Naples ATTRACTIONS See all

Naples Cruise Port

You’ll catch your breath at the sight of Mt. Vesuvius hovering on the horizon as you enter the Bay of Naples, and the encircling panorama of Naples lining the harbor. Naples’ busy shipping port is the gateway city for some of Italy’s most famous ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 764 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

It was great. We saw things that we have not seem before even when we have been in Naples several times.
The girls at the buses were very, very good, very efficient and hard working and very helpful.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The guide was incredibly knowledgable. He was able to expand on nearly every question I had beyond pompeii.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We were very impressed with this tour and our tour guides. Everything ran very smoothly from start to finish. I would recommend this tour to others.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

What an amazing day. This is the way to experience the Amalfi Coast by immersing yourself into the towns along the cost. Each has it's own character. Our driver Johnnie went out of his way to please and make our day memorable. Even the family restaurant he recommended perched at the top of Positano was fabulous! We also had time to explore Ravello. Would definitely recommend. A great value and experience.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Sorrento, Positano, and Amalfi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Really enjoyed this tour, guide was excellent and informative.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was a great tour. I learned so much about Pompeii and the guide always kept it interesting and not dull.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This was one of my favorite tours of our entire cruise. Our driver/guide was very friendly and accommodating. He stopped to allow pictures whenever we asked and it was safe to do so. His English was limited which was a bit of a drawback, but we still enjoyed the tour tremendously.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Sorrento, Positano, and Amalfi

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Three possible routes but red route was not very good the other two were fantastic

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Our guide was very informative and our day was organised well. Pompeii is fascinating!

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Greatest value of any of the excursions we took while on a 12 day cruise. Small group of 8 in a comfortable van and great driver...Pepe. Amalfi Coast is amazing. Would recommend this to everyone

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Sorrento, Positano, and Amalfi

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Same tour company that we had for Capri and still very disorganised. Tour of the city was quite good and visiting the Cathedral was excellent, however getting the rest of the tour group together for the trip to Pompeii took forever. Tour guide, Andreas, was very knowledgable but was hard to keep track of when touring Pompeii and he lost half the group at one stage. Holding something above his head like most other tour guides would have helped the situation. Found Pompeii fascinating but once again, very crowded due to cruise ships in Naples. Would have preferred to do the Pompeii tour prior to the City tour as this may have helped to avoid the crowds that were there later in the day.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

The bus was easy to locate outside the cruise terminal. Several large cruise ships were in port at the same time so there were lots of people waiting to board. Our pre-paid pass did NOT help us move to the front of the line as promised. Instead we had to push on with everyone else. 20-30 minutes was spent waiting for employees to collect payments and pass out headsets before the bus left the cruise port. Bus interior was not air conditioned, so it was uncomfortable in early May--could be much worse in summer. We first rode the red line, listed as taking 61 minutes. Instead, actual drive time took 2-1/2 hours to complete circuit, without hopping off. Traffic in this area is very bad so affects the drive time. Next we changed buses and rode the blue line, which was much prettier and more within the 72 minute timeframe suggested on the program. To cool down, we chose to ride on the upper level. This also gives better photo ops. However, we had been told to fasten our seat belts and not stand up while the bus was moving. Since the driver barely stopped at the hop-off points, we never made it down from the top level to get off in time. If you have just a few hours and want to see an overview of the city, this is an OK way to go. If you have a specific place you want to see, walk or take a taxi.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Very heavily-accented guide is not a good choice for English speaking clients.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

We did the Pompeii/Vesuvius tour and while the Pompeii portion was incredible and informative, the Vesuvius portion was not. We went with a different guide for Vesuvius, but he didn't speak much and didn't climb the volcano either. The view was disappointing and we wish we had gone to Amalfi instead

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Trip was good. Except we had two vans and one driver was late for more than 30 minutes. We lost tour time.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Sorrento, Positano, and Amalfi

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

Trip was good. We had two vans. One driver was more than 30 minutes late. We list tour time.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Sorrento, Positano, and Amalfi

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2015

The tour operator arrived late. We booked a whole day tour to Pompeii and Sorrento but the operator changed the tour to include only Pompeii because the local operator could not get us back in time to board the ship before 5:00 PM, when it was scheduled to sail away. We had paid for a whole day tour, not a half day tour. The tour operator combined three different tours into one huge group of more than 60 people on our visit to Pompeii. We had expected to be in a small group of only 15 people. The bus driver who drove us back to port was in such a hurry to leave the port that he closed the door on my travel companion and badly bruised her.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii and Sorrento Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Beautiful drive, John our Driver pulled over for photo opportunities, picked a great location in each town to let us wonder around. He picked a wonderful lunch location based on what we liked. Perfect Day!

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Private Tour to Sorrento, Positano, and Amalfi

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

This is was a great tour! Pompeii is amazing there is so much to see and the city has a lot of information. Naples was as expected, crazy driving and really packed with people. I loved the church, and we also got a panoramic view of the city which was really cool. Our tour guide was AWESOME. Thanks for a great expeirence.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Would have given you 5 stars but for the fact that your guides forgot a cardinal rule, people come to these places to see, touch, experience, not listen to someone albeit a knowledgeable someone, talk about it. We spent a significant portion of our very limited time in Pompeii, standing around while our guide talked and talked and talked. We did not see several things that we expected to see whether that is because they were barricaded off or our guide skipped them because we ran out of time. Mt. Vesuvius was much better. Our lady guide entertained us with song and information on the drive to the beginning of the climbing trail. Once there, she gave us a time and set us free. The climb up was amazing. Seeing a storm rolling across the opposing mountain and hearing the roll of thunder just added to the intensity of the experience. Smelling the faint odor of sulphur and hot rock in the steam from the numerous fumaroles served to remind that this volcano wasn't dead, it was only sleeping. To anyone thinking of visiting these places, I recommend this tour.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Good tour of Pompeii and Sorrento. Guides were good and we saw lots of the sites. We were not given a time to met for this tour so it was hectic getting going. The end was a nail biting experience as we got back to the port only 5 mins before the ship was scheduled to depart. A little too close for my taste and liking.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii and Sorrento Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

Good way to see a lot of the city without a short amount of time. Easy to find and worth the

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City Hop-on Hop-off Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Concerned about locating our tour guide at the onset. We arrived 20-25 minutes before the time we were required. We walked outside and then back in front of the port. There was very little help in locating where we needed to be. Tour Guide had a list of names on a card, but no indication of Viator.
Tour guide for Pompeii was very knowledgeable but it appeared she did not welcome questions because of the information she was presenting.
Enjoyed our guide for Mt. Vesuvius however, very little information was provided on our way up and down the volcano/mountain.
Sadly to say, we expected much more from Viator from the reviews. Next time we will stay with our cruise ship excursion.
Thanks for giving us the opportunity to provide feedback!
If there is another time, hopefully the experience will be much better.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

WE were extremely disappointed. They didn't schedule our tour properly and we miss half the tour.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message