New Delhi ATTRACTIONS See all

Red Fort (Lal Qila)

The massive Red Fort (or Lal Qila) stands rather forlornly, a sandstone carcass of its former self. In ages past, when Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan paraded out of the fort atop an elephant into the streets of Old Delhi, he and the fort that he built ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 95 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Nunes Brazil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The guide Jeswin Joseph actually became our friend! He was very kind and efficient, doing a very smart choice of itinerary! For us, when in New Delhi, you cannot find someone better than him to guide you through the streets, temples and markets! It worth every cent invested.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Delhi in One Day

Jeffery D

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2016

We were very disappointed with this activity. I don't necessarily blame Viator for our experience. I didn't review this activity very closely and was under the impression that this was a dinner/show. It was not. The Sound and Light show was simply sitting in one spot within the Red Fort and listening to commentary as a light bounced around from one building to another. We left halfway through the show. We were then taken to a nice restaurant afterwards. The meal was the best part of the evening. The food was good and plentiful. On the whole, I would not recommend this activity. I'm confident you can find a very nice restaurant to eat at on your own for much less.

Doing what: Red Fort Sound and Light Show in Delhi with Dinner and Private Transfer

Mark P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent tour, Sikh Temple was particularly enjoyable. The guide was very knowledgeable and friendly, even taking in the India Gate at night at my request. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Delhi by Evening Tour

Gwen P

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Not only did we see the normal tourist sites but our local guide took us onto rooftops at the spice market and down alleys in Old Dehli to get local food. Wonderful experience. I wish all guides could be this flexible and offer up sites beyond tourist areas.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Delhi in One Day

Marcus S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour guide great customization so you aren't seeing a whole bunch of things you don't want to see. Loved it. Will do it again

Doing what: Delhi by Evening Tour

Naomi S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour guide Jeswyn Joseph was fantastic, really knowledgeable, funny, friendly, helped us make a fantastic itinerary and we felt very safe. Would highly recommend!

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Delhi in One Day

Doyle H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Very interesting and educational tour.

Doing what: Red Fort Sound and Light Show in Delhi with Dinner and Private Transfer

Shigeki M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had a knowledgeable and flexible guide. She showed up promptly, and was easy to understand. She was helpful with areas we had an interest in and flexible enough to adjust her normal itinerary for us.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Delhi in One Day

Ingrid F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

I took a private custom tour of Delhi and it was simply wonderful. Konika, the tour guide was excellent. I gave her a list of the places I wanted to visit and she did a great job accommodating the tour to take me to the places I really wanted to see. This is quite a challenge, considering the traffic in Delhi, but we managed! The tour guide is very knowledgeable and friendly. It was great fun to spend the day with her, explaining things to me about Indian culture. The driver was also great and did the very best to drive us around the crowded streets of Delhi. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Delhi in One Day

Gem

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

This is one of the tour that we experienced India! We walked the busy street of Chandini Chowk, tried their delicious street food - Jalebi and Samoosa, bargained from the shops and rode the rickshaw. The Humayun's tomb and the Red Fort are very rich in story. We were just a little disappointed as there are 2 sites were on the list that they did not take us to.

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

Nela B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Really good. The tour guide and driver were very nice and flexible. I was given a choice of what i wanted to see. They also took me to couple of craft shops.

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

Padraig O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The guide is very nice and is quite knowledgeable.
Must not forget the driver whom is sometimes forgotten in these reviews. A very nice guy.

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

Nourah A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour had time to check out many more places like the Lotus Temple. Great guide who had full knowledge of many places we passed by.

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

Sankung S

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

This is a very nice introduction to India. We saw it on our first night and it basically gave a broad overview of the history of India. After that, we were able to understand the rest of our tour better because we can always reference something from the show to tie it to an event that we learned about during one of our tours. If you can, it is a great way to start a visit to India.

Doing what: Red Fort Sound and Light Show in Delhi with Dinner and Private Transfer

Stephen J M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

What a great trip. Suiki Spelling? was a brilliant guide. Took us to interesting places and explained everything really well. We experienced street food the most amazing sticky dessert and then had lunch in a little side street café where we were the only Europeans. Topped off our lunch with street chai tea. We went to the Sikh temple and helped make chapattis for lunch. I am not sure our skill level was up to standard but they were still cooked with the others! Finished our trip with a rickshaw ride and a walk back to our hotel. All in all a fantastic time and an excellent guide. Fully recommend this trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

Alex W

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Great experience - started with Old Delhi with Jama Masjid - resulted in experiences such as riding Rickshaw, visiting Gurudwara and helping to prepare food for their community service meals and buying spices in spice markets, before moving on to sights such as Qutb Minar and Humayun's tomb. Were unable to do Red Fort due to August 15th preparations however made for a thoroughly enjoyable day

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

Dawn J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great day to explore the city both old and new in a short time period! The tour guide Konica was very knowledgeable and flexible to my needs - and the guides deployed at some of the sights were fantastic.

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

Felicity A W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

An excellent day tour where I saw the many sights of this lovely city. The tour guide was excellent - very knowledgeable about the city and very accommodating. A thoroughly enjoyable day.

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

Warren K USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

See it all in one day ! After this tour we felt like we had thoroughly done it all in New Delhi ! We want to thank Tushar Patiyal from the tour company for a truly excellent experience ! This was the company that Viator commissioned for this tour and we could not have been more pleased. Before we arrived I emailed Tushar and he was always prompt and informative with his replies. We had a clean air conditioned car and a skilled friendly driver - The company uses official licensed Indian guides at each site such as the Red Fort and Qutub Minar. These guides are paid for already and were very knowledgeable and experts in their area. We took a bike ride through the main market and a walking tour of Old Delhi. So interesting ! It is a long day but completely satisfying. We had wanted to see the Lotus temple which is not on the itinerary so when the tour was over at around 4:30 pm the guide had the driver take us to the temple and wait for us as we walked around - The driver was more than courteous and patient with us. We did not want to visit any major craft shops and they respected our decision. The entire day can be arranged per your individual needs and we were never rushed or felt like we were on a timetable - Lunch was not included so we treated our driver and guide at an inexpensive fast food place and it was a lot of fun. We can not under emphasize the professionalism and respect with which we were treated. It was a pleasant and informative day and we saw all the major sites. We highly recommend this tour and especially the tour company.

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

Jean F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

What a wonderful day we spent looking at the sights of old and new Dehli. Our guide for the day was Sonny and a most creditable that we could have had. As the American President was about to come to Dehli some of the places we were to visit were a little difficult so Sonny consulted with us and suggested that perhaps that we might like to visit the house where Gandhi was assinated a most aw inspiring experience that I have had. Hopefully we will be able to get back to Dehli next time we visit India and we will certainly use Viator again

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

Patrick USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Really showed us the sites well and did a great job taking pictures. Great tour!

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Delhi in One Day

Michailina K

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

This tour was really disappointing!!!! If not for the really nice car driver, we would have given no star at all.

The car driver picked us up on time and brought us to Dubai. Unfortunately we could not explore much
on this day, since it was really foggy however, the car driver pointed us out all sightseeing points we passed.
In Dubai we got to meet the tour guide, which was actually just a disappointment.
He was always hanging around on his mobile phone. When we got to the mosque e.g., he led us to the
entrance and meant, we can meet up outside again in 15min. When we asked background or historical
questions, he could almost answer none, showing also a clear disinterest in continueing this talking.
When we mentioned we want to buy some saree dresses and he shall bring us for a market an Indian friend
recommended us, he explained he knows another good place with reasonable prices.
In the end it was a toursim catcher store with prices, even after paying 50% of the original price, we paid
at least 200% too much. We realised this clearly after finally making him guide us for the recommended place, where same sarees costed the same price already without bargaining... it made us really angry
and frustrated. The spices store on the market was also such a toursim catcher...
In the end we were just annoyed and wanted this tour to end as fast as possible.
If not for the driver, who gave us some good tips on the way back where to go on the next days, and were
some other nice shopping places were located, we really would give no star at all.

In the end we would really have prefered having only the driver alone, who was really nice and supportive.
Anything else about this tour was just a real disappointment.
So if you wanna get this tour, make sure to not get this young guide (unfortunately we do not remember
his name anymore). Sorry for the driver! Maybe you can book him alone, would be def. a better guide!

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Delhi in One Day

Antonella C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The activity was well Organised sound and light in sync. Driver and guide where on time. Good was good. Nothing to complain about!!! Recommended!!

Doing what: Red Fort Sound and Light Show in Delhi with Dinner and Private Transfer

Raja Mohan N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fantastic tour. Able to see 3 Unesco sites Red Fort, Qutib Minar and Humayun Tomb as we wished. We had to travel in a car , trishaw and by walk to see these wonderful ancient monuments. Though crowded but managed to see the other sites too by the skillful driver and the tour guide.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Delhi in One Day

Keith H

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Lots of pluses about this tour. I can't think of a better way to immerse oneself in Old Delhi than to walk it. Having a guide made the walk informative, entertaining and safe. My wife and I were impressed with the guide and the driver - on time pick up at hotel and pleasant interactions throughout the day. Perhaps our only criticism would be the lunch which was in an all too touristy restaurant. With a guide it would have been a wonderful opportunity to venture into a place that catered to locals. Also it seems inevitable on any tour in India that we have experienced to be taken to a touristy store or two (in our case a tea shop and a rug store), even though we said at the outset that we had NO interest in shopping. But the drives to the shops was interesting and so not a total loss.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Old Delhi including Ancient Havelis and Chandni Chowk

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message