to imagine the scope of devastation caused by the eruption.
What can I say about Sorrento. The view from the terrace of our hotel of Sorrento and the Bay of Naples at dinner or at breakfast in the morning makes this visit worthwhile.
Capri... The Blue Grotto is a must to visit but its also worth the ride to the top of Anacapri on a chair-lift.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message