• USD ($)
  • English
There are few stretches of coastline as celebrated as the Amalfi, south of Naples. Since Antiquity the azure sea, cliff-hugging towns and dramatic cliffs between Positano and Salerno have attracted eager visitors while bewitching writers, artists ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 96 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

This ended up being the worse ever. I'm not sure if everyone has the same people, but this isn't really a tour. You are basically paying for a driver to take you around.

Pompeii is literally about 20 minutes away from Naples so you can easily take a car. They take you to a coral shop and another store to try limoncello (which is more to get you to buy things). The guide doesn't speak English very well and they don't give you any information about the city, Pompeii, Naples, etc. They basically just explain the itinerary and drive you to Pompeii where you need to buy your own entrance tickets (they won't give you the audio guide). After dropping you off, they leave you in Pompeii and pick you up 2 hours later.
After they take you to lunch (which really sucked). You have to buy your own water or drinks and the lunch consists of a fast food type of restaurant with a pasta dish (simple tomato sauce and spaghetti) and meat dish (meat or fish) which is very small and not worth talking about. Dessert is just Gelato and you don't even get a choice, you are given whatever flavor and it's up to your own luck if you get a good one or not.

After that they take you to the Amalfi coast which is just driving through. There is no explanation of anything at all from the guide (just basically "look at how pretty that house is", "look at the water", etc. but nothing of meaning or informational of the area... in other words, you won't learn anything). After driving for about 2 hours they let you walk around the Amalfi town for about 40 minutes (which is really the smoke break for the guide and the driver) and then back to Naples.

In reality, you are just paying for transportation. It may be worth it just because of that but don't expect a tour or anything special. I usually don't leave any reviews but I had to do it for this one. Me and my wife were very disappointing (and I usually am very easy going and flexible).

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This is a must!!! Our driver was wonderful,friendly and helpful. If you want to see the Amalfi coast in a day, this is the way to go. We were able to get everything in, and our driver stopped along the way so we could take pictures, and took some for us as well - and gave us alot of information about the towns we passed through. Also, the roads are insane - I would not recommend renting a car or taking a bus tour. Though the roads are scary, we felt very comfortable in our car.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was a brilliant trip, our driver, spoke excellent English, he arrived early and was a real gentleman. He guided us along the Amalfi coastline with ease, stopping when ever we wished to take photo's. Would have liked more time in all the towns but obviously time was limited but its an excuse to go back to the stunning area once again. Would highly recommend this particular excursion.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2014

Didn't realise that a guide is not included for Pompeii unless there are more than 5 people. Was disappointed with the Audio Guide. Lunch was very horrible. Starter was spaghetti with tomato sauce, and main course was either a slice of roast beef or 8 to 10 pieces of calamari ring. After our lunch we had to wait for about 20 mins for the driver to pick us up. Drive to Amalfi Coast was not too bad as the scenery was beautiful. Driver didn't talk much during the drive, so not much of a guide.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2014

I was very disappointed in this tour. I was really looking forward to going to the Amalfi coast and was told the morning we were driving to Pompei that there had been a landslide on the highway to Amalfi. I wondered if this was true or was it because I was the only person on the tour that day, and they didn't think it was worthwhile for one person. I was almost forced to go to Mount Vesuvius ...which I didn't want to do .

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The Pompeii Tour is the best tour I have ever been on! Highly recommended. Amalfi Coast was great as well, just that our driver was driving too fast on the mountains for my nerves.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

We decided at the last moment to book the tour. Viator and the tour man in Naples, Pasquale, were terrific in getting things organised quickly. 90 minutes later we were on the tour.

Pasquale was an excellent driver and provided very good commentary throughout the tour. The tour was well balanced and gave us sufficient time to explore Pompeii and the Amalfi Coast. Even a landslide a few days before, which closed part of the Amalfi coast road, did not prevent Pasquale from finding a way to give us and wonderful views and insights into this spectacular part of Italy.

The only downsides were the people in the restaurant where we stopped for the complementary lunch seem to forget to serve us and we had to wait 30 mins for our meal, getting it after we finally asked for it. Also, I would have preferred the tour to include the entry fee into Pompeii.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

This was a great tour for us since we only had 2 days in Naples. We did feel a bit rushed at Pompeii since we tend to take a lot of photos. Instead of stopping at the Coral factory/museum for 20-30 mins, maybe it would be better to add that time to the Pompeii tour. Lunch was simple and good at a local restaurant where all the tour groups were being taken to. Amalfi was very nice; however, there was a huge landslide and the coastal road was not accessible. Our driver did his best to make the most of our time and took us to Amalfi using another route. We did stop a few times to take pictures which we were pleased about. Overall, this is a great tour and I would recommend it!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The tour was quite informative. The Pompeii guide was very knowladgable and progressed through the site at a good pace. The lunch was not very good and is a set menu. The Amalfi coast trip was great and our driver was brilliant and was definately the highlight of our our day.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Mrs Rowe
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Pick up location was well communicated and tour of Pompei excellent. The included lunch so so and be careful to check on the drink prices (not included). Tour of Amalfi was really just the driver who wasn't much of a guide. If you're a little squeamish on windy roads, sit up the front. Scenery however breathtaking.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Great tour, enjoyed the spectacle very much. The tour guides were very knowledgable and the service provided was good. Amalfi coast was spectacular, a new sight around every corner.
The city of Naples was very disappointing - it looks very run down and dirty. Traffic congestion is a big problem and nobody seems to give way at traffic lights or pedestrian crossings - it was a relief to leave Naples for Pompeii and the Amalfi Coast.
We went from Naples to Sorrento for about 4 nights - Sorrento is a fantastic spot. Would avoid Naples in future.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2013

Pompeii is a unique and very interesting place to visit. It is so much more than mere ruins. Our morning tour provided a glimpse of what life must have been like in 79 AD in the shadow of the ever-present Mt Vesuvius. The concept and quot;stepping stones and quot; in the ancient streets got an all-new meaning, as well as the and quot;fast-food and quot; shops that served hot beverages to theater goers. Also, the very explicit mural and quot;menu and quot; in one of the brothels could just as well have been a few pages from the Kama Sutra. Our two tour guides, namely Jasmin and Suzy (English and Spanish), were very friendly, professional and knowledgeable.

The afternoon half-day trip from Naples to Amalfi along the coastal road (via Sorento and Positano) was absolutely beautiful. This must be one of the most scenic routes one can find anywhere. Our small group (only 5 persons) was treated to frequent stops for photographs, coffee, lemoncello and 20 minutes free time in Amalfi. The driver/guide, Pasquale Ombra, provided an excellent service in English; I can highly recommend him.

Overall, I was picked-up on time from my hotel (Royal Continental) and the tour (morning and afternoon itinerary) provided what was promised plus personal touches from the respective guides. I can highly recommend this tour; it is definitely worth the money.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

We had train problems so we arrive late and didn't do Amalfi and Ravello. Instead we decided to spend more time in Positano, a great choice and Sorrento. We would go back to Positano again, it was a great experience. Our driver was Johnny and he was great.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This tour was the perfect day in Sorrento and the Amalfi Coast. The weather was beautiful. Our driver Julio was courteous and navigated the roads with expert hands. We felt very safe. Julianna, our guide, was a delight to spend the day with. She was knowledgeable, a pleasure to be with, accommodating to what our preferences were and had a great sense of humor - and she took great photos. She even called 2-days after the tour to make sure our travel plans for the remainder of our stay in Naples were what we had hoped. I was shocked, but very pleased that she had thought of us. I definitely recommend this tour. Julie

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Nicholas M
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Our driver was Antonio and he was great company to spend the day with. We had a fantastic lunch in Mr. Luigi's restaurant high above Positano with beautiful views. All the towns were stunning and we found this a great tour to get a feel for the Amalfi Coast as we will definitely be back some time soon

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message