Pompeii has attracted tourists from all over the world since its ruins were properly discovered in the 19th century. Once a vibrant port, full of wealthy Romans with a passion for theatre and brothels, Pompeii became a city lost in time after ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1740 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We had a superior trip with Viator in Naples. We were able to visit Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius. Also had lunch. The guide was readily identified. He spoke excellent English. We learned so much. And, it was very nice that there were only 4 of us, so it was more personalized. The cost was half of what the cruise ship charged. I highly recommend them! Joan Wentz

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Awesome! Pompeii is absolutely amazing, probably my favorite historic site in Italy. The climb to the top of Vesuvius is totally worth it so definitely do it. Our tour guide Andre was fantastic and full of information and personality. We had a small group of just four of us so transport was in a mini van which was comfortable. Lunch was delicious as expected.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Awesome! Pompeii is absolutely amazing, probably my favorite historic site in Italy. The climb to the top of Vesuvius is totally worth it so definitely do it. Our tour guide Andre was fantastic and full of information and personality. We had a small group of just four of us so transport was in a mini van which was comfortable. Lunch was delicious as expected.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our tour guide (Andre) and driver were excellent. He was a few minutes (10-15) late arriving to pick us up but we found other people on our tour and waited together. We stopped at a beautiful church named Santa Maria Donna Regina Vecchia. Andre noted that the church was an excellent example of Gothic and Baroque architecture. We then went to the Naples Galleria (beautiful but not worth a special visit) and drove to a view of the city before heading to Pompeii. Our group was small (6) and we met with another group to tour Pompeii. Andre was great - very knowledgeable and passionate about history. Since everyone wanted the opportunity to try Naples pizza, they dropped us off in an area (about 2 blocks from the ship) with a number of pizza shops. Overall, a great tour.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great day with a great tour guide. Would of been nice to have an additional 30-60 minutes in pompeii

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Absolutely amazing day - Pompeii is incredible and the guide had heaps of great information. And the Amalfi Coast is not to be missed. The guide/driver was exceptional!!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Absolutely amazing day - Pompeii is incredible and the guide had heaps of great information. And the Amalfi Coast is not to be missed. The guide/driver was exceptional!!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

MatiNacho
Costa Rica

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

The tour was great, our guide was excellent. Both places were relatively empty, which was awesome. Pompeii is a very interesting place with rich history, and Sorrento is beautiful and has some breathtaking views. Lunch was not bad, but it was too simple.

Doing what: Pompeii and Sorrento Day Trip from Naples

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

there needs to be improvement with the scheduling.

For our pompeii tour, our tour guide had to explain everything in spanish and english thus taking too long. Our lunch took more than an hour . After 2.5 hours on the road, we stayed in amalfi for barely half an hour before we had to head back

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

It was well organized and your staff was very good. We could have used more time at Pompei, but the guide gave us a good introduction and we went back on our own the next day. We were not especially happy with the lunch. The food was not great and it was a bit chaotic.

Doing what: Pompeii and Herculaneum Day Trip from Naples

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

The tour was a nice idea, but was rushed. Started late because of several different hotel pickups and traffic issues. Can be managed better. Pompeii tour guide was okay. Tour guide appeared annoyed with questions and more focussed on her cellphone. 2 hours for Pompeii was short. Lunch again was rushed and restaurant is more concerned on getting you stuff on the table for the least amount of effort and quality (you paid for it already, no customer service incentive). Vesuvius is nice, when you book, look at weather forecast, with lots of rain, it will be closed on the top. Again very rushed, you have hardly any time on the top and guide is more interested in getting home. Check competitors for better quality tour

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

We had 2 guides for our visit. One for Pompeii and one that met us at the dock and toured Sorrento. Both were great, however Christian A., who showed us Pompeii was above and beyond great. His personality was captivating and truely made the tour an interesting experience. We had a GREAT time. Would do this again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii and Sorrento Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour ! We were very pleased with our first Viatour excursion. We booked the Naples Shore Excursion - Mt. Vesuvius and Pompeii Day trip. The tour guide promptly collected us from the Naples terminal on time, and we made several stop picking up other travelers prior to beginning our tour. This was not a problem. We were a small group, around 10 of us. We toured Pompeii first. The tour guide spoke excellent English and was very knowledgeable and informative. We then proceeded to a pizza lunch, which was excellent with large portion for either pizza or spaghetti. Then to Mt. Vesuvius... we were on our own to hike to the top or wander at the base of the mountain. The tour guide gave us plenty of time to visit, and we were back to our ship in ample time for sailing. I will definitely use this company again in the future.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our guide was very good. He was knowledgeable and had a good sense of humor. We enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message