New Delhi ATTRACTIONS See all

Red Fort (Lal Qila)

The massive Red Fort (or Lal Qila) stands rather forlornly, a sandstone carcass of its former self. In ages past, when Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan paraded out of the fort atop an elephant into the streets of Old Delhi, he and the fort that he built ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 77 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Really showed us the sites well and did a great job taking pictures. Great tour!

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Delhi in One Day

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

This tour was really disappointing!!!! If not for the really nice car driver, we would have given no star at all.

The car driver picked us up on time and brought us to Dubai. Unfortunately we could not explore much
on this day, since it was really foggy however, the car driver pointed us out all sightseeing points we passed.
In Dubai we got to meet the tour guide, which was actually just a disappointment.
He was always hanging around on his mobile phone. When we got to the mosque e.g., he led us to the
entrance and meant, we can meet up outside again in 15min. When we asked background or historical
questions, he could almost answer none, showing also a clear disinterest in continueing this talking.
When we mentioned we want to buy some saree dresses and he shall bring us for a market an Indian friend
recommended us, he explained he knows another good place with reasonable prices.
In the end it was a toursim catcher store with prices, even after paying 50% of the original price, we paid
at least 200% too much. We realised this clearly after finally making him guide us for the recommended place, where same sarees costed the same price already without bargaining... it made us really angry
and frustrated. The spices store on the market was also such a toursim catcher...
In the end we were just annoyed and wanted this tour to end as fast as possible.
If not for the driver, who gave us some good tips on the way back where to go on the next days, and were
some other nice shopping places were located, we really would give no star at all.

In the end we would really have prefered having only the driver alone, who was really nice and supportive.
Anything else about this tour was just a real disappointment.
So if you wanna get this tour, make sure to not get this young guide (unfortunately we do not remember
his name anymore). Sorry for the driver! Maybe you can book him alone, would be def. a better guide!

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Delhi in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The activity was well Organised sound and light in sync. Driver and guide where on time. Good was good. Nothing to complain about!!! Recommended!!

Doing what: Red Fort Sound and Light Show in Delhi with Dinner and Private Transfer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic tour. Able to see 3 Unesco sites Red Fort, Qutib Minar and Humayun Tomb as we wished. We had to travel in a car , trishaw and by walk to see these wonderful ancient monuments. Though crowded but managed to see the other sites too by the skillful driver and the tour guide.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Delhi in One Day

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Lots of pluses about this tour. I can't think of a better way to immerse oneself in Old Delhi than to walk it. Having a guide made the walk informative, entertaining and safe. My wife and I were impressed with the guide and the driver - on time pick up at hotel and pleasant interactions throughout the day. Perhaps our only criticism would be the lunch which was in an all too touristy restaurant. With a guide it would have been a wonderful opportunity to venture into a place that catered to locals. Also it seems inevitable on any tour in India that we have experienced to be taken to a touristy store or two (in our case a tea shop and a rug store), even though we said at the outset that we had NO interest in shopping. But the drives to the shops was interesting and so not a total loss.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Old Delhi including Ancient Havelis and Chandni Chowk

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Great sound show. It told about the history of India. A lot of things I didn't know. Dinner was superb. Great tour guide as well. The only thing I would improve on would be the light show but that is out of the hands of viator.

Doing what: Red Fort Sound and Light Show in Delhi with Dinner and Private Transfer

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2014

A beautiful spectacle but pales compared with similar sound and light shows at other world sites, however our charming host/guide who also accompanied us to the wonderful included Indian dinner made for a great companion whose informative discourse enlivened the whole evening! A very relaxing and pleasant way to spend a night in Delhi!

Doing what: Red Fort Sound and Light Show in Delhi with Dinner and Private Transfer

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

Light and Sound show was not as special as expected, the Red Fort is a magical place though and it is good way how to spend free evening in Delhi. Except for the transport, there is no need for a guided tour and it can be easily done on your own.

Doing what: Private Tour: Light and Sound Show at the Red Fort, Delhi

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2014

It is sorry to note that quality of the "guide" is not up to the any standard. He was not able to explain properly.

Doing what: Private Tour: Light and Sound Show at the Red Fort, Delhi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Sunny was an excellent guide and we got to see a lot and experience life in old Delhi. This tour was well worth taking.

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a great tour! We saw all of the principle highlights of the city that we wanted to see and were able to spend time only where we wanted to. Our guide, Albi, was excellent!! He was knowledgeable and accommodating to our needs. Our driver and car were comfortable and spacious. I would highly recommend this tour for a one day overview of the city.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Delhi in One Day

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

This tour was a waste of time and money. They (guide and driver) were 1/2 hr. late picking us up from the hotel. In addition, they gave us the wrong time, too early by an hour, so we ended up waiting 1.5 hours. The driver had no idea of where to drop us and we had to stumble around in the dark. The Sound and Light show is lame and I don't recommend it. After the show, which ends at 9:30 pm, they take us to dinner, saying that 'dinner' in India is typically at 10 pm (WRONG). The guide rushed us through dinner, incessantly taking cell phone calls and rudely talking right in front of us. The guide (Abi) gave us no history or discussion of what we were seeing. He left us alone during the show

Doing what: Red Fort Sound and Light Show in Delhi with Dinner and Private Transfer

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Highly recommended tour for first time in Delhi. It was real private tour, they picked me up in time from my hotel. My tour guide was Sabyasachi Blessed, he's a very good guide, knows and tells a lot about the history of the place, so you get an impression of the city. The tour was what I was looking forward, to see old and new Delhi in one day. What I missed a bit, that we spent too short time at the spice market, there I would have stayed longer, not only to visit one shop and from the tour I also missed the Gurdwara Bangla Sahib (however the Ganj Sahib Gurdwara we visited)

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

LYN F
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We had a fabulous day with Komal and a driver, who took us to all the major sights on our list, including Red Fort and Dilli Haat. Nothing was too much trouble for Komal and she also took us to a great restuarant for lunch. Well worth the money we spent for a full day out.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Delhi in One Day

LYN F
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We had a lovely night out, although the Light and Sound show was a bit disappointing,
However we were taken to a great restuarant for dinner after the show which was worth the ticket price alone.

Doing what: Red Fort Sound and Light Show in Delhi with Dinner and Private Transfer

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message