Pompeii has attracted tourists from all over the world since its ruins were properly discovered in the 19th century. Once a vibrant port, full of wealthy Romans with a passion for theatre and brothels, Pompeii became a city lost in time after ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1786 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Lots of fun and a great tour guide who injected humor into the historical facts he was going over

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I thought the tour was great. Our guide provided us with plenty of intetesting information. I would love to go to Pompeii again and explore other areas. The included lunch was a huge plus.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Tour very well organized and very friendly guides

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was really worthbit adreaus the guide was excellent worth paying for

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My husband and I took this tour during our honeymoon trip to Italy. We thought everything about it was awesome--our guide was funny and informative, Pompeii itself was much better preserved than we had anticipated with some really cool sites, and hiking up Vesuvius was a very unique experience.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

I enjoyed this tour very much. I learned so much from our guide. I recommend it highly.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our Pompei and Herculaneum day trip was great from the get go. The driver, Mario, was very entertaining. While we were on the way to pick up the other people in the group, he gave us a brief history of Naples and pointed out interesting sites and buildings. He even played Italian music which elevated the ambience of the tour. Our tour guide was very nice and knowledgeable. Great day trip!

Doing what: Pompeii and Herculaneum Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My wife and I were picked up for this tour from the Naples train station. We had to cross the road and go slightly to the left. Simple enough, but it was a bit awkward as we weren't sure we were in the right place until other couples showed up. Two vans showed up on time to take us on the tour. We started off at Pompeii where we met our tour guide and picked up a microphone relay system. He was really friendly and telling lots of jokes which helped make the tour fun as well as informative. Pompeii is amazingly well preserved. I loved hearing about the streets and how they were named based on the Roman god's face who dispensed water at the corners Roman empire was huge with many languages from conquered areas, but everyone knew the Roman gods. The streets were sunken a bit so that when the animals did their business it stayed there. The stepping stones to cross the road were really neat as were the water fountains at the end of the streets which were used to fill up a basin that could be used to clean the road since the whole town was on a tilt. We walked through a bath house with beautiful frescos, and saw two molds of poor souls who lost their lives when Pompeii was buried. We also went to a brothel that had interesting frescos again different languages so pictures were used to communicate, I'll leave it at that. All the time we were in Pompeii, I couldn't help but notice Mt Vesuvius looming in the background. Lunch was simple and quick, then we were driven to Mt Vesuvius. We climbed up an amazingly steep grade for what seemed like an eternity, taking numerous breaks to catch our breath. The view from the top was well worth it though.

Highlights:
Tour guide knew his stuff and was fun to be around
Pompeii is amazingly well preserved and is a must see if you're in/near Naples
Mt Vesuvius provides stunning views of the surrounding area, if you're up for the hike
Microphone relay system from tour guide to you no issues whatsoever hearing all the details

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

brilliant trip and lovely staff. would recommend xxxx

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very good tour.
Tom and Adele
Canada

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic. Our guide, Sofia, was knowledgable and very engaging. We highly recommend her.

Doing what: Private Tour: Pompeii Half-Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic, really recommended. We were picked at our hotel 5 minutes later than expected time however we rec'd a call at the hotel to advise of this small delay so that was not a problem. We went to Pompeii first and our guide, Maria, was fantastic, her knowledge was impressive to say the least. We were shown several places of interest but if you wanted to see it all you would have to go for at least one full day if not more as the sight is so big. What we saw was brilliant.
A lunch stop at a nice restaurant with a choice of pizza or pasta with a drink. Basic was it was delicious and authentic.
After lunch we headed up to Mt Vesuvius where was were given plenty of time to be able to walk from the car park area to the summit, and back again with spare time to look at the stalls and buy a postcard etc from the shop.
Fabulous day in all, my mum and I loved it :-

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our private tour of Pompeii was PHENOMENAL !!! Our tour guide, Fabrizio Belleni, from www.Leisure-Italy.com was so knowledgable, friendly and patient. My wife and I are slow walkers and he totally let us choose the pace. We have a 15 yr old son who Fabrizio was able to engage as easily as he engaged us. Our son said he felt like it was a constant conversation about what we were seeing, rather than a lecture Bout it. He was able to answer just about every question we had and we couldn't have been any more satisfied with the tour. It is a little bit more for a private tour, but so incredibly worth it, especially if Fabrizio is your guide !

Doing what: Private Tour: Pompeii Tour with Family Tour Option

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message