Sprawling and kinetic, this busy, growing megacity of some 23 million people is the ancient capital of one of the fastest rising world powers. Delhi - New and Old - offers India in a microcosm. It is a megalopolis imbued with the wisdom and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 171 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Highlight of our India Tour ! We absolutely ask that anyone visiting New Delhi and Agra Taj Mahal not overlook the amazing sights of Jaipur !!! You cant leave india without an elephant ride up to see the Amber Fort ! We decided on the 2 day option so we would not be rushed and this was a very good choice - Viator enlisted the services for our tour company and they were excellent ! We had Mr Sanjay as our guide and Nr Narender as our driver- they were with us every step of the way. We had our choice of hotels in Jaipur and we chose a Taj property the Taj Mahal Palace - wonderful palatial property. We had a detailed city tour and an in depth tour of the City Palace and Hawa Mahal. Mr Sanjay was extremely knowledgeable , affable and on top of that a great photographer ! he knew all the right angles and picture opportunities. Lunch and dinner were included and were at tripadvisor recommended restaurants which was perfect. The Amber Fort visit and elephant ride takes a whole half day to do it justice and our tour went at our own pace- There was plenty of opportunity to visit any arts and craft shops and the company was completely open to our decisions. We elected not to visit any shops as we had already done our shopping and this was respected by Mr Sanjay - he was open to any suggestions we had on what to see and kept reinforcing the company motto that he was there to make this a memorable visit for us. The drive to delhi takes at least 4-5 hours depending on the time of day but the car was very comfortable and air conditioned and Mr Narender stopped along the way as we needed for food and rest stops.
We did Agra in one day from Dehli but this trip to Jaipur definitely needs the 2 day option - I highly recommend the tour company and this Viator tour -

Doing what: 2-Day Private Tour of Jaipur from Delhi: City Palace, Hawa Mahal, Amber Fort and Elephant Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

See it all in one day ! After this tour we felt like we had thoroughly done it all in New Delhi ! We want to thank Tushar Patiyal from the tour company for a truly excellent experience ! This was the company that Viator commissioned for this tour and we could not have been more pleased. Before we arrived I emailed Tushar and he was always prompt and informative with his replies. We had a clean air conditioned car and a skilled friendly driver - The company uses official licensed Indian guides at each site such as the Red Fort and Qutub Minar. These guides are paid for already and were very knowledgeable and experts in their area. We took a bike ride through the main market and a walking tour of Old Delhi. So interesting ! It is a long day but completely satisfying. We had wanted to see the Lotus temple which is not on the itinerary so when the tour was over at around 4:30 pm the guide had the driver take us to the temple and wait for us as we walked around - The driver was more than courteous and patient with us. We did not want to visit any major craft shops and they respected our decision. The entire day can be arranged per your individual needs and we were never rushed or felt like we were on a timetable - Lunch was not included so we treated our driver and guide at an inexpensive fast food place and it was a lot of fun. We can not under emphasize the professionalism and respect with which we were treated. It was a pleasant and informative day and we saw all the major sites. We highly recommend this tour and especially the tour company.

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The Taj Mahal ! There is nothing else to say ! This is the moment we looked forward to and it is everything you have imagined - Stunning, inspiring and the memories of a lifetime- Viator used a tour company for our tour and they did an excellent job - however please read about the Kachhpura option below to see if this specific tour is for you -
We were picked up at 5 am because our trip to Agra was by way of the direct train that leaves at 6 am and takes 2.5 hours. This is a great option as compared to driving - you get a reserved seat and its a comfortable ride all the way there - they serve some snacks on board but we brought food from the hotel. We were met at the train station and off we went for the tour. Nothing can compare to the WOW factor of the Taj Mahal - Our guide Sanjay has a History degree and was a fountain of information - extremely professional and friendly - he clearly is an expert in his field and his explanations were very clear and interesting. We bought the photo package at the Taj Mahal - for about 100 US we had personal photographer take 60 photos of us that were developed, printed and put in an album before we left - he posed us and got us the most incredible memories. Most importantly you get the jpg images on a computer disc so you can make your own prints and load them to your computer that night ! this was well worth it for a trip of a lifetime - we spent plenty of time at the Taj Lunch was included and was a buffet at a 5 star hotel in Agra and was delicious. We went to the Agra Fort and had an extensive tour of the palace and also toured the mini Taj - Now the Kachhpura Village is an interesting option - it is billed as a Mughal heritage walking tour but in reality it has a little bit of Mughal relics but more importantly it is a walk into a typical rural village - its not easy to see the way of life and poverty but the people are friendly and their spirit is inspiring. We were glad we did it - Ask for Sanjay !

Doing what: Private Agra Day Tour: Taj Mahal, Agra Fort and Kachhpura Village

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

My tour morning started in a panic. As instructed, I printed out my itinerary to find in big print 'MUST CALL WITHIN 24 HOURS TO CONFIRM OR YOUR TOUR WILL BE CANCELED'. Oops...I forgot to do that. Luckily, my driver still arrived. My tour was during India's heat wave and I was happy to see that the car was modern with good AC. The driver was courteous, pointed out things along the way, and made friendly conversation along the way. The drive was about 3.5 hours in which 80 was on a fast moving toll-road. There were plenty of optional clean restroom stops if needed along the way. Driving through Agra was especially interesting. Cattle in the streets, monkeys on rooftops, etc. I was dropped off at Costa Coffee where I met my tour guide. He explained the details of the day, such as what was included and what was not and also gave advise on dealing with beggars that we would encounter on the way there ignore them, basically. He added that I was only allowed to bring with me a wallet, camera, and cell phone, nothing else including water. We got back in the car and were dropped off at the gate where we then walked the 1km to the Taj there are electric carts available for 100 rupees 1.50 US per person if desired. He provided a bottle of water for me to quickly drink and then we skipped the line into the Taj Mahal grounds. He gave a great tour and knew all the great photo opportunities. After the tour we took an electric cart to the Fort have 100 rupees per person ready. He then gave the in depth tour of the Fort. In all, both tours took about 1.5 hours. We got back in the car to Costa where we had a cold beverage you pay for this and it is common courtesy to treat the guide and driver. I was then given the option to go to a souvenir shop or restaurant that they recommend. Thankfully, they were not pushy about this when I declined. I tipped the guide 1000 rupees/15 USD and we proceeded back to Delhi. I tipped the driver 1500 rupees 23 USD.

Doing what: Private Tour: Agra and the Taj Mahal Day Trip from Delhi

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

I would not take the train if you are at all squeamish about dirty surfaces. I would suggest luxury bus instead. Our guide in Agra was terrific, very knowledgeable. The Taj Mahal was incredible - not too be missed.

Doing what: Private Agra Day Tour: Taj Mahal, Agra Fort and Kachhpura Village

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

Tour was wonderful however the transportation and schemes used to lure customers into a side jewelry shop were not entertaining at all. The Taj was magnificent in spite of the slight of hand and dishonesty with the driver and in particular his associates at the jewelry location. There were simply not nice people.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Private Taj Mahal and Agra Fort Tour, Dine with a View and Optional Photographer

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

My experience was a positive one but time was limited. In addition, the location changed at the last moment as well creating concerns as to the outcome.

Doing what: New Delhi Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Really fun to be able to go into someone's home and experience real Delhi

Doing what: Experience Delhi: Private Cooking Class in Local Home

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

What a wonderful day we spent looking at the sights of old and new Dehli. Our guide for the day was Sonny and a most creditable that we could have had. As the American President was about to come to Dehli some of the places we were to visit were a little difficult so Sonny consulted with us and suggested that perhaps that we might like to visit the house where Gandhi was assinated a most aw inspiring experience that I have had. Hopefully we will be able to get back to Dehli next time we visit India and we will certainly use Viator again

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was spectacular! It was just me and my husband....and the tour guide who was great. The Taj is breathtaking and we really enjoyed the rooftop lunch overlooking Agra. I would recommend this tour to everyone!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Private Taj Mahal and Agra Fort Tour, Dine with a View and Optional Photographer

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The guide was excellent ad the driver very skilful. The hotel was not good as the promised three separate beds were not provided and the dining room did not know that the food was already paid.

Doing what: 2-Day Private Tour of Jaipur from Delhi: City Palace, Hawa Mahal, Amber Fort and Elephant Ride

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

I gave this worth doing because Jaipur itself is amazing, a nice relief from Delhi, and one of the best places in India - really a 5 star place. However, the tour guide was awful - not really interested in being a tour guide. He left me on my own for 2 of the stops on the tour, so I had no information about the places, and could not really communicate with the non-english-speaking people working in those places. Two days is enough - I took the 3 day tour, and it was relaxing, but overly so.

The driver was great, and thankfully skillful - the drive from Delhi is long and hazardous. He stopped at a rest stop going and coming, which was a good thing.

Doing what: 3-Day Private Tour of Jaipur from Delhi: City Palace, Jantar Mantar, Amber Fort and Elephant Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The driver was late by 1 hr but compensated by doing a good job. The english speaking guide Mr. Khurram was neatly dressed, spoke good english and was very professional. He showed photo spots and helped capture some moments.

Doing what: Private Tour: Agra and the Taj Mahal Day Trip from Delhi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our tour guide was well informed and walked us through the remarkable construction of this world landmark. The visit to the Taj Mahal was the centerpiece of our family trip to India, and we will long remember it as an amazing illustration of this unique country's culture and history.

Doing what: Private Tour: Agra and the Taj Mahal Day Trip from Delhi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Excellent tour!
Value for money.
We were well looked after. Timely transfer from hotel to the railway station, met by the local tour representative Sita Travels. good and comfortable train journey to Amritsar. Met by the representative on the other side and transferred to the hotel . Good guide service for the tour and then timely return back to train and to the hotel even though the train reached quite late 11 pm back to Delhi
Thoroughly recommend

Doing what: 2-Day Amritsar and Golden Temple Tour From Delhi

Alexander D
United States of ... 

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2015

Did not see much because the guide said most stores were closed (especially the spice stores which I wanted to see). The site seeing was no longer than two hours, including a quick cheep dinner.

Doing what: Delhi by Night: Chandni Chowk Tour with Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Really showed us the sites well and did a great job taking pictures. Great tour!

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Delhi in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great tour, amazing photographer, and large lunch!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Private Taj Mahal and Agra Fort Tour, Dine with a View and Optional Photographer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Our tour guide Rinkoo was amazing. He was very enthusiastic and his tours and history lectures were very easy to understand. He is highly recommended and this tour was phenomenal!

Doing what: 2-Day Private Tour of Jaipur from Delhi: City Palace, Hawa Mahal, Amber Fort and Elephant Ride

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
February 2015

This tour was really disappointing!!!! If not for the really nice car driver, we would have given no star at all.

The car driver picked us up on time and brought us to Dubai. Unfortunately we could not explore much
on this day, since it was really foggy however, the car driver pointed us out all sightseeing points we passed.
In Dubai we got to meet the tour guide, which was actually just a disappointment.
He was always hanging around on his mobile phone. When we got to the mosque e.g., he led us to the
entrance and meant, we can meet up outside again in 15min. When we asked background or historical
questions, he could almost answer none, showing also a clear disinterest in continueing this talking.
When we mentioned we want to buy some saree dresses and he shall bring us for a market an Indian friend
recommended us, he explained he knows another good place with reasonable prices.
In the end it was a toursim catcher store with prices, even after paying 50% of the original price, we paid
at least 200% too much. We realised this clearly after finally making him guide us for the recommended place, where same sarees costed the same price already without bargaining... it made us really angry
and frustrated. The spices store on the market was also such a toursim catcher...
In the end we were just annoyed and wanted this tour to end as fast as possible.
If not for the driver, who gave us some good tips on the way back where to go on the next days, and were
some other nice shopping places were located, we really would give no star at all.

In the end we would really have prefered having only the driver alone, who was really nice and supportive.
Anything else about this tour was just a real disappointment.
So if you wanna get this tour, make sure to not get this young guide (unfortunately we do not remember
his name anymore). Sorry for the driver! Maybe you can book him alone, would be def. a better guide!

Doing what: Private Custom Tour: Delhi in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Great trip, tour guides spoke perfect English and were very adept at handling some of the difficult cultural obstacles. I will book with Viator again.

Doing what: Private Agra Day Tour: Taj Mahal, Agra Fort and Kachhpura Village

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

While I really enjoyed visiting Ranthambore National Park, I'm only giving this trip 3 stars due to the misleading information from the tour operator. I'm not sure why the trip is labeled as a "Private" tour since nothing about it was private other than the 5 minute transfers from the hotels to train station and back. The overnight train was in a compartment shared with 3 others, and the jeep safaris were also shared with 4 other random people from different hotels. The tour operator also provided the wrong train departure time, and due to this mistake, we arrived at the station 5 minutes after the departure time, but luckily the train had not yet left. The communication after almost missing the train, and going on a shared safari was also incredibly frustrating as the representative was giving excuses for everything, and not taking any responsibility for his mistakes.

However, Ranthambore National Park is stunningly beautiful. We did not actually see any tigers, but saw lots of deer, monkeys, peacocks, and other animals, and the jeep ride itself was fun. I would highly recommend doing tiger safaris at Ranthambore.

Doing what: 2-Night Private Ranthambore National Park and Wildlife Tour from Delhi

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

The tour guide in Agra primary interest was in getting me to purchase high-end products from the vendors she chose. Our visit to the Taj was very brief due to the way she scheduled the day. She was very insistent that I purchase more photos than I had agreed to and expected me to select my choose of photos in the dark.

Doing what: 2-Day Private Tour of Agra including Taj Mahal, Fatehpur Sikri and Agra Fort from Delhi

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message