Considered one of the world’s most iconic landmarks, and elected as one of the New Seven Wonders of the World, the Taj Mahal is a living testament to grandeur, romance, and historical significance. As India’s most recognizable structure, the Taj ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 78 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jeffery D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had a fabulous experience visiting Agra from Delhi. It all started with our driver, who took special care to give us a pleasant experience on our long drives to and from Agra. He was well-informed and made sure that we were comfortable. Our guide was terrific. He too was well-informed and taught us so much about the Taj Mahal and Agra Fort, which we thoroughly loved. The Taj Mahal was stunning and breathtaking. It was hard to believe that we were there. The Agra Fort surprised us. It was far more interesting that the Red Fort in Delhi. It was so beautiful and so historic. I highly recommend this private tour if you are staying in Delhi.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

Kuan Yu L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Just like the wonder of Taj Mahal amazed all of us, we are also really impressed by such a good trip we booked through Viator. We were picked up punctually at our hotel by the shuttle and it is really comfortable and spacious, we met the tourist guide Akash Anand at the Taj Mahal entrance, a great storyteller who brought us back to the 17th century in presence of the legend of this eternal love. Every single details of this white marble construction just took our breath away. We really enjoyed this tour and undoubtedly it is the best!

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

Meera A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Amazing Tour!!!
The driver was on time at our hotel and even offered rest stops.
The tour guide Mr. Sanjay was so knowledgeable. He explained the history in a simple and interesting way! All at our own pace.
The restaurant at the Sky Deck restaurant was great! Food was awesome and the view breathtaking!
Went for the optional photographer as well, the photographer was good and took pictures of us while at Taj Mahal and the restaurant. Even natural pictures while you are not aware he is taking them. Provided us with 5 printed out pictures and a USB full of our pictures.

It was all magical :
Overall, worth it!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Private Taj Mahal and Agra Fort Tour, Dine with a View and Optional Photographer

John Anson L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This trip was excellent from start to finish. My driver Pracass, who was very friendly, arrived at my hotel 15 minutes early to pick me up for trip over to Agra. During my journey, he pointed out a number of landmarks and towns and gave me a brief overview of each one, he even offered to stop to let me take pictures if I wished to. Once we arrived in Agra we met up with my tour guide for the day - Mohd Jugnu - who was excellent and a very pleasent person - his in depth knowledge of the Taj Mahal, Agra Fort and the Mini Taj was amazing and made each portion of the tour so much more interesting than other tours I have taken in the past. He was also an excellent photographer - he took all my pictures for me with my camera - knowing all the spots to get the best pictures including the trick photography. He was also very good at navigating through and around the various pan handlers and photographers in and around each of the sites. I would recommend him to anyone traveling to see Agra and the Taj. The lunch included with the tour was very good. The return trip was uneventful and the driver dropped me off at the Dehli Airport for my trip back to Mumbai. I would recommend this tour to anyone that wants to see the Taj Mahal but has only a short time in Dehli - its a long day but very rewarding and memorable.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

Meghan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an excellent tour! Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and took great care of my group. He brought us around to the best photo spots and was very patient as each person wanted a few snapshots with the Taj Mahal in the back. He provided a wonderful account of the history, and we were also able to bypass all of the lines. The driver was very good as well and ensured we were picked up and dropped back off at our hotel safely. It is a spectacular day, and I highly recommend this tour if you plan on seeing the Taj Mahal.

Doing what: Private Tour: Agra and the Taj Mahal Day Trip from Delhi

James F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an excellent tour Sanjay Shukla did a great job as a tour guide - the Taj Mahal was outstanding. Sanjay Gupta our driver did an excellent job, safe, clean car with lots of snacks.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Private Taj Mahal and Agra Fort Tour, Dine with a View and Optional Photographer

John A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Was a wonderful experience. Can't say enough about how smooth it went and how pleased I was with the service. The driver picked me up at the hotel right on time. The ride to Agra was smooth and the highway was nice. The visit to the Taj Mahal was incredible. The tour guide was excellent and the photographer was as well. Got some great pictures from them. Agra Fort and the Baby Taj were also stops along the way. The ride back was nice and smooth, too, and the driver even detoured so I could see the India Gate. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Now we know how somebody famous feels, kinda. Walking around the Taj Mahal with our own personal photographer was a once in a lifetime experience which allowed us the opportunity to capture amazing photos we could not have gotten by ourselves. Our photographer did an incredible job of posing us in front of the Taj, but took some candid shots of us when we weren’t looking. Best of all, he managed to keep most of the other tourist our of our shots. Not an easy task at the Taj.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Private Taj Mahal and Agra Fort Tour, Dine with a View and Optional Photographer

Gem

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Shanti, our driver made sure that we were always comfortable and well entertained. He is very neat, polite, honest and very professional. He is very knowledgeable about the historical spots in India and speaks very good English. We felt very safe during our day trip from delhi to agra. We highly recommend that you ask for Shanti and I assure you that he will take good care of you. His manager even called us during our last day to make sure that everything was up to our expectation. This package will make your Taj Mahal tour more amazing than you expect it to be.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Private Taj Mahal and Agra Fort Tour, Dine with a View and Optional Photographer

Shaji N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The tour, in particular to the Taj Mahal, was breathtaking, It was helped by a guide who knew his history well. Definitely worth it. Although the included lunch was poor the overall tour was excellent and highly recommended.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

Joe N.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The Taj was magnificent. I'm not one to be easily in awe of things, but the beauty of this structure definitely put a smile on my face. Sanjay, our guide was interesting and very knowledgeable. The rooftop lunch was absolutely fantastic, some of the best Indian food I had during my stay and the view was great. You could see monkeys running across the rooftops. Red Fort was also very interesting and Sanjay was very adept at guiding us while integrating new stories about the Taj Mahal in relation to the fort. Often overlooked in tour reviews is an assessment of the driver. Well our driver for the day was Ravi, an incredibly cordial and earnest individual whom I am glad to have met on this trip.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Private Taj Mahal and Agra Fort Tour, Dine with a View and Optional Photographer

Frank W United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was amazing and Taj Mahal was just so marvelous! My guide was this guy who has two master’s degree in Indian literature and history, and working on a PhD in architecture or something. Very smart and knowledgeable. We also did optional photographer option – he commanded us to pose in certain ways and pictures came out lovely. I recommend everyone to do this! Another highlight of the tour was lunch. Lunch was arranged on a rooftop of a fancy hotel and the view, I tell you, was crazy good! You can see the entire city of Agra, including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort very clearly! Also, the food was definitely one of the best I had in India. Numnumnum. The ride is from Delhi is pretty long but the value and experience makes this tour a worthwhile. I highly recommend this tour to everyone who is interested in Taj Mahal and best of Agra in one day!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Private Taj Mahal and Agra Fort Tour, Dine with a View and Optional Photographer

Katie M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a fantastic tour, not only because the Taj Mahal is a must see while in Delhi, but also because the local company that provided the tour guide did a fantastic job facilitating the whole thing. They sent a car to pick us up at the hotel. The driver was kind and made a stop on the drive both ways so we could use restrooms and stretch our legs. Our tour guide, Akash, was awesome! He was a wealth of information but didn't bore us to death with his delivery. He gave us our time to take photos so we never felt rushed. He also was a great photographer for us - taking some of the best shots we have! Very creative and fun photos we'll treasure. The Taj Mahal is breathtaking, but the history and stories behind it are also fascinating. Agra Fort's history is somewhat tied to the Taj Mahal and the story behind the connection was so fun to learn. It's also amazing that back in the time these monuments were built, they had the knowledge and ability to do so many things without the technology we now have available. They are both wonders to see.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

Sankung S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Visiting the Taj Mahal is a once in a lifetime opportunity for many. Therefore, having a tour guide such as Hussain is an added treat because of his deep knowledge of the culture, customs, and traditions that embody the history of the Taj. My wife and I experienced the Taj beyond our imagination because Hussain made sure that we understood the many details of the historic accounts that led to the building of the Taj. He was patient and loves to bring stories alive that one could never find in a guidebook anywhere. Of course, in addition to the Taj, Hussain made sure that we visited the Agra Forth where we walked through the living spaces built for Shah Jahal where he lived in captivity after his overthrow by his son The quotations are mine. Of course after a long day in the heated sun, it was nice to be brought to a nice local restaurant where we indulged in local Agra cuisine with ease as each member of the eatery went above and beyond to ensure that we were pleased. Definitely five stars!

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

gary s

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We loved the tour, particularly the Taj Mahal and Red Fort. We had a wonderful driver Raza who took great care to ensure our every need was met. We felt extremely safe on the roads in his care, even in the chaos that is india traffic! Mahi, our guide in Agra was also great - extremely well informed and helping us to get the best possible photos. We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Private Tour: 4-Day Golden Triangle Trip to Agra and Jaipur from Delhi

Sarah W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

What an awesome tour! Everything is organized very well. We paid extra to have a photographer take our photos at the Taj Mahal and our guide negotiated the price. I finally got took the picture I dreamed of, on the marble bench in front of the Taj Mahal. If I had to do it again I'd skip the store that sold the marble items. While they had beautiful things, and I like my little elephant -- I wasn't in the mood for a hard sell. Lunch at the local restaurant was delicious.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

Patricia T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Totally fantastic. It was great. I stayed at the Oberoi, hotel and the driver picked me up at 5:00. His English was very passable and his driving skills were solid. We drove to Agra. Stopped once to get some coffee and stretch our legs and then we met up with the guide, Mohad. He met us and proceeded to give us the best tour of the Taj Mahal, the Agra Fort and the mini-Taj. He was very knowledgeable. His English was good and he had a breath and depth of the situation that was remarkable. He allowed me to wander a few times but always kept to a schedule.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

MR C L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We recommend this tour without any hesitation! The driver is a nice young man, who is always on time and drive safely. The tour guide is also very nice and professional. Thanks to them, we had a great time in Delhi/Agra/Taj Mahal!

Doing what: Private Tour: Agra and the Taj Mahal Day Trip from Delhi

David H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

My tour morning started in a panic. As instructed, I printed out my itinerary to find in big print 'MUST CALL WITHIN 24 HOURS TO CONFIRM OR YOUR TOUR WILL BE CANCELED'. Oops...I forgot to do that. Luckily, my driver still arrived. My tour was during India's heat wave and I was happy to see that the car was modern with good AC. The driver was courteous, pointed out things along the way, and made friendly conversation along the way. The drive was about 3.5 hours in which 80 was on a fast moving toll-road. There were plenty of optional clean restroom stops if needed along the way. Driving through Agra was especially interesting. Cattle in the streets, monkeys on rooftops, etc. I was dropped off at Costa Coffee where I met my tour guide. He explained the details of the day, such as what was included and what was not and also gave advise on dealing with beggars that we would encounter on the way there ignore them, basically. He added that I was only allowed to bring with me a wallet, camera, and cell phone, nothing else including water. We got back in the car and were dropped off at the gate where we then walked the 1km to the Taj there are electric carts available for 100 rupees 1.50 US per person if desired. He provided a bottle of water for me to quickly drink and then we skipped the line into the Taj Mahal grounds. He gave a great tour and knew all the great photo opportunities. After the tour we took an electric cart to the Fort have 100 rupees per person ready. He then gave the in depth tour of the Fort. In all, both tours took about 1.5 hours. We got back in the car to Costa where we had a cold beverage you pay for this and it is common courtesy to treat the guide and driver. I was then given the option to go to a souvenir shop or restaurant that they recommend. Thankfully, they were not pushy about this when I declined. I tipped the guide 1000 rupees/15 USD and we proceeded back to Delhi. I tipped the driver 1500 rupees 23 USD.

Doing what: Private Tour: Agra and the Taj Mahal Day Trip from Delhi

Warren K USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The Taj Mahal ! There is nothing else to say ! This is the moment we looked forward to and it is everything you have imagined - Stunning, inspiring and the memories of a lifetime- Viator used a tour company for our tour and they did an excellent job - however please read about the Kachhpura option below to see if this specific tour is for you -
We were picked up at 5 am because our trip to Agra was by way of the direct train that leaves at 6 am and takes 2.5 hours. This is a great option as compared to driving - you get a reserved seat and its a comfortable ride all the way there - they serve some snacks on board but we brought food from the hotel. We were met at the train station and off we went for the tour. Nothing can compare to the WOW factor of the Taj Mahal - Our guide Sanjay has a History degree and was a fountain of information - extremely professional and friendly - he clearly is an expert in his field and his explanations were very clear and interesting. We bought the photo package at the Taj Mahal - for about 100 US we had personal photographer take 60 photos of us that were developed, printed and put in an album before we left - he posed us and got us the most incredible memories. Most importantly you get the jpg images on a computer disc so you can make your own prints and load them to your computer that night ! this was well worth it for a trip of a lifetime - we spent plenty of time at the Taj Lunch was included and was a buffet at a 5 star hotel in Agra and was delicious. We went to the Agra Fort and had an extensive tour of the palace and also toured the mini Taj - Now the Kachhpura Village is an interesting option - it is billed as a Mughal heritage walking tour but in reality it has a little bit of Mughal relics but more importantly it is a walk into a typical rural village - its not easy to see the way of life and poverty but the people are friendly and their spirit is inspiring. We were glad we did it - Ask for Sanjay !

Doing what: Private Agra Day Tour: Taj Mahal, Agra Fort and Kachhpura Village

Margaret A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This trip was amazing! Definitely a once in a lifetime experience - and I would go again! Worth every penny. Our driver was right on time picking us up from our New Delhi hotel. The drive was long around 3 hours but fun because of the great music provided by the driver and good conversation - he answered any questions we had!
When we arrived in Agra - we were met by our private tour guide Mr. Kamlesh. He was by the far the best guide I have experienced - and I've been on many trips. He was extremely knowledgeable and the facts and insight he provided is something we will always remember. He went at the perfect pace and let us stop for water breaks many times because we needed them! He provided us with the hard facts as well as back stories and insights you can't get from reading a textbook. He is excellent at what he does!!
We were very happy we decided on the private tour as opposed to a group tour.
They also took us to the Agra fort as well as a stop at the Baby Taj. Oh and they take you to a local restaurant for lunch! It was delicious!!
After returning from our whole day trip, we concluded that we would have paid double for the trip!! It was that worthwhile. I would recommend this trip to anyone wanting to visit the Taj Mahal! Well wort it.
Cheers to Mr. Kamlesh and our driver that day!! Excellent service!

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

skky23

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We got picked up from our hotel in Delhi at 5am. They do ask for your hotel room number so the security people can call you when the driver arrives. Also be aware that the tour guide is in Agra so you will just be with the driver for about 3 hours. Our driver was nice guy but a little sleepy and got us nervous for a bit LOL. Nothing bad happened in the end so no worry. He did stop at a rest area on the modern toll freeway and we had coffee and bought bottled water. At this point of the trip there isn't anything free like water, which was a little disappointing esp if the drive is 3 hours.
We arrived at Agra and met with the tour guide who joined us in the car. I wish I had remembered his name! He was really great. An older man with glasses, and shortish. He was very knowledgeable and planned our excursions very well. For example he took us to the Baby Taj first, whereas most guides take you there last. I think he said this made us avoid the crowds and traffic that takes us further away from our departure point.
Then we went to see the Taj Mahal. Well I just have to say.. it is so much more amazing in person. I literally gasped when I first saw it. My mouth was open LOL. The tour guide navigated everything for us.. where to go, what to do, etc. And provided information about the history of the place. He was even our photographer! We did have a bottled water at this point.
The to Agra fort we went. Very cool also. Really worth the visit.
The only part of the trip we did not like was when they took us to a local shop that specialized in marble craft because we ended up spending money on items we really did not want to. We just felt bad not buying anything because they were really nice. And their items were super expensive. So if the tour guide asks you if you want to go, just decline.
Last part of the tour was lunch at local restaurant, which was very good. I recommend this tour but just be aware of some of the minor issues I raised. Other than that, enjoy!

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

Jean F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Thank you for a very wonderful day your driver for that day was very prompt and picked us up from the Hotel at the time that was given to us. Despite having fog from Delhi to Agra the drive was very interesting with explanation given as we drove through the country. Once we arrived at Taj Mahal it was every thing we had hoped our guide for the day was so informative and interesting. We were then taken to Fort Agra but it was when we were taken to see how the marble was inlaid with precious stones and how it was done. We can't wait to go back again and will certainly be using Viator when booking our trips

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

Joan R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

A very well organised trip which gave us insight into the history as well as the beauty of the Taj Mahal and Fort at Agra. Our guide and driver were excellent. Thankyou for a great trip - excellent value

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

Burt K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our tour guide was well informed and walked us through the remarkable construction of this world landmark. The visit to the Taj Mahal was the centerpiece of our family trip to India, and we will long remember it as an amazing illustration of this unique country's culture and history.

Doing what: Private Tour: Agra and the Taj Mahal Day Trip from Delhi

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message