There are few stretches of coastline as celebrated as the Amalfi, south of Naples. Since Antiquity the azure sea, cliff-hugging towns and dramatic cliffs between Positano and Salerno have attracted eager visitors while bewitching writers, artists ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 230 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Andrew H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fantastic day with our driver Ciro with all the best stops and views of the Amalfi coast with great photo opportunities along the way and a nice lunch at a seaside restaurant in Praiano. A full 9 hours spent in one of the most outstanding places I and #39;ve been to. A must do trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Julie C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

My favorite day trip! I have always wanted to go to the Amalfi Coast and this private tour was perfect. Savio, our driver, was fantastic! He knew a lot of history, spoke very good English for me that was very good since i don't speak their language and gave us plenty of time in each Town to walk around and explore the beautiful sights! I highly recommend a private tour rather than the buses!

Julie and Bryan

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Kate G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Thank you to Pepe for a wonderful day on the beautiful coastline. It was easy to find him near the hotel in Naples. Though his English was limited, we did not have too much difficulty understanding each other. He was clear about when we would stop for photo ops, how much time we had in each spot, and the best of each destination. The lunch spot we stopped at, La Conca Azzurra, was delicious with stunning views of the coast.

I would recommend this tour to anyone with limited time wanting to see the Amalfi Coast. No one had any issues with motion sickness. I wish we had more time in Positano maybe less in Sorrento would be okay since we really went down to the beach and back up in the limited time we had. It would have been nice to stop into some of the shops there.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Sean M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Such stunning views! Our tour guide gave us great information throughout the day! It is truly amazing what is still surviving in Pompeii. A must see. And driving to Sorrento and Amalfi is breathtaking! I could of stayed forever!. The lemons are huge, which makes delicious lemoncello.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Ryan P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The places we went (Amalfi, Pompeii, Sorrento, Positano) were absolutely gorgeous. The only downside to it was not being able to stop in a few different spots that had incredible views to take pictures at ideal little rest stop areas. Very much enjoyed the trip outside of that.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Parisa N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We had a fabulous day visiting Amalfi coast. Our driver Mr. Pepe was such a gentleman and altered our trip the way we wanted. We really enjoyed our day.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

MEREDITH V F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Rosario met us at the ship and he was a professional through and through and his English was great. He was a truly brilliant driver and gave us the most wonderful day on the Amalfi Coast. This was the best day we spent on our 3l days of travelling through Europe and a true highlight. Do yourself a favour and book now!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Nandita Krishna

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

The driver who took us around the Amalfi coast was very, very sweet and entertaining! I don't quite remember his name apologies for that, but he spoke English very well and made the drive around very comfortable and fun!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Ana S

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

A bit disappointed. Pompeii was super crowded and the tour in the Amalfi coast is done inside the bus, little time to visit the city and no time at all for swimming. Plus, the bus takes a lot of people at the same time.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Tomas S

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

The sites were incredible! Pompeii is incredible and the amalfi cost is simply paradise!

As for organization, it is far less than what you would expect, do not expect them to be on time. And do not plan anything after the supposed 8 hours.

As for the guides, they are very clear and friendly

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Michael M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

We did go to Pompeii, have lunch, and go to the Amalfi coast as advertised.
However- As soon as we boarded the bus, we were told that we would have to make accommodations to get back in time to board the ship. This tour is listed for 8 hours and should have been over by 5PM, they got us back around 6 after the modifications. We left late. They charged 2 euros more than published for Pompeii tickets. We had a tour of Pompeii that was just fair. He stopped the tour before talking us through the main square where the artifacts such as the pottery and preserved corpses are located, opting to give us free time.
On the bus, they encouraged us to order Pizza instead of one of the other menu options to save time. When we got there they had ordered for us, no choice except to take it or leave it. Service was bad. All drinks, including water, are extra, pay cash. We were there for a very long time and watched many who arrived after us get served spaghetti and such before we were served.
The 3 courses were mediocre pizza margherita, cold-as in refrigerated- potatoes, and lemon gelato. We finally got on the bus and were told how we would have almost no time to stop and tour Amalfi. We stopped on the coast in Positano for photos, three times near Sorrento, and finally in Amalfi.
The sales pitch was continual. Each place we stopped for more than 5 minutes to snap pictures was one where they had a special discount and consisted of a cameo factory in Pompeii and two places on the coast. One was roadside carts, and the other sold Limoncello and ceramics. We wasted a lot of time at these places to be told that we will only have about 20 minutes on our own in Amalfi UNLESS we wanted to purchase a boat tour through them. Apparently this is a magical time-warping boat but not enough of us got this, and we had 45 min in Amalfi before we drove back.
In short, I feel we were forced to shop where they get kickbacks. Hire a private driver instead and pick your own stops.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

minyoung l

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2016

At the beginning of the tour, the guide said we will have 1 hour to stay in Amalfi city which is not long but ok,, but we could only stay 30min in Amalfi.
During the tour, the guide mentioned about boat tour in Amalfi but there was no one interested to take the boat tour in our group. The guide looks not happy about no one take the boat tour. She was really quietnot explain much and just before we arrived in Amalfi, she said we will have only 30min in Amalfishe said due to parking problem which is shorter than we were staying in the gift shop. The highlight of this tour is Amalfi and we only allowed to stay there for 30min???? If anyone in our group took a boat tour which takes 40-45min she should be able to find a parking spot longer than 45min...
If you are thinking to take this tour, please bring enough money to take the boat tour otherwise you will only allowed to stay there for 30min. I won't recommend you to take this tour at all!!!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Susan L.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

In April 2016 we booked the Amalfi Coast Tour Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello. Our driver was Rosario. He met us at Star Hotel near Napoli Centrale train station in a nice Mercedes. Rosario was an excellent host/driver and spoke very good English. You also have the option to hire a guide to accompany you, but we chose not to do that because we wanted to be more on our own. Rosario was able to provide information and point out sights to us as we drove. He's been doing this for around 20 years so he is very knowledgeable.

You get a great view of Mount Vesuvius in the distance as you drive to Sorrento and on the way back to Naples.

Half way thru the trip, in between Positano and Amalfi, Rosario brought us to a wonderful restaurant called Calajanara with a picturesque setting overlooking the coast. It's just like you would imagine dining on the Mediterranean should be like. The food and service were fabulous. Note that the meal is not included in the price and it's not a cheap place 82 Euros for our lunch which included 2 glasses of wine, salads and entrees, and of course Lemoncello. We felt it was totally worth the cost. The owner was very nice and greeted us while we had our meal. Make sure you have the Lemoncello after your meal. They also had a shop that had a nice selection of gifts.

Positano shops had a nice selection of the ceramics and linens as well. Amalfi and Ravello are much smaller villages and don't have as many shops, but I did find a nice small water color print of the Amalfi coast to take home and frame.

The drive on the Amalfi coast was very beautiful with lots of twists and turns and very close passing of oncoming vehicles. I can't imagine doing that on a bus! But if you're in a tight budget, you may need to go that route.

However, this trip is definitely worth the splurge of the private driver and Rosario was fantastic. I highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Jim United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was the best of the four tours we took in Italy. From the moment Antonio picked us up in front of our hotel in Naples we were perfectly cared for by professionals. Driver was Antonio guide was Angela.
Pompeii was amazing and very informational. Lunch was great. The tour along the Amalfi coast was spectacular. The whole package left us wanting more.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Pagey United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Pick up at the coach park at 9am then did the round of hotels to pick up others. A lovely trip down the Amalfi Coast via Positano, Amalfi, lunch okay but nothing special in a small village and finishing off in Ravello. The group agreed to do the optional boat trip in the Amalfi Bay which was worth the extra 12 Euros each. We were dropped off at our hotel. Tony was our guide -he spoke great English, educated us in everything regarding culture, cuisine, and the geographical area, and did it in a most entertaining manner. Worth doing the smaller group so you can get into Positano as some of the larger coaches cannot.

Doing what: Small-group tour of Amalfi Coast Tour from Sorrento Including Lunch

Joëlle D

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Great experience! Drivers very friendly. The amalfi coast is worth it. A little bit short on time though too much to see. Really nice guides Stephania and Angela.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Gene M

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

While we began this tour under a lot of stress, the company quickly came up with a solution to an issue, so generally speaking we were pleased with the result. When we arrived at the tour meeting point, we pointed out to the organizer that we needed to return to our cruise ship by 5:00 pm. They said they couldn't guarantee that, as traffic along the Amalfi coast was very busy that day. This began a kind of noisy exchange and we were all set to cancel the trip until they told us along with another cruise line couple, that they would take the four of us in a separate small van to continue the tour after Pompeii, and would ensure we returned to the ship by our deadline. Once that was cleared up, we drove to Pompeii. As this was mid May and school was still in session throughout the US and Europe, we were surprised that there were so many people taking tours in the area. The different guides were always arguing with each other about hurrying so each could get to every area. When the tour finally reached the part where casts of victim's bodies were displayed, we decided not to even attempt to see them after looking at the hundreds of other visitors waiting in line. After the Pompeii tour, we had a nice lunch of pizza and gelato, and headed in our van to the Amalfi coast. Being in a small vehicle was actually a benefit since the road along the coast is very narrow, switches back and forth constantly, rises hundreds of feet above the sea, and we felt bad for those in large tour buses, hugging the edge of the road, who must have been frightened out of their wits the entire trip. The view was amazing though, with different rock formations and vegetation. We marveled at the homes on the sides of the the cliffs hopefully the residents don't sleep walk!. We stopped occasionally to take pictures, and had a short break in Amalfi to shop and get a glass of wine. We made it back to the ship exactly on time, by the way, thanks to amazing driving by our guide.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Mirian P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was the best value for the money tour that I have ever taken. If you have only one day and you want to see as much as possible this is the tour for you. Our guides Stefania in Pompeii and Ricardo the driver to the Amalfi coast were second to none. I had an awesome day. I highly recommend this tour. You will get to see so much and still stop in Amalfi to enjoy the tour a bit. Lovely Experience

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Ognam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful tour. Pompeii was interestingly presented by our tour guide. The lunch, which was included in the tour, was very good. We especially enjoyed our afternoon tour of the Amalfi Coast with our charming and engaging driver/tour guide, Riccardo. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

james.melendez

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Such a great tour of Pompeii-- tour guide was fantastic - superbly nice and knowledgable.

The Amalfi Coast drive was completed by Luigi who was passionate about this amazing and magical part of Italy. He was so accommodating and we stopped many times and enjoyed stunning views and got to stay longer in Amalfi---it is tough driving--narrow roads, tight turns, tour buses, etc. I loved that we go to go to Ravello---so worth every dollar I paid.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

David W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It's a very good combination in my view. Especially this is good if you have a relative tight schedule or you are travelling alone without a car. Amalfi is of course the highlights. The driver knows the best spots for photos and nicely offered drop offs to one of the famous pizza shop on the way back.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Sissi V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We LOVED this tour, our drive was sensational he took us to these cities, plus amazing places to take pictures, he knows all the good spots. we had an good lunch too, not amazing just good, in a Hotel Restaurant, although if you don't want him to take you to a very expensive place, tell him before how much you want to spend, in order for them not to take you to an expensive restaurant. I gotta admit we loved Positano and Sorrento the most, and Amalfi was after lunch so we almost didn't see anything, just like 20 min there, in the others we had more time. Though I admit Positano is so cool. Warning you have to go down some stairs, take it like 2 or 3 floors, so if you go with elderly or have problems walking or are in a wheelchair its a no go, Although the view is amazing and the beach too. By the time we got to Ravello, well, to be honest we didn't see anything. we just got up in a hill, supposedly Ravello is where this cool Classic Music Festival takes place but they don't give you time off, its mostly a spot for pictures and then you leave again to Naples. Our Driver barely spoke enligh but we spoke a little italian so it was ok. They picked us at the hotel, just that didn't confirm the pick up, so we had to called them, in the end it turned out as a tour just for the 4 of us, cool right? :D Tip the drivers guys, they desserve it! It was an amazing tour, we bought so many souvenirs. Have fun :

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Jessica J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I wish we spent more time in Pompeii, but totally understand that we needed to allow enough time to do Amalfi and get back to Naples at a decent time. Our guides and drivers were amazing especially if you get Mario, he's by far the most entertaining and best driver guide. Pompeii was fascinating, we were glad we ended up doing it as part of a guided tour. Amalfi was beautiful as well.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Cherylyn R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our trip with you was FANTASTIC Thank you. We were collected on time Our guides for Pompeii and Amalfi spoke great English and were very helpful and the itinerary was great Thank you for a great trip Cheryl Raper and Donald Raper

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Nichelle USA

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The trip was just what we were looking for. Tour of Pompeii was enough time, unfortunately the group size was large and was difficult to manage 50 people. We were always waiting for people who lingered too long or got lost. I would consider doing this tour in a smaller group setting. Would have been good to have 30 mins of free time in Pompeii on our own but understand it was timing.
Sorrento was nice, we definitely want to see the Amalfi Coast and Positano next time. The views and the town were a nice change of pace from Pompeii. We needed more time than an hour to really appreciate the city, but since we were on a cruise ship we needed to leave in order to return in time and the drive is a windy hour and a half away from the port. Overall good value for what we did and just enough activity for us that it was not too taxing the next day.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii and Sorrento Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message