There are few stretches of coastline as celebrated as the Amalfi, south of Naples. Since Antiquity the azure sea, cliff-hugging towns and dramatic cliffs between Positano and Salerno have attracted eager visitors while bewitching writers, artists ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 199 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Anita R

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

The tour to Pompeii was good, although the guide not so good. She spoke English fairly well, but talked WAY too fast. Also, there were some senior citizens in the group, and she walked too fast for them to keep up. The Amalfi Coast trip portion of the tour was great - the guide in our van was great, and he gave us plenty of time to see the coast, and spoke perfect English.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

roastedjessnut

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Pompeii is such a big city so we didn't see everything, but we got to see the smaller theatres, some roads, a bakery, prostitution house, and baths, plus photo time in the main square/open area near the Temple of Jupiter. I thought the cameo and coral shop was a bit unnecessary and obviously a tourist trap, but if you like that kind of stuff, you'll appreciate that part of the tour. If nothing else, it was good for a bathroom break haha.

Lunch was only ok - just pasta, calamari or roast beef, and gelato. We had to pay for our own drinks. It was a rather tourist-y restaurant, complete with a singer asking for tips and hordes of other tourists, but I suppose that's expected.

The Amalfi Coast tour was nice because we had a personable driver, Ricardo. I was fine with the style of the tour since it was just driving along the coast, taking in the scenery, stopping for photo ops, getting a sample of limoncello, and staying for about half an hour in Amalfi for free time.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Joyce United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Plenty of time to wonder through this incredible ancient fine. Wow. Great Tour. The drive around the Amalfi coast was beautiful. But was even better is our tour guide said that Postiano was even more interesting and skipped Amalfi the town and ended our tour in Sorrento-the best shopping. My friend and I decided to stay in Sorrento and take the train back to Naples-last train leaves around 930p and the cost is minimal. Plenty of seating. That way you can stay and stroll around at your own pace, eat dinner, shop and still get back to your hotel by train with no issues.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

queeniewong222

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had a wonderful private tour with an awesome skilled driver who was able to speak English throughout the entire tour. Thanks so much to Antonio for taking us around the beautiful town, Napoli. He showed us four beautiful cities and gave us a couple of photo-taking and shopping time on our own. He drove us to Sorrento to observe the panorama view of the Sorrento Bay, a nice tourist spot in Positano, a small city called Amalfi, and Ravello our last destination which was absolutely beautiful. For lunch, Antonio took us to an amazing organic family restaurant for delicious seafood and fresh pasta all homemade and freshly caught every morning. Plus, a wide Mediterranean Sea view that took our breaths away. Restaurant is called Ristobar Eurocona with the friendliest service, we had a special tour to see the family's garden. We enjoyed our day trip in Napoli at the top! We totally recommend this tour to anybody.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Gabriela B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Pompeii tour was great, I wish we had more time to ourselves there and Amalfi cost was beautiful the drives made sure to give us enough time to take pictures!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Joyce United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a light rain when we arrived in Pompeii. Lots of people but I think when we arrived it was just right-early in the morning .we did avoid the crowds. You will get a headset-take it. Because if you wandering off like I did, you will be able to recognize your tour guide's voice and head in that direction until you find your group again. it worked several times and gave me the freedom do to my own touring without so many bodies. But dont wandering too far from the maddening crowd or you will loose reception. Walking shoes that are comfortable needed because it is broken up stone streets. So much to see. It may worth taking two tours like this that include Pompeii. Not much shopping to do there except the small vendors. However there are two nice jewelry shops below the plaza area near all the restaurants. Go visit their bathroom too.
Overall a worthwhile tour and well organized. The trip to Amalfi was changed a bit to include a better route. We went to Postiano awesome views and city and ended up in Sorrento. Folks, instead of leaving with the tour, take the train back for a few euros and do your own thing. Plenty of avoidable shops and great restaurants. The train ride back to Naples is only one hour and easy and very cheap. I stayed after the tour concluded and went shopping for the second time and a lovely dinner on the main street. The train station is a short walk from the main areas. Everyone will tell you how to get to and from the train station. Lemonchello famous liquoir to purchase everywhere. Lots of flat artwork vendors to hunt for and xmas ornaments everywhere too. In Sorrento, great leather goods shops and small boutique clothing shops. Leather bags-negotiate for their small 5-10 discounts-don't be afraid to bargain. Viator as usual did a great job on this tour. Our group was very small and it made going easy.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

alexasiroy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an excellent day! We got to see the most important parts of Pompeii in the morning and drove down the amalfi coast in the afternoon. Well worth the money!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Jon C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wonderful trip to Pompeii and the Amalfi coast. Tanya and Luchia were great and very informative. Would recommend taking the trip with them.
Tonnya

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Gerald W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Both Pompeii and the Amalfi coast were incredible ! The van tour with Ricardo was breathtaking and informative. Along with a short boat tour gave a very different prospective to the coast .

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Sherry W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour guide in Pompeii. Very knowledgeable and concise. Took us to all the best sites and gave us an excellent overview. Tour of the Amalfi coast was also wonderful. Beautiful scenery with great driver and guide. Had lots of opportunities for pictures and stops at nice shops along the way. We did not feel rushed and really got to see the highlights of the area. We had lots of fun and arrived back at our cruise ship right on time. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Mark F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a great tour. Our guide was very informative throughout the tour and handled the tour in a professional way. The Amalfi coast, wow!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Kevin

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Gianni, our driver, was VERY GOOD and AMAZING. He is very informative and friendly. He knew exactly where to slow down and show us the breathtaking views. Where possible he will stop the car in order for us to get off and take beautiful pictures. Gianni planned the whole itinerary Sorrento - Positano - Amalfi - Ravello, all we had to do was sit back in the luxury car Benz C-Class and enjoy the day. Gianni recommended a wonderful restaurant for lunch that offered postcard worthy views without the steep prices.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

David C

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

See previous review about Pompeii. Amalfi Coast tour was fantastic! Our guide was great. The scenery was beautiful. It was a small group. Guide offered to set us up with a boat trip. We said we would love to. He called ahead. Our boat was waiting and it was awesome. Amalfi coast trip made up for the horrid experience we had a Pompeii.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Katie H

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Excellent way to see Pompeii and the Amalfi Coast the only reason I would not give 5 stars is that the visits to the coral and ceramic factories were not necessary and a bit annoying to take time away from the valuable parts of the trip.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Karen A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We wanted to see as much of the Amalfi coast as possible to decide where to go back to and spend more time. Our guide showed up right on time and we started off in a very nice Mercedes van. He had an initial itinerary but we adjusted as we went along. We were able to shop, sightsee, swim, and had an amazing lunch with a great view that we would never have found on our own. The day was amazing and the only way to see the entire coast in a day.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Robert P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was fantastic. The Amalfi coast was definitely worth the visit. We were very pleased with our Tour guide: Arianna and the driver: Antonio. Very knowledgable and pleasant.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Ruyi F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

There was a nice commentary on the way to Pompeii, on some places / sights we passed by. Also, the Pompeii guide was very good, guiding and giving us much information.

Our driver for Amalfi Coast was experienced and a knowledgeable guide as well. Also had stops to take beautiful pictures along the way when going towards Amalfi. Loved that we took different routes to and back from Amalfi to see different sights. Overall, a very enjoyable trip.

Unfortunately I cannot recall the names of the tour guide and driver, but I did the tour on 11 Sep.

Perhaps one thing that can be improved is the 3-course meal, which had limited choices and was lacking taste-wise.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Eleni P

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Everything was nice. Very interesting tour. Amalfi was wonderful place. Only in Pompei you need good shoes to walk more or less for 2 hours.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Matthew W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

The bus forgot to pick me and my partner up from the hotel so they finally came 1.5 hours late, then a road was closed so we sat in traffic for another 2 hours. Pompeii was really good, did really get to see amalfi because we had no time before we had to go home.
Disappointing day

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Paulo

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2015

Well, there are positives points and negatives, but sure the negatives points are too many more..
Arriving in Pompeii we met our guide, which was very knowledgeable , but the bad thing is that there is almost no shade in Pompeii can't complain about that but on that day was too sunny and hot, and that was the only guide visit that I saw nowadays that do not have radio and ears phone to the groups. By the time that our the guide stopped to explain the things we had 2 options: burn and melt under the sun to hear the history, or protect yourself, I preferred to stay out.. Even that you can stand under the sunlight, there too many guide visits on Pompeii and sometimes you listen to another guide than yours. - negative point. We finished at noon, very tiring tour! And could not enjoy, By the way.
After the tour on Pompeii, we had a lunch included, which I was very excited, but that was very disappointing - the waiters were very rude - barely speak English - they told me fried fish at the order I've got fried sea good, shrimp and lula, and no fish - The pasta was one of the worst that I had in whole Italy. They should be more polite with the tourists, but seemed that they were doing a great favor to us, like charity.
So the lunch was scheduled to be finished at 1 PM, then we would be able to go to Amalfi Coast. We finished our meal at 1 PM, but the driver was late in 35 minutes, then we had to wait...
Leaving Pompeii at 1:35 PM, we just arrived at Amalfi coast only at 4:03 PM, it's because we did 2 shorts stops Mirante views of Sorento and Positano then a third and totally unnecessary stop in a Ceramic shop! Why you book a tour and stop for 20 minutes in a Ceramic shop?? Not for me, and that was not informed when I booked here in Viator.
So at 4:03 PM, We reached Almafi Cost, the guide gave just 45 minutes to explore, then I really asked for more, due to driver delay at Pompeii, the gave just 5 Couldnt Believe!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Jennifer T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and took us to a variety of stores and sights to see. Though traffic and driving in Naples and the coast was terrifying at points, the driver was very safe and cautious throughout the trip. I would definitely recommend this trip to anyone who wants a structured tour of the Amalfi Coast.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Sylvia S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Review of Sorrento, Postiano, Amalfi and Ravello Tour 13th August 2015
We were picked up from our hotel by a very smart and courteous driver who introduced himself as Gianni.
The car was smart and clean. Giannis driving skill and manner was evident from the outset as being exemplary. He made even my daughter, who is quite a nervous traveler, feel comfortable and safe on the sometimes narrow and winding cliff side roads.
Having established with us what and whereabouts on our tour we would like to eat lunch, he called to make a reservation and took us to a lovely and reasonably priced restaurant which served very good food. He had thoughtfully reserved a table with possibly the best view of the hills and sea in the place.
We were given a good length of time in each town we visited and Gianni pointed out places of interest along the way.
His English is very good and his clear love and enthusiasm for his home area was infectious. We thoroughly enjoyed his homemade CD of songs of Naples on the way back to the hotel.
We highly recommend the tour and especially if driven by Gianni.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Peter S

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The sites visited, both Pompeii and the Almalfi Coast were fabulous. Especially the impromptu tour of the Amalfi coast by water at the end our tour. Our tour guides were also wonderful. Tour logistics, buses, obtaining the tickets for Pompeii, etc. were, at times, disorganized. Overall, a great time.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Suresh G

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Excellent small group tour. Amalfi, Positano and Ravello were excellent. Lunch was very disappointing.

Doing what: Small-group tour of Amalfi Coast Tour from Sorrento Including Lunch

Lori B

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Our main guide for the day, Tanya, and the bus driver were wonderful. They did an exceptional job explaining everytng about the Amalfi Coast, the villages, area and people. The only bad portion of the trip was the Pompeii portion. While the sites were fantastic, and the food was delicious, our Pompeii guide, Monica, left much to be desired. She was quite boring, a bit condescending, and seemed uncaring. Two different times people got physically ill while in the heat on the tour and no shade,and all she did was point towards the exit. But the second time a couple got ill, she actually, well can't you wait 5-10 minutes? We are almost done! This was also a two-language tour so everything she said, we had to hear twice. Next time I'll book a single language tour...regardless of the language.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message