Pompeii has attracted tourists from all over the world since its ruins were properly discovered in the 19th century. Once a vibrant port, full of wealthy Romans with a passion for theatre and brothels, Pompeii became a city lost in time after ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1734 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our guide was very knowledgable and was very friendly. He gave us ample time to look at the sites without rushing us.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The tour was fascinating and the guide was great! It did feel a little rushed at Pompeii, but the place is huge and there is loads to see. Plenty of time to look around Herculaneum afterwards.

Doing what: Pompeii and Herculaneum Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Guide was excellent. Great appreciation for not cancelling the tour despite the fact that no other tourist booked this tour.

Appreciate driver for leaving us at Archeological Museum instead of Naples Train Station and guiding us for lunch at nearby restaurants and returning to Naples Train station

Doing what: Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Very knowledgeable guide who made walking through Pompeii feel like you were there 2 thousand years ago. The trip to Sorrento was beautiful.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Pompeii and Sorrento Day Trip

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

Pompeii tour was fine, it was very informative and a good length. However, the sorrento portion was a huge rip off. We got taken to two monuments, got a few short words, and then were given only 20 minutes of free time. That was just enough time to get gelato. DONT DO THE TOUR

Doing what: Pompeii and Sorrento Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

We had a superior trip with Viator in Naples. We were able to visit Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius. Also had lunch. The guide was readily identified. He spoke excellent English. We learned so much. And, it was very nice that there were only 4 of us, so it was more personalized. The cost was half of what the cruise ship charged. I highly recommend them! Joan Wentz

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Awesome! Pompeii is absolutely amazing, probably my favorite historic site in Italy. The climb to the top of Vesuvius is totally worth it so definitely do it. Our tour guide Andre was fantastic and full of information and personality. We had a small group of just four of us so transport was in a mini van which was comfortable. Lunch was delicious as expected.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Our tour guide (Andre) and driver were excellent. He was a few minutes (10-15) late arriving to pick us up but we found other people on our tour and waited together. We stopped at a beautiful church named Santa Maria Donna Regina Vecchia. Andre noted that the church was an excellent example of Gothic and Baroque architecture. We then went to the Naples Galleria (beautiful but not worth a special visit) and drove to a view of the city before heading to Pompeii. Our group was small (6) and we met with another group to tour Pompeii. Andre was great - very knowledgeable and passionate about history. Since everyone wanted the opportunity to try Naples pizza, they dropped us off in an area (about 2 blocks from the ship) with a number of pizza shops. Overall, a great tour.

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great day with a great tour guide. Would of been nice to have an additional 30-60 minutes in pompeii

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Absolutely amazing day - Pompeii is incredible and the guide had heaps of great information. And the Amalfi Coast is not to be missed. The guide/driver was exceptional!!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

MatiNacho
Costa Rica

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

The tour was great, our guide was excellent. Both places were relatively empty, which was awesome. Pompeii is a very interesting place with rich history, and Sorrento is beautiful and has some breathtaking views. Lunch was not bad, but it was too simple.

Doing what: Pompeii and Sorrento Day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Very good excursion to see Pompeii. Great guide. Mount Vesuvius was covered in fog so did not walk to the top as you couldn't see anything even if you did. The drive up to mount Vesuvius was very exciting. How the bus could maneuver the winding road was beyond believe. Was like driving up a corkscrew..

Doing what: Naples Shore Excursion: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Both sections of the tour were interesting but especially Pompeii. The only problem was the bias of the tour guide.When inside the church he belittled Christians without even knowing our beliefs.When at Pompeii he belittled the large groups of Japanese tourists. He made these sorts of comments throughout the tour. With a different tour guide the tour would have been better

Doing what: Naples City and Pompeii Half Day Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

there needs to be improvement with the scheduling.

For our pompeii tour, our tour guide had to explain everything in spanish and english thus taking too long. Our lunch took more than an hour . After 2.5 hours on the road, we stayed in amalfi for barely half an hour before we had to head back

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

It was well organized and your staff was very good. We could have used more time at Pompei, but the guide gave us a good introduction and we went back on our own the next day. We were not especially happy with the lunch. The food was not great and it was a bit chaotic.

Doing what: Pompeii and Herculaneum Day Trip from Naples

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message