There are few stretches of coastline as celebrated as the Amalfi, south of Naples. Since Antiquity the azure sea, cliff-hugging towns and dramatic cliffs between Positano and Salerno have attracted eager visitors while bewitching writers, artists ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 136 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Guide, Diego Sardella. Remember the name. I kid you not, this is the best trip you can do. Caution, budget your time properly. These places are from a postcard and you will lose sense of time. Keep time for Amalfi town. Diego was helpful, accommodative, knowledgable. Speaks English well. Ask 4 Diego!

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Good tour. The road on the Amalfi Coast was appallingly (no fault of the guide or driver of course) busy. It would be a lovely place to stay for a while, or to arrive by boat or ferry rather than drive. The driver was an absolute genius and the guide was an absolute delight. Couldn't have got there without this tour.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

This tour started off a little disappointing in Pompeii, but ending in Amalfi coast made it all worth it. The tour was very disorganized from the beginning when we could not find our tour group or where to meet them. Once we got to the coach bus, we drove to Pompeii. They ask for the entrance fee while on the bus so be prepared. After arriving in Pompeii they took us to a factory where they show you how they make jewelry out of shells - this was a big waste of time as they only show you they make it for 3 minutes and then let you wander around and buy things. Inside Pompeii, our tour guide was very sweet, but it was difficult to stay together and listen as it was 100 degrees out and everyone had to wait while the tour guide explained the same thing in 4 different languages.
After Pompeii, they walked us down the street to a restaurant where you were given 2 choices of entrees, and the waiters were not very friendly. I think they could probably exclude this portion of the tour and not charge so much. This would give more time for the Amalfi Coast, which was a great experience.
After lunch we were picked up in our own private van (for 9 of us) and greeted by a very friendly driver. He drove us through Amalfi, Sorrento, Positano and other beautiful cities and had interesting facts and stories. We felt very safe with our driver on the winding roads and the views were amazing. Definitely a must-see; this made the tour all worth it!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Amalfi was awesome! The pickup and Pompeii trip was pretty unorganized. The guide also had to translate between 3-4 languages so the Pompeii tour was VERY long.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great trip, wish we had more time in Amalfi

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour and would highly recommend to others. Driver picked us up at our hotel and dropped us off with the larger tour group downtown. Half day at Pompeii was sufficient to see all the major excavations. Lunch was wonderful with freshly prepared selections. The tour of the Amalfi Coast was spectacular. Tour guide and driver did a great job highlighting major venues with several stops along the way for some local sight seeing, shopping. Only glitch for us was that we booked late the previous day and the local tour company didn't have our reservation for the current day. So, we had to reschedule for the following day. If you decide to book day prior, just make sure you verbally confirm with the local tour company day of tour.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great tour very professional guide at Pompeii and full marks to Mario our guide to the Amalfi Coast

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

There were only 15 of us which meant the guide could answer all your questions. Although we went on the minibus, as the weather was do good the guide arranged for a boat trip when we reached Amalfi.The Coast is beautiful. It was lovely to have a leisurely lunch in a village that you would never have found yourself. Probably not the best tour to do with children, our teenage daughter was not as engaged as we were.

Doing what: Small-group tour of Amalfi Coast Tour from Sorrento Including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The bus driver and tour guide for the Amalfi Coast was great. Excellent driver.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2014

Beautiful views of the Amalfi Coast from a van! You only get 1 hour in each town which doesn't seem like enough time. Sorennto and Positano were very crowded, Ravello was the least crowded and if I were to do it again I would just go there and spend the afternoon or day.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Several "Pompeii and ..." tours were combined for the Pompeii portion, with the original bus guide also the Pompeii tour guide. We did not have to worry about finding a guide at Pompeii -- a great relief. For the Amalfi Coast portion, we had a very knowledgable guide. Because it was only a half-day tour, it was essentially a "highlights" view of the Coast which was great if you're planning on coming back another time, or just want to see what it's all about.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

We very much enjoyed our Viator day trip from Naples to Pompeii and the Amalfi Coast. Our guides were very friendly and knowledgeable (especially at Pompeii), and our driver very skilled at negotiating the magnificent but very busy (and at times hair-raising) Amalfi Coast highway. We had a terrific day and I truly believe that standing on the pier at Amalfi looking up at this beautiful town while enjoying the oh-so-fresh sea breeze was one of the highlights of my trip to Europe.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Good tour. Lots of information in Pompeii. Pompeii was beautiful and vast, I had no idea how big it was. The guide was very knowledgeable. The ride on the coast was amazing. Our driver was great. The buses were clean. Great way to see Pompeii and the Amalfi coast.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Everybody must visit the Amalfi coast. This place is paradise.
The tour itself is not very organised. We got a hotel pick-up which was cool
However, we changed buses and drivers and the guide left us in the middle of the tour and the bus driver had to take over. we were lucky that there were few of us, only 4 in the van, so he was able to talk to us.
His name is Ricardo... a great driver as he proudly would tell you when you first get in the Van. Now i can confirm that. He told us a lot of stories about the locals.. the places we passed by.. he took photos for us which was great since i was a solo traveler. He's a nice person and committed to his job, he had toothache that day but he survived :D

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello were beautiful. The staff who took care of us was friendly and was a great driver. The tour included a great place where we stopped for lunch. Without the tour, we would probably miss this restaurant with a fantastic view. Though we would love to spend more time in each of the town, I understand that time is tight since there are 4 amazing towns to fit in in a one day trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message