Nashville ATTRACTIONS See all

Belle Meade Plantation

Step back into the Old South and get a feel for what it might have been like to live on a plantation in the 1800s. Located 6 miles (9.5 kilometers) west of Nashville, the Belle Meade Plantation is a historic plantation mansion whose grounds now ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 49 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

Great sites but I don't think the 90+ price tag was justified.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The sites are worth seeing. However, a museum was closed for renovations, so we were not able to enter. I thought the tour guides would talk more about the historic time period as it relates to the house and less about the portraits of the people who have lived in the house at Belle Meade.The restaurant food at the place we stopped for lunch was not very good, but they can accommodate large numbers of people easily.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Really nice tour....both houses are worth seeing but more time needed at Belle as that was rushed and there's more to see there than at the Hermitage.

Don't expect too much at lunch as it was a basic buffet.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

The buildings were wonderful and the guides were terrific. Unfortunately the weather did not cooperate so there was no way to explore the grounds and other outside buildings.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour! Our driver was great and very informative. Everything on time. Very interesting tour.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Bus driver very knowledgeable. Tour Guides at plantations were professional and also knew their facts.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very enjoyable and informative day trip. Guide was knowledgeable and personable. Would definitely book again. This is our third Viator booking in three different countries and we have never been disappointed

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Driver Tom was timely, courteous and drove safely. Provided good information before each stop. Hermitage was more interesting than Belle Meade. Highly recommend tour for those who do not want the anxiety of driving to unfamiliar locations. Not sure this could have been done by taxis. Well worth the cost. Also, the lunch stop was reasonably priced and decent food.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Had a good time. Will tell friend about it.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Kimmy
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

It's a great tour - a well looked after historical property.
All of our guides were very informative and knowledgable.
Plenty of time to take the tour, wander around for some happy snaps and a cold drink at the end before being picked up.
PS It would have been nice to be able to take photos inside the property.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The trip itself was great. The bus tours are the same as we used in New York.We were taken around The Hermitage, home of the 7th President of the USA, Andrew Jackson, by costumed guides who were extremely knowledgeable. At lunch, we stopped at a high quality all-you-can eat buffet, the food was delicious and the people we were with were very friendly. Belle Meade, a thorough bred horse farm, was our next stop. Great too! Th only downside was that the coach picked up from a few hotels, and was therefore running about an hour late - and this time didn't appear to be made up as we still returned at the given hour.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Enjoyed trip . Driver was very knowledgable and nice. However ,it was a disaster with pickup. We were told be ready 1/2 hour before departure time. Well , he actually showed up closer to 9:20. When we contacted greyhound they kept saying complain to viatar . Pickup can be that late

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message