• USD ($)
  • English
Much of the world’s tea comes from India, and as you walk the streets of New Delhi, you’ll quickly see why tea has become the national drink of choice. The distinct flavors of Indian tea, called chai, should not be missed during your travels. ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Our excursion in Delhi has been one of the best experiences I’ve booked through Viator. If you, like me, do not believe in “bubble travel” where you go from the airport to a luxury hotel to an air-conditioned car, this is the activity for you. It doesn’t come more authentic than this!
Our guide Anupam fetched us at the hotel and from there the journey on the various transport modes in Delhi started. The metro is clean and orderly and in a better state than many European cities I’ve been to. Everywhere we went people offered smiles and curious looks. The tuc-tuc ride is also an experience through the hectic traffic and millions of people. We however felt perfectly safe in the capable hands of our guide and followed him like baby ducks.
We were greeted at Mumtaz’s home with flower garlands and a red dot on our foreheads to bade us welcome and we felt right at home in her delightful little blue kitchen. Ingredients were explained and then the cooking began. Everything we ate was a flavour explosion from the spicy chai tea to the golden dahl and the paneer curry. We each had a turn to try our hand at making chapattis and had a good giggle at our less than perfect efforts.
We ended off the evening with Mumtaz painting our hands with wonderful henna art. The people of India are hospitable, friendly and interested in diversity.
All in all a magical experience.

Doing what: Delhi Cultural Experience: Cook and Eat with a Local Family

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

I always try to see something from the arts when I travel to any country. It could be a concert, ballet, or play. While I was in Delhi I went to Kingdom of dreams and saw the "Zangoora" Bollywood Show. It is a 2 1/2 hour show but it has a 20 minute intermission. The costumes and set design is good enough to win the Academy Awards. There is so much to look at on the stage because there is so much going on. There are movie theatre screens on both sides of the stage that also has something playing that goes along with what is happening on the stage. There are people and objects that kind of fly down from the ceiling to the stage from the back of the auditorium.I really enjoyed the show. I also liked the area where there are shops, restaurants, and food courts. The ceiling is very high and made to look like a sky and it does. I found that ceiling interesting. However, with as much money as we paid I felt that our lunch could have been at one of the restaurants instead of the food court and this is their need for improvement. That is why I did not rate this tour a five. Driver and guide was very nice.

Doing what: Private Tour: Kingdom of Dreams including 'Zangoora' Bollywood Show with Transport from Delhi

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

Tour was great liked the fact it was private, guide was friendly, spoke english well and provided us with info on all the sites. warning tour ends with visit to an imporium where you can purchase good quality goods i. tea carpets be prepared to bargain and stick to your guns if you don't want to buy

Doing what: Private Tour: Day Trip to Agra from Delhi including Taj Mahal and Agra Fort

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2012

Great Tour. Arrangement with Viator and support excellent. Private tour for 2 business guess became a tour with 2 other business peole in a larger car. Finally was great teaming with other.

Doing what: Private Tour: Agra, Taj Mahal and Fatehpur Sikri Day Trip from Delhi

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2014

Our tour was unusual in that my daughter had a broken foot, so we asked our guide to be flexible in our plans. He not only obliged, but also arranged for wheelchair assistance - which we paid for separately - during stops. So that was good. But what bothered me was, he pressured us not to take any of the ticketed legs of the tour aside from the Taj Mahal, and rather go shopping instead. Also, he didn't tell us in advance that the Taj was not wheelchair-accessible, so I didn't bring along the crutches.... so we were not able to go inside! That was quite an oversight on his part. Then, though we were wrapping up our tour at 3:30 instead of 8:30 - due to my daughter's foot pain - the guide did not even stick around to see us back to our hotel; he left us with the driver. Lastly, we were made to pay for our lunches which were supposed to be included. So there were moves to cut a lot of corners on what I thought was a pretty spendy trip. It left a bad taste in my mouth and overshadowed some of the nice time we had.

Doing what: Private Agra Day Tour: Taj Mahal, Agra Fort and Kachhpura Village

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2012

Taj Mahal is worth seeing and this goal was achieved by the trip. We (2 people) went on a private tour assisted by the guide and the driver in a small, uncomfortable Tata car. The guide was friendly and answered all our questions. However, at the beginning of the tour, before leaving Delhi, he told us, that he and the driver are hungry and need breakfast. They stopped to eat, while we waited by the car. On the way back they stopped several times to either eat or to drink tea, while we waited. The program of the tour did not include such stops, but the guide explained, that food is very important for people in India. We found this annoying, especially on a private tour, where we expected a service tailored to our needs.

Doing what: Private Tour: Agra and the Taj Mahal Day Trip from Delhi

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

For a firt experience of India and Delhi it was a good way to hae an ovierview of the city. Yet, the guide finished his tour at 4pm instead of 6pm. In the morning the guide said that we will not have enough time to visit the red fort inside if we wanted to visit all the other monuments during the tour. At the end of the tour he refused to come back to red fort indicating tha it was too far away. He also insisted to bring me in a shop for tourists which was useless. The could have been much more interesting. Altogether the guide was not really concerned by his job.

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2012

Tour itenerary was good as far as seeing the highlights. Tour was in the hot part of the year and would have preferred to have seen it start earlier that 9am to avoid more of the heat. There are things in Delhi to see that do not require an admission so they could have been visited during early hours.
Guide was knowledgable but seemed more focused on getting done than what we would have expected. The heat played a part. The tour ended up 6 hours instead of the 8 as advertized.
What we did see was indeed interesting and would like to get back to see the balance.

Doing what: Private Tour: Old and New Delhi in a Day

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2011

The trip was okay once I took it. The company didn't understand where my hotel was, and instead of picking me up as agreed, told me to take the metro. If I could do that, I wouldn't need a guided tour! Finally they agreed to pick me up, but the driver came at the wrong time and couldn't speak English. But, I finally got there and had a nice tour. I had to pay for a taxi to get back to the hotel.

Doing what: Old Delhi Half Day Small Group Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
January 2012

Tour started 1,5 hours late and lasted 3 hours (instead of promised approx. 5 hours) and consisted of 3 places of visit: Gandhi museum, Gandhi funeral place, and Gandhi house all of which can be entered free of charge in any case. It was cold on an open tuck-tuck in January morning in Delhi, and very uncomfortable with three people sitting in the back. Vianor promised an "airconditioned" vehicle, it sure was. I tried to cover my ears for not getting cold. The guide took us to these places and we did ourselves all the readings on the posters. Definately, not worth the money. Do it independently .

Doing what: Gandhi's Delhi Small Group Adventure Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message