The infamous Bourbon Street, also known as Rue Bourbon, conjures up images of endless partying, drinks of all shapes and sizes, strips clubs, bachelorette parties, and of course, Mardi Gras. The Las Vegas comparisons are well deserved with enough ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 88 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

loved this tour! If new to NO a great way of getting to know the history of the quarter. Our guide was very informative.

Doing what: French Quarter Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

The tour covered a very small part of the French Quarter. It was informative regarding history and architecture for the time it took and the area it covered. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and was a local resident of many years. Her conveyance of the material was non emotional but factual.

Doing what: French Quarter Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

I highly recommend this tour. Our guide Stacey was excellent and very knowledgeable on the history of New Orleans. This is an excellent way to see the French Quarter. The tour is about 2 1/2 hours but not too strenuous, our group of 6 had a wonderful time and by the end we had a better appreciation of all the wonderful things we were seeing in the French Quarter. As part of the tour you can go into the museum which I recommend also taking in

Doing what: French Quarter Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Yvonne a été un guide très agréable en cette fin d'après midi torride. Nous avons commencé par un arrêt prévoyant dans un café hanté qui nous a permis de boire un verre ou acheter de l'eau. Balade agréable dans le quartier français

Doing what: New Orleans Ghosts and Spirits Walking Tour

Kimmy
Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

Our guide Stacey, could have engaged the tour group on a better level. However, it did give us a great insight into the French Quarter - it's history with some very interesting stories too!

Doing what: French Quarter Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed the tour and was fascinated by the level of detail and hard work that goes into preparing for Mardis Gras on a yearly basis with new themes etc. It was short and sweet. I loved trying on the outfits and getting the snacks and being allowed to take pictures inside the workroom

Doing what: Mardi Gras World: Behind-the-Scenes Tour in New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was my first tour on my trip to New Orleans and it was extremely wonderful. My tour guide Libby is one of a kind fantastic and intelligent. I could tell she had a true love and passion for history as she told us the stories and encouraged us to appreciate the details in the fencing and beauty of New Orleans. She is a native of New Orleans and I liked that she was so animated in her presentations. I would highly recommend her and I wish I had the time to take the Garden District Tour with Libby. I would definitely go on my next visit to New Orleans.

Doing what: French Quarter Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We really enjoyed the walking tour. The tour guide was very thorough and the areas we visited were very beautiful.

Doing what: French Quarter Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Jill was our guide and she was fantastic!!!! She was very well informed and gave us a very good understanding of the history of The French Quarter. There is no other place like this in The United states and is a must see!! Our experience in the city was much richer after taking this tour and really knowing some of the history of the buildings beyond Bourbon St.

Doing what: French Quarter Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

I think your experience on this tour would depend heavily on your tour guide. In our case, we had Judy who was a native of New Orleans, she was well informed about the French Quarter and able to answer all our questions. She took her time with us and we did not feel rushed or like we missed anything. I would recommend scheduling the tour either early or late as it is a 2 hour walking tour and was quite warm.

Doing what: French Quarter Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I'm a solo female business traveler, and this tour was a good way for me to safely venture out and enjoy the French Quarter at night. Our guide Michael was very knowledgeable, and his passion for the rich history of this area was obvious. Expect a lot of walking and then standing while your guide relates the history of the most haunted buildings. You're encouraged to take photos, which may reveal paranormal activity when you later inspect them. (None of mine revealed ghostly apparitions, but it was fun nevertheless.) I enjoyed the tour and the history lesson and wouldn't hesitate to go again.

Note that the online tour description says that the tour begins at the Jackson Brewery. That's a huge building! Don't go to the Bistro Bar; the tour desk is located on the ground floor of the shopping mall.

Doing what: New Orleans Ghosts and Spirits Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Would recommend this tour, especially tourists with young family. It was quite amazing to hear about the making of Mardi gras and also see all those colorful floats. You also get to try the King Cake and try out some of those colorful costumes. Make sure you take photos of yourselves all dressed up, makes for a great souvenir!

Doing what: Mardi Gras World: Behind-the-Scenes Tour in New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour, the guide kept us engaged, and made me feel like I was back in the 1700's and 1800's as she retold the history.

Doing what: French Quarter Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message