Pompeii has attracted tourists from all over the world since its ruins were properly discovered in the 19th century. Once a vibrant port, full of wealthy Romans with a passion for theatre and brothels, Pompeii became a city lost in time after ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2406 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Richard R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tours. Did this rather then doing it off the cruise ship. Easy peasy!! Both tours were outstanding.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii and Sorrento Day Trip

Nelly B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Everything was great, the tour guide was fantastic!!!

Doing what: Pompeii and Herculaneum Day Trip from Naples

Brian B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellant tour... we were met at cruise terminal by our driver and tour guide... only 6 people on our tour of Naples.... the van was small and hard to see out the windows, but our guide was excellant and she spoke great english. We stopped at the Cathederal then around the city and up to viewpoint overlooking Naples....beautiful. Then to a plaza and a chance for expresso and baked goods. Then drove to Pompeii..... there we met other groups and we were about 30 total walking thru Pompeii. We each had headsets so it was very easy hearing our guide....she was still excellant explaining all the ruins....quite good and a good sense of humor. Perfect time in December to go....very few people there.... one of the highlights of our trip

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Awesome leisurely stroll with an excellent knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Garlyn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a great tour and our tour guide Elena was the best! Despite the rain we had an enjoyable tour of Naples and felt a new appreciation for a city that gets a bad rap! We even returned at the end of our stay to visit the archeological museum at her suggestion! One of the highlights was our visit to Pompeii and were thrilled that the rain held off and we could enjoy the tour and learn from our wonderful tour guide the colorful history and world wide fascination of Pompeii!

Doing what: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

Timothy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great to be in their hands and have everything taken care of. We enjoyed the lunch, the tour guides, and the bus. Thought this was an excellent value.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Stephen G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our guide Ellisa was brilliant, a lot of the ruins don't look much, but she brought everything to life telling us the history of everything, she was fabulous even though it was bitterly cold !

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

mbcdgalati

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

This was a good tour choice. We really enjoyed the tour of Pompeii although the headphones were a little uncomfortable so it was easier to stay close to the tour guide and listen without them. The pizza lunch was very relaxing and gave us some time to enjoy our lunch without rushing. We would have like more time in Sorrento since we were only alloted 20 minutes which gave us barely enough time to walk to the Lemoncello store and get back to the bus in time. This tour had beautiful scenery and was very educational. An extra 1/2 hour - 1 hour would make it a better tour.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii and Sorrento Day Trip

Susan L

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Friendly host on the bus, then a Pompeii guide at the site for two hours. Interesting and informative tour of Pompeii, there is so much to see! You do have to pay for your own tickets and there is a package that includes Herculaneum so take that into account in your costings. The tour company organised lots of variations of tours so then most of us were taken to lunch at the Vesuvius restaurant. That was okay, though it is a mega-tourist spot and with a choice of two meals which were so so. We were the only ones going to Herculaneum so we had a driver take us there and wait for us while we visited. There is no guide for this part, but it is well signposted and you can hire an audio guide on site. Herculaneum is well worth visiting though - with some great mosaics, buildings and the very sad site of many skeletons of those who died while hoping to escape down the bottom near where the sea once came in. A very full and interesting day!

Doing what: Pompeii and Herculaneum Day Trip from Naples

SUE

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Our guide Elina was great she had so much knowledge to pass on to our group and she interacted really well with the children with us making them feel included. We had a young man from Malta in our group named Alex who gave me some info on Malta as I was going there a couple of days later and would like to say thanks to him if he reads this

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

tamsinstraw

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

very enjoyable tour! Pompeii was sensational and Sorrento completely beautiful. Tour was exactly as described and more! Very recommended! Craig and Tamsin

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii and Sorrento Day Trip

Anita R

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

The tour to Pompeii was good, although the guide not so good. She spoke English fairly well, but talked WAY too fast. Also, there were some senior citizens in the group, and she walked too fast for them to keep up. The Amalfi Coast trip portion of the tour was great - the guide in our van was great, and he gave us plenty of time to see the coast, and spoke perfect English.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Teagan M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

We enjoyed our tour however we felt it was very unorganized and could be improved. The group was divided multiple times and it was very unclear where we were meant to go and with who. Our tour of Pompeii with Maria was disappointing as we didn't get to see the human remains which are a huge part of the story of Pompeii to us. She also left without us and we, along with a fellow tour member, were left lost not knowing where to go and almost missed the included lunch and second part of the tour because of this. Other than that it was a great day. The views from Vesuvius were amazing and well worth the hike.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Don C E

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

the sound system is poor particularly when combined with tour guide that speaks very quickly with very accented english . As can be expected she was often ahead of us and then the sound became even more difficult .
the Herculaneum part of the trip was more satisfactory in part because it was at a more leisurely pace and with better guiding.

Doing what: Pompeii and Herculaneum Day Trip from Naples

kellebartels

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Absolutely incredible experience. Our guide was fantastic and really shared a lot of information. Would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Jurgita B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

It was an excellent day out. Manuela our trip guide was amazing. She was super on the ball: the weather on the day was rather windy and rainy - so Mount Vesuvius was closed. She kindly gave us an option to either go to Sorrento or come back to Naples early after Pompei and get some money back.
After Pompei we waited to be taken back to Naples, but Vesuvius miraculously re-opened and Manu immediately got us, fed us delicious pizza and off we went to see the volcano. Great organizational skills all around!! And Sabina our Pompei guide was a delight, totally amazing, knowledgable and funny. Can't recommend this enough. Thanks so much!

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Young L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The trip was amazing. Our guide was attentive and knowledgeable. Highly recommend!!!

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Timothy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had attentive and friendly guides, knowledgable, able to cater for our interests. As we were the only booking for the day, we had private tour guides, they were fantastic.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

tking66

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Highly recommend this tour the company that provided this was awesome.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Gwendolyn G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour was outstanding and the tour guide was the best. When we return to Italy I will definitely be using your super service. Thanks for making our trip the best ever. 2 very satisfied senior citizens:

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Nigel S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Very good five hours worth, including the Cathedral and some areas of downtown Naples together with a short drive to get a superb view of the city and its harbour, followed by a two hour tour of Pompeii, all excellently explained by our delightful guide Maria. It was a pleasure to have this virtually private tour in a comfortable minibus

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

Chriso

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Polite, punctual, friendly. safe, helpful driver. Friendly, knowledgeable and entertaining guide. A great tour. We learned so much that would have passed us by without Maria to explain it. The best way to see Pompeii if time is limited.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

aida v

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

the tour was magnificent.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Joe Luis United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The only reason I don't give this 5 stars was because the Tour guide to Mt Vesuvius was kind of rude! I know you have a job to do and you must get everyone back on the bus on time, but there is a nice way and a rude way to say it!
PompeIii tour was good and the tour guide was great, we learned a lot from this and it was a great experience.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message