Lovers of American history will not want to miss out on The Hermitage, the home of Andrew Jackson, the seventh President of the United States. Considered to be the most authentic early presidential home in the nation, the Hermitage consists of the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 121 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Maria T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Loved this tour! Spent the well paced tour visiting Andrew Jackson's beautiful estate and the Belle Meade Plantation. Lunch was great, something for everyone at a very reasonable cost. Can't beat the convenience of hotel pick up and drop off. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

rae k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was a wonderful tour! There was so much info about Jackson! The displays were great and our driver so knowledgable ! Highly recommend !

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Tanya Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The tour was very informative. The bus driver and tour guides very fantastic. Loved the fact that they pick you up at your hotel and drop you off. This is such a plus when you are traveling to a new city.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

William G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Your guide was knowledgeable, courteous and prompt. I'd recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Hilary S

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

It was an enjoyable day - I'm glad I went.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Leslie S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2016

The restaurant that we stopped at needs to be submitted to Chef Ramsay's Kitchen Nightmare's! Everything out of a can, slopped into serving trays and put on a buffet. I did not eat and when we arrived at the second stop there was a nice restaurant at the main building. Maybe they should take there passengers there instead of the canned buffet!

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Kim S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We had a great time. 2 hours at each location was ideal and we had time to wander around on our own. The tour guides at each location were very knowledgeable and friendly and willing to answer all our questions.

The lunch location was very reasonable at 11 per person for a buffet lunch.

The bus pick up was prompt and when two people failed to arrive at one of the stops , a quick call was made and we moved on when they did not answer. The bus driver was very knowledgeable and gave lots of interesting stories and information.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Karen F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Great tour. We enjoyed the history and the tour guide did an excellent job.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Paul M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

Excellent tour and knowledgeable tour guide. Suggest a half hour be added to each location.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Emilio B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Very historic and great learning experience.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

epb425

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2016

Complete waste of a day and money ! The bus driver hardly said a word, not once telling us what we were doing. Should've visited Belle Meade on our own. The Hermitage was way overrated. The tour there was boring and the guides were not friendly. You're taken to a Smorgasbord for lunch and if you don't like it you're out of luck.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Fran

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This is an amazing tour, a must see!

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Kevin O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

From pick up to drop off our tour was excellent. Tour guides were very knowledgeable .

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

crthacks

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

If you have a day to spend immersed in Nashville history, this is the tour for you. We were picked up from the Gaylord Opryland hotel, but the bus does pick up at some other hotels. The first stop was Jackson's plantation and slave cabins, which were remarkably preserved. Then it was lunch at a 70's-style buffet restaurant which did not serve the best food, but it was fast and cheap. Next, we toured the Belle Meade Plantation and it was very beautiful with many elaborate furnishings. It also had slave cabins, which were worth taking the time to tour and read the history plaques. Also, there is a winery at the Belle Meade, which you had the option to go to and do some wine tasting. We bought some wine to have shipped back to our house. Of course, at both plantation sites there was a gift shop. I highly recommend this tour for history buffs!

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Preetindar G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Tour was really good. It was a great way to see the Hermitage and Belle Meade Plantation. Lunch was delicious. I would have like to spend more time at the Hermitage so maybe lunch could be moved to 12pm instead of 11:30am.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

CJ

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Even though it was a light rainy day we enjoyed the tour. Very informative and enjoyable. Bus driver kept us entertained.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Barbara V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Outstanding! My 28 year old daughter and I had a mother/daughter long escape weekend to Nashville. Out of all of the activities there, we enjoyed this the most. Fabulous historic tour and guides and overall a wonderful day. Do not pass this up!!!

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Robert R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

We had a great tour guide at Belle Meade when we went through the house. It made it very interesting.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Leslie G

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

It was an excellent tour all around.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Keith R

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

In general, it was a lovely day. Wish the tour group could have been split in two. Seemed too big. While we loved the idea of the pick up at our home base, we spent quite a long time on the bus.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Krystal M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

wonderful history and everything was so neat to learn about. All the tour guides were great and spoke clearly and always had smiles and were polite.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

LaVerne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was a great tour. Definitely do this one if you can. I would have liked to spend more time ar Belle Meade. It seemed too short. The history of it all was excellent.

Doing what: Historic Tennessee - Southern Plantations and Presidents

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message