New Delhi ATTRACTIONS See all

Red Fort (Lal Qila)

The massive Red Fort (or Lal Qila) stands rather forlornly, a sandstone carcass of its former self. In ages past, when Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan paraded out of the fort atop an elephant into the streets of Old Delhi, he and the fort that he built ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 82 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

What a great trip. Suiki Spelling? was a brilliant guide. Took us to interesting places and explained everything really well. We experienced street food the most amazing sticky dessert and then had lunch in a little side street café where we were the only Europeans. Topped off our lunch with street chai tea. We went to the Sikh temple and helped make chapattis for lunch. I am not sure our skill level was up to standard but they were still cooked with the others! Finished our trip with a rickshaw ride and a walk back to our hotel. All in all a fantastic time and an excellent guide. Fully recommend this trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great day to explore the city both old and new in a short time period! The tour guide Konica was very knowledgeable and flexible to my needs - and the guides deployed at some of the sights were fantastic.

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

An excellent day tour where I saw the many sights of this lovely city. The tour guide was excellent - very knowledgeable about the city and very accommodating. A thoroughly enjoyable day.

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

See it all in one day ! After this tour we felt like we had thoroughly done it all in New Delhi ! We want to thank Tushar Patiyal from the tour company for a truly excellent experience ! This was the company that Viator commissioned for this tour and we could not have been more pleased. Before we arrived I emailed Tushar and he was always prompt and informative with his replies. We had a clean air conditioned car and a skilled friendly driver - The company uses official licensed Indian guides at each site such as the Red Fort and Qutub Minar. These guides are paid for already and were very knowledgeable and experts in their area. We took a bike ride through the main market and a walking tour of Old Delhi. So interesting ! It is a long day but completely satisfying. We had wanted to see the Lotus temple which is not on the itinerary so when the tour was over at around 4:30 pm the guide had the driver take us to the temple and wait for us as we walked around - The driver was more than courteous and patient with us. We did not want to visit any major craft shops and they respected our decision. The entire day can be arranged per your individual needs and we were never rushed or felt like we were on a timetable - Lunch was not included so we treated our driver and guide at an inexpensive fast food place and it was a lot of fun. We can not under emphasize the professionalism and respect with which we were treated. It was a pleasant and informative day and we saw all the major sites. We highly recommend this tour and especially the tour company.

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

What a wonderful day we spent looking at the sights of old and new Dehli. Our guide for the day was Sonny and a most creditable that we could have had. As the American President was about to come to Dehli some of the places we were to visit were a little difficult so Sonny consulted with us and suggested that perhaps that we might like to visit the house where Gandhi was assinated a most aw inspiring experience that I have had. Hopefully we will be able to get back to Dehli next time we visit India and we will certainly use Viator again

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Really showed us the sites well and did a great job taking pictures. Great tour!

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Delhi in One Day

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

This tour was really disappointing!!!! If not for the really nice car driver, we would have given no star at all.

The car driver picked us up on time and brought us to Dubai. Unfortunately we could not explore much
on this day, since it was really foggy however, the car driver pointed us out all sightseeing points we passed.
In Dubai we got to meet the tour guide, which was actually just a disappointment.
He was always hanging around on his mobile phone. When we got to the mosque e.g., he led us to the
entrance and meant, we can meet up outside again in 15min. When we asked background or historical
questions, he could almost answer none, showing also a clear disinterest in continueing this talking.
When we mentioned we want to buy some saree dresses and he shall bring us for a market an Indian friend
recommended us, he explained he knows another good place with reasonable prices.
In the end it was a toursim catcher store with prices, even after paying 50% of the original price, we paid
at least 200% too much. We realised this clearly after finally making him guide us for the recommended place, where same sarees costed the same price already without bargaining... it made us really angry
and frustrated. The spices store on the market was also such a toursim catcher...
In the end we were just annoyed and wanted this tour to end as fast as possible.
If not for the driver, who gave us some good tips on the way back where to go on the next days, and were
some other nice shopping places were located, we really would give no star at all.

In the end we would really have prefered having only the driver alone, who was really nice and supportive.
Anything else about this tour was just a real disappointment.
So if you wanna get this tour, make sure to not get this young guide (unfortunately we do not remember
his name anymore). Sorry for the driver! Maybe you can book him alone, would be def. a better guide!

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Delhi in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The activity was well Organised sound and light in sync. Driver and guide where on time. Good was good. Nothing to complain about!!! Recommended!!

Doing what: Red Fort Sound and Light Show in Delhi with Dinner and Private Transfer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic tour. Able to see 3 Unesco sites Red Fort, Qutib Minar and Humayun Tomb as we wished. We had to travel in a car , trishaw and by walk to see these wonderful ancient monuments. Though crowded but managed to see the other sites too by the skillful driver and the tour guide.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Delhi in One Day

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Lots of pluses about this tour. I can't think of a better way to immerse oneself in Old Delhi than to walk it. Having a guide made the walk informative, entertaining and safe. My wife and I were impressed with the guide and the driver - on time pick up at hotel and pleasant interactions throughout the day. Perhaps our only criticism would be the lunch which was in an all too touristy restaurant. With a guide it would have been a wonderful opportunity to venture into a place that catered to locals. Also it seems inevitable on any tour in India that we have experienced to be taken to a touristy store or two (in our case a tea shop and a rug store), even though we said at the outset that we had NO interest in shopping. But the drives to the shops was interesting and so not a total loss.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Old Delhi including Ancient Havelis and Chandni Chowk

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Great sound show. It told about the history of India. A lot of things I didn't know. Dinner was superb. Great tour guide as well. The only thing I would improve on would be the light show but that is out of the hands of viator.

Doing what: Red Fort Sound and Light Show in Delhi with Dinner and Private Transfer

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

A beautiful spectacle but pales compared with similar sound and light shows at other world sites, however our charming host/guide who also accompanied us to the wonderful included Indian dinner made for a great companion whose informative discourse enlivened the whole evening! A very relaxing and pleasant way to spend a night in Delhi!

Doing what: Red Fort Sound and Light Show in Delhi with Dinner and Private Transfer

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

Light and Sound show was not as special as expected, the Red Fort is a magical place though and it is good way how to spend free evening in Delhi. Except for the transport, there is no need for a guided tour and it can be easily done on your own.

Doing what: Private Tour: Light and Sound Show at the Red Fort, Delhi

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2014

It is sorry to note that quality of the "guide" is not up to the any standard. He was not able to explain properly.

Doing what: Private Tour: Light and Sound Show at the Red Fort, Delhi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Sunny was an excellent guide and we got to see a lot and experience life in old Delhi. This tour was well worth taking.

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a great tour! We saw all of the principle highlights of the city that we wanted to see and were able to spend time only where we wanted to. Our guide, Albi, was excellent!! He was knowledgeable and accommodating to our needs. Our driver and car were comfortable and spacious. I would highly recommend this tour for a one day overview of the city.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Delhi in One Day

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

This tour was a waste of time and money. They (guide and driver) were 1/2 hr. late picking us up from the hotel. In addition, they gave us the wrong time, too early by an hour, so we ended up waiting 1.5 hours. The driver had no idea of where to drop us and we had to stumble around in the dark. The Sound and Light show is lame and I don't recommend it. After the show, which ends at 9:30 pm, they take us to dinner, saying that 'dinner' in India is typically at 10 pm (WRONG). The guide rushed us through dinner, incessantly taking cell phone calls and rudely talking right in front of us. The guide (Abi) gave us no history or discussion of what we were seeing. He left us alone during the show

Doing what: Red Fort Sound and Light Show in Delhi with Dinner and Private Transfer

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Highly recommended tour for first time in Delhi. It was real private tour, they picked me up in time from my hotel. My tour guide was Sabyasachi Blessed, he's a very good guide, knows and tells a lot about the history of the place, so you get an impression of the city. The tour was what I was looking forward, to see old and new Delhi in one day. What I missed a bit, that we spent too short time at the spice market, there I would have stayed longer, not only to visit one shop and from the tour I also missed the Gurdwara Bangla Sahib (however the Ganj Sahib Gurdwara we visited)

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

LYN F
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We had a fabulous day with Komal and a driver, who took us to all the major sights on our list, including Red Fort and Dilli Haat. Nothing was too much trouble for Komal and she also took us to a great restuarant for lunch. Well worth the money we spent for a full day out.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Delhi in One Day

LYN F
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We had a lovely night out, although the Light and Sound show was a bit disappointing,
However we were taken to a great restuarant for dinner after the show which was worth the ticket price alone.

Doing what: Red Fort Sound and Light Show in Delhi with Dinner and Private Transfer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

My wife and I took this tour on Tuesday April 8, 2014. It was the second day of our trip to Delhi and we highly recommend it. This tour allows you to see all key sights in New Delhi and in a very relaxing atmosphere (private car and private guide). It was roughly 9 hours long which was just about right. Our guide Sabyasachi was excellent. He's young and understands that visitors are not just looking to ticked the boxes. Accordingly, he mixed the historical/knowledge experience with improvised extras (popping into a temple etc.) and gave us some tips on trendy restaurants, bars, etc. to visit. He's a new generation guide and you will be lucky if you can get him. Maqbool and Mumtaz

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Delhi in One Day

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The Fort is the highlight of this tour. Take lots of picturs and enjoy the history, scenery, and above all-the quiet. In the Chandni Chowk you will be wishing you were back in the fort. It is a cesspool that is worth seeing for the spectacle. Enjoy the crush of humanity but watch yourself. It would be insane to bring small children on this tour. This tour is for the experience not the shopping. You will get better quality souvenirs at the Airport- honest. The auto rickshaw ride in the spice market is on par with any roller coaster ride- without any of the safety features. A tour of this area is a must since you would be in serious trouble if attempted on your own.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Old Delhi including Ancient Havelis and Chandni Chowk

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Guide really helpful and keen to please. The show is very low key and factual which we loved but would have been disappointed if had expected a light extravaganza.the food after was pleasanrt and sufficient and guide joined us which was nice. Overall a very enjoyable and relaxed ecening

Doing what: Red Fort Sound and Light Show in Delhi with Dinner and Private Transfer

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Unfortunately it was not the best tour I've been on. The sites were all fascinating but the guide was so-so. He was very nice, but not a trained tour guide. He only seemed to know a few facts from each of the sites (things we could have read on the signs) and we had to ask many questions to draw the information out of him. Some of his information was incorrect (such as that Shah Jahan had 2 daughters survive until adulthood, but he had 3 that did so). He skipped one of the sites because he said we didn't have time, yet he dropped us off at the hotel at 3:00 p.m. when the tour was supposed to go until 6:00 p.m. It was like he had other places to go. In fact, he didn't know even know what sites were included on the tour and we had to show him the advertisement through Viator to prove that we were expecting an all-day tour. I think another big reason for the tour being shorter than advertised is that he didn't tell us that much information about the sites. Normally a tour guide spends lots time at each of the sites telling us things, but he only had a few facts to tell us about each site. As I mentioned, we had to pull more information out of him by asking questions. He spent time on the cell phone while we milled around reading the information signs on our own...to be fair, a friend of his had an accident and was in the hospital, and he was absorbed with concern for his friend. The car and driver were okay by India standards, although our tour the previous day with another company had bottled water for us (a nice touch on a hot day) and had clean windows for us to take pictures out of. One good thing I'll say for the tour guide is that it was nice having a body-builder with us at the market since people were all over us trying to sell us things, but he was able to get them to go away!

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message