Pompeii has attracted tourists from all over the world since its ruins were properly discovered in the 19th century. Once a vibrant port, full of wealthy Romans with a passion for theatre and brothels, Pompeii became a city lost in time after ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2517 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Eve L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Simply great. A beautiful big, shiny car picked us up from our hotel and took us to Pompeii with our lovely guide. She spoke excellent English and was very well informed, enthusiastic and friendly too. We learned a lot and enoyed the whole tour very much.

Doing what: Private Tour: Pompeii Half-Day Trip from Naples

Ivan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent! Well organised and informative.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Jim United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was the best of the four tours we took in Italy. From the moment Antonio picked us up in front of our hotel in Naples we were perfectly cared for by professionals. Driver was Antonio guide was Angela.
Pompeii was amazing and very informational. Lunch was great. The tour along the Amalfi coast was spectacular. The whole package left us wanting more.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Todd S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic tour guide! Really informative and learned a lot even in the short time.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Tony I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very informative , everything on time and very well coordinated. Nice people who were taking us on the tour

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

helen.riezebos

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Fantastic from beginning to end. The lunch was excellent too.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Elaine T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The pick up point at Naples Station was a bit vague, but it turned out ok. The guide hunted around until she found all the people that she was meant to pick up. The whole tour was run well despite the huge amount of people everywhere. Pompeii was vast, and 2 hours only gives you time for the highlights, but knowing this in advance, it was nice to leave it all in someone else's hands and just enjoy the experience. Vesuvius was amazing. Only an hour to get to the top and back, and you have to be reasonably fit to be able to march up and walk to the opposite end of the crater and back with a bit of time to take photos. But it was the highlight of my holiday and I am so happy to have done it.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Fernando W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Amazing guided tour through Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius. I must say though make sure the shoes you are wearing are comfortable and you have no issues with getting a little dusty from the ankle down mostly. If you are second guessing this one based on the climb up the Mountain, I will say Don't, unless you are handicap or have some medical issue which prevents you. We saw people of all ages making the climb, each at their own pace obviously. Once at the top it is a must see sight.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Sandra D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Really pleased with this tour, hotel pick up at 10.15 was 15 mins early, Pompeii highlights tour was very informative and Maria our guide was very funny and made it very interesting, lunch was surprisingly good, choice of margarita pizza or spaghetti with tomato sauce and Parmesan, with choice of beer, juice, water or pop. Then off to Vesuvius where we hiked one mile, 30 mins to the crater, strong walking shoes recommended, quite strenuous but worth the effort, superb views of Naples and the Bay, and the crater. Only down side was we didn't feel we had enough time at the summit to take it in, we had around 20 mins to take our photos and look round then 20 mins to get back down to the coach. We would have liked to have an extra half an hour at least to walk the whole length of the crater's edge and return to the hotel an hour later than we did. Would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Courtney F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

I really enjoyed this tour. It is so much better to go in the off season, even though things are closed. I can't image going in a big bus on those windy roads along the coast. I lucked out with a small group of 5 and we were in a comfy van. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

WILLIAM S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

These tours were very good. Our guide's English was excelent and I would definitely recomend this tour

Bill Australia

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

Sundus N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was a fantastic excursion. I loved every minute of it and both tour guides were phenomenal in presenting the information and taking care of our needs. Sylvie has a great energy and a wonderful spirit, and was very accommodating to my dairy allergy when the pizza lunch, included in the ticket price, arrived. I had an amazing personalized pizza just for me, so delicious. The tour guide for the Pompeii trip was also amazing, and I had a wonderful day visiting these two ancient historical sites. Also, I love Sylvie, she is the best!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Dan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great tour, just as what is described. We got a nice explanation of the Pompeii and then really a good exercice in the Vesuvius. For elder people, it would be a bit tough to climb the mountain, but it is worth it to see the crater.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Michelle C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Amazing heritage site and Guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

Susan O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the tour of Pompeii and the hike to the top of Mount Vesuvius. Our guide, Maria, was exceptionally well organized and informed. She made history come alive for us. Pompeii is quite a large archeological site and worth having a modern Roman explain life in ancient Rome. We were well taken care of with pick up and drop off and pizza at lunch.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Kevin K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Very professional tour guides. Couldn't have asked for more. Thank You!

Doing what: Pompeii and Sorrento Day Trip from Naples

Camilo R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Booked trough viator, an the tour operator was EXCELLENT, thank you Tania and Pascuale Everything was perfect from the moment we checked in all the way until finished. I would recommend this company to book your tours while in Firenzi Florence. Tania did an outstanding performance, very professional, knowledgeable and very pleasant. Pascuale the driver very pleasant and made us feel safe.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Dawn W

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

I really liked the trip to Pompeii. I learned a lot. It was absolutely worth the ticket. Mt. Vesuvius was not. I could have skipped that.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Joëlle D

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Great experience! Drivers very friendly. The amalfi coast is worth it. A little bit short on time though too much to see. Really nice guides Stephania and Angela.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Barbara M

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The tour was good. Pompeii is incredible, but our guide seems to have been giving us a lot of misinformation - throughout the Pompeii visit she cited common sayings, indicating that their origin was Pompeii/ Ancient Italy - however, upon checking afterward, these claims are not supported. I really don't join tours to learn fiction presented as fact - I expect the guides to be professional and well informed. Mt Vesuvius was okay, however a previous visit to Mt Etna had raised my expectations and I found Vesuvius to be disappointing by comparison, knowing what I know now, I would skip Vesuvius and visit Herculaneum instead.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Marc M

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Really enjoyed the visit in Pompeii, really great guide very easy to understand and knew a lot about the place really awesome. Sorrento the guide was a little young or to shy to manage such a large group for the Sorrento visit. Also lunch was good but because we got our plates last and the guides where done eating before we even started eating, we where rush to finish eating so the tour could go on, didn't really appreciate that.

Doing what: Pompeii and Sorrento Day Trip from Naples

Peter M

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very good tour,would have liked a little more time.
The trip up and down the mountain is a real knuckle buster, but our driver was great.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Dorothy G

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

This was a great tour. Our guide was knowledgeable and shared many interesting facts with us at Pompeii. Pompeii was super busy but no one can really control that. The provided lunch was pizza which was not very good. Because our group was large, by the time we got our pizza we only had a few moments to eat. The climb at Mt. Vesuvius was totally worth it - we got to bring home a rock from the top. To peer inside that crater was wonderful. I wish our tour group had been smaller.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message