Nashville ATTRACTIONS See all

Belle Meade Plantation

Step back into the Old South and get a feel for what it might have been like to live on a plantation in the 1800s. Located 6 miles (9.5 kilometers) west of Nashville, the Belle Meade Plantation is a historic plantation mansion whose grounds now ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 112 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Karen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour. We enjoyed the history and the tour guide did an excellent job.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Emilio B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very historic and great learning experience.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

epb425

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

Complete waste of a day and money ! The bus driver hardly said a word, not once telling us what we were doing. Should've visited Belle Meade on our own. The Hermitage was way overrated. The tour there was boring and the guides were not friendly. You're taken to a Smorgasbord for lunch and if you don't like it you're out of luck.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Fran

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This is an amazing tour, a must see!

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Kevin O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

From pick up to drop off our tour was excellent. Tour guides were very knowledgeable .

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

crthacks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

If you have a day to spend immersed in Nashville history, this is the tour for you. We were picked up from the Gaylord Opryland hotel, but the bus does pick up at some other hotels. The first stop was Jackson's plantation and slave cabins, which were remarkably preserved. Then it was lunch at a 70's-style buffet restaurant which did not serve the best food, but it was fast and cheap. Next, we toured the Belle Meade Plantation and it was very beautiful with many elaborate furnishings. It also had slave cabins, which were worth taking the time to tour and read the history plaques. Also, there is a winery at the Belle Meade, which you had the option to go to and do some wine tasting. We bought some wine to have shipped back to our house. Of course, at both plantation sites there was a gift shop. I highly recommend this tour for history buffs!

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Preetindar G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Tour was really good. It was a great way to see the Hermitage and Belle Meade Plantation. Lunch was delicious. I would have like to spend more time at the Hermitage so maybe lunch could be moved to 12pm instead of 11:30am.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

CJ

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Even though it was a light rainy day we enjoyed the tour. Very informative and enjoyable. Bus driver kept us entertained.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Barbara V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Outstanding! My 28 year old daughter and I had a mother/daughter long escape weekend to Nashville. Out of all of the activities there, we enjoyed this the most. Fabulous historic tour and guides and overall a wonderful day. Do not pass this up!!!

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Robert R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

We had a great tour guide at Belle Meade when we went through the house. It made it very interesting.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Leslie G

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

It was an excellent tour all around.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Keith R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

In general, it was a lovely day. Wish the tour group could have been split in two. Seemed too big. While we loved the idea of the pick up at our home base, we spent quite a long time on the bus.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Krystal M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

wonderful history and everything was so neat to learn about. All the tour guides were great and spoke clearly and always had smiles and were polite.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

LaVerne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was a great tour. Definitely do this one if you can. I would have liked to spend more time ar Belle Meade. It seemed too short. The history of it all was excellent.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Mary S United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Phyllis M

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

This was a really nice trip and am glad we booked it for our group. The Hermitage was very interesting. The stop for lunch payment was not included was very good. Belle Meade was also great, but we could have used at least 15 minutes longer as there was not enough time to view any of the out buildings.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Bryan O

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

We thought the tour was interesting. Some parts of the tour was confusing because the driver did not communicate enough what is up at each location as he drove to the sites. The driver was nice and considerate but needs to communicate better. Other wise, we recommend this tour.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Thomas F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I loved it. The bus driver was super nice and it was all so interesting!

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Christy Lee S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Two beautiful, historic antebellum homes and especially loved the Belle Meade Mansion...the stores there were great to find that perfect gift/or memento and the wine tour was lovely! Really enjoyed sitting on a bench under the old magnolia tree, listening to live music while sipping on a glass of chardonnay at the end of the tour.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Thomas H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Good trip. I learn so much about President Jackson

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Bruce W United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was an excellent tour. Margaret Mitchell did a tremendous job as the author, revealing much about her life in an amusing and well presented performance. We also learnt a lot about the history of Atlanta.

The only suggestion I'd make is that directions to the slightly out of the way pick up point should be given for visitors using public transport as well as those driving. We planned to walk from Five Points Marta but the surrounding area and Broad Street in particular was the only place in Atlanta we felt somewhat uncomfortable - there was a large police presence on foot and in cars and we overheard talk of trouble the previous night. There are probably better routes to get to the pick up point.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Karen W

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2015

We were disappointed, We assumed we were contracting for a guide through both venues rather than simply a bus that dumped us at the curb. There was not enough time to see everything at the Hermitage. We were given enough time at Belle Meade. Include a guide and rating would go up. Many on bus asked if we understood it would be a guided tour as well.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Sharon N

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2015

The tour itself was informative, historical and enjoyable. That being said transportation was HORRIBLE. The bus had no airbags and the tires were inflated so n hard every bump or Crack on the highway shook everybody in their seats and even the bus rattled. We could hardly wait to get off that bus. We complained to the driver and he agreed as the bus wasn't normally the one he drove. I had a
Headache when we finally disemarked. I wouldn't take this tour this way again ever!

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message