Nashville ATTRACTIONS See all

Belle Meade Plantation

Step back into the Old South and get a feel for what it might have been like to live on a plantation in the 1800s. Located 6 miles (9.5 kilometers) west of Nashville, the Belle Meade Plantation is a historic plantation mansion whose grounds now ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 36 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The trip itself was great. The bus tours are the same as we used in New York.We were taken around The Hermitage, home of the 7th President of the USA, Andrew Jackson, by costumed guides who were extremely knowledgeable. At lunch, we stopped at a high quality all-you-can eat buffet, the food was delicious and the people we were with were very friendly. Belle Meade, a thorough bred horse farm, was our next stop. Great too! Th only downside was that the coach picked up from a few hotels, and was therefore running about an hour late - and this time didn't appear to be made up as we still returned at the given hour.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Enjoyed trip . Driver was very knowledgable and nice. However ,it was a disaster with pickup. We were told be ready 1/2 hour before departure time. Well , he actually showed up closer to 9:20. When we contacted greyhound they kept saying complain to viatar . Pickup can be that late

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great history and the tour guide was fantastic on the bellmead plantation! However the tour of Andrew Jackson's home which I thought would be awesome was just ok, and the tour was nowhere near as good.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Very worthwhile. Enjoyed hearing about the history of the Hermitage, the home of President Andrew Jackson. Also enjoyed tour of Belle Meade Plantation. This plantation housed the stud horse responsible for many of today's trophy winners.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

One of the best tour's I have taken in a long time. Loved it.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Very enjoyable historic tour, well done. The wine tasting was a nice touch added bonus. Go in cool weather a lot of walking in hot sultry sun. Standard bus type tour.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

We enjoyed the tour but were not happy with being forced to eat at a certain buffet. The food was okay at best.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

The tour was fine, but it took a long time to start the tour, a lot of pick ups, waiting, and changing of the bus.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We enjoyed the tours. The driver was great about telling us about Nashville as we drove from place to place.
We would recommend this tour to all who go to Nashville.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We recommend this tour. Our guide was knowledgeable, friendly, and helpful.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The driver spoke very clearly and told us everything we were driving buy and gave us all the information we needed. He also gave us a heads up that a group of school children were coming so we should go directly to get a tour of the Hermitage before they arrived. Agood driver makes all the difference.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

The driver was very knowledgeable and the sites were very good. I would, however, recommend the guided tour at The Hermitage for $3. That would have made the tour much better.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Ample time was given to tour the 2 locations. There was plenty to choose from at the buffet lunch stop.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message