Sprawling and kinetic, this busy, growing megacity of some 23 million people is the ancient capital of one of the fastest rising world powers. Delhi - New and Old - offers India in a microcosm. It is a megalopolis imbued with the wisdom and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 134 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Highly recommended tour for first time in Delhi. It was real private tour, they picked me up in time from my hotel. My tour guide was Sabyasachi Blessed, he's a very good guide, knows and tells a lot about the history of the place, so you get an impression of the city. The tour was what I was looking forward, to see old and new Delhi in one day. What I missed a bit, that we spent too short time at the spice market, there I would have stayed longer, not only to visit one shop and from the tour I also missed the Gurdwara Bangla Sahib (however the Ganj Sahib Gurdwara we visited)

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

This was my second tour to the Taj Mahal, so I thought I knew what to expect. The driver was on time, but we were 15 minutes late departing because the hotel Concierge told us to wait inside the lobby while the driver was told to wait outside - not his fault - just a communication problem. The vehicle was in poor condition. The windshield had a crack that spanned the entire windshield, the left side view mirror was damaged / useless. We tried to fasten our seatbelts and were told "no seatbelts for the back seat - you'll be OK"... we only had one day to make the trip - refusing this driver and car could have jeopardized our trip.

The driver spoke very little English - which is OK because he wasn't the tour guide. We made the trip much faster than my previous trip as there is now an expressway all the way to Agra and almost all the way to the Taj Mahal... it was at least 90 minutes faster via the expressway. We met our guide and proceeded to tour the Taj Mahal and Agra Fort. Our guide was very knowledgeable and very accommodating with helping to take pictures for us, etc.

We were asked if we would be willing to visit a crafts museum where craftsman whose ancestors carved the Taj Mahal would demonstrate their skills - I said no - I'd been through that the last time - it's a tourist trap / gift shop with disinterested craftsman that wake up and pretend to carve and shape inlaid stone... if you pay enough attention - it's obviously a staged demo that ultimately leads to the showroom. It's nice stuff if you're into it - the second showroom is where you can pick up gifts for friends and family - prices are negotiable. Overall another good visit to Agra that would have gotten 4 stars if it weren't for the missing seat belts.

Doing what: Private Tour: Agra and the Taj Mahal Day Trip from Delhi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Well prepared and everything in place - driver, host, meal plan, etc. Very friendly family in NW Delhi, Komal had us cooking before we knew it and even showed us some spice techniques we hadn't seen before. Very gracious and a complete experience - would do again.

Doing what: Delhi Cultural Experience: Cook and Eat with a Local Family

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2014

Very good. All went well most of the time. The sights were amazing and our guide was very informative. Getting started was a bit rocky. the organisers were looking for information that we thought we'd already given. And there was some confusion as to how long we could use the hotel room at the end of the trip prior to catching the train..

Doing what: 2-Day Amritsar and Golden Temple Tour From Delhi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Everyone should put this site on their itinerary. The temple is awesome. But moreso the fact that the Sihks prepare 10 -50K meals a day for the poor and give them free selter. Volunteers often wait 3 mos. to serve the needy. Religion/people at its best. Worth the long train trip.

Doing what: 2-Day Amritsar and Golden Temple Tour From Delhi

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

This was a fun trip, made a little awkward by the number of people on it (there were six of us visiting one family), however this was partly our own fault as we had to re-arrange the date due to an illness in our party.

It was fascinating watching how to make some local food and chat to the family about their perceptions of life in Delhi and India.

Certainly worth doing - try and ensure you are in a party of no more than 4.

Doing what: Delhi Cultural Experience: Cook and Eat with a Local Family

LYN F
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We had a fabulous day with Komal and a driver, who took us to all the major sights on our list, including Red Fort and Dilli Haat. Nothing was too much trouble for Komal and she also took us to a great restuarant for lunch. Well worth the money we spent for a full day out.

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Delhi in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This tour was excellent. Reccomend going on a sunday due to lower traffic in Delhi. We had no traffic issues along the way. Stay hydrated! The Taj is beautiful but the inside portion is very hot and crowded. Be on your toes for pick pockets inside the Taj. No need to get one of the many photographers to follow you. You can take plenty of pics yourself and your guide can snap photos too. At Fort, be sure and look up. There are monkees, bats, and parrots to be seen in addition to the wonderful fort. Make sure the guide tells you the history of the Black Taj Mahal. It's almost as fascinating as the Taj itself.

Doing what: Private Tour: Agra and the Taj Mahal Day Trip from Delhi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

My wife and I took this tour on Tuesday April 8, 2014. It was the second day of our trip to Delhi and we highly recommend it. This tour allows you to see all key sights in New Delhi and in a very relaxing atmosphere (private car and private guide). It was roughly 9 hours long which was just about right. Our guide Sabyasachi was excellent. He's young and understands that visitors are not just looking to ticked the boxes. Accordingly, he mixed the historical/knowledge experience with improvised extras (popping into a temple etc.) and gave us some tips on trendy restaurants, bars, etc. to visit. He's a new generation guide and you will be lucky if you can get him. Maqbool and Mumtaz

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Delhi in One Day

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Unfortunately it was not the best tour I've been on. The sites were all fascinating but the guide was so-so. He was very nice, but not a trained tour guide. He only seemed to know a few facts from each of the sites (things we could have read on the signs) and we had to ask many questions to draw the information out of him. Some of his information was incorrect (such as that Shah Jahan had 2 daughters survive until adulthood, but he had 3 that did so). He skipped one of the sites because he said we didn't have time, yet he dropped us off at the hotel at 3:00 p.m. when the tour was supposed to go until 6:00 p.m. It was like he had other places to go. In fact, he didn't know even know what sites were included on the tour and we had to show him the advertisement through Viator to prove that we were expecting an all-day tour. I think another big reason for the tour being shorter than advertised is that he didn't tell us that much information about the sites. Normally a tour guide spends lots time at each of the sites telling us things, but he only had a few facts to tell us about each site. As I mentioned, we had to pull more information out of him by asking questions. He spent time on the cell phone while we milled around reading the information signs on our own...to be fair, a friend of his had an accident and was in the hospital, and he was absorbed with concern for his friend. The car and driver were okay by India standards, although our tour the previous day with another company had bottled water for us (a nice touch on a hot day) and had clean windows for us to take pictures out of. One good thing I'll say for the tour guide is that it was nice having a body-builder with us at the market since people were all over us trying to sell us things, but he was able to get them to go away!

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

highly recommended tour for first time in Delhi, it was comfortable private tour, pick up from my hotel, showed up before the time, with tour manager please do ask for Sabyasachi Blessed he is really good, know where to take you, and do the tour which suite your time. even if you asked him for places for shopping he will take you take to special shops. the tour was what im looking forward to see in Delhi in one day between old and new Delhi, and if you wish for more and you have time, its the tour you need

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

i highly recommended this tour especially if you first time in india and wanna see taj mahal, ask for raza he is the driver came to my hotel and drop me off after, he so nice guy, know all areas around Dlhi and agra especially for shopping and he do speak english/ hindi and arabic as well very well

Doing what: Private Tour: Agra and the Taj Mahal Day Trip from Delhi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

We were a group of 9 friends who took this activity and it was a great experience which we would thoroughly recommend. The evening was a fabulous insight into one family's home life in Delhi. Great food and great hospitality.

Doing what: Delhi Cultural Experience: Cook and Eat with a Local Family

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Jaipur fantastic, guide and driver excellent. Hotel was "unusual" but quite acceptable.

Doing what: 2-Day Private Tour of Jaipur from Delhi: City Palace, Hawa Mahal, Amber Fort and Elephant Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Reservations over the choice of hotel yet everything else was SUPERB The driver was very friendly and the tour guide (compared to others I have been with) was friendly too, knowledgeable, and very professional.

Doing what: 2-Day Private Tour of Jaipur from Delhi: City Palace, Hawa Mahal, Amber Fort and Elephant Ride

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message