New Delhi ATTRACTIONS See all

Red Fort (Lal Qila)

The massive Red Fort (or Lal Qila) stands rather forlornly, a sandstone carcass of its former self. In ages past, when Mughal Emperor Shah Jahan paraded out of the fort atop an elephant into the streets of Old Delhi, he and the fort that he built ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 72 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2014

Light and Sound show was not as special as expected, the Red Fort is a magical place though and it is good way how to spend free evening in Delhi. Except for the transport, there is no need for a guided tour and it can be easily done on your own.

Doing what: Private Tour: Light and Sound Show at the Red Fort, Delhi

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2014

It is sorry to note that quality of the "guide" is not up to the any standard. He was not able to explain properly.

Doing what: Private Tour: Light and Sound Show at the Red Fort, Delhi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Sunny was an excellent guide and we got to see a lot and experience life in old Delhi. This tour was well worth taking.

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a great tour! We saw all of the principle highlights of the city that we wanted to see and were able to spend time only where we wanted to. Our guide, Albi, was excellent!! He was knowledgeable and accommodating to our needs. Our driver and car were comfortable and spacious. I would highly recommend this tour for a one day overview of the city.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Delhi in One Day

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

This tour was a waste of time and money. They (guide and driver) were 1/2 hr. late picking us up from the hotel. In addition, they gave us the wrong time, too early by an hour, so we ended up waiting 1.5 hours. The driver had no idea of where to drop us and we had to stumble around in the dark. The Sound and Light show is lame and I don't recommend it. After the show, which ends at 9:30 pm, they take us to dinner, saying that 'dinner' in India is typically at 10 pm (WRONG). The guide rushed us through dinner, incessantly taking cell phone calls and rudely talking right in front of us. The guide (Abi) gave us no history or discussion of what we were seeing. He left us alone during the show

Doing what: Red Fort Sound and Light Show in Delhi with Dinner and Private Transfer

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Highly recommended tour for first time in Delhi. It was real private tour, they picked me up in time from my hotel. My tour guide was Sabyasachi Blessed, he's a very good guide, knows and tells a lot about the history of the place, so you get an impression of the city. The tour was what I was looking forward, to see old and new Delhi in one day. What I missed a bit, that we spent too short time at the spice market, there I would have stayed longer, not only to visit one shop and from the tour I also missed the Gurdwara Bangla Sahib (however the Ganj Sahib Gurdwara we visited)

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

LYN F
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We had a fabulous day with Komal and a driver, who took us to all the major sights on our list, including Red Fort and Dilli Haat. Nothing was too much trouble for Komal and she also took us to a great restuarant for lunch. Well worth the money we spent for a full day out.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Delhi in One Day

LYN F
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We had a lovely night out, although the Light and Sound show was a bit disappointing,
However we were taken to a great restuarant for dinner after the show which was worth the ticket price alone.

Doing what: Red Fort Sound and Light Show in Delhi with Dinner and Private Transfer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

My wife and I took this tour on Tuesday April 8, 2014. It was the second day of our trip to Delhi and we highly recommend it. This tour allows you to see all key sights in New Delhi and in a very relaxing atmosphere (private car and private guide). It was roughly 9 hours long which was just about right. Our guide Sabyasachi was excellent. He's young and understands that visitors are not just looking to ticked the boxes. Accordingly, he mixed the historical/knowledge experience with improvised extras (popping into a temple etc.) and gave us some tips on trendy restaurants, bars, etc. to visit. He's a new generation guide and you will be lucky if you can get him. Maqbool and Mumtaz

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Delhi in One Day

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

The Fort is the highlight of this tour. Take lots of picturs and enjoy the history, scenery, and above all-the quiet. In the Chandni Chowk you will be wishing you were back in the fort. It is a cesspool that is worth seeing for the spectacle. Enjoy the crush of humanity but watch yourself. It would be insane to bring small children on this tour. This tour is for the experience not the shopping. You will get better quality souvenirs at the Airport- honest. The auto rickshaw ride in the spice market is on par with any roller coaster ride- without any of the safety features. A tour of this area is a must since you would be in serious trouble if attempted on your own.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Old Delhi including Ancient Havelis and Chandni Chowk

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Guide really helpful and keen to please. The show is very low key and factual which we loved but would have been disappointed if had expected a light extravaganza.the food after was pleasanrt and sufficient and guide joined us which was nice. Overall a very enjoyable and relaxed ecening

Doing what: Red Fort Sound and Light Show in Delhi with Dinner and Private Transfer

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Unfortunately it was not the best tour I've been on. The sites were all fascinating but the guide was so-so. He was very nice, but not a trained tour guide. He only seemed to know a few facts from each of the sites (things we could have read on the signs) and we had to ask many questions to draw the information out of him. Some of his information was incorrect (such as that Shah Jahan had 2 daughters survive until adulthood, but he had 3 that did so). He skipped one of the sites because he said we didn't have time, yet he dropped us off at the hotel at 3:00 p.m. when the tour was supposed to go until 6:00 p.m. It was like he had other places to go. In fact, he didn't know even know what sites were included on the tour and we had to show him the advertisement through Viator to prove that we were expecting an all-day tour. I think another big reason for the tour being shorter than advertised is that he didn't tell us that much information about the sites. Normally a tour guide spends lots time at each of the sites telling us things, but he only had a few facts to tell us about each site. As I mentioned, we had to pull more information out of him by asking questions. He spent time on the cell phone while we milled around reading the information signs on our own...to be fair, a friend of his had an accident and was in the hospital, and he was absorbed with concern for his friend. The car and driver were okay by India standards, although our tour the previous day with another company had bottled water for us (a nice touch on a hot day) and had clean windows for us to take pictures out of. One good thing I'll say for the tour guide is that it was nice having a body-builder with us at the market since people were all over us trying to sell us things, but he was able to get them to go away!

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

highly recommended tour for first time in Delhi, it was comfortable private tour, pick up from my hotel, showed up before the time, with tour manager please do ask for Sabyasachi Blessed he is really good, know where to take you, and do the tour which suite your time. even if you asked him for places for shopping he will take you take to special shops. the tour was what im looking forward to see in Delhi in one day between old and new Delhi, and if you wish for more and you have time, its the tour you need

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

Light show was good but not as dynamic as expected. The car, guide and dinner were excellent however.

Doing what: Red Fort Sound and Light Show in Delhi with Dinner and Private Transfer

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message