There are few stretches of coastline as celebrated as the Amalfi, south of Naples. Since Antiquity the azure sea, cliff-hugging towns and dramatic cliffs between Positano and Salerno have attracted eager visitors while bewitching writers, artists ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 179 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour guide was very knowledgeable and took us to a variety of stores and sights to see. Though traffic and driving in Naples and the coast was terrifying at points, the driver was very safe and cautious throughout the trip. I would definitely recommend this trip to anyone who wants a structured tour of the Amalfi Coast.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Review of Sorrento, Postiano, Amalfi and Ravello Tour 13th August 2015
We were picked up from our hotel by a very smart and courteous driver who introduced himself as Gianni.
The car was smart and clean. Giannis driving skill and manner was evident from the outset as being exemplary. He made even my daughter, who is quite a nervous traveler, feel comfortable and safe on the sometimes narrow and winding cliff side roads.
Having established with us what and whereabouts on our tour we would like to eat lunch, he called to make a reservation and took us to a lovely and reasonably priced restaurant which served very good food. He had thoughtfully reserved a table with possibly the best view of the hills and sea in the place.
We were given a good length of time in each town we visited and Gianni pointed out places of interest along the way.
His English is very good and his clear love and enthusiasm for his home area was infectious. We thoroughly enjoyed his homemade CD of songs of Naples on the way back to the hotel.
We highly recommend the tour and especially if driven by Gianni.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The sites visited, both Pompeii and the Almalfi Coast were fabulous. Especially the impromptu tour of the Amalfi coast by water at the end our tour. Our tour guides were also wonderful. Tour logistics, buses, obtaining the tickets for Pompeii, etc. were, at times, disorganized. Overall, a great time.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Excellent small group tour. Amalfi, Positano and Ravello were excellent. Lunch was very disappointing.

Doing what: Small-group tour of Amalfi Coast Tour from Sorrento Including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Our main guide for the day, Tanya, and the bus driver were wonderful. They did an exceptional job explaining everytng about the Amalfi Coast, the villages, area and people. The only bad portion of the trip was the Pompeii portion. While the sites were fantastic, and the food was delicious, our Pompeii guide, Monica, left much to be desired. She was quite boring, a bit condescending, and seemed uncaring. Two different times people got physically ill while in the heat on the tour and no shade,and all she did was point towards the exit. But the second time a couple got ill, she actually, well can't you wait 5-10 minutes? We are almost done! This was also a two-language tour so everything she said, we had to hear twice. Next time I'll book a single language tour...regardless of the language.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2015

Slightly disorganised at the start and the wait for tickets to get into Pompeii was time wasted, think that these could have been collected by the guide whilst we were in the cameo factory, Visit itself was good but as so much time was lost then a little rushed. Lunch was ok, just ok!!!!. left the main party for the Amalfi trip which was good but needed more time to see the area and only a short stop in Amalfi. In all was OK, but we did the Sorrento and Amalfi Independant Day trip and enjoyed that so much more

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I loved this tour. Our guide was very knowledgeable and I learned a lot around Pompeii. The three course lunch was really good. The Amalfi Coast is beautiful! Definitely a must do! They even gave us a little extended tour of Sorrento.The bus drivers did a great job navigating through the narrow and curvy roads. No doubt I would do this tour again.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was a fantastic tour with a great driver and expert guide. We enjoyed the Amalfi coast and all of its beautiful scenery. We ate lunch at a restaurant with a spectacular view and great food. It is a tour worth taking if you have the time. Thanks Viator for arranging this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Guide for Pompeii and guide for Amalfi Coast was good and very experienced.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Amazing private tour of Amalfi towns! Rozario was just awesome, couldn't ask for more. Mesmerizing views and a great drive on the Amalfi coast. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

Do get me wrong the scenery was beautiful, but it's essentially a bus ride on a windy road. The villages we stopped at were small except for Amalfi and one of them was just the lunch spot. Too much time for shopping, especially since everyone is selling the same thing. Would be better to have the only stop be Amalfi and have time to swim, lunch on your own etc. The scenery was beautiful but many pictures will be worthless as they were taken through a bus window.

Doing what: Small-group tour of Amalfi Coast Tour from Sorrento Including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is a very relaxing way to see the Amalfi Coast south of Naples. Our driver was very pleasent and spoke good english. Being picked-up and dropped off from the front of the hotel was a bonus.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I would recommend everyone experience the Amalfi Coast while in Italy. The scenery and towns are breathtaking. The day tour was enough to get a wonderful taste of the history, the beauty and the majesty of this area.

Doing what: Small-group tour of Amalfi Coast Tour from Sorrento Including Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Beautiful drive! One of he gig lights was the boat ride in Amalfi.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Maria the English speaking guide was wonderful. She showed us all 4 cities and found us a beautiful restaurant on the road between Positano and Amalfi where we could enjoy a wonderful lunch with a beautiful view on a terrace for my husband's birthday luncheon.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Highly recommend this tour. We were traveling with family that had not been to Italy in the past. We have visited several times. Yet, we all experienced Pompeii and Amalfi coast with fresh eyes and enjoyed every minute! The trip was well organized. The guides and drivers were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. It is a long day but, worth every minute and every penny. A real value for the cost!!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fabulous! This is exactly the tour as described and what was expected. Laura was a wonderful guide and Matteo was a great driver given the winding, narrow and steep roads. Each town was unique and beautiful - we enjoyed Positano, Amalfi, Lunch in Pontone, and Ravello - all were breathtaking. We took the optional boat ride in Amalfi and it was so worth it. Laura was fantastic at pointing out the sights of interest and was a wealth of knowledge. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Small-group tour of Amalfi Coast Tour from Sorrento Including Lunch

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Pompeii was not very well organized. The guide kept counting us and made us stand looking for others etc... but the amalfi coast made up for it. Amazing view and drive

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Pompeii was amazing, even in the rain. Sun came out for the Amalfi Coast, was breathtaking!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

We loved the Amalfi Coast part of our tour, with its magnificent scenic coastline and quaint shops, cafes and beaches. Although short of time, our driver gave in to our desire to visit Amalfi, rather than just Sorrento and Positano both perched on the clifftops. We endured the 4000 corners and turns along this twisting ocean drive with some short photo stops at scenic lookouts, but it was worth it when we arrived at sea level at Amalfi and enjoyed some free time. On the other hand, Pompeii was disappointing. Our guide spoke English with a sharp Italian accent, and we often could not hear her no earphones and speaker and she had a habit of standing in the middle of our large group, with her back to half the group. The lack of relics and remains on display at Pompeii was very disappointing - not what we expected.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Excellent tour guide, and the driver was incredible. The trip down the winding road was a lot less scary than I imagined, and incredibly beautiful. Due to the extreme traffic, we were only able to spend a short time in Amalfi before having to leave in order to get back at a reasonable time. But, we saw enough to be able to determine if we would want to go back another time for a longer visit. This is a great way to get an overview in a short period of time, but next time, I want to see more of each place.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

The tour company was very disorganized and this tour was a logistical nightmare! Morning guides to Pompeii gave very few instructions so the tour was fraught with having to stop to make adjustments for others who were unprepared due to lack of information. The guides left our group at a restaurant saying the driver for the afternoon would be arriving after lunch. When I questioned the exact time, they said, 1:30 pm and left. After waiting on the sidewalk for over an hour, the driver shows up. We had no way to contact the company in Naples and they did not have the courtesy to call the restaurant to let us know there was a problem. The driver was over an hour late picking us up. We could have used the time to explore had we know the driver was going to be late. The driver said the company made a mistake and he was 40 minutes late leaving the garage and then encountered traffic and was stopped by the police. We loved the drive along the coast and our free time to explore Amalfi. However, the driver did not show up at the appointed time again. Finally he came and said he had a problem with the key and the company was sending someone from Naples in 20 minutes. It actually took the driver over an hour to come back. Again, we were left standing on the street waiting when we could have enjoyed some dinner or relaxed with a glass of wine if he had been truthful about what time to expect his return. We had no communications with the driver or the company during this time. We arrived back at Naples at 10 pm instead of 5:30 as promised. What a mess!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The Amalfi Coast is amazing and breathtakingly beautiful. Our English speaking guide, Julie, and our driver, Chiro, were excellent and made our tour extremely interesting. There is a lot of driving along the scenic, winding road and Chiro negotiated every bend with care and skill. well done!

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We did a private tour and thoroughly recommend it. Our driver/tour guide was very knowledgable and picked us up 30 minutes early to allow us extra time as we were going straight to the train station afterwards to return to Rome. They took our luggage and Jene stayed with the car when we were out walking. Plenty of time in Sorrento, fantastic lunch with a magical view of Positano, wonderful views and shopping in Amalfi and some more time in Ravello. Cannot get over the views and the drive along this beautiful coastline. Our trip back across the mountains was beautiful and we were at the station with time to spare.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Highly recommended !!! Fantastic way to see the Amazingly beautiful Amalfi Coast !!! Good value ,comfortable, clean and on time. I don't remember the lovely young man who was our driver but he was incredible. Definitely worth doing !!!!

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message