Pompeii has attracted tourists from all over the world since its ruins were properly discovered in the 19th century. Once a vibrant port, full of wealthy Romans with a passion for theatre and brothels, Pompeii became a city lost in time after ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1691 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great tour and would recommend to anyone. The Pompeii tour guide was extremely knowledgeable. Lunch was good and plenty of it so you had energy before the climb up Vesuvius. Amazing views at the top of the volcano and a fantastic experience. Only suggestion would be to leave earlier to give more time.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Is a must if you are in Naples.

Stress free experience from hotel pickup to the tour itself with friendly staff may i add didn't rush the tour in Pompeii very knowledgable got the whole group involved and intrested as well as a funny man which made the whole experience enjoyable!
Pizza n drinks at lunchtime before heading to Mt Vesuvius with a coach journey to the highest parking point of the mountain then a 30 mins hike to the top but bare in mind in 36 degree heat is no easy task so make sure your bag is packed with bottles of water, they do have checkpoints on the hike to grab a refreshment and breather but with only roughly 1 hour 20mins to get to the top take some pics and then back down the mountain don't be resting too long. But once you are at the top the views are amazing and well worth the graft getting to the top.
Word of advice don't be wearing flip flops see a few people who ignored the advice to wear correct footwear, looked very painful trekking Mt Vesuvius.
Once back down the mountain you get picked up and dropped off at your hotel. Cant fault the whole trip very well organised and a stress free trip what more can you for, a big thumbs up to the organisers!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Lucio? Was a great guide and a great driver! My husband and I will definitely come back.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

All good,fantastic guide,great day

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Good tour, well run, the guide in Pompeii was very knowledgable.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Julie
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

a great day and very informative

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

We had a great day,picked up and dropped off from our hotel,the tour and our guild was really great.
Very good value for money and I would recommend it to my friends.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Entertaining tour. Tourguide's eagerness to share racial jokes about previous tourists was a pretty big turn off. If you climb Vesuvius don't wear open-toed shoes. We went in late August and it was very hot. There is no need for a jacket as the website suggested. Buy an orange slush on the hike.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

The bus forgot to pick me and my partner up from the hotel so they finally came 1.5 hours late, then a road was closed so we sat in traffic for another 2 hours. Pompeii was really good, did really get to see amalfi because we had no time before we had to go home.
Disappointing day

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2015

This has to be the worst tour we did so far in Italy! The tour was totally uninformative and was not very clear totally unprepared and unorganised. Thank god we didn't do full day I would have died.

Doing what: Best Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Tour was excellent. Pick up on time and tour operaters very friendly. Food was good. Enjoy it very much. Perhaps more time needed for the mount Vesuvuis climb to have time for picture taking.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great guide, very knowledgable and funny, the tour was awesome!
It was hotter in Pompeii than we thought, our tip would be to take an umbrella as there is little to no shade.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was easy to book, convenient to attend, and a highlight of my trip to Europe!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Fantastic tour, great guide Alessandro was funny, informative and helpful.

Doing what: Best Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Had a great time exploring Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius. Pompeii is a large city and while the weather might have been very hot mid 90's in the summer - so a fall or spring visit might be a bit nicer, a bit longer in the ruins might have been nice. That being said, we did learn a lot about Roman life in Pompeii. Our guide was fantastic, and they had three different guides for three different languages. Lunch was a welcome break and the views of and from the mountain were worth the heat.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

What an amazing experience! Our tour guide for Pompeii was very detailed, interesting and just did an excellent job! We then were able to get out of the hot sun and enjoy a nice pizza lunch at a great local restaurant. Climbing to the top of Mt Vesuvius was spectacular. I definitely recommend!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very insightful, good tour guide

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Lavina made this tour perfect. The interactive map and games kept both of my kids involved. They are 3 and 7. Even though it was a family tour, my husband and I learned more than we ever imagined. I would recommend this tour to EVERYONE! Thank you Lavina for a day will will never forget!

Doing what: Private Tour: Pompeii Tour with Family Tour Option

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great Tour. Guide was excellent Thank You Ceaser !!! . I would recomend

Doing what: Best Pompeii Half-day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This is a great trip and works well with the cruise ship schedule. We arrive to port on Royal Allure and the rep was there. After picking up several individuals at several locations, left the area and headed to Pompeii. Great day, great guide and great memories. Would recommend this tour

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

excellent day! There us a lot of walking and it's hot in the summer...no shade in Pompeii. Otherwise it's an excellent trip!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

excellent day! There is a lot of walking and it's hot in the summer...no shade in Pompeii. Otherwise it's an excellent trip!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The trip up to Vesuvius was well worth the hike!

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Everything worked as promised. The guide was great. We noticed that some people in the group were not properly prepared for a hot summer day in July, so reserve enough water with you and protect yourself from the sun. There are not so many shadowed spots in Pompeii. Also, use comfortable shoes for walking up to the summit of Vesuvius, since there are lots of loose sand on the way up.

Doing what: Mt Vesuvius and Pompeii Day Trip from Naples

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message