• USD ($)
  • English
The French Quarter, also know as the Vieux Carré, is the oldest and most famous neighborhood in New Orleans. The Quarter, as it is commonly known, runs from the banks of the Mississippi River to Rampart Street and between Canal Street and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 593 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Leah
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It rained on the day of our tour, so we were bummed before it started, but our tour guide called us ahead of time to reassure us that we'd still have a good time, and she told us where we could find a Walgreens to buy an umbrella. Super nice!

We went to four tasting locations -- a small, off-the-beaten path restaurant that we otherwise wouldn't have found; a restaurant called Antoine's, which is one of the oldest in town and has a lot of historical rooms and Mardi Gras memorabilia; the French Market, where we had tastings from three different food shops; and a dessert shop. The tastings were plentiful, and we were pretty full by the end of the tour, so it's perfect for lunch. We had gumbo, muffuletta, pralines, sweet potato biscuits, oysters Rockefeller and gelato. We also stopped by a quirky local cookbook store and a spice and herb shop. Julie (our guide) was very knowledgeable about the city's food scene, and she had lots of fun facts to share. The food was absolutely delicious! I would definitely do this again.

Doing what: New Orleans Food Walking Tour of the French Quarter

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent! The places we stopped were very elegant and the drinks were great as was our tour guide!

Doing what: New Orleans Original Cocktail Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We purchased a 5-day pass as it wasn't that much more money and we thought we'd use the bus as an alternate source of transportation. I must say we had 3 different guides during our trip who were all very knowledgeable and good, but on Saturday we started the day with Randy. He was fantastic! I think it was terrific to have the 3 different point of views telling us the history of the city. I would recommend you taking this tour on multiple days if you have the chance. The city is pretty cool and we loved our tours! We have used Viator in 3 different cities now and it does not disappoint. The hop on/ hop off buses are THE best way to see a city. Best tip of the day - if you purchase a 5-day pass and have a smart phone... take a photo of your receipt that they give you at the bus stop. Drivers are allowed to use this as proof of purchase and you don't have to worry about losing your receipt slip during your stay.

Doing what: New Orleans Hop-On Hop-Off City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour, with all the history and the great food, was way more than we had hoped for. Loved it, would do it again next time we are in N.O.!

Doing what: New Orleans Food Walking Tour of the French Quarter

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

My daughter and I had a personal tour as we were the only two on this day. We had a wonderful time and learned a lot about this part of New Orleans history. I am not a drinker but most of the drinks we were introduced to were good. Loved the Grasshopper. The tour is well worth the money and Doctor Gumbo did a great job.
Kay/Robin

Doing what: New Orleans Cocktail History Walking Tour in the French Quarter

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Loved the stories about vampires in NOLA. Fun tour, highy recommend.

Doing what: New Orleans Vampire Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Fantastic! This is a not to be missed tour. We were fortunate to get Joe Gendusa as our guide. We visited many bars and hotels and had the opportunity to purchase and sample cocktails. He has a wealth of knowledge about the drinks, the bars, the hotels and the history of the area to share. This tour delivered more than expected and I would recommend it to everyone.

Doing what: New Orleans Original Cocktail Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a nice tour and provided interesting historic information on the city and the establishments we visited. Everyone approved of the drinks also.

Doing what: New Orleans Original Cocktail Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

If I could give this trip higher than a 5, I would. Dr. Gumbo was an incredibly smart and funny guide and great to drink with! He gave a wonderful history of the city punctuated by thoughtfully chosen libations. Tour is worth twice as much as the cost. I HIGHLY recommend the tour and would do it again in a heartbeat.

Doing what: New Orleans Cocktail History Walking Tour in the French Quarter

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour was awesome and our guide Daphne was great!! She continued through with the tour in the pouring rain!!

Doing what: New Orleans Haunted History Ghost Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Loved hearing about the history associated with the bar buildings such as Antoinnes and the hotel. The drinks weren't bad either :)

Doing what: New Orleans Original Cocktail Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The tour guide was fantastic! The cocktails were delicious! I enjoyed the history if New Orleans!

Doing what: New Orleans Original Cocktail Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Excellent, just wish there were more food to go with the beer, maybe wings or some fingers foods.

Doing what: New Orleans French Quarter Beer and Food Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

When we first got on, we were with a group of school children so we were unable to ride on the top deck, and the guides commentary was geared towards the kids. Fortunately we were able to "hop off." and join another tour later. Definitely a great way to see and learn about the city highlights. Guides were all knowledgeable and entertaining.

Doing what: New Orleans Hop-On Hop-Off City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The bus was a great thing to have available when we flew into New Orleans. The tour taught us not only the layout of the city but the history as well! We hopped on and off whenever we wanted to go somewhere and it helped keep us cool in the humid summer heat!!

Doing what: New Orleans Hop-On Hop-Off City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message