New Orleans ATTRACTIONS See all

Destrehan Plantation

Located just 25 miles upriver from New Orleans, Destrehan Plantation is not just the oldest plantation house in the Lower Mississippi Valley, but is an easy, accessible step back in to antebellum times. Built in 1787, the Destrehan Plantation ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 203 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

alia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

AWESOME!
Special Kudos to Madeleine and the local tour operator for taking such good care of us!

This tour is a long one with no meals available to buy, so bring snacks and water. Or do like some folks on our tour did and bring a cooler. The plantation and swamp adventure do not have anything more than sodas and candy, so if you don't want to go into diabetic shock, bring something to munch on in between tours.

The Destrehan Plantation was very interesting and if you're lucky enough to Candance as your Interpreter of History, you are in for a treat! I felt like we needed another 20 minutes at this location to go check out the grounds a little more and see the 1811 Slave Revolt exhibit after the official tour. But we were strapped for time and had to jump back in the van to head to our Swamp tour.

Swamp Adventures is super fun. Don't be surprised and squeal with fright, like I did when Levi the Gator sidles up to the boat as you are boarding it at the dock. Note...while I get the impression some of the gators who are named are like pets... they are not ... they are still wild animals. Rodney was our driver and he's super skilled at maneuvering this boat over and around tight spots. It was so amazing where he took us. And I love the feel of zooming around the swamp. Rodney also has a wicked sense of humor and totally got me when he put an alligator chick really close to my ear as I was looking at something else. I'm embarrassed to say that I screamed again, which caused the rest of the boat to scream as well since they didn't know what happened and we were all in a heightened sense of where is the gator or snake we thought we saw? We were of course, totally safe. Rodney was just messing with me. I loved it of course. And my mom totally jumped at the chance to hold the alligator chick she's braver than me.

You want to do this tour if you like history, nature and a little bit of adventure. Oh... and if you like boats and zooming around.

Doing what: Small-Group Airboat Swamp Adventure and Plantation Tour from New Orleans

Jeanene H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

My family and I really enjoyed our day, Our tour guide Cat was the best! she has so much knowledge of the plantations we toured and the city of New Orleans.

Doing what: Small-Group Louisiana Plantations Tour from New Orleans

David L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Captain Gary was courteous and was able to show us a lot about the swamp. Joni and I had a great time and will do this again the next time we get down there. We were able to see gaters and a lot of birds. We also got to see several Nutrea.

Doing what: Small-Group Airboat Swamp Adventure and Plantation Tour from New Orleans

Lily S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a very enjoyable tour. Our driver, Guy, was very informative and helpful, providing a lot of information about the area. He made this tour very informative and fun.

Doing what: Small-Group Louisiana Plantations Tour from New Orleans

John D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

great way to view all the attractions

Doing what: New Orleans Power Pass™

Laura G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wonderful tour. The three plantations are a good sample of plantation life with Houmas House being the jewel. Anna, our driver, was very professional and gave us a good history of the New Orleans area and people. And she also suggested other places to see and things to do during our stay. I would definitely use Viator again.

Doing what: Small-Group Louisiana Plantations Tour from New Orleans

Mark C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great tour . Three very different plantations . Excellent knowledge by Giselle

Doing what: Small-Group Louisiana Plantations Tour from New Orleans

peter r

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Guides were wonderful. Had us on the edge of our swamp boat seat!

Doing what: Small-Group Airboat Swamp Adventure and Plantation Tour from New Orleans

Gary A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour was wonderful !! Our tour guide was very informative and friendly. Would definitely take another Viator tour in the future!!

Doing what: Small-Group Louisiana Plantations Tour from New Orleans

Donna C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was cancelled since there was not enough people. I went on the two plantation tours with Ginnie on Thursday. Ginnie was an excellent tour guide. She was very knowledgeable about plantations and New Orleans.

Doing what: Small-Group Louisiana Plantations Tour from New Orleans

Charles C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great value!! We got to do so many activities.

Doing what: New Orleans Power Pass™

nene

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The 2 days pass is not enough to see all in the brochure. I advise to book tours ahead of time and plan your trip as to what to see on certain days. A few tours do not provide transportation and ok for people with cars. First thing to do is to pick up and validate your pass on your first day. Otherwise I advise this pass for people who want to save money.

Doing what: New Orleans Power Pass™

terry b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a real blast, great guide, really knew his stuff and made the whole experience a lot of fun

Doing what: Small-Group Airboat Swamp Adventure and Plantation Tour from New Orleans

Beverly B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Airboat swamp adventure turned out to be everything we could have wanted. Captain Jack was terrific and I would highly recommend this to everyone.

Doing what: Small-Group Airboat Swamp Adventure and Plantation Tour from New Orleans

Bryan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was under-subscribed, so didn't end up taking this particular tour, but was slotted into a similar tour by the tour operator and that tour was excellent.

Doing what: Small-Group Louisiana Plantations Tour from New Orleans

Fiona M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The airboat tour was amazing! Captain Gary was experienced and Knowle able. Even got to hold a little female gator! Plantation tour was a bit of an anticlimax but gave a feel for plantation life in beautiful surroundings.

Doing what: Small-Group Airboat Swamp Adventure and Plantation Tour from New Orleans

sharyn

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Oh Captain Monkey....great experience despite it being the wrong season for lots and lots of gators. Captain Monkey found us lots of gators and other beautiful things to look at, seriously great fun and sooooo educational. The passion and respect for the environment was just amazing.....don't miss this one.

Doing what: Small-Group Airboat Swamp Adventure and Plantation Tour from New Orleans

Trudy g

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Really great tour,enjoyed all of it. The lady that drove our bus was also really nice she gave us a lot of information along the way about some of the things we were passing on our trip to the various plantation

Doing what: Small-Group Louisiana Plantations Tour from New Orleans

Marian N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide, Dylan, was awesome! He was very prompt and friendly. We learned so much about the city, in an entertaining way. The plantation was great and was hosting a fall festival, so we got way more than we planned for! The air boat/swamp tour was amazing and beautiful. I would recommend this tour to anyone!

Doing what: Small-Group Airboat Swamp Adventure and Plantation Tour from New Orleans

Sandra R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great guilds for both. Enjoyed the small group rather then a large group

Doing what: Small-Group Airboat Swamp Adventure and Plantation Tour from New Orleans

Ginny H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is worth the money! We did things we never got to do because of the admission fees. The Power Pass enabled my family to plan our visit better and make it more memorable. Highly recommend this and plan on using this at other destination

Doing what: New Orleans Power Pass™

Anita W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: New Orleans Power Pass™

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message