Much of the world’s tea comes from India, and as you walk the streets of New Delhi, you’ll quickly see why tea has become the national drink of choice. The distinct flavors of Indian tea, called chai, should not be missed during your travels. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 15 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The trip was amazing. We ended up having a private tour instead a group tour because we were the only ones who booked for those dates. Guides, driver and organizer were all really nice and helpful. The hotels were always clean and with big rooms. We visited amazing places with the tour. Thank you

Doing what: Private Tour: 4-Day Golden Triangle Trip to Agra and Jaipur from Delhi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We enjoyed the tour, all the guides and drivers were excellent. My suggestion is instead of the train trip at night when we could not see anything from the train. Stay somewhere perhaps Orcha and come back to Delhi by train on the friday through the day. This would not change your costing and would be more relaxed and your clients would enjoy the train trip much more.

Doing what: Private Tour: 5-Day Varanasi and Khajuraho from Delhi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I was a single woman traveler, it was my first visit to Delhi. This tour was a great introduction to the city's shopping alleys. I got to ride the subway, eat samosas from a food stall as well as eat at a popular local open air restaurant - so, go on this tour hungry. The Sikh Temple was great. The people very friendly. We stopped by the spice market and I purchased spices and tea. I had a really good time and most of all, I feel comfortable enough now to go again to Old Delhi by myself. And I didn't get Delhi Belly.

Doing what: Old Delhi Half Day Small Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Our excursion in Delhi has been one of the best experiences I’ve booked through Viator. If you, like me, do not believe in “bubble travel” where you go from the airport to a luxury hotel to an air-conditioned car, this is the activity for you. It doesn’t come more authentic than this!
Our guide Anupam fetched us at the hotel and from there the journey on the various transport modes in Delhi started. The metro is clean and orderly and in a better state than many European cities I’ve been to. Everywhere we went people offered smiles and curious looks. The tuc-tuc ride is also an experience through the hectic traffic and millions of people. We however felt perfectly safe in the capable hands of our guide and followed him like baby ducks.
We were greeted at Mumtaz’s home with flower garlands and a red dot on our foreheads to bade us welcome and we felt right at home in her delightful little blue kitchen. Ingredients were explained and then the cooking began. Everything we ate was a flavour explosion from the spicy chai tea to the golden dahl and the paneer curry. We each had a turn to try our hand at making chapattis and had a good giggle at our less than perfect efforts.
We ended off the evening with Mumtaz painting our hands with wonderful henna art. The people of India are hospitable, friendly and interested in diversity.
All in all a magical experience.

Doing what: Delhi Cultural Experience: Cook and Eat with a Local Family

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Lots of pluses about this tour. I can't think of a better way to immerse oneself in Old Delhi than to walk it. Having a guide made the walk informative, entertaining and safe. My wife and I were impressed with the guide and the driver - on time pick up at hotel and pleasant interactions throughout the day. Perhaps our only criticism would be the lunch which was in an all too touristy restaurant. With a guide it would have been a wonderful opportunity to venture into a place that catered to locals. Also it seems inevitable on any tour in India that we have experienced to be taken to a touristy store or two (in our case a tea shop and a rug store), even though we said at the outset that we had NO interest in shopping. But the drives to the shops was interesting and so not a total loss.

Doing what: Private Walking Tour: Old Delhi including Ancient Havelis and Chandni Chowk

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

We had a very good driver who was incredibly accommodating and made sure that we got to see everything that we wanted to see. Every tour guide in India took us to overpriced gift shops that we thought were part of the trip. While in Jaipur, when we figured out that the "Gem factory" was not highly regarded and walked out, he continuously insisted in finding out why we did not buy anything. While in Agra they took us to a "carpet factory" were we again felt very pressured to shop. We believe that our sightseeing was cut short by the guides to, instead, take us to obscure shopping areas. The exception to this was our second guide in Agra, where he steered us away from stores and guarded us against street vendors.

Doing what: Private Tour: 4-Day Golden Triangle Trip to Agra and Jaipur from Delhi

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

We loved our tour! The Wagah Border flag ceremony was very entertaining (although there was a recent suicide bomber attack on 11/2/14 that killed 60 people on the Pakistan side, I'm not too sure how safe it is any longer). The Golden Temple was beautiful...especially at night, and our guide was very kind and knowledgeable.

The only reason I'm giving this 4 stars instead of 5 is that there was some confusion about our return pick-up from the train station. Our train was delayed about 40 minutes, and we arrived back in Delhi around 11:45pm. Not sure what happened, but we waited about 15-20 minutes and nobody showed up, so we wound up getting a taxi. The company apologized for the mishap and made it up by sending a car to take us to dinner the next day, and also a ride to the airport.

All in all, the tour was great, and I would definitely recommend it!

Doing what: 2-Day Amritsar and Golden Temple Tour From Delhi

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

This is the best way to see Agra and the Taj Mahal. My guide was brilliant, I learnt so much, when he told me the love story of the Taj I was nearly in tears, I could have caught the train from Delhi and tried to do this on my own, but I would have missed so much. I think if you ar going to see the heart of India then you need to do it properly, I highly recommend this trip

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Tour was great liked the fact it was private, guide was friendly, spoke english well and provided us with info on all the sites. warning tour ends with visit to an imporium where you can purchase good quality goods i. tea carpets be prepared to bargain and stick to your guns if you don't want to buy

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Great Tour. Arrangement with Viator and support excellent. Private tour for 2 business guess became a tour with 2 other business peole in a larger car. Finally was great teaming with other.

Doing what: Private Tour: Agra, Taj Mahal and Fatehpur Sikri Day Trip from Delhi

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

Taj Mahal is worth seeing and this goal was achieved by the trip. We (2 people) went on a private tour assisted by the guide and the driver in a small, uncomfortable Tata car. The guide was friendly and answered all our questions. However, at the beginning of the tour, before leaving Delhi, he told us, that he and the driver are hungry and need breakfast. They stopped to eat, while we waited by the car. On the way back they stopped several times to either eat or to drink tea, while we waited. The program of the tour did not include such stops, but the guide explained, that food is very important for people in India. We found this annoying, especially on a private tour, where we expected a service tailored to our needs.

Doing what: Private Tour: Agra and the Taj Mahal Day Trip from Delhi

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

For a firt experience of India and Delhi it was a good way to hae an ovierview of the city. Yet, the guide finished his tour at 4pm instead of 6pm. In the morning the guide said that we will not have enough time to visit the red fort inside if we wanted to visit all the other monuments during the tour. At the end of the tour he refused to come back to red fort indicating tha it was too far away. He also insisted to bring me in a shop for tourists which was useless. The could have been much more interesting. Altogether the guide was not really concerned by his job.

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2012

Tour itenerary was good as far as seeing the highlights. Tour was in the hot part of the year and would have preferred to have seen it start earlier that 9am to avoid more of the heat. There are things in Delhi to see that do not require an admission so they could have been visited during early hours.
Guide was knowledgable but seemed more focused on getting done than what we would have expected. The heat played a part. The tour ended up 6 hours instead of the 8 as advertized.
What we did see was indeed interesting and would like to get back to see the balance.

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2011

The trip was okay once I took it. The company didn't understand where my hotel was, and instead of picking me up as agreed, told me to take the metro. If I could do that, I wouldn't need a guided tour! Finally they agreed to pick me up, but the driver came at the wrong time and couldn't speak English. But, I finally got there and had a nice tour. I had to pay for a taxi to get back to the hotel.

Doing what: Old Delhi Half Day Small Group Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2012

Tour started 1,5 hours late and lasted 3 hours (instead of promised approx. 5 hours) and consisted of 3 places of visit: Gandhi museum, Gandhi funeral place, and Gandhi house all of which can be entered free of charge in any case. It was cold on an open tuck-tuck in January morning in Delhi, and very uncomfortable with three people sitting in the back. Vianor promised an "airconditioned" vehicle, it sure was. I tried to cover my ears for not getting cold. The guide took us to these places and we did ourselves all the readings on the posters. Definately, not worth the money. Do it independently .

Doing what: Gandhi's Delhi Small Group Adventure Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message