• USD ($)
  • English
Pompeii has attracted tourists from all over the world since its ruins were properly discovered in the 19th century. Once a vibrant port, full of wealthy Romans with a passion for theatre and brothels, Pompeii became a city lost in time after ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1274 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Amazing and would do it again. No complaints

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The trip to Pompeii from Naples was well organized and ran very smoothly. The guide that led the Pompeii tour was knowledgeable and very animated. His descriptions of what we were seeing were very descriptive, which made for a very enjoyable and enlightening experience. The location where the pizza and soda lunch after the Pompeii tour took place was very convenient, however, the pizza was not particularly good. The walk up to Vesuvius was somewhat challenging due to the loose “gravel” on the path. Regardless, the climb to the top was a nice hike that could easily be made in the one-hour allocated by the tour guide. Regretfully, our day on Vesuvius was somewhat overcast and the pictures of the Bay of Naples will not be as spectacular as they would be during a clear day.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We had a wonderful time or guide was very outgoing and made our trip a lot of fun lunch was very nice enjoyed the shopping and the drive was beautiful !!!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Well worth booking the city trip as the guide was very knowledgeable and was able to show us parts of the city of Naples we otherwise would have missed.Pompeii is a must unfortunately we had very bad weather the day we went so advisable to carry an umbrella with you as there is no shelter and the place is vast but well worth the experience.

Doing what: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our guide was very knowledgeable and personable. He encouraged questions and adjusted the tour to what we wanted to see, spending more time in some areas and less in others. He really made the history come alive. Unfortunately because of the weather the 2nd half of the tour, to Mt. Vesuvius, was canceled but the tour company was very responsive in providing a refund for that portion of the trip.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We really enjoyed seeing this bit of history. It's amazing what they've been able to find. We had a great, sunny day to see this beautiful area. Being Geocachers, we had a lot of fun caching on our tour. We even were able to find a cache on top of Mt. Vesuvius. We were able to get back to our van as the rain began to fall at the end of the tour. Well worth the money to see! A good lunch is included.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

My daughter and I enjoyed this tour. The hotel pick up was appreciated since we had arrived in Naples the night before and did not know our way around. This was one of the few tours that did the Pompeii/Vesuvius combination in March. Our guide provided good information and kept the group together. Because the commentary was in both English and Spanish, there were times when it took longer to go through explanations. In future, I would opt for an English only group simply because that would have made it easier to pace the tour and may have provided greater opportunity for questions.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The first part of this tour was quite flustering! We weren't sure where to go from the port. The tour person that picked us up didn't seem to have it together. When we arrived at Pompeii, it sort of seemed like we were a bother. It was still sort of confusing with bringing together of several different groups. Now, once we actually started our tour, our guide made up for all of this! He was fantastic with his humor and knowledge. The pizza was fantastic! When we went to Mt. Vesuvius, traffic was interesting but our driver got us really close. The hike was a little tough but so worth it when we got to the top. On the way back, several of us from the cruise were worried we wouldn't make our 5:30pm all aboard time but we did with 30 minutes to spare! All in all it was a great time. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was the confusion at the start.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

It was not clear where to meet the guide.
It began raining and was too windy to enjoy Pompeii. The trip up the volcano was cancelled due to rain and we did not get lunch. We were very cold and hungry by the time we got back to Naples.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2014

Pompeii and Herculaneum were brilliant and definitely a must see. Guide was excellent and added a lot. However far too much time wasted, 9 hours on tour only 2 spent in Pompeii and 1 in Herculaneum (without guide). Rest was in que or waiting. Take train and get there yourself then join a tour.

Doing what: Pompeii and Herculaneum Day Trip from Naples

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

This ended up being the worse ever. I'm not sure if everyone has the same people, but this isn't really a tour. You are basically paying for a driver to take you around.

Pompeii is literally about 20 minutes away from Naples so you can easily take a car. They take you to a coral shop and another store to try limoncello (which is more to get you to buy things). The guide doesn't speak English very well and they don't give you any information about the city, Pompeii, Naples, etc. They basically just explain the itinerary and drive you to Pompeii where you need to buy your own entrance tickets (they won't give you the audio guide). After dropping you off, they leave you in Pompeii and pick you up 2 hours later.
After they take you to lunch (which really sucked). You have to buy your own water or drinks and the lunch consists of a fast food type of restaurant with a pasta dish (simple tomato sauce and spaghetti) and meat dish (meat or fish) which is very small and not worth talking about. Dessert is just Gelato and you don't even get a choice, you are given whatever flavor and it's up to your own luck if you get a good one or not.

After that they take you to the Amalfi coast which is just driving through. There is no explanation of anything at all from the guide (just basically "look at how pretty that house is", "look at the water", etc. but nothing of meaning or informational of the area... in other words, you won't learn anything). After driving for about 2 hours they let you walk around the Amalfi town for about 40 minutes (which is really the smoke break for the guide and the driver) and then back to Naples.

In reality, you are just paying for transportation. It may be worth it just because of that but don't expect a tour or anything special. I usually don't leave any reviews but I had to do it for this one. Me and my wife were very disappointing (and I usually am very easy going and flexible).

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Excellent tour and knowledge from Ricardo our top guide. Would fully recommend.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

simply nice day we spend

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Really interesting and informative. Small group, which was nice and the guide Maria Louisa knew the best ways to avoid the crowds. She also could point of things that perhaps other guides might not. The whole thing ran very smoothly. Guide was there to greet us when we arrived off the ship and we were taken back at the appointed time. If I had realised, I would have booked another 1/2 day (Sorrento) as Naples was 'under construction' so not so great for sightseeing. Well worth booking this tour!

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message