Sprawling and kinetic, this busy, growing megacity of some 23 million people is the ancient capital of one of the fastest rising world powers. Delhi - New and Old - offers India in a microcosm. It is a megalopolis imbued with the wisdom and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 182 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

What a great trip. Suiki Spelling? was a brilliant guide. Took us to interesting places and explained everything really well. We experienced street food the most amazing sticky dessert and then had lunch in a little side street café where we were the only Europeans. Topped off our lunch with street chai tea. We went to the Sikh temple and helped make chapattis for lunch. I am not sure our skill level was up to standard but they were still cooked with the others! Finished our trip with a rickshaw ride and a walk back to our hotel. All in all a fantastic time and an excellent guide. Fully recommend this trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I enjoyed this trip from the moment I left my hotel. It was my first experience with the Indian railway, so the guide helped me all the way to my seat on the train before leaving. The guides I had one in Delhi and one in Ranthambore were very helpful, they checked in on me and made sure I was enjoying the trip.
On the actual safari, we did not see any tigers, but we did see a leopard, which is apparently quite rare. In addition to the leopard we saw monkeys, peacocks, lizards, crocodiles, many species of birds, and deer. The jeep rides were fun and the scenery was beautiful. I went the last weekend they were open before monsoon, so there was a lot of greenery from rain a few days prior.
There is nothing to do in Ranthambhore other than the safari, so between the morning and afternoon trips 10am-3pm, there was nothing to do. I sat by the pool for a little, but it was very hot. I have a hard time sitting still, so I would have appreciated a mid day excursion.
The hotel was average. The food was good, my room was cool, the bed was comfortable firm and the staff were polite but the bathroom was a little gross, and the pool was murky.
Overall, I recommend this trip if you are not very familiar or comfortable traveling India or do not want to do all the planning yourself. Otherwise, you could plan the trip yourself and save a lot of money.

Doing what: 2-Night Private Ranthambore National Park and Wildlife Tour from Delhi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great day to explore the city both old and new in a short time period! The tour guide Konica was very knowledgeable and flexible to my needs - and the guides deployed at some of the sights were fantastic.

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

An excellent day tour where I saw the many sights of this lovely city. The tour guide was excellent - very knowledgeable about the city and very accommodating. A thoroughly enjoyable day.

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

For those visiting India, Taj Mahal is a must see, and this day tour was a great way to see it. The Express train was definitely a great option for traveling to Agra - and the tour operator made it very easy to navigate both in Delhi and in Agra, even for a solo traveler. Agra provided for many sights beyond the Taj - and the tour guide was very knowledgeable about each site. Kachhpura Village was a great add to get the local flavor. Only caution - be prepared to be shown final products for sale when visiting the cottage industries to see how certain crafts are done...

Doing what: Private Agra Day Tour: Taj Mahal, Agra Fort and Kachhpura Village

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great tour would recommend highly!!!
The tour guides were excellent, very knowledgeable and great to spend time with. They made us feel very welcome and ensured all our needs were met throughout our time there. Would 100 recommend to anyone and without hesitation would use the tour company again!

Doing what: 2-Day Amritsar and Golden Temple Tour From Delhi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We recommend this tour without any hesitation! The driver is a nice young man, who is always on time and drive safely. The tour guide is also very nice and professional. Thanks to them, we had a great time in Delhi/Agra/Taj Mahal!

Doing what: Private Tour: Agra and the Taj Mahal Day Trip from Delhi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A wonderful experience and the best way to see Old Delhi. Perfect for solo travellers, couples or groups wanting to see 'the real' side of Old Delhi and lots of hidden treasures! The guides are fantastically informative and very helpful, great value for money.

Doing what: Old Delhi Group Tour by Rickshaws

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This was well worth the money spent and I'd recommend it to anyone who has an interest in cooking. This would also be a nice experience for a couple on a date. The cooking instructor will let you get involved as much as you like or, if you prefer will let you watch her do all the work as you take notes. This was a very nice experience.

Doing what: New Delhi Cooking Class

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

This was a great way to get to see Jaipur if you're spending time in Delhi. The drive is a bit long approximately 5 hours each way but certainly worth the trip once you get to Jaipur. The highlight is the elephant ride up to Amer Fort. The guide and driver were very accommodating and wanted to make sure we had a pleasant experience. The hotel staff was also excellent. It was worth the money spent.

Doing what: 3-Day Private Tour of Jaipur from Delhi: City Palace, Jantar Mantar, Amber Fort and Elephant Ride

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

We were given invalid tickets for the train both ways -a very embarrassing situation for us where it appeared that we were trying to commit fraud. We had noticed problems on tickets, but the staff members from the operator were not honest with us. Still waiting on a response from Viator.

Doing what: 2-Night Private Ranthambore National Park and Wildlife Tour from Delhi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Highlight of our India Tour ! We absolutely ask that anyone visiting New Delhi and Agra Taj Mahal not overlook the amazing sights of Jaipur !!! You cant leave india without an elephant ride up to see the Amber Fort ! We decided on the 2 day option so we would not be rushed and this was a very good choice - Viator enlisted the services for our tour company and they were excellent ! We had Mr Sanjay as our guide and Nr Narender as our driver- they were with us every step of the way. We had our choice of hotels in Jaipur and we chose a Taj property the Taj Mahal Palace - wonderful palatial property. We had a detailed city tour and an in depth tour of the City Palace and Hawa Mahal. Mr Sanjay was extremely knowledgeable , affable and on top of that a great photographer ! he knew all the right angles and picture opportunities. Lunch and dinner were included and were at tripadvisor recommended restaurants which was perfect. The Amber Fort visit and elephant ride takes a whole half day to do it justice and our tour went at our own pace- There was plenty of opportunity to visit any arts and craft shops and the company was completely open to our decisions. We elected not to visit any shops as we had already done our shopping and this was respected by Mr Sanjay - he was open to any suggestions we had on what to see and kept reinforcing the company motto that he was there to make this a memorable visit for us. The drive to delhi takes at least 4-5 hours depending on the time of day but the car was very comfortable and air conditioned and Mr Narender stopped along the way as we needed for food and rest stops.
We did Agra in one day from Dehli but this trip to Jaipur definitely needs the 2 day option - I highly recommend the tour company and this Viator tour -

Doing what: 2-Day Private Tour of Jaipur from Delhi: City Palace, Hawa Mahal, Amber Fort and Elephant Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

See it all in one day ! After this tour we felt like we had thoroughly done it all in New Delhi ! We want to thank Tushar Patiyal from the tour company for a truly excellent experience ! This was the company that Viator commissioned for this tour and we could not have been more pleased. Before we arrived I emailed Tushar and he was always prompt and informative with his replies. We had a clean air conditioned car and a skilled friendly driver - The company uses official licensed Indian guides at each site such as the Red Fort and Qutub Minar. These guides are paid for already and were very knowledgeable and experts in their area. We took a bike ride through the main market and a walking tour of Old Delhi. So interesting ! It is a long day but completely satisfying. We had wanted to see the Lotus temple which is not on the itinerary so when the tour was over at around 4:30 pm the guide had the driver take us to the temple and wait for us as we walked around - The driver was more than courteous and patient with us. We did not want to visit any major craft shops and they respected our decision. The entire day can be arranged per your individual needs and we were never rushed or felt like we were on a timetable - Lunch was not included so we treated our driver and guide at an inexpensive fast food place and it was a lot of fun. We can not under emphasize the professionalism and respect with which we were treated. It was a pleasant and informative day and we saw all the major sites. We highly recommend this tour and especially the tour company.

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The Taj Mahal ! There is nothing else to say ! This is the moment we looked forward to and it is everything you have imagined - Stunning, inspiring and the memories of a lifetime- Viator used a tour company for our tour and they did an excellent job - however please read about the Kachhpura option below to see if this specific tour is for you -
We were picked up at 5 am because our trip to Agra was by way of the direct train that leaves at 6 am and takes 2.5 hours. This is a great option as compared to driving - you get a reserved seat and its a comfortable ride all the way there - they serve some snacks on board but we brought food from the hotel. We were met at the train station and off we went for the tour. Nothing can compare to the WOW factor of the Taj Mahal - Our guide Sanjay has a History degree and was a fountain of information - extremely professional and friendly - he clearly is an expert in his field and his explanations were very clear and interesting. We bought the photo package at the Taj Mahal - for about 100 US we had personal photographer take 60 photos of us that were developed, printed and put in an album before we left - he posed us and got us the most incredible memories. Most importantly you get the jpg images on a computer disc so you can make your own prints and load them to your computer that night ! this was well worth it for a trip of a lifetime - we spent plenty of time at the Taj Lunch was included and was a buffet at a 5 star hotel in Agra and was delicious. We went to the Agra Fort and had an extensive tour of the palace and also toured the mini Taj - Now the Kachhpura Village is an interesting option - it is billed as a Mughal heritage walking tour but in reality it has a little bit of Mughal relics but more importantly it is a walk into a typical rural village - its not easy to see the way of life and poverty but the people are friendly and their spirit is inspiring. We were glad we did it - Ask for Sanjay !

Doing what: Private Agra Day Tour: Taj Mahal, Agra Fort and Kachhpura Village

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

My tour morning started in a panic. As instructed, I printed out my itinerary to find in big print 'MUST CALL WITHIN 24 HOURS TO CONFIRM OR YOUR TOUR WILL BE CANCELED'. Oops...I forgot to do that. Luckily, my driver still arrived. My tour was during India's heat wave and I was happy to see that the car was modern with good AC. The driver was courteous, pointed out things along the way, and made friendly conversation along the way. The drive was about 3.5 hours in which 80 was on a fast moving toll-road. There were plenty of optional clean restroom stops if needed along the way. Driving through Agra was especially interesting. Cattle in the streets, monkeys on rooftops, etc. I was dropped off at Costa Coffee where I met my tour guide. He explained the details of the day, such as what was included and what was not and also gave advise on dealing with beggars that we would encounter on the way there ignore them, basically. He added that I was only allowed to bring with me a wallet, camera, and cell phone, nothing else including water. We got back in the car and were dropped off at the gate where we then walked the 1km to the Taj there are electric carts available for 100 rupees 1.50 US per person if desired. He provided a bottle of water for me to quickly drink and then we skipped the line into the Taj Mahal grounds. He gave a great tour and knew all the great photo opportunities. After the tour we took an electric cart to the Fort have 100 rupees per person ready. He then gave the in depth tour of the Fort. In all, both tours took about 1.5 hours. We got back in the car to Costa where we had a cold beverage you pay for this and it is common courtesy to treat the guide and driver. I was then given the option to go to a souvenir shop or restaurant that they recommend. Thankfully, they were not pushy about this when I declined. I tipped the guide 1000 rupees/15 USD and we proceeded back to Delhi. I tipped the driver 1500 rupees 23 USD.

Doing what: Private Tour: Agra and the Taj Mahal Day Trip from Delhi

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

I would not take the train if you are at all squeamish about dirty surfaces. I would suggest luxury bus instead. Our guide in Agra was terrific, very knowledgeable. The Taj Mahal was incredible - not too be missed.

Doing what: Private Agra Day Tour: Taj Mahal, Agra Fort and Kachhpura Village

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2015

My experience was a positive one but time was limited. In addition, the location changed at the last moment as well creating concerns as to the outcome.

Doing what: New Delhi Cooking Class

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Really fun to be able to go into someone's home and experience real Delhi

Doing what: Experience Delhi: Private Cooking Class in Local Home

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

What a wonderful day we spent looking at the sights of old and new Dehli. Our guide for the day was Sonny and a most creditable that we could have had. As the American President was about to come to Dehli some of the places we were to visit were a little difficult so Sonny consulted with us and suggested that perhaps that we might like to visit the house where Gandhi was assinated a most aw inspiring experience that I have had. Hopefully we will be able to get back to Dehli next time we visit India and we will certainly use Viator again

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour was spectacular! It was just me and my husband....and the tour guide who was great. The Taj is breathtaking and we really enjoyed the rooftop lunch overlooking Agra. I would recommend this tour to everyone!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: Private Taj Mahal and Agra Fort Tour, Dine with a View and Optional Photographer

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

The guide was excellent ad the driver very skilful. The hotel was not good as the promised three separate beds were not provided and the dining room did not know that the food was already paid.

Doing what: 2-Day Private Tour of Jaipur from Delhi: City Palace, Hawa Mahal, Amber Fort and Elephant Ride

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2015

I gave this worth doing because Jaipur itself is amazing, a nice relief from Delhi, and one of the best places in India - really a 5 star place. However, the tour guide was awful - not really interested in being a tour guide. He left me on my own for 2 of the stops on the tour, so I had no information about the places, and could not really communicate with the non-english-speaking people working in those places. Two days is enough - I took the 3 day tour, and it was relaxing, but overly so.

The driver was great, and thankfully skillful - the drive from Delhi is long and hazardous. He stopped at a rest stop going and coming, which was a good thing.

Doing what: 3-Day Private Tour of Jaipur from Delhi: City Palace, Jantar Mantar, Amber Fort and Elephant Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The driver was late by 1 hr but compensated by doing a good job. The english speaking guide Mr. Khurram was neatly dressed, spoke good english and was very professional. He showed photo spots and helped capture some moments.

Doing what: Private Tour: Agra and the Taj Mahal Day Trip from Delhi

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message