Pompeii has attracted tourists from all over the world since its ruins were properly discovered in the 19th century. Once a vibrant port, full of wealthy Romans with a passion for theatre and brothels, Pompeii became a city lost in time after ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2469 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Dawn W

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

I really liked the trip to Pompeii. I learned a lot. It was absolutely worth the ticket. Mt. Vesuvius was not. I could have skipped that.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Barbara M

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

The tour was good. Pompeii is incredible, but our guide seems to have been giving us a lot of misinformation - throughout the Pompeii visit she cited common sayings, indicating that their origin was Pompeii/ Ancient Italy - however, upon checking afterward, these claims are not supported. I really don't join tours to learn fiction presented as fact - I expect the guides to be professional and well informed. Mt Vesuvius was okay, however a previous visit to Mt Etna had raised my expectations and I found Vesuvius to be disappointing by comparison, knowing what I know now, I would skip Vesuvius and visit Herculaneum instead.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Mary B

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

The Pompeii tour was too long and should only be recommended if you are a strong walker. There are many stones to travel on. It is extremely crowded with many tours going on at the same time. My husband and I left the tour early. The lunch was nice. We really enjoyed the drive to Sorrento and walking around the town for an hour. Even though it was overcast, the coastline was spectacular. Overall, we wish we had a half day to Sorrento, without the Pompeii visit.

Doing what: Pompeii and Sorrento Day Trip from Naples

Matthew G

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

We booked and paid for this trip online, opting for hotel pickup. The confirmation stated that the exact pickup time would be confirmed when the details were reconfirmed nearer the time. Needless to say when the details were re-sent they didn't confirm the time. I contact Viator and they gave conflicting advice, so I asked them to contact the tour provider and confirm the exact pickup time. We heard nothing back before our trip, so we had to call the local tour provider in Italy, paying for a call from the UK to Italy, which we shouldn't have had to do when the booking states the time will be confirmed to us rather than us having to chase....

The tour round Pompeii was 2 hours, so we only saw the highlights, but it was hard to get an understanding of how big it was. The guide was good, telling us of the history with humour included. The group was too big 35-40 people given that we had to view some areas in single file and it was a struggle to keep up with the group and not miss out if you were pushed to the back of the single file queue.

Lunch was ok, a large pizza average from a very touristy restaurant but we were very rushed. When we first sat down we were told we had 15 minutes to eat...

Mount Vesuvius was very cloudy which was a shame, but couldn't be helped. We didn't see much, but there was no tour of any sort. The 'tour guide' different to the one at Pompeii made a few statements over the coach microphone as the coach climbed the windy roads towards the top, but that was it. We got off the coach and were told we had an hour and a quarter to go up and come back down, but the guide didn't come with us or offer any other insight. The guide stressed that if we were more than 5 minutes late back we would be left there with a 200 euro taxi ride back to the bottom. Charming!

It was good to see Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius but overall the tour package itself was disappointing.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

becky Canada

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

This was our worst experience and now after 3 tries it won't even let me post.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

mamanash

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

My rating is based on already having several wonderful tours in Greece and Turkey on our recent cruise. Those were much smaller groups 25 and better tour guides. This one did not meet the bar set. The pickup was not until 10am. Would have liked to get out early and beat the crowds. The person picking us up did not have a sign indicating Viator so we all wandered around and wasted valuable time looking for the correct tour. Once assembled we made our way to the bus. There was very little commentary as we drove to Pompeii except organizational details on how we would split up after Pompeii for the second half of day. Would have like to have heard more about Naples and the surrounding area as we drove to the site.

Once at Pompeii, we joined the throngs of people to find that another bus of people were joining our group for a total of nearly 50 people. The guide only counted our group as we got our audio headsets at the beginning of the tour and when we got back on bus at end. She would never have jpknown if anyone got lost. Pompeii was a large site but all the tour guides went to the same places. It would have been better if we adjusted based on the crowds at a given location. Also disappointed that we did not see some of the more well known locations like the Garden of the Fugitives.

The pizza lunch was ok and welcome to prepare us for the big hike up Mt. Vesuvius. The drive up the mountain to the trailhead was difficult in the large bus but we finally made it. We had to hoof it up and down the strenuous trail as we were running out of time to get back to our ship but the views made up for it. On the plus side, a cab was arranged for us and another couple to ensure we got back to the ship on time as everyone else had an extra hour in port.

Will definitely do this trip on our own next time.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Sue K

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

This is OK if you like the ease of not worrying about public transportation and you don't have a car. That was the best part- they picked us up from our hotel and drove us to one of the big coach busses, where we joined a very large mixed group some were doing the Mt. V and Pompeii full day tour like we did, others were just doing one or the other, etc. The Pompeii tour was disappointing- hard to hear the guide, too many people, didn't get a good feel for most of Pompeii which is huge, and we even lost one guy. Two hours is not enough in my opinion for Pompeii. The included lunch was decent choice of margharita pizza or spaghetti pasta- pizza is way more food for your money- and also one included drink which can be alcoholic if you choose- i got a HUGE pour of red wine which was pretty tasty. Transportation to Mt. V after Pompeii was convenient. Felt rushed at Mt. V as well, and again lost two people for at least 20 minutes while waiting for them. Overall, guides were very nice but the tours could have been better and also better organized. Not a bad idea for people who just don't want to plan the trips themselves and for people who want to knock out both places in one day because they have limited time.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Sheila C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Pick up was on time, great tour guide. Great trip, would recommend.

Doing what: Pompeii and Sorrento Day Trip from Naples

Cynthia I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The guide was knowledgeable

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Barbara M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was wonderful. Both sites are worth a visit, and we had an excellent guide for the day, as well as another excellent guide for the tour in Pompeii.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Linda S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Tour leader was great I think her name was Maria because she spoke several languages and had a great sense of humor in each. Tour itself was very informative. You won't know what you're looking at in Pompeii unless you book a tour. DO IT!

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Rini M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Absolutely brilliant, could not have been better.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Catherine E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We began the day by being picked up at our hotel in Naples in a group of about 7 and headed to Pompeii where we were met by our wonderfully knowledgeable guide, Maria who also had a great sense of humour. We spent around 2 hours being guided around the ruins. What a fascinating experience. Without having a guide, we would not have gained as much insight into the historic content that Pompeii holds. We learnt so much in this short time and found the whole experience fabulous. We then were taken for a lunch of pizza and a drink. From there, we boarded the minivan for our trip to Vesuvius. Just a quick point, there are no toilet facilities at Vesuvius so do use the conveniences when you stop for lunch. There are plenty of refreshment stalls at Vesuvius, make sure you take enough water for your 30 minute climb! We were given an hour and fifteen minutes to climb up and down which was ample time. It was interesting to see the steam coming out of part of the crater. This made us feel that although having been told the volcano is active, this was our proof. It was an unforgettable experience and one we were glad to have been able to enjoy. It was back to the hotel then for a well deserved lie down! All in all, a fantastic day, but not too tiring. There was just enough to do within the time. I would not hesitate in recommending this excursion.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Sophie P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This trip was great. We had considered doing Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius by ourselves, but this trip was such good value I'm glad we chose this one. We were picked up straight from our hotel and taken to Pompeii - which obviously already takes out much of the hassle. We went on a Sunday morning around Easter time, and it was rammed. It didn't spoil the experience but timing might be good to think about in advance, if that's not for you. Gino and Manuela were great tour guides - friendly and good fun, they kept everyone together and painted a brilliant picture of what we were seeing - the history and everyday life of the place, made it all really come to life.

The only small thing i would have preferred is some more free time to explore Pompeii.
But saying that, I think a tour guide is almost essential to appreciate all that you're seeing.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Cheyenne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My tour guide was very knowledgable and the trip was great! Be sure to pack water for Mt. Vesuvius. They provide pizza midway through the trip, though it is nothing special, don't expect amazing food. Other than that, I highly recommend this trip!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Jeffrey C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Extremely rewarding experience! Guide was super knowledgeable and a great deal of fun! This is a trip that any lover of history should take!!

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Mirian P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was the best value for the money tour that I have ever taken. If you have only one day and you want to see as much as possible this is the tour for you. Our guides Stefania in Pompeii and Ricardo the driver to the Amalfi coast were second to none. I had an awesome day. I highly recommend this tour. You will get to see so much and still stop in Amalfi to enjoy the tour a bit. Lovely Experience

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Francine C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Both of our tour guides through Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius were excellent. I would definitely recommend this tour to other guests.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Rakeda L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and she added a bit of humor to make it interesting.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Ognam

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Wonderful tour. Pompeii was interestingly presented by our tour guide. The lunch, which was included in the tour, was very good. We especially enjoyed our afternoon tour of the Amalfi Coast with our charming and engaging driver/tour guide, Riccardo. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

jechyde

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We really enjoyed the tour and VERY grateful we did not have to maneuver the twisty roads down the Almalfi coast.. The tour of Pompeii was spectacular and just the right length. The cameo factory and ceramics shop were informative and a good chance to acquire some gifts for friends and family. We opted to enjoy the town of Almafi instead of the optional boat tour, giving us free time in the town. Good value and excellent guides.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Jessica L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

An excellently planned tour. Due to airport strikes we had to reschedule at the last minute, and bring our luggage on the tour. Throughout it, the company was very accommodating. Our tour guides were very knowledgeable and entertaining, and we had a wonderful day!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

james.melendez

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Such a great tour of Pompeii-- tour guide was fantastic - superbly nice and knowledgable.

The Amalfi Coast drive was completed by Luigi who was passionate about this amazing and magical part of Italy. He was so accommodating and we stopped many times and enjoyed stunning views and got to stay longer in Amalfi---it is tough driving--narrow roads, tight turns, tour buses, etc. I loved that we go to go to Ravello---so worth every dollar I paid.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

David W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

It's a very good combination in my view. Especially this is good if you have a relative tight schedule or you are travelling alone without a car. Amalfi is of course the highlights. The driver knows the best spots for photos and nicely offered drop offs to one of the famous pizza shop on the way back.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message