Mount Vesuvius looms across the bay from Naples, 5.6 mi (9 kms) away from the city. It is the only mainland European volcano to have erupted in the last hundred years although it is currently sleeping. Most famously it erupted in 79 AD, burying ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 77 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Outstanding. Massimo and Sara were knowledgeable and very entertaining. A great team ably supported by Alberto to whom I raise my hat. There is no way I would drive up to the volcano in that chaos. Pompei guide very good. I would go again if onlY to be so well entertained again. The delights of Pompeii and Vesuvius are an added bonus.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was really convenient. We all met at Piazza del Popolo in Rome and loaded on air conditioned buses. We had a comfort stop half way to the volcano and again on the return trip. We had excellent guides that gave us a lot of history of the region as we traveled to our destinations. They watched over us as we climbed Vesuvius and kept us together at Pompeii. We had a very experienced guide at Pompeii. This tour took all the guess work out of navigating the transportation to Pompeii from Rome. It was a very comfortable tour. I plan to look into the tours they give in other places as I travel.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We originally booked the Pompeii tour with a walk up Mount Vesuvius. The meeting point was clear on the email and was a central point in Rome. The coach we were on was clean and air conditioned with good leg room. We were looked after by the excellent guides Massimo, the Italian Stallion and Sarah, the Irish Brainbox. Both of them worked fantastically hard all day to keep us happy and interested, Massimo with his local knowledge and stylized comedy and Sarah with her vast Ancient History knowledge including humorous stories about the Gods and Saints which we particularly liked. Sadly on the trip we could not climb the volcano because of the weather but luckily our guides had a backup plan of the Museum in Naples which linked in perfectly with the tour of Pompeii. During the actual tour of Pompeii we were shown around be a local guide who was thoughtful enough to take us to a quiet spot, away from the bustling tourists, which was one of the most phenomenal views of the trip. On the way home Massimo and Sarah were just as useful. They recommended us a number of places to visit of the remainder of our trip, each of which we went to, each of which were fantastic. They basically shaped the rest of our holiday and for that I will be truly grateful. I could not recommend booking a tour with Massimo and Sarah enough, they really did make our day!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Sharron H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wow, what a day this was! We almost didn't go for the Pompeii / Vesuvius tour due to the expense, but I have to say, it was well worth every penny. I think this was my favourite day of my holiday!
The tour starts early (7.30am) and finishes quite late (8.00pm), so it's a long day, but we had a bit of sleepy time on the bus in both directions!
Our tour guide Siriana (apologies if I've spelt that wrong!) was absolutely brilliant! I learned so much from her - not just about ancient and more recent Italian history, but also about the country today. She provided oodles of information not only about the country we found ourselves driving through, but also about Italian society, TV, movies, food. She recommended restaurants and cafes, suggested other places to visit, and really gave us a flavour of how much of Italy came to be the way it is today. (Gusto was excellent - best pizza I had on my holiday!)
Despite getting stuck in a traffic jam on the way, I still felt as if I had enough time at Pompeii. It was baking hot, so in some ways I was quite glad to get back on the bus! I still can't quite believe I've seen such an amazing site. The guide at Pompeii, Georgio, was also excellent, imparting a wealth of information in a short amount of time with a great deal of wry humour (especially when dealing with a really rude American tourist trying to jump the line waiting to get into the brothel. Yes there's a 2000 year old brothel in Pompeii!)
Vesuvius was also incredible. Again, I still can't believe I actually walked the last 200 metres to the top! While the first third of the climb is quite challenging (the whole climb should have taken us about 20 minutes and took us 45!), it was well worth it. The views are spectacular, and the steaming crater is really quite intimidating! The clouds came down when we reached the top, which was also really spooky!
I really can't recommend this tour enough. 5 stars also to our driver Faust for getting us up the volcano!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We were traveling with our three college age grandsons. My husband and I had been to Pompii before but not Vesuvius. the ride up the very, very narrow mountain road was harrowing but well worth the tension! our kids loved it all!! looking into the crater after the hike to the top was really special, especially for our grandson who was celebrating his 19th birthday, pretty memorable! It's a once in a lifetime experience, especially as Vesuvius IS an active volcano! Sheila troutman

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was absolutely amazing. I was worried it would be a little expensive for what it was. But in the end, 130 euros per person was totally worth it. This included a 3-hour coach air-conditioned bus ride leaving at 730am from Rome (with one pit stop at midpoint) to Pompeii, during which our 2 tour guides fascinated us with constant information about Rome's history in general, and anything we asked. When arriving in Pompeii (which, in itself is an awe-inspiring experience) we met up with a specialized Pompeii tour guide who directed us through the ancient city. It's nice to have someone tell you what things used to be, and guide us so we don't get lost. We then went to Naples for lunch (best pizza!) and they taught us the history of how the pizza originated. We then headed toward Mt Vesuvius, where our tour guides continued to explain to us the tragedy of Pompeii. The hike up the Vesuvius was moderately difficult (an elderly or out-of-shape person might have a little trouble) as it was a constant 30 degree incline and took about 30min, but mostly just sandy (no rocky terrain). On the top the view was spectacular, and the idea of being near an active volcano was pretty cool. We then had the same 3 hour bus ride home with one pitt stop midway, and again the tour guides showered us with more information.

I felt we really got our money's worth: 2x 3-hour bus ride tours of info, 1-hour guided tour of pompeii, lunch included, and ticket to go up the vesuvius. Our tour guides (Roberto and Sarah) were absolutely incredible, I would request them if I could. Go for it!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A great tour with helpful and informative guides. It's an easy way to get to and see Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius all in a day. The weather was kind to us so we had a great view at the top of the Volcano, well worth the 20 min hike. Pompeii was also definitely worth the visit, an amazing site and well preserved, and the local guide helped us understand the history behind it all, also keeping us entertained.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Great day! Only disappointment was we could not climb Mount Vesuvius (the main reason we chose this tour) due to heavy rain and the backup (museum) is closed on Tuesdays. Went to a sulphur volcano which was ok. Had a very informative and great guide (Daniel). Pompeii portion was amazing.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

POMPEII WAS ONE OF THE HIGHLIGHTS OF OUR TRIP TO ITALY, OUR GUIDE WAS TERRIFIC, (SORRY I FORGOT HIS NAME). HE MADE IT INTERESTING AND ENJOYABLE, HE SPOKE GREAT ENGLISH AND POPEII ITSELF IS A WONDERFUL TIME CAPSULE. IT WAS SOMINTERESTING AS HOW MANY MODERN DAY EXPRESSIONS AND ITEMS WERE INFLUENCED BY A CIVILISATION SO LONG AGO.

VESUVIUS WAS ALSO GOOD BUT OUR GUIDE FOR THIS PART OF THE TRIP WAS USLESS, TOLD US VERY LITTLE ABAOUT THE VOLCANO. THE CRATER WASN'T AS IMPRESSSIVE AS I HAD IMAGINED BUT STILL WORTH THE HIKE.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great day trip from Rome to Pompeii/Mount Vesuvius. We were staying within walking distance of the Piazza di Popolo where we met our guide Anna and boarded the bus. The ride went quickly with Anna dn Ettore giving great background on the area and the sites wew were about to enjoy. A half-way break in Cassino was welcome. The tour of Pompeii was one of the best parts of our Italy trip, though a little rushed and quite crowded. I would have enjoyed another hour or so to explore the ruins. After a delicious pizza lunch, we headed over to the volcano. The hike to the top was well worth it. An awesome view of the Bay of Naples. The ride home was quick. All in all a freat day trip. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great tour. We met at 7:30 AM in Piazza de Popolo. There were two groups on the same bus. We were given a little bit of info then the guides Violet and Mara let the group sleep. We stopped for a snack/bathroom break. Following that we were given information about lunch and the tour of Pompeii. We arrived and were met by the local guide. This guy was great. What a sense of humor and more good information about the sight. Lunch then followed. Afterwards off to the volcano Vesuvius. The road going to the midway point was incredibly windy, but the bus had no problems. We were given over an hour to clim to the top and then return to the bus. On the way back to Rome we stopped at the same place as in the morning. Great tour!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great trip but if anything a little overpriced compared with other tours we did while travelling round Italy. The Pompeii visit was about 2 hours and about the right amount of time for us. The group was fairly large but the guide was very good and kept us all interested. Mount Vesuvius was good and I'm glad we did it! My biggest disappointment with the tour was the fact that we weren't given time to look round the souvenirs and buy postcards. Instead we were shipped straight from the ruins to lunch then on a bus to Mt Vesuvius. Lunch itself wasn't great and it would be better if people were asked to make their own lunch arrangements, giving them time to eat and shop before setting off for the volcano. This would then also make the trip cheaper. In addition it would be better if the tour were to start an hour earlier so that you could get the most out of your entrance fee to Pompeii.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour is a must do! Do not miss, The tour of Pompeii was amazing. I was surprised how preserved the site was. To be in Pompeii with Mt. Vesuvius in the background was breath taking. Then to climb up to the creator's edge and see this active volcano releasing steam was humbling. Our guide Mike was was excellent. Mike was extremely informative, witty and attentive to question related (as we'll unrelated) to the tour. Thank you Mike.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Had a wonderful day at Vesuvius and Pompei. Our guide, Violet, was a treasure. She kept a close eye on us, answered all of our questions, and even climbed the volcano with us. Our guide in Pompei, Vicenzo, was also terrific; friendly, informative and very knowledgeable. Although a rest stop was much appreciated, the place in Casino was a blatant tourist trap. We would definitely recommend the trip and these guides.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Joyful
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

Great day. Only problem they take you to Pompeii first and you walk around for a few hours. Walked over for lunch. Lunch mainly pizza. Then they take you to Vesuvius and after a tiring morning expect you to climb up the volcano. I had looked forward to seeing and climbing Vesuvius so much but was too tired to make the climb. I am very disappointed.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message