The French Quarter, also know as the Vieux Carré, is the oldest and most famous neighborhood in New Orleans. The Quarter, as it is commonly known, runs from the banks of the Mississippi River to Rampart Street and between Canal Street and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 574 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Leah
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It rained on the day of our tour, so we were bummed before it started, but our tour guide called us ahead of time to reassure us that we'd still have a good time, and she told us where we could find a Walgreens to buy an umbrella. Super nice!

We went to four tasting locations -- a small, off-the-beaten path restaurant that we otherwise wouldn't have found; a restaurant called Antoine's, which is one of the oldest in town and has a lot of historical rooms and Mardi Gras memorabilia; the French Market, where we had tastings from three different food shops; and a dessert shop. The tastings were plentiful, and we were pretty full by the end of the tour, so it's perfect for lunch. We had gumbo, muffuletta, pralines, sweet potato biscuits, oysters Rockefeller and gelato. We also stopped by a quirky local cookbook store and a spice and herb shop. Julie (our guide) was very knowledgeable about the city's food scene, and she had lots of fun facts to share. The food was absolutely delicious! I would definitely do this again.

Doing what: New Orleans Food Walking Tour of the French Quarter

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent! The places we stopped were very elegant and the drinks were great as was our tour guide!

Doing what: New Orleans Original Cocktail Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour, with all the history and the great food, was way more than we had hoped for. Loved it, would do it again next time we are in N.O.!

Doing what: New Orleans Food Walking Tour of the French Quarter

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Excellent, just wish there were more food to go with the beer, maybe wings or some fingers foods.

Doing what: New Orleans French Quarter Beer and Food Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

When we first got on, we were with a group of school children so we were unable to ride on the top deck, and the guides commentary was geared towards the kids. Fortunately we were able to "hop off." and join another tour later. Definitely a great way to see and learn about the city highlights. Guides were all knowledgeable and entertaining.

Doing what: New Orleans Hop-On Hop-Off City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Our guide was very knowledgable and gave us all kinds of local info. We think it was an excellent way to see the city and decide where to spend more time later.

Doing what: New Orleans Hop-On Hop-Off City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

We had a great tour with Libby!! Made some great new friends and learned a lot about New Orleans. The drinks were really good and got us ready for the evening!!

Doing what: New Orleans Original Cocktail Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

Thought this was a little cheeky but nonetheless it was very ientertaining. Our guide knew Nola history like the back of his handand that alone made for a very interesting tour. Really enjoyed it. Couple of things to know... Take water. They sell ice cold water at the meeting point for $1 so you can purchase some if you forget but don't attempt this night tour without it, especially in the summer. Even though they pass out little flat paper fans, dress accordingly humidity rates are high there and oppressive. Wear tennis shoes.

Doing what: New Orleans Vampire Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

We were looking forward to the tour but lightening storm made us decline going. Standing in lightening and rain with umbrellas didn't seem like a good idea. Maybe on another trip to New Orleans we get to take the tour.

Doing what: New Orleans Vampire Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great way to get around the city and the tour guides are so knowledgable and helpful!

Doing what: New Orleans Hop-On Hop-Off City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great tour, the guide kept us engaged, and made me feel like I was back in the 1700's and 1800's as she retold the history.

Doing what: French Quarter Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Was totally awesome! Fun, tasty and educational! Would do it again next time and recommending it to everyone who goes there!

Doing what: New Orleans Food Walking Tour of the French Quarter

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Fun tour! This was a fabulous way to sample the local flavors and learn a little history along the way. Our guide Betty, was very friendly and made sure everyone was enjoying themselves during the tour. The portions were generous and we were able to try a lot of great food!

Doing what: New Orleans Food Walking Tour of the French Quarter

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was fun, exciting and educational. I've been to New Orleans at least 6 times, but had never taken a tour of the city. This was a good way to see various parts of the city and have the opportunity to get on and off at any part that you wanted to explore further. This is one of the best ways to see the city and become educated on the history of the city and the early settlers of it as well.

Doing what: New Orleans Hop-On Hop-Off City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Sandy was awesome! Very fun tour!

Doing what: New Orleans Original Cocktail Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message