Lovers of American history will not want to miss out on The Hermitage, the home of Andrew Jackson, the seventh President of the United States. Considered to be the most authentic early presidential home in the nation, the Hermitage consists of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 82 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We enjoyed the tour. Had a very good driver and tour guide and met awesome people who rode the bus with us. We were a large group of 29 and everyone got along and were very helpful to each other.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We got to see two fantastic homes that have great tour guides. Learned a lot about the life and families. The bus driver was very informative as he drove us about town. Great tour. I would recommend it to any one.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

fabulous tour - well worth it!

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

I thought the Hermitage was fabulous. The lunch place was just ok and Belle Meade was just ok.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Howard tour guide was very very good. The time allotment at every stop was perfect. We enjoyed the tour very much.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was great. He showed the 30 minute film on The Hermitage on the bus on the way so we were able to spend all our time at The Hermitage touring the grounds and museum. He also gave us pointers about how to best spend our time there. Our only regret is that we didn't know about the wagon ride tour of the grounds until it was too late to catch it. Lunch was good and quick and Belle Meade plantation was also very interesting.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent walk about in Nashville- full of interesting and personal stories!! Don't miss this tour!!

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great experience! Enjoyed The Hermitage and Belle Meade plantations. Lunch was a delicious southern cooking experience!

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

So rich in history! And a story of such amazing people, people long forgotten! People that should not be!
The grounds are so beautiful and the guides so rich in knowledge and passionate about sharing the real story of the Civil war battle in Franklin!

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and made the tour enjoyable even though it rained most of the afternoon.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This is a great tour if you are interested in history. It started off on a good note when the driver arrived on time! His driving was really aggressive and more than once we got the horn from others, but we did arrive safely. The Hermitage had a nice visitor center with a gift shop and historical display. Unfortunately no photos allowed inside the home. It is completely furnished with period pieces and actual Jackson owned items. I can't remember the . We stopped for lunch before arriving at Belle Meade. It was an inexpensive buffet that was mediocre at best. The fried chicken was good as were the desserts. There was a restaurant at Belle Meade I would rather have tried, if I had known. There is lots of time spent at Belle Meade. Aside from the home, they have a horse drawn wagon that takes you around the large property. This is an extra cost of 10. I thought it should have been included. Walking was not an option for us due to arthritis. Even s o, we were able to climb stairs etc. when needed. They should have some seating available, but they don't. We had a total of 10 people on the tour in a nice mini bus. It was very comfortable.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Beautiful estate with a lot of history. Our tour guide was as well a history buff who shared his knowledge with us. Thank you. The tour was great. I would give it a 4 out of 5.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Excellent driver and tour guide. Good pace. Interesting sites. It was very nice to have prearranged times for our tours so we didn't have to wait in lines for entry. Wish we had more time to explore Belle Meade grounds before the wine tasting. Felt a little rushed to get to that part. Overall, very enjoyable. I would recommend this tour highly.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Beautiful grounds, great place to learn about history and enjoy the landscaper.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2015

We were disappointed that our guide didn't tell us not to spend so much time at the beginning of our tour at the Hermitage and then there was a wait to get into the house which we weren't told in advance about this. Since the guide didn't give us an idea on how to budget our time, we did not cover everything we wanted during the time allotted. If the guide gave us an idea about the timing, we would have been able to schedule our time and cover more of the tour. Otherwise, I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour guide. Super informative!

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The tour was amazing and the driver was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

If you are in Nashville, leave the city and see the history! It was beautiful and so well worth every minute!

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Very informative. The driver was very accommodating. We liked that they shared the video about the Hermitage on the drive so we didn't have to waste our tour watching it once we got there.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Sharon S
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

We love taking in history tours when we travel and the Hermitage and Belle Meade Plantations gave us so much history. Hermitage is about Andrew Jackson our 16th President and Belle Meade is about Billy Jackson no relation to Andrew and about the breeding of thoroughbred horses like Seabiscuit, Secretariat and other Kentucky Derby winners. We stopped and had lunch in between visiting each plantation.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message