New Orleans' Garden District is the epitome of "Southern Charm". Plantation style mansions have wrap-around porches and verandas, where friends and family enjoy sweet tea and stories in the humid New Orleans climate. Streets are separated ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 415 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The Guide, Carol was well informed about the Garden District and could answer any question. Well worth the tour instead of taking the street car down Charles street. The tour takes you off of the main street and you walk the neighborhood. Saw some celebrity homes and also toured the the biggest home in the area= 22,000 SF.
Tour also takes in a cemetery which you learn about burial customs.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The architecture and history as well as local pop culture references made for an interesting and varied tour. Our guide, as a New Orleans native, was knowledgeable and the opportunity to see the Garden District and the Cemetery with that depth of knowledge as our guide was a great resource. Educational and entertaining. I recommend that you call ahead to make sure the procedure for check in is followed as we walked from our hotel on Royal to the ticket book by the Cafe du Monde and then over to the lighthouse check in where the van was waiting. The trains and trolleys have an impact on when the vans can get through that area so be as considerate as you can with an early arrival about 20 minutes before tour departure.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

Carol did a wonderful job showing us around the Garden District. There was a lot to learn, and a lot to see. I would recommend this tour to anyone wanting to learn more about the city, the architecture, and the famous people who have lived there.

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

On a freezing cold morning Diane picked us up and took us to the cemetery (as you do). Thus began our tour of New Orleans. Whilst the tour suggests architectural, you will get an historical account of the City. Loved it The only thing that perhaps could have improved this tour is more opportunity to get out of the bus (even if only for a frozen moment) and take a photo or two. OMG the park with the art (sorry don't remember the name) where we stop for coffee - incredible. Take the time to walk through the sculptures. It is attached to NOMA. And you absolutely must eat the beignets at the 'Morning Call'. Oh you must! This is a must do tour if heading to New Orleans.

Doing what: New Orleans Architectural and Sightseeing Small-Group Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

This was a very good tour. Our guide, John, was very knowledgeable and personable without being overbearing. We wanted to see the effects of Katrina, and we saw that. The only thing that would have made it better was a map or other visual so we could have some geographic context for what occurred -- where the hardest hit areas were, where the levee breaches were in relation to the city. But still worth the time and money.

Doing what: New Orleans City Sightseeing and Hurricane Katrina Small-Group Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

The tour was great! We really like our guide Ellen; she was very knowledgeable and kept us interested the whole time. I would recommend!

Doing what: New Orleans City Sightseeing and Hurricane Katrina Small-Group Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

A good overall tour of the major site of New Orleans. Knowledgeable tour guide.

Doing what: New Orleans City Bus Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

The power pass was nice but so many things are going on at the same time. We could have actually saved money by paying for all the attractions we went to separately. There is a good variety of things to do on the power pass but there is no way that you can do enough of the events in the amount of days allotted to pay for the pass.

Doing what: New Orleans Power Pass™

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

It was great to know about the history of the cemetery and garden area but it did drag on in a few places.

Doing what: New Orleans Garden District Ghost Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and pleasant. In spite of the post-Katrina tour not included during our day's trip, he covered much of what we needed to know about it from a simple question I asked, which, I'm pretty sure, everyone greatly appreciated his additional discussion on this topic. The bus was very clean and comfortable. The sites covered on this tour were good. We went to some of the places that our tour guide highlighted along the way. My guests and I were very happy that we got on this very informative and pleasant tour, first thing in the morning (weather-wise).

Doing what: New Orleans City Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent tour and wonderful driver. Saw much more of NOLA than expected and was glad to see it. A bit long of a tour though. Three to three and a half would have been better.

Doing what: New Orleans City Sightseeing and Hurricane Katrina Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This tour was just long enough to give us a highlight of what New Orleans has to offer. It was exactly what I was looking for. I also chose this tour because it did not visit the area Katrina hit. I did not want to see that. Well worth the money and the 2 hours!

Doing what: New Orleans City Bus Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Unbelievable area of the city. Excellent guide A southern charmer!!!!

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great experience! Our tour guide Ellen, was one of the best we have ever experienced. Knowledgeable, relatable, informative, fun and genuine. Highly recommend this your to learn about the New Orleans area. Thanks got making our trip a wonderful memory.

Doing what: New Orleans City Sightseeing and Hurricane Katrina Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Carole was a fabulous tour host and her knowledge of the history of the area is amazing, great tour

Doing what: Garden District Walking Tour: Mansions and Lafayette Cemetery

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message