• USD ($)
  • English

New Orleans ATTRACTIONS See all

Destrehan Plantation

Located just 25 miles upriver from New Orleans, Destrehan Plantation is not just the oldest plantation house in the Lower Mississippi Valley, but is an easy, accessible step back in to antebellum times. Built in 1787, the Destrehan Plantation ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 128 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour guide was wonderful...I use a walker and she was so attentive to all my needs. Her knowledge of the area was so interesting, I learned so much. I wish we saw more alligators. We only saw the top of the heads of 3. My son, on another tour, saw many as they were feeding them. Wish I went on that swamp tour.

Doing what: Small-Group Louisiana Plantations Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We cut a wide swath through New Orleans for 2 days, the Power Pass was a big part of it. It is nice not to be balancing the admission price vs the amount of time you can spend in a certain venue. Just buy the pass and sample everything! I give high grades to the City Tour gaining a first person account of Katrina was super interesting. WW2 Museum has grown and is worth another visit even if you have been there prior. Probably would not have gone to the Insectarium or the Mardi Gras storage facility if not for the Power Pass, both were very interesting.

Doing what: New Orleans Power Pass™

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Our driver/guide was very informative. Ellen drove well and kept up the banter. The airboat rides were exciting and beautiful. Capt. Gary gave us a most memorable ride thru the swamp. Saw lots of gators! Great day trip. The Plantation tour was historically informative. Our guide there, Ellen (plantation guide), was very knowledgeable and emotionally invested in her tour. She impressed me with her dignity. This was a highlight day!

Doing what: Small-Group Airboat Swamp Adventure and Plantation Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Had a awesome time! I think everyone needs to check out this tour if there in New Orleans :)

Doing what: Small-Group Airboat Swamp Adventure and Plantation Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

The tour is very pleasant with beautiful locations.The tour guide was extremely enthuziastic and made the whole trip very enjoyable

Doing what: Small-Group Louisiana Plantations Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We had an absolute blast! We thought we wouldn't see any wild alligators because of it being cold but we did!! Our tour guide was very knowledgable! I would highly recommend going on this tour!!

Doing what: Small-Group Airboat Swamp Adventure and Plantation Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We had a wonderful time on the plantation tours. The guides were very knowledgeable and made us want to know more, so we bought the books! The homes were so authentic and had been well cared for. The history was presented in such a way that you could imagine being there.
We loved our hotel accommodations at the St. James and the people were so accommodating. We actually felt like they were family at the end of our 5-day stay. Amy, at the front desk, was phenomenal, and so kind and helpful!
We will definitely use Viator when planning our next trip. We highly recommend them. No problems were encountered and everything went as planned.

Terry and Sue Sublett

Doing what: Small-Group Louisiana Plantations Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The experience was wonderful and the service was amazing!

Doing what: Small-Group Airboat Swamp Adventure and Plantation Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The experience was wonderful and the service was amazing!

Doing what: Small-Group Airboat Swamp Adventure and Plantation Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

John had good info but he didn't project very well. It was difficult to hear him and the sound system crackled when turned up. He seemed to speed through the information so there was little time for questions or to truly absorb what he was saying.

Doing what: Small-Group Louisiana Plantations Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

The Plantation Tour was not what we expected. Quite disappointing with the Plantation Guide. Would have been happy if we just went on the Airboat Ride - now that was an amazing experience! Gator spotting and the opportunity to feed one!

Doing what: Small-Group Airboat Swamp Adventure and Plantation Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Could not have been better! Even though we got rained on while on the swamp we enjoyed the ride. When we arrived at the swamp tour we went over to the dock to wait on our tour guide and a alligator came swimming down to meet us. The plantation tour was very interesting.

Doing what: Small-Group Airboat Swamp Adventure and Plantation Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Dylan, our shuttle bus driver was FANTASTIC! He was soo knowledgeable about everything New Orleans. I am a history buff and like to know details and he KNOWS details. It was by far the most informative tour - and I did them all during my vacation. Please if you can get Dylan consider yourself very fortunate and expect insight you would not imagine. BTW, the actual tour was good - glossed over Slavery and those conditions. The grounds are absolutely gorgeous - oak trees as old as 600 years old and the Houmas House Plantation and Gardens is a plantation in exceptional state.

Doing what: Small-Group Louisiana Plantations Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

We had an absolutely terrriffic time!! Our guides at both the plantation and the airboat ride were amazing!! Very well informed. Knew alot about the history, plant life and animal life. My guest plans to return woith her husband. Thanks so much.

Doing what: Small-Group Airboat Swamp Adventure and Plantation Tour from New Orleans

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

This tour was the highlight of our gulf coast trip. It exceeded our expectations significantly. Our 12 year old son was hoping to see an alligator during the Airboat Ride. Little did he know he would be directly interacting with them! He fed raw chicken directly to 13 foot long 700 pound alligators and actually caught a baby in a net provided by the boat captain and handled it in the boat before returning it to the swamp. The Plantation Tours were also outstanding providing an excellent experience and learning opportunity.

Doing what: Small-Group Airboat Swamp Adventure and Plantation Tour from New Orleans

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message