Naples ATTRACTIONS See all

Naples Cruise Port

You’ll catch your breath at the sight of Mt. Vesuvius hovering on the horizon as you enter the Bay of Naples, and the encircling panorama of Naples lining the harbor. Naples’ busy shipping port is the gateway city for some of Italy’s most famous ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1009 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Calvin H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Manuel was our driver and he was very good! We enjoyed our tour very much with him!

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Sorrento, Positano, and Amalfi

Todd S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic tour guide! Really informative and learned a lot even in the short time.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

WILLIAM S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

These tours were very good. Our guide's English was excelent and I would definitely recomend this tour

Bill Australia

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

Michelle C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Amazing heritage site and Guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

Jan Z

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The tour was well designed for people with limited time to see interesting parts of Naples and it was well executed by the guide.

Jan S
Sydney

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion:Small Group Naples City Sightseeing Tour

Dorothy G

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This was a great tour. Our guide was knowledgeable and shared many interesting facts with us at Pompeii. Pompeii was super busy but no one can really control that. The provided lunch was pizza which was not very good. Because our group was large, by the time we got our pizza we only had a few moments to eat. The climb at Mt. Vesuvius was totally worth it - we got to bring home a rock from the top. To peer inside that crater was wonderful. I wish our tour group had been smaller.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Douglas A

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Our tour was from a cruise ship in a busy port. There was some confusion in meeting up with the Viator rep. and a more distinct Viator sign may have helped. Pompeii was busy, as could be expected and it felt a bit like a cattle market as groups jostled for position. There were about 20 in our group and, essentially, our guide Maria had a microphone and, we had earphones to be able to hear above the noise. She was knowledgeable and presented the history and layout of Pompeii with humour, which was appreciated. Pompeii surfaces are lumpy, so be warned. Lunch was a pizza or pasta. My pizza was tasty enough, though Im not knowledgeable enough to know how authentic a Neapolitan margarita pizza it was. Vesuvius was equally busy. Our guide Manuela was chirpy. The weather was kind to us and visibility of Vesuvius and the coastline was excellent. The path up Vesuvius was volcanic shale which did not damage footwear a woman even did it in high heels but it was steep, which would make it difficult for anyone disabled or particularly unfit. Also, time at the crater was limited. The tour bus was a little unreliable, though we were returned to the port with time to spare. Overall, it was a full and positive day.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Michael

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

We were all looking forward to Pompeii so much and it didn't disappoint. We didn't have much time, so it felt like a hit the highlights sort of tour. Which was fine. Some slight issues: our guide had an umbrella so we could find her, but never raised it above her head. This made it difficult in the mass of people to know where to go. Additionally, when we reached the end she was going to allow us five minutes to look at the casts of the victims of the volcano. Within a minute, she was yelling for everyone to come back to her and started to leave before my MIL, who has some mobility issues, could even rejoin our group. The guides were very knowledgeable, but not as friendly as some of the others and we felt very rushed. Still, a great day and not to be missed.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

robert k

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

guide was a bit disorganized but the huge crowd may have contributed to the chaos

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

pam

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The tour was excellent but the pick up was poor. We had almost no information and by chance went to the front of the port building where we found other clients looking lost. When the guide arrived she had no sign or list of names and wasted time finding peopĺeThe local guide at Pompeii was excellen

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii and Sorrento Day Trip

rimfire.sandy

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Great overview of Naples that you would probably never see even if you rented a car.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

becky Canada

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

This was our worst experience and now after 3 tries it won't even let me post.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Lori

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

I wish we had done the trip in reverse. I would have liked a bit more time in Sorrento. We had only about an hour there and it looked so beautiful!

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii and Sorrento Day Trip

S B

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

Not much explanation at the start but guide in Cathedral and Pompeii very informative. Very clear English.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

Vivien D

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The hike up Mt Vesuvius is well worth doing but the waiting around is boring. We were collected from our hotel at 12 midday but only got to the mountain at 3.30pm. We had to wait for the rest of the group to finish their Pompeii tour over an hour then go to lunch pizza - no choice and I'm gluten intolerant! another hour then do the bus drive up the mountain. The tour guide didn't give a lot of information and thought we were from a different ship but when told we had to be back on board by 5.30pm organised a private car to get us there in time.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Mt Vesuvius Half-Day Trip from Naples

mamanash

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

My rating is based on already having several wonderful tours in Greece and Turkey on our recent cruise. Those were much smaller groups 25 and better tour guides. This one did not meet the bar set. The pickup was not until 10am. Would have liked to get out early and beat the crowds. The person picking us up did not have a sign indicating Viator so we all wandered around and wasted valuable time looking for the correct tour. Once assembled we made our way to the bus. There was very little commentary as we drove to Pompeii except organizational details on how we would split up after Pompeii for the second half of day. Would have like to have heard more about Naples and the surrounding area as we drove to the site.

Once at Pompeii, we joined the throngs of people to find that another bus of people were joining our group for a total of nearly 50 people. The guide only counted our group as we got our audio headsets at the beginning of the tour and when we got back on bus at end. She would never have jpknown if anyone got lost. Pompeii was a large site but all the tour guides went to the same places. It would have been better if we adjusted based on the crowds at a given location. Also disappointed that we did not see some of the more well known locations like the Garden of the Fugitives.

The pizza lunch was ok and welcome to prepare us for the big hike up Mt. Vesuvius. The drive up the mountain to the trailhead was difficult in the large bus but we finally made it. We had to hoof it up and down the strenuous trail as we were running out of time to get back to our ship but the views made up for it. On the plus side, a cab was arranged for us and another couple to ensure we got back to the ship on time as everyone else had an extra hour in port.

Will definitely do this trip on our own next time.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Claudette S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

This was the most chaotic and disorganized tour I've ever been on. They did provide everything promised, but of a 7 hr tour we got 2 hrs at Pompeii and about 45 minutes at Vesuvius. The first hour was spent stuck in local traffic picking up more people at two additional locations. The tour at Pompeii with Maria as our guide was really quite good. She gave great information and made the most of the 2 hours we had there. No complaints about that part. Lunch at the pizza place was packed with huge groups of tourists, and they started cooking individual pizzas when we arrived not a buffet situation. Our table sat for 30-40 minutes with no food, then had to eat very fast before it was time to go. After lunch, we merged with a second bus and split people all different directions. It was not well communicated who was supposed to go where and with who, so the guide kept running in circles gathering people, counting us over and over. It was like watching her try to herd cats. At this point we're running very late, but head off to Vesuvius. On the bus ride, the guide had to say everything over the loud speaker 4 times in English, Italian, Spanish, and French for our now multi-lingual group - a very impressive skill, but the constant noise gave us a headache. Finally at Vesuvius, we were told to RUN to the top because we had to leave in 45 minutes. We are fit, experienced hikers but only had time to sprint up, snap a few photos, then run back down. My husband asked the guide if we would make it back to the ship in time and she replied, I don't know. Great. The stress of running so far behind pretty much ruined Vesuvius for us, and we had really looked forward to it. If your ship leaves the port at 5:30pm or earlier, do not book this tour. It would be better if they had smaller buses with dedicated groups in them.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Sally

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Maria was a knowledgeable and pleasant tour guide for Pompeii given the large number of people she had to deal with in the tour! There were over 50 people on this tour and that makes it very difficult to manage a group of that size. It was difficult to hear, see or ask any questions. The pizza lunch took way too long to serve that many people in that short a time and only 3 bathrooms to accommodate us plus the regular lunch patrons. Due to the long time at lunch, those going on to Vesuvius left late and arrived at Vesuvius at 4:15. My daughter and I were the only ones on the Celebrity Cruise ship and had to be back for last boarding at 5:30. Sylvia also a great guide for that part of the excursion was so helpful in calming my fears about making it back to the ship. She rushed everyone up and back to the bus and we just made it back in time. However, if Viatour doesn't want the cruise ship business, I certainly understand but just say there's not enough time to do both. It was a tense ride back and a shame that all the others who weren't on a time restriction had to rush SO much just to accommodate the two of us from the ship. Seems like whole problem could have been eliminated with smaller groups! Thanks Sylvia, for getting us back just in the nick of time!

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Mima

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

The Pompeii part was excellent, our tour guide Sussy very knowledgeable, she explained with details all the history of the place. Very good language skill in both English and Spanish.The down side of the tour was the lunch and Sorreto part. Crowded restaurant, we were 5 in a small table for 4, no wine as stated at the Viator web page when booking. Food so, so. Due delay at lunch we didn't have enough time to sight seeing at Sorreto, Maria, the tour guide had a poor English and knowledge of the place.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii and Sorrento Day Trip

runnerblader

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

When I disembark from the boat at 9:45 am, I did not see anyone from Project Napolic Service. We walked around the whole parking area and outside and then went back the port and finally found someone at 10:05am. The tour was good and the pizza was delicious however on the ride back from Sorrento to the port, the guide kept on chatting with the driver the whole trip. The van has a buzzing noise the whole ride.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii and Sorrento Day Trip

aburtonstark

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A marvellous excursion with a fantastic guide,who spoke perfect English and was great fun. He arrived at the port 30 minutes early and so we were able to make an early start. The Mercedes vehicle was very comfortable with great vision.

The scenery was amazing . Would highly recommend as this private excursion is far more comprehensive than the tours provided by ships.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Sorrento, Positano, and Amalfi

chaochaoxw

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour guide in Pompeii has very good English. She showed us every details about the history of Pompeii. The trip is well organized.
The tour guide in Sorrento is another girl. She is also friendly and tried to satisfy each customer's needs. There are 4 people in this small group in Sorrento and I'm the only passenger from cruise ship. So the driver sent me first to the port in order to catch the ship abroad time. I am very satisfied with this trip.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii and Sorrento Day Trip

Nichelle USA

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The trip was just what we were looking for. Tour of Pompeii was enough time, unfortunately the group size was large and was difficult to manage 50 people. We were always waiting for people who lingered too long or got lost. I would consider doing this tour in a smaller group setting. Would have been good to have 30 mins of free time in Pompeii on our own but understand it was timing.
Sorrento was nice, we definitely want to see the Amalfi Coast and Positano next time. The views and the town were a nice change of pace from Pompeii. We needed more time than an hour to really appreciate the city, but since we were on a cruise ship we needed to leave in order to return in time and the drive is a windy hour and a half away from the port. Overall good value for what we did and just enough activity for us that it was not too taxing the next day.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii and Sorrento Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message