Pompeii has attracted tourists from all over the world since its ruins were properly discovered in the 19th century. Once a vibrant port, full of wealthy Romans with a passion for theatre and brothels, Pompeii became a city lost in time after ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1688 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great tour and would recommend to anyone. The Pompeii tour guide was extremely knowledgeable. Lunch was good and plenty of it so you had energy before the climb up Vesuvius. Amazing views at the top of the volcano and a fantastic experience. Only suggestion would be to leave earlier to give more time.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

We had a great day,picked up and dropped off from our hotel,the tour and our guild was really great.
Very good value for money and I would recommend it to my friends.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Tour was excellent. Pick up on time and tour operaters very friendly. Food was good. Enjoy it very much. Perhaps more time needed for the mount Vesuvuis climb to have time for picture taking.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great guide, very knowledgable and funny, the tour was awesome!
It was hotter in Pompeii than we thought, our tip would be to take an umbrella as there is little to no shade.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was easy to book, convenient to attend, and a highlight of my trip to Europe!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic tour, great guide Alessandro was funny, informative and helpful.

Doing what: Best Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Had a great time exploring Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius. Pompeii is a large city and while the weather might have been very hot mid 90's in the summer - so a fall or spring visit might be a bit nicer, a bit longer in the ruins might have been nice. That being said, we did learn a lot about Roman life in Pompeii. Our guide was fantastic, and they had three different guides for three different languages. Lunch was a welcome break and the views of and from the mountain were worth the heat.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

What an amazing experience! Our tour guide for Pompeii was very detailed, interesting and just did an excellent job! We then were able to get out of the hot sun and enjoy a nice pizza lunch at a great local restaurant. Climbing to the top of Mt Vesuvius was spectacular. I definitely recommend!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very insightful, good tour guide

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Lavina made this tour perfect. The interactive map and games kept both of my kids involved. They are 3 and 7. Even though it was a family tour, my husband and I learned more than we ever imagined. I would recommend this tour to EVERYONE! Thank you Lavina for a day will will never forget!

Doing what: Private Tour: Pompeii Tour with Family Tour Option

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great Tour. Guide was excellent Thank You Ceaser !!! . I would recomend

Doing what: Best Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is a great trip and works well with the cruise ship schedule. We arrive to port on Royal Allure and the rep was there. After picking up several individuals at several locations, left the area and headed to Pompeii. Great day, great guide and great memories. Would recommend this tour

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

excellent day! There us a lot of walking and it's hot in the summer...no shade in Pompeii. Otherwise it's an excellent trip!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

excellent day! There is a lot of walking and it's hot in the summer...no shade in Pompeii. Otherwise it's an excellent trip!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The trip up to Vesuvius was well worth the hike!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Everything worked as promised. The guide was great. We noticed that some people in the group were not properly prepared for a hot summer day in July, so reserve enough water with you and protect yourself from the sun. There are not so many shadowed spots in Pompeii. Also, use comfortable shoes for walking up to the summit of Vesuvius, since there are lots of loose sand on the way up.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Would recommend trip good value for money. We where picked up from hotel and from start to finish everything ran very smoothly. Be prepared! the volcano walk is not for the faint hearted, 30mins of climbing up a steep slope that was like sand...worth it though, views at the top are amazing. Definitely worth doing the trip

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a great tour. Naples itself is not really a pretty city, but outside of it at Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius it was great. Remember to bring lots of water if it is July as it is quite hot.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Our guides, Lucia and Anna, were very knowledgeable and friendly and spoke English quite well. The tour gave many interesting facts about the ruins and about life in Pompeii and Herculaneum. The bus ride was comfortable, and the mid-day lunch in a large, pleasant restaurant was ample and tasty. If you're visiting in mid-summer, bring sunglasses, umbrella, fan, and plenty of bottled water, because it's HOT and there is little shade.

Doing what: Pompeii and Herculaneum Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a well organized trip that I was glad of once I saw the queues to pay for Pompeii ! Our enthusiastic guide was Andrea who was brilliant-knowledgeable,funny and informative. He included everybody, made sure we were all together all the time and he managed to hold everybody's interest. We were given plenty of time to look at the sights, take photos, drink water etc.
Lunch was pizza/spaghetti served by harassed, bordering on rude, waitresses in an airconditioned restaurant but it was a welcome rest from the heat and the food was good.
Onto the mighty Vesuvius by coach after lunch, during which Andrea regaled us with wit and facts. The coach dropped us at the highest parking point and then we walked at our own pace to the top with plenty of time to do this without rushing. Finally the coach dropped us off at a convenient point for our hotel.
I would recommend this tour if you want to see these historical sights without any hassle. The souvenir madness is abundant in both areas but you dont have to engage with them--unless you want to!!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great day - Andre was a great guide very knowledgeable, funny, and good with interacting with my kids - 11 and 12. Enjoyed both Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius, atlhough that climb was a bit tougher than I expected. Well worth it!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Outstanding tour! Our guide was energetic and knowledgeable with a great sense of humor. We were picked up and dropped off at our hotel reducing the hassle of finding where to meet up. Our guide took us to a lunch spot off the beaten path. We would not have had the same experience doing the trip ourselves-well worth the money spent.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The trip ran on time and the guide was really informative. I would recommend seeing Pompeii with a guide like this tour rather than just walking around. We learned a lot!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was great. Our guide was amazing and very knowledgeable. She had a great sense of humor. The only thing I would say is that it might have been nice to see a little more of Pompeii, but I know they continue on to other places. There is an option to just get a transfer to Pompeii, but I liked having a good tour guide.

Doing what: Best Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message