Lovers of American history will not want to miss out on The Hermitage, the home of Andrew Jackson, the seventh President of the United States. Considered to be the most authentic early presidential home in the nation, the Hermitage consists of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 137 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Howard C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Steve the bus driver was very informative. The docents at the mantions were knowledgeable.
I recommend the fried chicken at Hermitage Smorgasbord.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

piyali b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

nice ralaxing tour with much historic information

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Hilliary C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

As a person who enjoys historical tours and sight seeing I may be a little biased. Viator picked us up at our hotel and brought us out to the first stop which was Andrew Jackson's Hermitage. The tour was self-guided and we started by walking down the hall reading the timeline of significant achievements Jackson has made over his years. We then stepped outside and following the walkway around the property. We lined up for a tour of his mansion which was kept in pristine shape. We also toured his garden which many people were buried including Jackson. From slave cabins to the smokehouse everything was informative and eyeopening. The tour bus stopped for lunch at a plaza with a couple different places to eat additional cost, and then we took off to the next location, Belle Meade. This plantation was also a great tour. The guide gives an informative lesson on horse racing as the plantation owner was a huge fan of racing horses. There was a complimentary wine tasting at the end with about 4 small glasses of wine 3 second pours. Overall, I'd highly recommend this tour if you are narrowed down to choosing one.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Richard R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The Belle Meade Plantation Tour was OUTSTANDING!!! What a house, with ALL the original furnishings.
Rob was an excellent guide... his information and presentation was one of the best I have ever experienced in my travels.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Chris M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Guide Steve was awesome...so knowledgeable. Great fun!

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Tamara C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour was amazing!! Our bus driver was very knowledgable about history of area and offered insight regarding historical buildings as we drove as well as the history of Andrew Jaxkson an Belle Meade.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Debbie J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The bus driver was very nice and kept everybody well informed. The bus was very and we had a very enjoyable trip. All the people at each mansion may feel we welcome. the lunch was out standing. I would recommend this tour anyone, young and old.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

mcmahon53258

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Visiting the plantations was wonderful. I would have enjoyed the bus driver giving us some additional information about where we were and the outlying area of Nashville as he drove thru.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Jennifer R

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

Hermitage was interesting, but we wish we could have spent more time at Belle Meade. If we hadn't eaten at the world's worst restaurant, and just ate at the Jack in the Box, we could have had more time at the beautiful Belle Meade. Smorgasbord Restaurant basically served nursing home food, as my husband described it. In order to at least get some food in us, my husband and I quickly paid our bill at Smorgasbord and ran over to the Jack in the Box just to grab something. I recommend the tour, but I warn you against the restaurant. Just go to Jack in the Box.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Grammie USA

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2016

We were told we would be picked up at 8:30, it was 9:47 before we were picked up. I understand a 10-30 minute wait but this was unacceptable. They had my cell I could have received a call or text at any time. The sights were wonderful.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Shawn Z

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2016

We were picked up from our hotel on time. Found the tour quit boring overall. The itinerary gives far too much time for just and #34;wondering around and #34;.
Lunch at the buffet restaurant was not bad, but the food was nothing to brag about.
I wouldn and #39;t recommend. I and #39;m sure there are better tours in Nashville.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

sanrionjb

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

We enjoyed this tour during our recent Nashville trip. Our tour guide, Steve, was very informative, very nice, and a good driver. Both homes were very interesting to see and had nice grounds to walk around. Also, the wine tasting at Belle Meade was fun. We did not have a car while in Nashville and found this tour to be a very efficient and reasonably priced way to see things outside of the downtown area.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Lou D

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Bus, driver, plantations and tour was great! Lunch stop needs improvement.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Diane V

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Beautiful grounds and the history information on self guided tour was very interesting and informative.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Donald L

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

This tour started out on a bad note. We were told to be at the pick-up point between 8:30am and 9am. The bus never showed up until 9:30am. The driver gave no explanation, and never once apologized for being late or even as to why he was late. Others that were waiting with us were told to be there even earlier. The tours at each destination were great. The food at the smorgasbord was terrible! We arrived back at our hotel 2 1/2 hours late..............

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Maria T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Loved this tour! Spent the well paced tour visiting Andrew Jackson's beautiful estate and the Belle Meade Plantation. Lunch was great, something for everyone at a very reasonable cost. Can't beat the convenience of hotel pick up and drop off. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

rae k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a wonderful tour! There was so much info about Jackson! The displays were great and our driver so knowledgable ! Highly recommend !

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Tanya Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was very informative. The bus driver and tour guides very fantastic. Loved the fact that they pick you up at your hotel and drop you off. This is such a plus when you are traveling to a new city.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

William G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Your guide was knowledgeable, courteous and prompt. I'd recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Hilary S

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

It was an enjoyable day - I'm glad I went.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Leslie S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

The restaurant that we stopped at needs to be submitted to Chef Ramsay's Kitchen Nightmare's! Everything out of a can, slopped into serving trays and put on a buffet. I did not eat and when we arrived at the second stop there was a nice restaurant at the main building. Maybe they should take there passengers there instead of the canned buffet!

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Kim S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had a great time. 2 hours at each location was ideal and we had time to wander around on our own. The tour guides at each location were very knowledgeable and friendly and willing to answer all our questions.

The lunch location was very reasonable at 11 per person for a buffet lunch.

The bus pick up was prompt and when two people failed to arrive at one of the stops , a quick call was made and we moved on when they did not answer. The bus driver was very knowledgeable and gave lots of interesting stories and information.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Karen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour. We enjoyed the history and the tour guide did an excellent job.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message