Pompeii has attracted tourists from all over the world since its ruins were properly discovered in the 19th century. Once a vibrant port, full of wealthy Romans with a passion for theatre and brothels, Pompeii became a city lost in time after ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2460 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sheila C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Pick up was on time, great tour guide. Great trip, would recommend.

Doing what: Pompeii and Sorrento Day Trip from Naples

Cynthia I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The guide was knowledgeable

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Barbara M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was wonderful. Both sites are worth a visit, and we had an excellent guide for the day, as well as another excellent guide for the tour in Pompeii.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Linda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour leader was great I think her name was Maria because she spoke several languages and had a great sense of humor in each. Tour itself was very informative. You won't know what you're looking at in Pompeii unless you book a tour. DO IT!

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Rini M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolutely brilliant, could not have been better.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Catherine E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We began the day by being picked up at our hotel in Naples in a group of about 7 and headed to Pompeii where we were met by our wonderfully knowledgeable guide, Maria who also had a great sense of humour. We spent around 2 hours being guided around the ruins. What a fascinating experience. Without having a guide, we would not have gained as much insight into the historic content that Pompeii holds. We learnt so much in this short time and found the whole experience fabulous. We then were taken for a lunch of pizza and a drink. From there, we boarded the minivan for our trip to Vesuvius. Just a quick point, there are no toilet facilities at Vesuvius so do use the conveniences when you stop for lunch. There are plenty of refreshment stalls at Vesuvius, make sure you take enough water for your 30 minute climb! We were given an hour and fifteen minutes to climb up and down which was ample time. It was interesting to see the steam coming out of part of the crater. This made us feel that although having been told the volcano is active, this was our proof. It was an unforgettable experience and one we were glad to have been able to enjoy. It was back to the hotel then for a well deserved lie down! All in all, a fantastic day, but not too tiring. There was just enough to do within the time. I would not hesitate in recommending this excursion.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Sophie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This trip was great. We had considered doing Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius by ourselves, but this trip was such good value I'm glad we chose this one. We were picked up straight from our hotel and taken to Pompeii - which obviously already takes out much of the hassle. We went on a Sunday morning around Easter time, and it was rammed. It didn't spoil the experience but timing might be good to think about in advance, if that's not for you. Gino and Manuela were great tour guides - friendly and good fun, they kept everyone together and painted a brilliant picture of what we were seeing - the history and everyday life of the place, made it all really come to life.

The only small thing i would have preferred is some more free time to explore Pompeii.
But saying that, I think a tour guide is almost essential to appreciate all that you're seeing.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Cheyenne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My tour guide was very knowledgable and the trip was great! Be sure to pack water for Mt. Vesuvius. They provide pizza midway through the trip, though it is nothing special, don't expect amazing food. Other than that, I highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Jeffrey C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Extremely rewarding experience! Guide was super knowledgeable and a great deal of fun! This is a trip that any lover of history should take!!

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Mirian P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was the best value for the money tour that I have ever taken. If you have only one day and you want to see as much as possible this is the tour for you. Our guides Stefania in Pompeii and Ricardo the driver to the Amalfi coast were second to none. I had an awesome day. I highly recommend this tour. You will get to see so much and still stop in Amalfi to enjoy the tour a bit. Lovely Experience

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Francine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Both of our tour guides through Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius were excellent. I would definitely recommend this tour to other guests.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Rakeda L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and she added a bit of humor to make it interesting.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Ognam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful tour. Pompeii was interestingly presented by our tour guide. The lunch, which was included in the tour, was very good. We especially enjoyed our afternoon tour of the Amalfi Coast with our charming and engaging driver/tour guide, Riccardo. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

jechyde

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We really enjoyed the tour and VERY grateful we did not have to maneuver the twisty roads down the Almalfi coast.. The tour of Pompeii was spectacular and just the right length. The cameo factory and ceramics shop were informative and a good chance to acquire some gifts for friends and family. We opted to enjoy the town of Almafi instead of the optional boat tour, giving us free time in the town. Good value and excellent guides.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Jessica L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

An excellently planned tour. Due to airport strikes we had to reschedule at the last minute, and bring our luggage on the tour. Throughout it, the company was very accommodating. Our tour guides were very knowledgeable and entertaining, and we had a wonderful day!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

james.melendez

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Such a great tour of Pompeii-- tour guide was fantastic - superbly nice and knowledgable.

The Amalfi Coast drive was completed by Luigi who was passionate about this amazing and magical part of Italy. He was so accommodating and we stopped many times and enjoyed stunning views and got to stay longer in Amalfi---it is tough driving--narrow roads, tight turns, tour buses, etc. I loved that we go to go to Ravello---so worth every dollar I paid.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

David W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It's a very good combination in my view. Especially this is good if you have a relative tight schedule or you are travelling alone without a car. Amalfi is of course the highlights. The driver knows the best spots for photos and nicely offered drop offs to one of the famous pizza shop on the way back.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

louise f

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

You will not be disappointed with Elisa's tour of Pompeii! She brought the ancient site to life in story with fantastically accessible humour. We compared notes with other language groups and they said that all they could hear was us laughing. She managed the group exceedingly well, while you were not made to feel like a number. A very slick and genuine tour. Elisa should be an attraction of Pompeii, she is really that good!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Jessica J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

I wish we spent more time in Pompeii, but totally understand that we needed to allow enough time to do Amalfi and get back to Naples at a decent time. Our guides and drivers were amazing especially if you get Mario, he's by far the most entertaining and best driver guide. Pompeii was fascinating, we were glad we ended up doing it as part of a guided tour. Amalfi was beautiful as well.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

chaochaoxw

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour guide in Pompeii has very good English. She showed us every details about the history of Pompeii. The trip is well organized.
The tour guide in Sorrento is another girl. She is also friendly and tried to satisfy each customer's needs. There are 4 people in this small group in Sorrento and I'm the only passenger from cruise ship. So the driver sent me first to the port in order to catch the ship abroad time. I am very satisfied with this trip.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii and Sorrento Day Trip

John F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Really good trip. Got picked up from the hotel and dropped off. Tour guide was very knowledgeable and got shown some amazing parts of Pompeii. Well worth it.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Bob M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Good experience, especially after spending an afternoon at the archeological museum.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Joydeep Das United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Worth the money and do both famous attractions in a day, the tour of Pompeii was ideal within 2 hours of the allocated time and the tour guide was very well versed with all the sights and sounds. Vesuvius was largely DIY but the bus does takes you to the entrance and the ticket fees is inclusive so saves you the hassle. Quite recommended when in Naples. Dont forget to wear proper shoes and clothing since it gets very hectic and the heat up on the Vesuvius.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Cherylyn R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our trip with you was FANTASTIC Thank you. We were collected on time Our guides for Pompeii and Amalfi spoke great English and were very helpful and the itinerary was great Thank you for a great trip Cheryl Raper and Donald Raper

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message