There are few stretches of coastline as celebrated as the Amalfi, south of Naples. Since Antiquity the azure sea, cliff-hugging towns and dramatic cliffs between Positano and Salerno have attracted eager visitors while bewitching writers, artists ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 217 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Susan L.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

In April 2016 we booked the Amalfi Coast Tour Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello. Our driver was Rosario. He met us at Star Hotel near Napoli Centrale train station in a nice Mercedes. Rosario was an excellent host/driver and spoke very good English. You also have the option to hire a guide to accompany you, but we chose not to do that because we wanted to be more on our own. Rosario was able to provide information and point out sights to us as we drove. He's been doing this for around 20 years so he is very knowledgeable.

You get a great view of Mount Vesuvius in the distance as you drive to Sorrento and on the way back to Naples.

Half way thru the trip, in between Positano and Amalfi, Rosario brought us to a wonderful restaurant called Calajanara with a picturesque setting overlooking the coast. It's just like you would imagine dining on the Mediterranean should be like. The food and service were fabulous. Note that the meal is not included in the price and it's not a cheap place 82 Euros for our lunch which included 2 glasses of wine, salads and entrees, and of course Lemoncello. We felt it was totally worth the cost. The owner was very nice and greeted us while we had our meal. Make sure you have the Lemoncello after your meal. They also had a shop that had a nice selection of gifts.

Positano shops had a nice selection of the ceramics and linens as well. Amalfi and Ravello are much smaller villages and don't have as many shops, but I did find a nice small water color print of the Amalfi coast to take home and frame.

The drive on the Amalfi coast was very beautiful with lots of twists and turns and very close passing of oncoming vehicles. I can't imagine doing that on a bus! But if you're in a tight budget, you may need to go that route.

However, this trip is definitely worth the splurge of the private driver and Rosario was fantastic. I highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Jim United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was the best of the four tours we took in Italy. From the moment Antonio picked us up in front of our hotel in Naples we were perfectly cared for by professionals. Driver was Antonio guide was Angela.
Pompeii was amazing and very informational. Lunch was great. The tour along the Amalfi coast was spectacular. The whole package left us wanting more.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Pagey United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Pick up at the coach park at 9am then did the round of hotels to pick up others. A lovely trip down the Amalfi Coast via Positano, Amalfi, lunch okay but nothing special in a small village and finishing off in Ravello. The group agreed to do the optional boat trip in the Amalfi Bay which was worth the extra 12 Euros each. We were dropped off at our hotel. Tony was our guide -he spoke great English, educated us in everything regarding culture, cuisine, and the geographical area, and did it in a most entertaining manner. Worth doing the smaller group so you can get into Positano as some of the larger coaches cannot.

Doing what: Small-group tour of Amalfi Coast Tour from Sorrento Including Lunch

Joëlle D

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Great experience! Drivers very friendly. The amalfi coast is worth it. A little bit short on time though too much to see. Really nice guides Stephania and Angela.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Mirian P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was the best value for the money tour that I have ever taken. If you have only one day and you want to see as much as possible this is the tour for you. Our guides Stefania in Pompeii and Ricardo the driver to the Amalfi coast were second to none. I had an awesome day. I highly recommend this tour. You will get to see so much and still stop in Amalfi to enjoy the tour a bit. Lovely Experience

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Ognam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful tour. Pompeii was interestingly presented by our tour guide. The lunch, which was included in the tour, was very good. We especially enjoyed our afternoon tour of the Amalfi Coast with our charming and engaging driver/tour guide, Riccardo. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

james.melendez

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Such a great tour of Pompeii-- tour guide was fantastic - superbly nice and knowledgable.

The Amalfi Coast drive was completed by Luigi who was passionate about this amazing and magical part of Italy. He was so accommodating and we stopped many times and enjoyed stunning views and got to stay longer in Amalfi---it is tough driving--narrow roads, tight turns, tour buses, etc. I loved that we go to go to Ravello---so worth every dollar I paid.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

David W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It's a very good combination in my view. Especially this is good if you have a relative tight schedule or you are travelling alone without a car. Amalfi is of course the highlights. The driver knows the best spots for photos and nicely offered drop offs to one of the famous pizza shop on the way back.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Sissi V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We LOVED this tour, our drive was sensational he took us to these cities, plus amazing places to take pictures, he knows all the good spots. we had an good lunch too, not amazing just good, in a Hotel Restaurant, although if you don't want him to take you to a very expensive place, tell him before how much you want to spend, in order for them not to take you to an expensive restaurant. I gotta admit we loved Positano and Sorrento the most, and Amalfi was after lunch so we almost didn't see anything, just like 20 min there, in the others we had more time. Though I admit Positano is so cool. Warning you have to go down some stairs, take it like 2 or 3 floors, so if you go with elderly or have problems walking or are in a wheelchair its a no go, Although the view is amazing and the beach too. By the time we got to Ravello, well, to be honest we didn't see anything. we just got up in a hill, supposedly Ravello is where this cool Classic Music Festival takes place but they don't give you time off, its mostly a spot for pictures and then you leave again to Naples. Our Driver barely spoke enligh but we spoke a little italian so it was ok. They picked us at the hotel, just that didn't confirm the pick up, so we had to called them, in the end it turned out as a tour just for the 4 of us, cool right? :D Tip the drivers guys, they desserve it! It was an amazing tour, we bought so many souvenirs. Have fun :

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Jessica J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I wish we spent more time in Pompeii, but totally understand that we needed to allow enough time to do Amalfi and get back to Naples at a decent time. Our guides and drivers were amazing especially if you get Mario, he's by far the most entertaining and best driver guide. Pompeii was fascinating, we were glad we ended up doing it as part of a guided tour. Amalfi was beautiful as well.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Cherylyn R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our trip with you was FANTASTIC Thank you. We were collected on time Our guides for Pompeii and Amalfi spoke great English and were very helpful and the itinerary was great Thank you for a great trip Cheryl Raper and Donald Raper

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Nichelle USA

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

The trip was just what we were looking for. Tour of Pompeii was enough time, unfortunately the group size was large and was difficult to manage 50 people. We were always waiting for people who lingered too long or got lost. I would consider doing this tour in a smaller group setting. Would have been good to have 30 mins of free time in Pompeii on our own but understand it was timing.
Sorrento was nice, we definitely want to see the Amalfi Coast and Positano next time. The views and the town were a nice change of pace from Pompeii. We needed more time than an hour to really appreciate the city, but since we were on a cruise ship we needed to leave in order to return in time and the drive is a windy hour and a half away from the port. Overall good value for what we did and just enough activity for us that it was not too taxing the next day.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii and Sorrento Day Trip

Laura E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I have travelled the world and this is the best tour I have ever been on! I travelled alone and there were a mix of couples and singles. The tour guides were friendly and told us interesting facts about Pompeii rather than information overload. We had a small group which was great as other groups in Pompeii had 30 people on. The lunch is no frills, but was tasty - think cheap and cheerful! The Amalfi Coast was amazing and there were plenty of opportunities to stop and take photos. We broke down in Amalfi, but it just added humour to the trip as we all joked about getting out and pushing the bus. The tour guide sent another car to come and pick us up, but after 15 minutes, the driver managed to get the bus started followed by a round of applause. Great value, great fun and great guides!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Jessica J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour, we wish we could have spent more time in Pompeii, but we LOVED our driver Mario who took us around the Amalfi Coast. I also got a little woozy on the drive and he was very thoughtful about checking in with me and buying me an orange to help with my queasiness I get motion sickness easily. We loved this tour, highly recommended.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Anita R

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

The tour to Pompeii was good, although the guide not so good. She spoke English fairly well, but talked WAY too fast. Also, there were some senior citizens in the group, and she walked too fast for them to keep up. The Amalfi Coast trip portion of the tour was great - the guide in our van was great, and he gave us plenty of time to see the coast, and spoke perfect English.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

roastedjessnut

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Pompeii is such a big city so we didn't see everything, but we got to see the smaller theatres, some roads, a bakery, prostitution house, and baths, plus photo time in the main square/open area near the Temple of Jupiter. I thought the cameo and coral shop was a bit unnecessary and obviously a tourist trap, but if you like that kind of stuff, you'll appreciate that part of the tour. If nothing else, it was good for a bathroom break haha.

Lunch was only ok - just pasta, calamari or roast beef, and gelato. We had to pay for our own drinks. It was a rather tourist-y restaurant, complete with a singer asking for tips and hordes of other tourists, but I suppose that's expected.

The Amalfi Coast tour was nice because we had a personable driver, Ricardo. I was fine with the style of the tour since it was just driving along the coast, taking in the scenery, stopping for photo ops, getting a sample of limoncello, and staying for about half an hour in Amalfi for free time.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Joyce United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Plenty of time to wonder through this incredible ancient fine. Wow. Great Tour. The drive around the Amalfi coast was beautiful. But was even better is our tour guide said that Postiano was even more interesting and skipped Amalfi the town and ended our tour in Sorrento-the best shopping. My friend and I decided to stay in Sorrento and take the train back to Naples-last train leaves around 930p and the cost is minimal. Plenty of seating. That way you can stay and stroll around at your own pace, eat dinner, shop and still get back to your hotel by train with no issues.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

queeniewong222

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had a wonderful private tour with an awesome skilled driver who was able to speak English throughout the entire tour. Thanks so much to Antonio for taking us around the beautiful town, Napoli. He showed us four beautiful cities and gave us a couple of photo-taking and shopping time on our own. He drove us to Sorrento to observe the panorama view of the Sorrento Bay, a nice tourist spot in Positano, a small city called Amalfi, and Ravello our last destination which was absolutely beautiful. For lunch, Antonio took us to an amazing organic family restaurant for delicious seafood and fresh pasta all homemade and freshly caught every morning. Plus, a wide Mediterranean Sea view that took our breaths away. Restaurant is called Ristobar Eurocona with the friendliest service, we had a special tour to see the family's garden. We enjoyed our day trip in Napoli at the top! We totally recommend this tour to anybody.

Doing what: Private Tour: Sorrento, Positano, Amalfi and Ravello Day Trip from Naples

Gabriela B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Pompeii tour was great, I wish we had more time to ourselves there and Amalfi cost was beautiful the drives made sure to give us enough time to take pictures!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Joyce United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

It was a light rain when we arrived in Pompeii. Lots of people but I think when we arrived it was just right-early in the morning .we did avoid the crowds. You will get a headset-take it. Because if you wandering off like I did, you will be able to recognize your tour guide's voice and head in that direction until you find your group again. it worked several times and gave me the freedom do to my own touring without so many bodies. But dont wandering too far from the maddening crowd or you will loose reception. Walking shoes that are comfortable needed because it is broken up stone streets. So much to see. It may worth taking two tours like this that include Pompeii. Not much shopping to do there except the small vendors. However there are two nice jewelry shops below the plaza area near all the restaurants. Go visit their bathroom too.
Overall a worthwhile tour and well organized. The trip to Amalfi was changed a bit to include a better route. We went to Postiano awesome views and city and ended up in Sorrento. Folks, instead of leaving with the tour, take the train back for a few euros and do your own thing. Plenty of avoidable shops and great restaurants. The train ride back to Naples is only one hour and easy and very cheap. I stayed after the tour concluded and went shopping for the second time and a lovely dinner on the main street. The train station is a short walk from the main areas. Everyone will tell you how to get to and from the train station. Lemonchello famous liquoir to purchase everywhere. Lots of flat artwork vendors to hunt for and xmas ornaments everywhere too. In Sorrento, great leather goods shops and small boutique clothing shops. Leather bags-negotiate for their small 5-10 discounts-don't be afraid to bargain. Viator as usual did a great job on this tour. Our group was very small and it made going easy.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

alexasiroy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an excellent day! We got to see the most important parts of Pompeii in the morning and drove down the amalfi coast in the afternoon. Well worth the money!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Jon C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wonderful trip to Pompeii and the Amalfi coast. Tanya and Luchia were great and very informative. Would recommend taking the trip with them.
Tonnya

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Gerald W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Both Pompeii and the Amalfi coast were incredible ! The van tour with Ricardo was breathtaking and informative. Along with a short boat tour gave a very different prospective to the coast .

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Sherry W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour guide in Pompeii. Very knowledgeable and concise. Took us to all the best sites and gave us an excellent overview. Tour of the Amalfi coast was also wonderful. Beautiful scenery with great driver and guide. Had lots of opportunities for pictures and stops at nice shops along the way. We did not feel rushed and really got to see the highlights of the area. We had lots of fun and arrived back at our cruise ship right on time. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Mark F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a great tour. Our guide was very informative throughout the tour and handled the tour in a professional way. The Amalfi coast, wow!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message