Of all the Wonders of the World, only one is a monument to romantic love: the Taj Mahal. Poetry written in marble spires by the heartbroken Shah Jahan, the monument's graceful white domes arc over the tomb of his wife and mother of his 14 children, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 133 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

It was a wonderful trip to Agra. The driver and tour guide were very helpful for the trip.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

It was a really amazing tour! My guide was very knowledgeable and always explained the reason of architectonic features. This is much more interesting than just listening to historic facts as it is often the case in similar tours. He knows great photo spots and is not tired to try again and again until you have that perfect photo.
The only downside was the visit to an art store at the end of the tour. Even tough I pointed out several times to the shopkeeper that I am not interested in buying anything, he gave me a guilty feeling and my guide didn't help me to get out of there.
Altogether I can recommend the tour and would book it again.

Doing what: Private Tour: Agra and the Taj Mahal Day Trip from Delhi

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

The trip was overall splendid. Driver was punctual, car was clean, guide very friendly and knowledgeable.
Driver was Asif/Anil and my guide was Shayam. Both very professional and friendly. Impressive.......

A couple of small points other travellers might have pointed out: 1)the tour ends with a trip to a marble/artifact and a hand woven tapestries workshops, the sellers are very very pushy and persistent. Tourists are not obliged to entertain them, although the guide offers these shops as harmless optional choices, listening for a solid 30 minutes of hard selling is over the line, especially after two hours in the sun. 2) Lastly, Agraa is poor on infrastructure and services,(little or no shade in ques, resting spots, convenience stores,etc) so advising the travellers to bring ample sunblock, umbrellas, hats, some water or snacks could have been welcomed.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Overall the tour went very well. Lodging was very comfortable and restaurants selected at the Hotels in Agra were very nice and food was good. Tour guide for Fort Agra and Taj Mahal was exceptional. I was Very displeased with tour of Fatehpur city. Tour guide was rude and made me feel very uncomfortable with his anti-American attitude. Felt we were rushed through the tour with little explaination. Then taken to his "family's" store to purchase their items and we we didnt want to spend an additional $100 US on souvineers he stood up, ripped the curtain open and stomped out of the room saying nothiing to us. I would highly not recommend to anyone to visit this city.

Doing what: 2-Day Private Tour of Agra including Taj Mahal, Fatehpur Sikri and Agra Fort from Delhi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was well organized and thorough; it was amazing how many things were packed into one day of sight-seeing! The driver was prompt and spoke good English, and the tour guide was very knowledgeable and spoke excellent English. The lunch was especially delicious, and I would definitely recommend the restaurant to others.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Excellent safe driver always on time, awesome guides that enriched our understanding as we toured, nice hotels with friendly staff. We had a great time and think this is the way to go for a great Golden Triangle experience.

Doing what: Private Tour: 4-Day Golden Triangle Trip to Agra and Jaipur from Delhi

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Tour met expectations for the most part and is worth doing - with some caveats and room for improvement - we were picked up at Marriott Aerocity Delhi, driven to Agra, and saw TaJ Mahal and Agra Fort that afternoon, Fatehpur Sikri the next morning. A couple issues (minor) - driver was late for pickup; local tour concessionaire in Agra was ill-informed (he did not "know" we were completely prepaid and asked how we would pay for the hotel and the admission fees to each place); the Radisson in Agra was not up to the "5-star" rating they self proclaimed (food there was marginal at best). But perhaps worst was the "obligatory" stop at the "Marble Factory" in Agra for a "demonstration" of the local marble handicraft, and then excess pressure to buy some marble at prices that were exhorbitant even after negotiations . That side-trip should be completely optional and when told No Thank You the tour shouldn't stop there. The car ride to and from Agra is very very long, and the return through Delhi traffic can seem interminable - but it beats fighting the crowds on the trains and was perfectly safe.

Doing what: 2-Day Private Tour of Agra including Taj Mahal, Fatehpur Sikri and Agra Fort from Delhi

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Great tour. Smooth pickup and drive from Delhi to Agra. Great tour guide and information.

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Very good tour. The guide was very attentive and informative. The driver was careful and drove safely the whole time, however his english was limited. Tha Agra guide was very knowledgeable and a good communicator and as other guides, he also knew where to take the best pictures of you. Sometimes I felt that we're in a rush, I'd have spent more time at the spots and not in the famous marble shop (and in the gemstone/jewellery stiches shop) where they want to sell you everything, of coursed overprized (at least it felt so). It's nice to see how they make these wonderful handcraft designs but I'd rather have skipped the pushy sales part, and it doesn't belong into the profile of Viator either (or that was my experience on other tours operated by them).

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

This was my second tour to the Taj Mahal, so I thought I knew what to expect. The driver was on time, but we were 15 minutes late departing because the hotel Concierge told us to wait inside the lobby while the driver was told to wait outside - not his fault - just a communication problem. The vehicle was in poor condition. The windshield had a crack that spanned the entire windshield, the left side view mirror was damaged / useless. We tried to fasten our seatbelts and were told "no seatbelts for the back seat - you'll be OK"... we only had one day to make the trip - refusing this driver and car could have jeopardized our trip.

The driver spoke very little English - which is OK because he wasn't the tour guide. We made the trip much faster than my previous trip as there is now an expressway all the way to Agra and almost all the way to the Taj Mahal... it was at least 90 minutes faster via the expressway. We met our guide and proceeded to tour the Taj Mahal and Agra Fort. Our guide was very knowledgeable and very accommodating with helping to take pictures for us, etc.

We were asked if we would be willing to visit a crafts museum where craftsman whose ancestors carved the Taj Mahal would demonstrate their skills - I said no - I'd been through that the last time - it's a tourist trap / gift shop with disinterested craftsman that wake up and pretend to carve and shape inlaid stone... if you pay enough attention - it's obviously a staged demo that ultimately leads to the showroom. It's nice stuff if you're into it - the second showroom is where you can pick up gifts for friends and family - prices are negotiable. Overall another good visit to Agra that would have gotten 4 stars if it weren't for the missing seat belts.

Doing what: Private Tour: Agra and the Taj Mahal Day Trip from Delhi

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This is the best way to see Agra and the Taj Mahal. My guide was brilliant, I learnt so much, when he told me the love story of the Taj I was nearly in tears, I could have caught the train from Delhi and tried to do this on my own, but I would have missed so much. I think if you ar going to see the heart of India then you need to do it properly, I highly recommend this trip

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Viator arranged for an amazing driver (Raza) who made me feel safe throughout the trip, which is important for a woman traveling alone. Raza and the the tour guides for Agra (Mehran) and Jaipur (Kahil) shared a lot about the Indian culture and their own lives, which made the trip more personal and insightful. The hotel in Jaipur was relaxing and had a tasty restaurant in the garden. The hotel in Agra was ok, but the bathroom could use updating. I would recommend this trip to anyone wanting to experience India with a helping hand :)

Doing what: Private Tour: 4-Day Golden Triangle Trip to Agra and Jaipur from Delhi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

What a trip! Before leaving the UK I was initially worried as we hadn't been able to reconfirm our booking (it transpired that the e-mail address given to us at the time of booking, some months in advance, had changed) however, I need not have been concerned. The driver arrived at our hotel promptly and we were well looked after by the guides (which change each day) and the driver (who remains constant throughout the three days). The car provided was roomy and air conditioned and the conversation on the long drives relaxed and informative.

The Agra hotel we were allocated was a five star (Jaypee Palace); very opulent and impressive. The food in the hotel was buffet style and some of it was tepid or cold. The hotel in Jaipur (Devraj Niswas) was a 3 star and very different. Our initial reactions from the outside were a few raised eyebrows, however, the bungalow style rooms were well apportioned and the food we had was some of the best in India (far better than the offerings in the 5 star hotels we had stayed in).

When one of us encountered the dreaded 'tummy' the driver and guide were very flexible in trying to accommodate and re-arrange timings to ensure we got the most out of our visit.

One minor niggle was that we got taken to a carpet showroom under the guise of seeing some traditional local craft (we later found out that this should not have happened, the tour operator went out of their way to ensure that this was dealt with to our satisfaction).

All in all, this visit exceeded our expectations.

Doing what: Private Tour: 4-Day Golden Triangle Trip to Agra and Jaipur from Delhi

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

My sister and I had an amazing time in India! The driver (Sharwan) was very kind and helpful throughout the entire trip, he is an excellent driver, and even took us to the drugstore when my sister was feeling sick! The first tour guide we had in Agra (Mehran) was very nice, when he took us to the Taj Mahal, showed us some great spots to take pictures, and his tour was very detailed and organized! The tour guide in Jaipur (which I don´t even remember the name of) was pushing us to buy the pictures from the guys when we rode the elephants, he told us that if we didn´t buy the pictures, the guys would get mad at him! Luckly, we had already bought the pictures we wanted, but we felt a little threatened and obligated to buy the pictures! At the end, when we gave him his tip, he looked at the money we gave him and had a very disappointed look on his face as if he expected more, but we didn´t really feel he deserved more tip….and at any point..it is OUR choice if we tip or not! The organizer of the tour (Tushar) was extremely helpful too! He was constantly in touch with us throughout our stay in India asking us how it was going!

The hotel in Agra (Raj Mahal) was stinky =/ there was no wifi in the hotel (and we were told we were going to have) and the toilet water smelled like drainage water…gross! luckily we only stayed there one night! The hotel in Jai Pur was really nice!!! very clean and great service!

The only negative thing about this trip was that everyone EVEYWHERE expected a tip for EVERYTHING!!!! even when you looked at someone..they expected money! On day, at a restaurant…a lady opened the bathroom door for me (which I found weird) and when I came out, she had her hand out waiting for money!!! Once you are being asked for money every 30 minutes by someone…its ANNOYING! perhaps tour guides should help tourists with this and keep people away!

Overall, the tour was really nice and we really got to experience india!

Doing what: Private Tour: 4-Day Golden Triangle Trip to Agra and Jaipur from Delhi

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message