Pompeii has attracted tourists from all over the world since its ruins were properly discovered in the 19th century. Once a vibrant port, full of wealthy Romans with a passion for theatre and brothels, Pompeii became a city lost in time after ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1862 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Nelly B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Everything was great, the tour guide was fantastic!!!

Doing what: Pompeii and Herculaneum Day Trip from Naples

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Awesome leisurely stroll with an excellent knowledgeable guide.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Garlyn M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a great tour and our tour guide Elena was the best! Despite the rain we had an enjoyable tour of Naples and felt a new appreciation for a city that gets a bad rap! We even returned at the end of our stay to visit the archeological museum at her suggestion! One of the highlights was our visit to Pompeii and were thrilled that the rain held off and we could enjoy the tour and learn from our wonderful tour guide the colorful history and world wide fascination of Pompeii!

Doing what: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

Timothy M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great to be in their hands and have everything taken care of. We enjoyed the lunch, the tour guides, and the bus. Thought this was an excellent value.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Susan L

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Friendly host on the bus, then a Pompeii guide at the site for two hours. Interesting and informative tour of Pompeii, there is so much to see! You do have to pay for your own tickets and there is a package that includes Herculaneum so take that into account in your costings. The tour company organised lots of variations of tours so then most of us were taken to lunch at the Vesuvius restaurant. That was okay, though it is a mega-tourist spot and with a choice of two meals which were so so. We were the only ones going to Herculaneum so we had a driver take us there and wait for us while we visited. There is no guide for this part, but it is well signposted and you can hire an audio guide on site. Herculaneum is well worth visiting though - with some great mosaics, buildings and the very sad site of many skeletons of those who died while hoping to escape down the bottom near where the sea once came in. A very full and interesting day!

Doing what: Pompeii and Herculaneum Day Trip from Naples

SUE

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Our guide Elina was great she had so much knowledge to pass on to our group and she interacted really well with the children with us making them feel included. We had a young man from Malta in our group named Alex who gave me some info on Malta as I was going there a couple of days later and would like to say thanks to him if he reads this

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Anita R

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

The tour to Pompeii was good, although the guide not so good. She spoke English fairly well, but talked WAY too fast. Also, there were some senior citizens in the group, and she walked too fast for them to keep up. The Amalfi Coast trip portion of the tour was great - the guide in our van was great, and he gave us plenty of time to see the coast, and spoke perfect English.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Teagan M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

We enjoyed our tour however we felt it was very unorganized and could be improved. The group was divided multiple times and it was very unclear where we were meant to go and with who. Our tour of Pompeii with Maria was disappointing as we didn't get to see the human remains which are a huge part of the story of Pompeii to us. She also left without us and we, along with a fellow tour member, were left lost not knowing where to go and almost missed the included lunch and second part of the tour because of this. Other than that it was a great day. The views from Vesuvius were amazing and well worth the hike.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Don C E

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2016

the sound system is poor particularly when combined with tour guide that speaks very quickly with very accented english . As can be expected she was often ahead of us and then the sound became even more difficult .
the Herculaneum part of the trip was more satisfactory in part because it was at a more leisurely pace and with better guiding.

Doing what: Pompeii and Herculaneum Day Trip from Naples

Timothy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had attentive and friendly guides, knowledgable, able to cater for our interests. As we were the only booking for the day, we had private tour guides, they were fantastic.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Gwendolyn G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The tour was outstanding and the tour guide was the best. When we return to Italy I will definitely be using your super service. Thanks for making our trip the best ever. 2 very satisfied senior citizens:

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

aida v

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

the tour was magnificent.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Joe Luis United States of ... 

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The only reason I don't give this 5 stars was because the Tour guide to Mt Vesuvius was kind of rude! I know you have a job to do and you must get everyone back on the bus on time, but there is a nice way and a rude way to say it!
PompeIii tour was good and the tour guide was great, we learned a lot from this and it was a great experience.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

roastedjessnut

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Pompeii is such a big city so we didn't see everything, but we got to see the smaller theatres, some roads, a bakery, prostitution house, and baths, plus photo time in the main square/open area near the Temple of Jupiter. I thought the cameo and coral shop was a bit unnecessary and obviously a tourist trap, but if you like that kind of stuff, you'll appreciate that part of the tour. If nothing else, it was good for a bathroom break haha.

Lunch was only ok - just pasta, calamari or roast beef, and gelato. We had to pay for our own drinks. It was a rather tourist-y restaurant, complete with a singer asking for tips and hordes of other tourists, but I suppose that's expected.

The Amalfi Coast tour was nice because we had a personable driver, Ricardo. I was fine with the style of the tour since it was just driving along the coast, taking in the scenery, stopping for photo ops, getting a sample of limoncello, and staying for about half an hour in Amalfi for free time.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Ruma D

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Good tour with a great guide. The climb to Mt Vesuvius was awesome!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Sam Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

It was a wonderful trip allowing us to experience the ruins of Pompeii which was truly breathtaking. our guide was informative although she did sound a little bored im not sure if its coz the group size was small. Nonetheless it was a good quick tour which allowed us to catch a glimpse of pompeii and mt Vesuvius. good if u dont want to spend too much time as this is only a half day tour.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Rasa P

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

The biggest selling point of this tour is the convenience of being picked up near your hotel and driven directly to Pompeii. That would be a nightmare to try to tackle using public transportation. Our tour guide was pretty good! You could tell it wasn't a huge passion of her's, but she still shared a lot of interesting information and made the tour fun. There were two things that were terrible about this trip though, the first being the Coral 'Factory'. They took us to this right before Pompeii took maybe 3 minutes to show someone carving the coral and then threw you into a basement showroom to force coral pieces down your throat. It was in really bad taste. The second terrilble thing was lunch. When I say terrible, I mean TERRIBLE. The pasta tasted like it was from a can and I would have found better 'roast beef' in a frozen TV dinner. Being in Italy, one of hubs of good food of the world, this was a MAJOR letdown. I would have rather them knocked off the price of that lunch and let us buy our own, especially seeing as Naples is really cheap. We had lunch the next day for around 1.50 on the street.

Doing what: Pompeii and Herculaneum Day Trip from Naples

Hiba

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

After taking other viator tours, and being blown away by the experience, this trip did not meet my expectations. The tour guide was highly unprofessional, the tour group was massive, and the whole tour was extremely rushed. Did not cover all of Pompeii, just skimped through it.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

John M

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

While the tour guide was very professional with great anecdotes and history, she was difficult to understand due to her accent. Many times during the trip, my husband and I, as well as others in the group would asked each other, What did she say?. Wish I understood her because she was very informative and lively.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Hemanth Veera India

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

Pompie trip was done, but we were not taken to the Mt. Vesuvius.
Would have been nice if they took us to Vesuvius first and then to pompeii.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Beth D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The hotel pickup was nice - I got to see a great deal of the city driving around to pick everyone up! The tour itself was great. The guide spoke perfect, understandable English and she was interesting and engaging. I wish I had more time to spend but I feel the time with the tour was well spent.

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

Kim S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great day, no hassles, excellent commentary

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Gufus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A tour very well organized and a fantastic experience for me. I recommend it.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Joyce United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Plenty of time to wonder through this incredible ancient fine. Wow. Great Tour. The drive around the Amalfi coast was beautiful. But was even better is our tour guide said that Postiano was even more interesting and skipped Amalfi the town and ended our tour in Sorrento-the best shopping. My friend and I decided to stay in Sorrento and take the train back to Naples-last train leaves around 930p and the cost is minimal. Plenty of seating. That way you can stay and stroll around at your own pace, eat dinner, shop and still get back to your hotel by train with no issues.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message